DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “floor cleaning system” in Claims 1-10, “floor cleaning machine” in Claims 1, 2, and 4-8, “cleaning fluid supply unit” in Claim 1, “dirty liquid recovery unit” in Claims 1 and 8-10, “power energy-consuming components” in Claim 1, “first control unit” in Claims 1, 2, and 4-10, “second control unit” in Claim 1, “power monitoring device” in Claim 5, “cleaning fluid monitoring device” in Claim 6, “level monitoring device” in Claim 7, and “turbidity monitoring device” in Claim 8.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, and therefore dependent Claims 2-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second charging interface ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims since “a second charging interface” has not been previously claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashbaugh et al. US 2020/0268225 (hereafter Ashbaugh et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
1. A floor cleaning system, comprising:
a floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) including:
a cleaning head (cleaning head 14) movable over a surface to be cleaned and having a rotatable brush roller (brushroll 40);
a cleaning fluid supply unit (fluid distributor 38) arranged for supplying a cleaning fluid to the brush roller and comprising a supply tank (supply tank 20) for storing the cleaning fluid;
a dirty liquid recovery unit (suction source and pathway from suction nozzle 44 and recovery tank 22, Paragraph [0058]) for recovering dirty liquid and debris from the surface to be cleaned and comprising a recovery tank (recovery tank 22) for storing the dirty liquid;
a rechargeable battery (battery 80) configured to power energy-consuming components of the floor cleaning machine;
a first control unit (controller 76) controlling the floor cleaning machine to perform cleaning operations and self-cleaning operations (self-cleaning and drying cycles); and
a charging plug (corresponding charging contacts can be provided on the exterior of the apparatus 10, Paragraph [0092]) electrically coupled to the rechargeable battery;
and a self-cleaning station (tray 110) including:
a station body (body of tray) configured to receive and hold at least a portion of the base (Figure 6);
a power plug (wall charger 114 of power cord 112) provided on the station body and having ability to be electrically coupled to an external power source (Paragraph [0092]);
a second control unit (performs self-cleaning of apparatus) provided on the station body (Paragraph [0091] - The tray 110 can further be configured for further functionality beyond simple storage, such as for charging the apparatus 10, running the drying cycle, and/or for self-cleaning of the apparatus 10. – therefore, self-cleaning functions can be on tray 110);
a self-cleaning switch (drying cycle input control, button, or switch of docking station 110, Paragraph [0093]) operably provided on the station body and electrically coupled with the second charging interface (unclear due to 112(b) issue – as best interpreted - charging contacts can be provided on the exterior of the apparatus 10, Paragraph [0092]); and
a charging port (docking station charging contacts, Paragraph [0092]) configured for electrical connection to the charging plug and coupled to the second control unit (allowing battery charging circuit 84 to charge battery 80);
wherein the first control unit is in signal communication with the second control unit via an electrical pathway passing through the charging plug and the charging port when the charging plug is electrically contacted with the charging port (drying cycle and self-cleaning cycle is locked-out by the controller 76 when the apparatus is not docked with the tray 110 which is sensed by connection to docking station charging contacts, Paragraphs [0097] and [0118]), such that the self-cleaning operation is performed in response to an indication that the self-cleaning switch has been turned on (Paragraph [0132] - “The drying cycle can automatically start upon docking the apparatus 10 on the tray 110. Alternatively, the drying cycle can be initiated manually after docking the apparatus 10 on the tray 110, such as by selecting the drying cycle input control 94 on the SUI 72, or another user-engageable button or switch provided elsewhere on the apparatus 10, or by selecting a user-engageable drying cycle input control, button or switch provided on the tray 110”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
2. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprises a charging control circuit (battery charging circuit 84) controlling the charging of the rechargeable battery, and the charging control circuit interrupts the charging of the rechargeable battery when the first control unit initiates the floor cleaning machine to perform the self-cleaning operation (Paragraph [0126] – “the battery charging circuit 84 is disabled during one or both of the self-cleaning cycle and the drying cycle in order to use the full operating power of the wall charger 114 to power the maintenance cycle(s)”).
Regarding Claim 3, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
3. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the self-cleaning switch (drying cycle input control, button, or switch of docking station 110, Paragraph [0093]) is foot-operated (merely the user’s decision to actuate button or switch with their foot).
Regarding Claim 4, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
4. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprises a cleaning switch (input controls 88, 90, on hand grip 26) configured to be operable, and the cleaning switch is communicatively coupled to the first control unit (controller 76) for initiating the cleaning operation in response to an indication that the cleaning switch has been turned on (input controls 88 and 90 can turn on and operate the device).
Regarding Claim 5, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
5. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprises a power monitoring device (battery monitoring circuit 86) configured to monitor the remaining power of the rechargeable battery and be in signal communication with the first control unit (controller 76)(Paragraph [0074]), and the first control unit is configured to perform the self-cleaning operation (self-cleaning mode) in response to an indication that the self-cleaning switch (drying cycle input control, button, or switch of docking station 110, Paragraph [0093]) has been turned on when the power monitoring device detects the remaining power of the rechargeable battery satisfied (when apparatus is docked on charging tray, Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
6. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprises a cleaning fluid monitoring device (flow control system, Paragraph [0054]) being in signal communication with the first control unit (controller 76) and configured to monitor the flow of the cleaning fluid in the fluid delivery unit (fluid distributor 38).
Regarding Claim 7, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
7. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprises a level monitoring device (status indicators 74 providing status information - dirty water level, Paragraph [0076]) being in signal communication with the first control unit (controller 76) for monitoring the level in the recovery tank (recovery tank 22).
Regarding Claim 9, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
9. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning head (cleaning head 14) comprises a brush-roller motor (brush motor 53) for rotating the brush roller (brushroll 40), the dirty liquid recovery unit (suction source, Paragraph [0058]) includes a liquid pump (pump 42) between the supply tank (supply tank 20) and the brush roller, and the brush - roller motor and the pump are both communicatively coupled to the first control unit (controller 76)(Paragraphs [0068] and [0120]).
Regarding Claim 10, Ashbaugh et al. anticipates:
10. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the dirty liquid recovery unit (suction source and pathway from suction nozzle 44 and recovery tank 22, Paragraph [0058]) comprises a suction motor (vacuum motor 46) in fluid communication with the recovery tank (recovery tank 22) and communicatively coupled to the first control unit (controller 76).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashbaugh et al. US 2020/0268225 (hereafter Ashbaugh et al.) in view of Pruiett US 2021/0038041 (hereafter Pruiett).
Regarding Claim 8, Pruiett teaches:
8. The floor cleaning system according to claim 1, wherein the floor cleaning machine (surface cleaning apparatus 10) comprises a turbidity monitoring device (see discussion below) being in signal communication with the first control unit (controller 76) for monitoring the turbidity of the fluid in the dirty liquid recovery unit (recovery tank 22).
Ashbaugh et al. discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) including status indicators 72 providing status information to the controller 76. However, Ashbaugh et al. does not disclose the inclusion of a turbidity monitoring device to monitor the turbidity of the fluid in the recovery tank 22. The reference Pruiett (same assignee as Ashbaugh et al.) discloses a surface cleaning apparatus 10 with a controller 100 configured to collect data provided by one or more sensors 102. In Paragraph [0049], Pruiett discloses “Each of the one or more onboard sensors 102 is configured to detect events or changes related to the operation of the surface cleaning apparatus 10 or its operating environment and send the information to the controller 100. Non-limiting examples of the one or more onboard sensors 102 include a tank full sensor 120, a turbidity sensor 122, a floor type sensor 124 (also referred to as a floor condition sensor), a pump pressure sensor 126, a recovery system or filter status sensor 128, a wheel rotation sensor 130, an acoustic sensor 132, a usage sensor 134, a soil sensor 136 and an accelerometer 138. Any one of these sensors, or any combination of these sensors, can be provided on the surface cleaning apparatus 10.” In Paragraph [0077] – Pruiett discloses “the turbidity sensor 122 generates data related to the turbidity of the fluid within the recovery tank 22, and sends this information to the controller 100”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Ashbaugh et al. device to include a turbidity sensor as taught by Pruiett with the motivation to detect a severely dirty floor and, in response, change the operation and/or notify the user as taught in Paragraph [0077] of Pruiett.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of floor cleaners with docking stations.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723