DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8-10 and 18-30 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, 14-16, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-40 have been amended. Claims 1-7, 11-17, and 31-40 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-17, and 31-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240023011 A1 to Niu et al. (hereinafter “Niu”) and US 20200351822 A1 to Roy et al. (hereinafter “Roy”).
As per claim 1, Niu discloses a method performed by a wireless device (Niu Abstract), the method comprising: adapting monitoring of a downlink control channel based on a gap in network coverage overlapping a paging occasion configured for the wireless device, wherein adapting monitoring of the downlink control channel comprises monitoring the downlink control channel during an additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0062,0065,0127-0128] [0131] When the UE determines that the eDRX paging time window (PTW) or the PSM activation time of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may negotiate eDRX/PSM parameters with the core network. The UE may send a message, such as an attach request message, a TAU request message, etc., to the core network. The message may include a NAS message. The message may carry at least one of: [0132] a desired extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter; [0133] a desired shift time of a Paging Time Window in an eDRX cycle; [0134] a desired Power Saving Mode (PSM) parameter; [0135] a desired shift time of an activation time of a PSM; [0136] a coverage hole information; [0137] an eDRX deactivation indication; [0138] a PSM deactivation indication; [0139] a periodicity of the coverage hole; [0140] a start time of a next coverage hole; or a ratio between a duration of the coverage hole in a predetermined total duration and the predetermined total duration.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the channel to monitor is a downlink control channel (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0039]) and monitoring additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 2, Niu and Roy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method comprises monitoring the downlink control channel both during the paging occasion configured for the wireless device and during the additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0127] When the UE is in an idle or an inactive state, the UE camps on a cell, obtains the paging occasion configuration of the cell, and determines the paging occasion (PO) according to its UE ID. In each Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, the UE monitors the paging message at its own paging occasion. On the core network side, if there is a paging message for the UE, the core network sends the paging message in the tracking area where the UE is located. On the base station side, if the paging message of the UE arrives, the base station sends the paging message of the UE at the paging occasion associated with the UE. [0128] In the coverage hole scenario, the UE may be in a coverage hole (or, in a silent/mute state, or an access barring state), and is not able to receive data. If the core network or base station does not know the status of the UE, when a paging message arrives, the core network or base station still attempts to page the UE, but no response from the UE may be received, resulting in a call failure. Or, in a coverage hole scenario, the UE may be in a mute state, or the UE may be barred from accessing the network, so the UE is not able to receive data. When the UE leaves the coverage hole, the UE may need to wait until the next DRX cycle or the next extended DRX (eDRX) cycle to receive the paging message, which may lead to a delay to the paging message reception. Additionally, the UE may support a Power Saving Mode (PSM) function. When the UE wakes up in the PSM mode, the UE initiates a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure to perform cell search. However, the UE may wake up when the UE is in a coverage hole or when the UE is barred from accessing the network, the cell search fails and wastes the UE's energy. As such, it may be beneficial for the UE to take some proactive actions when there is a coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses monitoring paging occasions and additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 3, Niu and Roy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, based on the gap in the network coverage overlapping the paging occasion configured for the wireless device, the method further comprises abstaining from monitoring the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0062,0065]).
As per claim 4, Niu and Roy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the additional replacement paging occasion includes a paging occasion prior to the gap in network coverage (Niu [0145] When the UE determines that the PTW in the eDRX of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the start time of the PTW. For example, the start time of the PTW obtained by the UE according to the UE ID is T, and after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the PTW no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 5, Niu and Roy disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the additional replacement paging occasion includes a paging occasion after the gap in network coverage (Niu [0145] When the UE determines that the PTW in the eDRX of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the start time of the PTW. For example, the start time of the PTW obtained by the UE according to the UE ID is T, and after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the PTW no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 6, Niu and Roy discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the paging occasion configured for the wireless device is based on an active portion of a discontinuous reception cycle (Niu [0127-0140]) or a power saving mode cycle (Niu [0147] When the UE determines that the wake-up time of the PSM of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the wake-up time of the PSM. For example, the start time of the wake-up time of the UE's PSM is T, after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the wake-up time of the UE's PSM no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.), and wherein the additional replacement paging occasion occurs outside of the active portion of the discontinuous reception cycle or the power saving mode cycle (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 7, Niu and Roy discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the gap in network coverage overlaps the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]); and sending, to a network node, information indicating that the gap in network coverage overlaps the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]).
As per claim 11, Niu discloses a wireless device comprising processing circuitry (Niu Abstract and [0005]) operable to: adapt monitoring of a downlink control channel based on a gap in network coverage overlapping a paging occasion configured for the wireless device, wherein adapting monitoring of the downlink control channel comprises monitoring the downlink control channel during an additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0062,0065,0127-0128] [0131] When the UE determines that the eDRX paging time window (PTW) or the PSM activation time of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may negotiate eDRX/PSM parameters with the core network. The UE may send a message, such as an attach request message, a TAU request message, etc., to the core network. The message may include a NAS message. The message may carry at least one of: [0132] a desired extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter; [0133] a desired shift time of a Paging Time Window in an eDRX cycle; [0134] a desired Power Saving Mode (PSM) parameter; [0135] a desired shift time of an activation time of a PSM; [0136] a coverage hole information; [0137] an eDRX deactivation indication; [0138] a PSM deactivation indication; [0139] a periodicity of the coverage hole; [0140] a start time of a next coverage hole; or a ratio between a duration of the coverage hole in a predetermined total duration and the predetermined total duration.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the channel to monitor is a downlink control channel (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0039]) and monitoring additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 12, Niu and Roy disclose the wireless device of claim 11, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to monitor the downlink control channel both during the paging occasion configured for the wireless device and during the additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0127] When the UE is in an idle or an inactive state, the UE camps on a cell, obtains the paging occasion configuration of the cell, and determines the paging occasion (PO) according to its UE ID. In each Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, the UE monitors the paging message at its own paging occasion. On the core network side, if there is a paging message for the UE, the core network sends the paging message in the tracking area where the UE is located. On the base station side, if the paging message of the UE arrives, the base station sends the paging message of the UE at the paging occasion associated with the UE. [0128] In the coverage hole scenario, the UE may be in a coverage hole (or, in a silent/mute state, or an access barring state), and is not able to receive data. If the core network or base station does not know the status of the UE, when a paging message arrives, the core network or base station still attempts to page the UE, but no response from the UE may be received, resulting in a call failure. Or, in a coverage hole scenario, the UE may be in a mute state, or the UE may be barred from accessing the network, so the UE is not able to receive data. When the UE leaves the coverage hole, the UE may need to wait until the next DRX cycle or the next extended DRX (eDRX) cycle to receive the paging message, which may lead to a delay to the paging message reception. Additionally, the UE may support a Power Saving Mode (PSM) function. When the UE wakes up in the PSM mode, the UE initiates a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure to perform cell search. However, the UE may wake up when the UE is in a coverage hole or when the UE is barred from accessing the network, the cell search fails and wastes the UE's energy. As such, it may be beneficial for the UE to take some proactive actions when there is a coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 13, Niu and Roy disclose the wireless device of claim 11, wherein, based on the gap in the network coverage overlapping the paging occasion configured for the wireless device, the processing circuitry is operable to abstain from monitoring the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0062,0065]).
As per claim 14, Niu and Roy disclose the wireless device of claim 11, wherein the additional replacement paging occasion includes a paging occasion prior to the gap in network coverage (Niu [0145] When the UE determines that the PTW in the eDRX of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the start time of the PTW. For example, the start time of the PTW obtained by the UE according to the UE ID is T, and after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the PTW no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 15, Niu and Roy disclose the wireless device of claim 11, wherein the additional replacement paging occasion includes a paging occasion after the gap in network coverage (Niu [0145] When the UE determines that the PTW in the eDRX of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the start time of the PTW. For example, the start time of the PTW obtained by the UE according to the UE ID is T, and after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the PTW no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 16, Niu and Roy disclose the wireless device of claim 11, wherein the paging occasion configured for the wireless device is based on an active portion of a discontinuous reception cycle (Niu [0127-0140]) or a power saving mode cycle (Niu [0147] When the UE determines that the wake-up time of the PSM of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the wake-up time of the PSM. For example, the start time of the wake-up time of the UE's PSM is T, after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the wake-up time of the UE's PSM no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.), and wherein the additional replacement paging occasion occurs outside of the active portion of the discontinuous reception cycle or the power saving mode cycle (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 17, Niu and Roy disclose the wireless device of claim 11, the processing circuitry further operable to: determine that the gap in network coverage overlaps the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]); and send, to a network node, information indicating that the gap in network coverage overlaps the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]).
As per claim 31, Niu disclose a network node comprising processing circuitry (Niu Fig. 1) operable to: adapt when to page a wireless device via a downlink control channel based on a gap in network coverage of the wireless device overlapping a paging occasion configured for the wireless device, wherein adapting when to page the wireless device comprises paging the wireless device during an additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0062,0065,0127-0128] [0131] When the UE determines that the eDRX paging time window (PTW) or the PSM activation time of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may negotiate eDRX/PSM parameters with the core network. The UE may send a message, such as an attach request message, a TAU request message, etc., to the core network. The message may include a NAS message. The message may carry at least one of: [0132] a desired extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) parameter; [0133] a desired shift time of a Paging Time Window in an eDRX cycle; [0134] a desired Power Saving Mode (PSM) parameter; [0135] a desired shift time of an activation time of a PSM; [0136] a coverage hole information; [0137] an eDRX deactivation indication; [0138] a PSM deactivation indication; [0139] a periodicity of the coverage hole; [0140] a start time of a next coverage hole; or a ratio between a duration of the coverage hole in a predetermined total duration and the predetermined total duration.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the channel to monitor is a downlink control channel (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0039]) and monitoring additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 32, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to page the wireless device both during the paging occasion configured for the wireless device and during the additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0127] When the UE is in an idle or an inactive state, the UE camps on a cell, obtains the paging occasion configuration of the cell, and determines the paging occasion (PO) according to its UE ID. In each Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle, the UE monitors the paging message at its own paging occasion. On the core network side, if there is a paging message for the UE, the core network sends the paging message in the tracking area where the UE is located. On the base station side, if the paging message of the UE arrives, the base station sends the paging message of the UE at the paging occasion associated with the UE. [0128] In the coverage hole scenario, the UE may be in a coverage hole (or, in a silent/mute state, or an access barring state), and is not able to receive data. If the core network or base station does not know the status of the UE, when a paging message arrives, the core network or base station still attempts to page the UE, but no response from the UE may be received, resulting in a call failure. Or, in a coverage hole scenario, the UE may be in a mute state, or the UE may be barred from accessing the network, so the UE is not able to receive data. When the UE leaves the coverage hole, the UE may need to wait until the next DRX cycle or the next extended DRX (eDRX) cycle to receive the paging message, which may lead to a delay to the paging message reception. Additionally, the UE may support a Power Saving Mode (PSM) function. When the UE wakes up in the PSM mode, the UE initiates a Tracking Area Update (TAU) procedure to perform cell search. However, the UE may wake up when the UE is in a coverage hole or when the UE is barred from accessing the network, the cell search fails and wastes the UE's energy. As such, it may be beneficial for the UE to take some proactive actions when there is a coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 33, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, wherein, based on the gap in the network coverage overlapping the paging occasion configured for the wireless device, the processing circuitry is operable to abstain from paging the wireless device during the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0062,0065]).
As per claim 34, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, wherein the additional replacement paging occasion includes a paging occasion prior to the gap in network coverage (Niu [0145] When the UE determines that the PTW in the eDRX of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the start time of the PTW. For example, the start time of the PTW obtained by the UE according to the UE ID is T, and after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the PTW no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 35, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, wherein the additional replacement paging occasion includes a paging occasion after the gap in network coverage (Niu [0145] When the UE determines that the PTW in the eDRX of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the start time of the PTW. For example, the start time of the PTW obtained by the UE according to the UE ID is T, and after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the PTW no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 36, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, wherein the paging occasion configured for the wireless device is based on an active portion of a discontinuous reception cycle (Niu [0127-0140]) or a power saving mode cycle (Niu [0147] When the UE determines that the wake-up time of the PSM of the UE conflicts with the coverage hole, the UE may shift forward/backward the wake-up time of the PSM. For example, the start time of the wake-up time of the UE's PSM is T, after shifting forward, it becomes T+t; or after shifting backward, it becomes T-t, where t is the offset. The offset may be determined by the coverage loophole information. After the shift, the wake-up time of the UE's PSM no longer conflicts with the coverage hole.), and wherein the additional replacement paging occasion occurs outside of the active portion of the discontinuous reception cycle or the power saving mode cycle (Niu [0127-0140,0145,0147]).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 37, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to: receive, from the wireless device, information indicating that the gap in network coverage overlaps the paging occasion configured for the wireless device (Niu [0127-0140]); and wherein the processing circuitry is operable to adapt when to page the wireless device based at least in part on receiving the information (Niu [0127-0140]).
As per claim 38, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to determine information to enable the wireless device to determine a configuration of the additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0127-0140]).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 39, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 38, wherein the configuration of the additional replacement paging occasion indicates when the additional replacement paging occasion occurs (Niu [0127-0140]).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
As per claim 40, Niu and Roy disclose the network node of claim 38, the processing circuitry further operable to send, to the wireless device, the information that enables the wireless device to determine the configuration of the additional replacement paging occasion (Niu [0127-0140]).
Niu may not explicitly disclose, but Roy, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses where the paging occasions is an additional backup paging occasions (Roy Fig. 4, 5, 6 and [0008,0025,0029-0030,0039]). The purpose of Roy is to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Roy with Niu, to improve paging process by including additional backup paging opportunities (Roy [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12, 14-16, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476