Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0128195).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses a package comprising: a first substrate (110); an integrated device (120) coupled to the first substrate; a second substrate (251) coupled to the first substrate through at least a plurality of solder interconnects (145), wherein the second substrate is located over a portion of the integrated device; and a heat sink (281) coupled to a back side of the integrated device through a thermal interface material (282), wherein the heat sink is located over another portion of the integrated device, wherein the heat sink is located laterally to the second substrate.
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses an encapsulation layer (160) located between the first substrate and the second substrate.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses the encapsulation layer (160) is further located between the first substrate and the heat sink.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses the second substrate is coupled to the first substrate through a plurality of ball interconnects and/or the plurality of solder interconnects (145).
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses an underfill (146) located between the integrated device and the first substrate.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses the underfill includes a different material or a different composition from an encapsulation layer located between the first substrate and the second substrate [0027, 0031].
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 1B of Lee discloses the integrated device (130) is coupled to the first substrate (110) through a plurality of pillar interconnects (125) and/or a first plurality of solder [0031] interconnects (145).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Vakanas (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0043894).
Regarding Claim 4
Lee discloses Claim 1.
Lee is silent with respect to “the second substrate is coupled to the back side of the integrated device through the thermal interface material”.
FIG. 1 of Vakanas discloses a similar package, wherein the second substrate (159) is coupled to the back side of the integrated device (167) through the thermal interface material (141).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Vakanas. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of improving thermal dissipation ([0002] of Vakanas).
Claims 5 and 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Shin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0045010).
Regarding Claim 5
Lee discloses Claim 1.
Lee is silent with respect to “the second substrate is coupled to the back side of the integrated device through another thermal interface material”.
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses a similar package, wherein the second substrate (S2) is coupled to the back side of the integrated device (CH1) through another [0046] thermal interface material (550).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Shin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of improving performance ([0004] of Shin).
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses another package coupled to the second substrate (S2), wherein the another package comprises: a package substrate; and a second integrated device (CH2) coupled to the package substrate.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses the second integrated device is configured to be electrically coupled to the package substrate through a plurality of wire bonds.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses the another package further comprises a package encapsulation layer (MD2).
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 2 of Shin discloses the another package is located laterally to the heat sink (HS2).
Claims 6, 11-13, 18 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Fu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0273044).
Regarding Claim 6
Lee discloses Claim 1.
Lee is silent with respect to “the second substrate is coupled to the back side of the integrated device through an adhesive”.
FIG. 5 of Fu discloses a similar package, wherein the second substrate (31) is coupled to the back side of the integrated device through an adhesive (38) [0148].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Fu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of fastening the target chip ([0147] of Fu).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 5 of Fu discloses the second substrate is an interposer [0183].
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 5 of Fu discloses the interposer comprises: an interposer dielectric layer (32); and a plurality of interposer interconnects.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 5 of Fu discloses the interposer dielectric layer includes silicon, glass or an organic dielectric layer [0183].
Regarding Claim 18
FIG. 12 of Fu discloses a second integrated device (80) coupled to the second substrate (31) through a second plurality of solder interconnects (42).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 12 of Fu discloses another package coupled to the second substrate (31) through a second plurality of solder interconnects (42).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Negoro (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0049702).
Regarding Claim 10
Lee discloses Claim 1.
Lee is silent with respect to “the heat sink includes a metal slug”.
FIG. 1 of Negoro discloses a similar package, wherein the heat sink includes a metal slug [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Negoro. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of releasing heat ([0005] of Negoro).
Pertinent Art
Mun (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0120280) and Huang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0355687).
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897