DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/27/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been fully considered but are not persuasive or moot in view of new ground of rejection provided below. The new ground of rejection is based on Makita in view of Choi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makita et al. (JP2009125857A) (Hereinafter Makita) in view of Choi Jin Won (KR 20220072331 A) (Hereinafter Choi).
Regarding Claim 1, Makita teaches a robot control device comprising:
a controller configured to control a robot (See at least Page 2 Para 3 “…The robot 1 is
connected to the robot control device 2,…”, Page 2 Para 5 “The calibration control device 6 communicates with the robot control device 2 and the sensor control device 5 while communicating with the measurement result from the three-dimensional shape measuring instrument 4 as
a measurement device and the command value from the robot control device 2 to the robot 1 at the time of measurement.”),
the controller configured to:
acquire a measurement position of a movement destination of the robot (See at least
Page 2 Para 1 “A robot calibration apparatus and method according to the present invention measures the position of a calibration jig attached to the tip of an arm of an articulated robot, …”, Page 5 Last Para “Also, the position of the robot's hand is obtained from the shape of the object attached to the hand of the robot using a three-dimensional shape measuring instrument, but a marker such as an LED is attached to the hand of the robot, and images are taken with a plurality of cameras...”) and automatically move the robot to the measurement position (See at least Page 2 Para 3 “Embodiment 1 FIG. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a robot calibration apparatus according to Embodiment 1 of the present invention. A position detector 11 such as an encoder is attached to each joint of the multi-joint robot 1. The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2, and the robot control device 2 manages the angle of each joint of the robot 1 from the value of the position detector 11, and the position of the hand of the robot 1 is an orthogonal coordinate type. Move to a desired position (x, y, z).”),
acquire a measurement result of a position of the robot calculated based on spatial
information about an operational space of the robot, the spatial information acquired by an image capture device (See at least Page 5 Last Para “Also, the position of the robot's hand is obtained from the shape of the object attached to the hand of the robot using a three-dimensional shape measuring instrument, but a marker such as an LED is attached to the hand of the robot, and images are taken with a plurality of cameras…”, Page 2 Para 5 “The calibration control device 6 communicates with the robot control device 2 and the sensor control device 5 while communicating with the measurement result from the three-dimensional shape measuring instrument 4 as a measurement device and the command value from the robot control device 2 to the robot 1 at the time of measurement. Then, the mechanism parameters of the robot 1 are calculated, and the robot 1 is calibrated. For example,”, Page 3 Para 10 “In step S217, the mechanism parameters of the robot 1, tool data, and the installation position of the three dimensional shape measuring instrument 4 are obtained as follows. The measurement position of the center of the sphere in the sensor coordinate system Os measured in steps S211 to S216 is PSi = [xsci, ysci, zsci] T (i = 1, 2,..., N1), the sphere in the robot coordinate system Or. The center position is PRSi, and the position of the sphere at the tip of the robot 1 managed by the robot controller 2 at each measurement (hereinafter referred to as a command value) is PRi = [xri, yri, zri] T. If the position and orientation of the sensor coordinate system Os viewed from the robot coordinate system Or is TRS, then PRSi = TRS · PSi (8).”), …
automatically control physical movement of the robot based on the determination of performing calibration (See at least Page 2 Para 3 “Embodiment 1 FIG. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a robot calibration apparatus according to Embodiment 1 of the present invention. A position detector 11 such as an encoder is attached to each joint of the multi-joint robot 1. The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2, and the robot control device 2 manages the angle of each joint of the robot 1 from the value of the position detector 11, and the position of the hand of the robot 1 is an orthogonal coordinate type. Move to a desired position (x, y, z).”).
However, Makita does not explicitly spell out …
determine whether to correct a relationship between a coordinate system of the image capture device and a coordinate system of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result,
when it is determined to correct the relationship between the coordinate system of the image capture device and the coordinate system of the robot, determine performing calibration of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result, and …
Choi teaches …
determine whether to correct a relationship between a coordinate system of the image capture device and a coordinate system of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result (See at least Para [0066] “[The calibration automatic correction module 440 is obtained from the image of the calibration marker 100 in which the coordinate system conversion value between the calibration marker 100 and the robot arm 300 is input in real time during the operation of the robot arm 300 Based on the position and posture and the position value of the robot arm 300 at the time of acquiring the image of the calibration marker 100, the validity of the initially set coordinate system transformation value or the currently set coordinate system transformation value is determined to re-perform the calibration decide whether or not.]”, Para [0030] “[In addition, in d-1) according to the embodiment, if the difference value calculated in step d) is greater than or equal to the reference value for re-execution determination, the management terminal automatically determines the preset size between the difference value and the reference value Comparing it with a reference value for use, but if the difference value is greater than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, re-calibrating, and if the difference value is less than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, storing the calculated conversion value as an automatic correction value;”),
when it is determined to correct the relationship between the coordinate system of the image capture device and the coordinate system of the robot, determine performing calibration of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result (See at least Para [0030] “[In addition, in d-1) according to the embodiment, if the difference value calculated in step d) is greater than or equal to the reference value for re-execution determination, the management terminal automatically determines the preset size between the difference value and the reference value Comparing it with a reference value for use, but if the difference value is greater than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, re-calibrating, and if the difference value is less than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, storing the calculated conversion value as an automatic correction value;”), and …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Makita with the teachings of Choi and include the feature of determining whether to correct a relationship between a coordinate system of the image capture device and a coordinate system of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result and when it is determined to correct the relationship between the coordinate system of the image capture device and the coordinate system of the robot, determine performing calibration of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result, thereby improving the accuracy of an operation position of a robot (See at least Para [0001] “[The present invention relates to a hand eye calibration system and method, and more particularly, by using information transmitted through a camera, input information for hand eye calibration is obtained in real time in a system operating a robot arm, and based on this It relates to a hand eye calibration system and method for correcting and improving the transformation relationship between the coordinate system of the camera and the coordinate system of the robot arm by determining the effectiveness of the operation of the camera and the robot system.]”).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim 1. However, Makita does not explicitly spell out the robot control device according to claim 1,
wherein the controller is configured to correct a coordinate system of the image capture device or a coordinate system used to control the robot based on a difference between the measurement position and the measurement result.
Choi teaches the robot control device according to claim 1,
wherein the controller is configured to correct a coordinate system of the image capture device or a coordinate system used to control the robot based on a difference between the measurement position and the measurement result (See at least [0089] “[Therefore, by using the information transmitted through the camera, input information for hand eye calibration is acquired in real time in the system operating the robot arm, and the effectiveness of the operation of the camera and the robot system is determined based on this, and the coordinate system of the camera It is possible to correct and improve the transformation relationship between the coordinate system of the robot arm.]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Makita with the teachings of Choi and include the feature of correcting a coordinate system of the image capture device or a coordinate system used to control the robot based on a difference between the measurement position and the measurement result, thereby improving the accuracy of an operation position of a robot (See at least Para [0001] “[The present invention relates to a hand eye calibration system and method, and more particularly, by using information transmitted through a camera, input information for hand eye calibration is obtained in real time in a system operating a robot arm, and based on this It relates to a hand eye calibration system and method for correcting and improving the transformation relationship between the coordinate system of the camera and the coordinate system of the robot arm by determining the effectiveness of the operation of the camera and the robot system.]”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim 2. Makita further teaches the robot control device according to claim 2,
… with respect to rotation, translation, enlargement or reduction, or distortion (See at least Page 4 Para 1 “Here, TRS-1 = (xsr, ysr, zsr, asr, bsr, csr). (Asr, bsr, csr) represents a posture, and represents rotation about the X axis, rotation about the Y axis, and rotation about the Z axis, respectively. Further, T ′ (Θ, Q) = TRS−1T (Θ,Q) is set. In the following description, the coordinate transformation and position / orientation data are combined into a translation component (x, y, z) and a rotation component (a, b, c) for convenience (x, y, z, a, b,c). In the calculation, the data is converted into the homogeneous transformation matrix format for calculation.”, Page 9 Para 4 “Assuming that each coordinate axis component notation of the rotation matrix RRS is (ars brs crs), the unknown parameter Prmi in the first calibration means is Prmi = [xrc yrc zrc ars brs crsθ1i... Θmi q1. (70).”).
However, Makita does not explicitly spell out … wherein the controller is configured to correct
the coordinate system of the image capture device or the coordinate system used to control the robot …
Choi teaches … wherein the controller is configured to correct the coordinate
system of the image capture device or the coordinate system used to control the robot (See at least Para [0089] “[Therefore, by using the information transmitted through the camera, input information for hand eye calibration is acquired in real time in the system operating the robot arm, and the effectiveness of the operation of the camera and the robot system is determined based on this, and the coordinate system of the camera It is possible to correct and improve the transformation relationship between the coordinate system of the robot arm.]”) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Makita with the teachings of Sakuramoto and include the feature of correcting the coordinate system of the image capture device or the coordinate system used to control the robot, thereby improving the accuracy of an operation position of a robot (See at least Para [0001] “[The present invention relates to a hand eye calibration system and method, and more particularly, by using information transmitted through a camera, input information for hand eye calibration is obtained in real time in a system operating a robot arm, and based on this It relates to a hand eye calibration system and method for correcting and improving the transformation relationship between the coordinate system of the camera and the coordinate system of the robot arm by determining the effectiveness of the operation of the camera and the robot system.]”).
9. Regarding Claim 4, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim 2. Makita further teaches the robot control device according to claim 2,
wherein the controller is configured to:
move the robot to the measurement position in the corrected coordinate system (See at least
Page 1 Para 5 “The present invention relates to a robot calibration apparatus and method for
correcting a positioning error of a robot.”, Page 2 Para 3 “… The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2, and the robot control device 2 manages the angle of each joint of the robot 1 from the value of the position detector 11, and the position of the hand of the robot 1 is an orthogonal coordinate type. Move to a desired position (x, y, z).”),
calculate the position of the robot as a corrected measurement result (See at least Page 5
Para 2 “Then, the command value PRi at the time of measurement is corrected to PRi ′ = PRi + PRSM−PRSi (26), thereby enabling positioning with high accuracy to PRSM. At this time, the positioning error dPRi of the robot in the robot coordinate system Or is dPRi = PRSM−PRi ′ (27).”, Page 5 Para 1 “sensor coordinate system Os measured in steps S221 to S226 is PSi = [xsci, ysci, zsci] T (i = 1, 2,..., N2), the sphere in the robot coordinate system Or. The center position is PRSi, and the command value to the robot at each measurement is PRi = [xri, yri, zri] T. PRSi is obtained as PRSi = TRS · PSi (24) using the position and orientation TRS of the sensor coordinate system Os from the robot coordinate system Or obtained in step S21.”), and
perform calibration of the robot in response to a difference between the measurement
position and the corrected measurement result being greater than or equal to a prescribed value (See at least Page 5 Para 2 “Then, the command value PRi at the time of measurement is corrected to PRi ′ = PRi + PRSM−PRSi (26), thereby enabling positioning with high accuracy to PRSM. At this time, the positioning error dPRi of the robot in the robot coordinate system Or is dPRi = PRSM−PRi ′ (27).”, Page 2 Para 3 “… The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2, and the robot control device 2 manages the angle of each joint of the robot 1 from the value of the position detector 11, and the position of the hand of the robot 1 is an orthogonal coordinate type. Move to a desired position (x, y, z).”, Page 5 Para 10 “In step S211, the measurement positions are randomly determined so as to be evenly distributed within the measurable range of the three-dimensional shape measuring instrument 4, but may be generated at regular intervals. For example, a position with an interval of 5 mm is determined for each of the X, Y, and Z directions at the center position of the measurable range of the three-dimensional measuring instrument 4.”, Page 4 Para 10 “When step S21 of FIG. 2 is completed, the process proceeds to step S22, and positioning is performed in a plurality of postures at the same position using the parameters obtained in step S21, and calibration is performed.”, Page 5 Para 12 “In addition, using the mechanism parameters, tool data, and measurement device position obtained as a result of step S22, it is possible to perform highly accurate calibration by repeating step S22 until the measurement result falls within a desired range.”, discloses performing highly accurate calibration until the measurement result falls within a desired range which is construed as performing calibration of the robot in response to a difference between the measurement position and the corrected measurement result being greater than or equal to a prescribed value).
10. Regarding Claim 5, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim 1. Makita further teaches the robot control device according to claim 1,
wherein, the controller is configured to determine whether or not to perform the calibration
again for a robot for which the calibration has been performed at least once (See at least Page 3 Para 8 “If each component of ΔXS is not sufficiently small, XSk + 1 is set as XS and is substituted into equations (4) to (6) to obtain ΔXS again, and this is repeated until each component of ΔXS is sufficiently small”, Page 4 Para 9 “Here, k is the number of updates of Prmi. When each component of dPrm becomes sufficiently small, the update is terminated, the value of Prmi at that time is set as the identified parameter, step S217 in FIG. 3 is terminated, and step S21 in FIG. 2 is terminated. If dPrm is not sufficiently small, it is updated by PRi = T (Θi, Qi) using Θi, Qi included in Prmik + 1, dPrm is obtained from equations (14) to (22), and Prmi until dPrm becomes sufficiently small. Update repeatedly.”).
11. Regarding Claim 6, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim1. Makita further teaches a robot control system comprising:
the robot control device according to claim 1 (See Claim 1 rejection), and the robot (See
at least Page 2 Para 3 “…The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2,…”, Page 2 Para 4 “The calibration control device 6 communicates with the robot control device 2 and the sensor control device 5 while communicating with the measurement result from the three-dimensional shape measuring instrument 4 as a measurement device and the command value from the robot control device 2 to the robot 1 at the time of measurement.”)
12. Regarding Claim 7, Makita teaches a robot control method comprising:
acquiring a measurement position of a movement destination of the robot using a controller
configured to control a robot (See at least Page 2 Para 1 “A robot calibration apparatus and method according to the present invention measures the position of a calibration jig attached to the tip of an arm of an articulated robot, …”, Page 2 Para 3 “…The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2,…”, Page 2 Para 5 “The calibration control device 6 communicates with the robot control device 2 and the sensor control device 5 while communicating with the measurement result from the three-dimensional shape measuring instrument 4 as a measurement device and the command value from the robot control device 2 to the robot 1 at the time of measurement.”, Page 5 Last Para “Also, the position of the robot's hand is obtained from the shape of the object attached to the hand of the robot using a three-dimensional shape measuring instrument, but a marker such as an LED is attached to the hand of the robot, and images are taken with a plurality of cameras...”) and automatically move the robot to the measurement position (See at least Page 2 Para 3 “Embodiment 1 FIG. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a robot calibration apparatus according to Embodiment 1 of the present invention. A position detector 11 such as an encoder is attached to each joint of the multi-joint robot 1. The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2, and the robot control device 2 manages the angle of each joint of the robot 1 from the value of the position detector 11, and the position of the hand of the robot 1 is an orthogonal coordinate type. Move to a desired position (x, y, z).”);
acquiring a measurement result of a position of the robot calculated based on spatial information about an operational space of the robot, the spatial information acquired by an image capture device (See at least Page 5 Last Para “Also, the position of the robot's hand is obtained from the shape of the object attached to the hand of the robot using a three-dimensional shape measuring instrument, but a marker such as an LED is attached to the hand of the robot, and images are taken with a plurality of cameras…”, Page 2 Para 5 “The calibration control device 6 communicates with the robot control device 2 and the sensor control device 5 while communicating with the measurement result from the three-dimensional shape measuring instrument 4 as a measurement device and the command value from the robot control device 2 to the robot 1 at the time of measurement. Then, the mechanism parameters of the robot 1 are calculated, and the robot 1 is calibrated. For example,”, Page 3 Para 10 “In step S217, the mechanism parameters of the robot 1, tool data, and the installation position of the threedimensional shape measuring instrument 4 are obtained as follows. The measurement position of the center of the sphere in the sensor coordinate system Os measured in steps S211 to S216 is PSi = [xsci, ysci, zsci] T (i = 1, 2,..., N1), the sphere in the robot coordinate system Or. The center position is PRSi, and the position of the sphere at the tip of the robot 1 managed by the robot controller 2 at each measurement (hereinafter referred to as a command value) is PRi = [xri, yri, zri] T. If the position and orientation of the sensor coordinate system Os viewed from the robot coordinate system Or is TRS, then PRSi = TRS · PSi (8).”); …
automatically controlling physical movement of the robot based on a determination to perform calibration (See at least Page 2 Para 3 “Embodiment 1 FIG. FIG. 1 is a block diagram showing a robot calibration apparatus according to Embodiment 1 of the present invention. A position detector 11 such as an encoder is attached to each joint of the multi-joint robot 1. The robot 1 is connected to the robot control device 2, and the robot control device 2 manages the angle of each joint of the robot 1 from the value of the position detector 11, and the position of the hand of the robot 1 is an orthogonal coordinate type. Move to a desired position (x, y, z).”).
However, Makita does not explicitly spell out …
determine whether to correct a relationship between a coordinate system of the image capture device and a coordinate system of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result,
when it is determined to correct the relationship between the coordinate system of the image capture device and the coordinate system of the robot, determining whether to perform calibration of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result, and …
Choi teaches …
determine whether to correct a relationship between a coordinate system of the image capture device and a coordinate system of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result (See at least Para [0066] “[The calibration automatic correction module 440 is obtained from the image of the calibration marker 100 in which the coordinate system conversion value between the calibration marker 100 and the robot arm 300 is input in real time during the operation of the robot arm 300 Based on the position and posture and the position value of the robot arm 300 at the time of acquiring the image of the calibration marker 100, the validity of the initially set coordinate system transformation value or the currently set coordinate system transformation value is determined to re-perform the calibration decide whether or not.]”, Para [0030] “[In addition, in d-1) according to the embodiment, if the difference value calculated in step d) is greater than or equal to the reference value for re-execution determination, the management terminal automatically determines the preset size between the difference value and the reference value Comparing it with a reference value for use, but if the difference value is greater than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, re-calibrating, and if the difference value is less than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, storing the calculated conversion value as an automatic correction value;”),
when it is determined to correct the relationship between the coordinate system of the image capture device and the coordinate system of the robot, determining whether to perform calibration of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result (See at least Para [0030] “[In addition, in d-1) according to the embodiment, if the difference value calculated in step d) is greater than or equal to the reference value for re-execution determination, the management terminal automatically determines the preset size between the difference value and the reference value Comparing it with a reference value for use, but if the difference value is greater than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, re-calibrating, and if the difference value is less than or equal to the reference value for automatic correction determination, storing the calculated conversion value as an automatic correction value;”), and …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Makita with the teachings of Choi and include the feature of determining whether to correct a relationship between a coordinate system of the image capture device and a coordinate system of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result and when it is determined to correct the relationship between the coordinate system of the image capture device and the coordinate system of the robot, determining whether to perform calibration of the robot based on the measurement position and the measurement result, thereby improving the accuracy of an operation position of a robot (See at least Para [0001] “[The present invention relates to a hand eye calibration system and method, and more particularly, by using information transmitted through a camera, input information for hand eye calibration is obtained in real time in a system operating a robot arm, and based on this It relates to a hand eye calibration system and method for correcting and improving the transformation relationship between the coordinate system of the camera and the coordinate system of the robot arm by determining the effectiveness of the operation of the camera and the robot system.]”)
13. Regarding Claim 8, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim 1. Maikta further teaches the robot control device according to claim 1, wherein, the image capture device comprises at least one of a camera, a 3D stereo camera, and a LiDAR (See at least Page 5 Last Para “Also, the position of the robot's hand is obtained from the shape of the object attached to the hand of the robot using a three-dimensional shape measuring instrument, but a marker such as an LED is attached to the hand of the robot, and images are taken with a plurality of cameras…”).
14. Regarding Claim 9, modified Makita teaches all the elements of claim 7. Maikta further teaches the robot control method according to claim 7, wherein, the image capture device comprises at least one of a camera, a 3D stereo camera, and a LiDAR (See at least Page 5 Last Para “Also, the position of the robot's hand is obtained from the shape of the object attached to the hand of the robot using a three-dimensional shape measuring instrument, but a marker such as an LED is attached to the hand of the robot, and images are taken with a plurality of cameras…”).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
AISO (US 20130274921 A1) teaches a robot system with a movable component with a mark
thereon; a control unit that controls the movable component in a three-dimensional coordinate system based on control information; a camera that outputs image data by imaging the mark; and a calibrator that creates a transformation parameter for correlating a two-dimensional coordinate system of the image data with the three-dimensional coordinate system based on the image data obtained by imaging the mark at different positions and the control information.
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658