DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Fujimoto et al. (EP 3854587 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujimoto et al. teach:
1. A chip for cell culture (Abstract+), comprising
a laminate (e.g., 1A) having a flow path structure inside (see Fig. 3 for example),
wherein the laminate comprises a bottom plate substrate (e.g., 20a), a flow path substrate (e.g., 12, 13) in which a flow path (e.g., 3d) is formed (see ¶ 0072 & Fig. 3 for example) by laser processing (¶ 0065+), and a top plate substrate (e.g., 11) in this order (see Fig. 3 for example), and
the flow path substrate comprises a resin (¶ 0084-0098) having a glass transition temperature of 37° C. or higher, an elastic modulus at 25° C. of 1×109 Pa or more, and an elastic modulus at 150° C. of 1×107 Pa or less (Fujimoto et al. disclose various resins described in paragraphs 0084-0098 that correspond to the exemplary resins detailed in paragraphs 0041–0052 of the present application’s specification. Therefore, the resin of Fujimoto et al. satisfies the claimed properties.).
Regarding claim 5, Fujimoto et al. teach:
5. A method for producing a chip for cell culture (Abstract & ¶ 0015+), comprising
a laminate (e.g., 1A) having a flow path structure inside (see Fig. 3 for example), the method comprising:
(A) laminating a bottom plate substrate (e.g., 20a), a flow path substrate (e.g., 12, 13) in which a flow path (e.g., 3d) is formed (see ¶ 0072 & Fig. 3 for example) by laser processing (¶ 0065, 0067+), and a top plate substrate (e.g., 11) in this order (see Fig. 3 for example); and
(B) bonding the respective laminated substrates (see ¶ 0015-0019 for example),
wherein the flow path substrate comprises a resin (¶ 0084-0098) having a glass transition temperature of 37° C. or higher, an elastic modulus at 25° C. of 1×109 Pa or more, and an elastic modulus at 150° C. of 1×107 Pa or less (Fujimoto et al. disclose various resins described in paragraphs 0084-0098 that correspond to the exemplary resins detailed in paragraphs 0041–0052 of the present application’s specification. Therefore, the resin of Fujimoto et al. satisfies the claimed properties.).
Regarding claims 4 & 7, Fujimoto et al. teach:
4. A device for cell culture, comprising the chip for cell culture according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection above).
7. A method for culturing cells, comprising culturing cells in the presence of a drug within the flow path of the chip for cell culture according to claim 1 (see ¶ 0008, 0100, 0178+ for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujimoto et al. (EP 3854587 A1) in view of Issadore et al. (US 2019/0336973 A1).
Regarding claims 2 & 6, Fujimoto et al. teach:
2. The chip for cell culture according to claim 1, wherein the flow path substrate comprises a first flow path substrate in which a first flow path is formed and a second flow path substrate in which a second flow path is formed (see Figs. 3 & 7 for example), and
6. The method for producing a chip for cell culture according to claim 5, wherein the flow path substrate comprises a first flow path substrate in which a first flow path is formed and a second flow path substrate in which a second flow path is formed (see Figs. 3 & 7 for example), and in (A), the bottom plate substrate, the first flow path substrate, and the top plate substrate are laminated in this order through adhesive layers (see Fig. 3 for example).
However, Fujimoto et al. do not explicitly teach: the laminate further comprises a porous membrane between the first flow path substrate and the second flow path substrate.
Issadore et al. teach: A chip comprising
a laminate having a flow path structure inside (see Fig. 1C for example),
wherein the laminate comprises a bottom plate substrate (e.g., acrylic substrate), a flow path substrate (e.g., flow converter, lower layer) in which a flow path is formed by laser processing (see ¶ 0048 for example), and a top plate substrate (e.g., mylar film) in this order (see Fig. 1C for example), and
wherein the flow path substrate comprises a first flow path substrate (e.g., flow converter) in which a first flow path is formed and a second flow path substrate (e.g., lower layer) in which a second flow path is formed, and
the laminate further comprises a porous membrane (e.g., TEMPO membrane filter ¶ 0007-0008+) between the first flow path substrate and the second flow path substrate (see Fig. 1C for example).
wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the first flow path substrate and the second flow path substrate has a multilayer structure (see Fig. 1C for example).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Fujimoto et al. with a membrane of Issadore et al. so that the device may be used to separate magnetically tagged particles, such as cells (Issadore et al. Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fujimoto et al. teach: 3. The chip for cell culture according to claim 2, wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the first flow path substrate and the second flow path substrate has a multilayer structure (see Figs. 3 & 7 for example).
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1798