DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2024, 09/16/2024 and 07/18/2025 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
This office action considers claims 1-21 and 31-40 filed on 02/05/2024 are pending for prosecution.
Claims 22-30 are canceled.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-21 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Gatehouse et al. (R2-2105860 “Mobile-Termination with non-continuous coverage in NTN”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘GATEHOUSE’).
Regarding claim 1, GATEHOUSE teaches a method performed by a wireless device (Page 1, 1. Introduction: UE) for adapting to intermittent network coverage in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (
Page 1, 1. Introduction
A UE and a satellite (the core network) must agree upon the timing of paging occasions such that the UE is monitoring paging and is reachable by the network.
Definitions [3GPP 36.304]:
.....
2. A Paging Occasion (PO) is a subframe where there may be P-RNTI transmitted on PDCCH addressing the paging message.
Page 1, 2. Paging: Problem Statement
Figure 1: Illustration of the mismatching of paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Observation 1: It is essential to define appropriate procedures for handling the issue of paging in NTN in an energy efficient manner.
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.), the method comprising:
receiving information indicative of the availability of NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
(PSM timer scheduling of a UE indicates UE receives from Satellite/Core Network Node schedule for network coverage or availability of NTN network access based on protocol understanding between core network and UE));
determining whether the wireless device is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based in part on the received information and a location of the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.);
upon determining that the wireless device is outside the area with NTN network access, operating in a reduced power mode in which one or more internal processes are suspended or disabled (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
(eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep indicates one or more internal processes are suspended or disabled)); and
upon determining that the wireless device is within the area with NTN network access, operating in a normal power mode in which one or more of the internal processes that were suspended or disabled are reactivated or enabled (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 2 (from R1-2102961 [5]): Re-use the current PSM scheme adjusting only the timers with the wait-time until the next satellite covers the UE.
(using a normal power mode of operation in which one or more of the internal processes that were suspended or disabled are reactivated or enabled while in coverage for monitor POs is implicit)).
Regarding claim 2, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the reduced power mode comprises modifying wireless device configuration (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.).
Regarding claim 3, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 2, wherein modifying wireless device configuration comprises one or more of:
entering an inactive state (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs);
adapting paging occasions to periods of network availability and network unavailability (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.); and
adapting discontinuous reception cycles to periods of network availability and unavailability (
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 2 (from R1-2102961 [5]): Re-use the current PSM scheme adjusting only the timers with the wait-time until the next satellite covers the UE.).
Regarding claim 4, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the reduced power mode comprises suspending a wireless device operation (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
(Sleep for UE indicates suspending a wireless device operation from wireless communication)).
Regarding claim 5, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 4, wherein suspending the wireless device operation comprises suspending one or more of:
cell search;
page monitoring (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
….. ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.);
neighbor cell measurements;
periodic registration;
periodic area updates;
system information acquisition; and
reachability timer monitoring.
Regarding claim 6, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the normal power mode of operation comprises modifying wireless device configuration (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 7, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 6, wherein modifying wireless device configuration comprises one or more of:
entering a connected state;
adapting paging occasions to periods of network availability and network unavailability; and
adapting discontinuous reception cycles to periods of network availability and unavailability (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 8, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the normal power mode of operation comprises resuming a wireless device operation (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 9, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 8, wherein resuming the wireless device operation comprises resuming one or more of:
cell search;
page monitoring (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
….. ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.);
neighbor cell measurements;
periodic registration;
periodic area updates;
system information acquisition; and
reachability timer monitoring.
Regarding claim 10, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving information indicative of the availability of NTN network access comprises one or more of:
receiving information related to a shape, size, center, movement, or orientation of an area covered by NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound. );
receiving explicit information about where NTN network access exists (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.);
receiving explicit information about where NTN network access is absent (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.);
receiving information about one or more borders associated with an area covered by NTN network access; and
receiving coverage timing information indicating when an area will be covered by NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
See also Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 10.
Regarding claim 21, GATEHOUSE teaches a method performed by a network node (Page 1, 1. Introduction: satellite (the core network)) for adapting to intermittent network coverage in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (
Page 1, 1. Introduction
A UE and a satellite (the core network) must agree upon the timing of paging occasions such that the UE is monitoring paging and is reachable by the network.
Definitions [3GPP 36.304]:
.....
2. A Paging Occasion (PO) is a subframe where there may be P-RNTI transmitted on PDCCH addressing the paging message.
Page 1, 2. Paging: Problem Statement
Figure 1: Illustration of the mismatching of paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Observation 1: It is essential to define appropriate procedures for handling the issue of paging in NTN in an energy efficient manner.
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.), the method comprising:
providing a wireless device with information indicative of the availability of NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
(PSM timer scheduling of a UE indicates Satellite/Core Network Node provides UE with schedule for network coverage or availability of NTN network access based on protocol understanding between core network and UE));
obtaining location information associated with the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.);
determining whether the wireless device is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based in part on the information indicative of the availability of NTN network access and the obtained location of the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure);
upon determining that the wireless device is outside the area with NTN network access, determining that the wireless device is using a reduced power mode of operation in which one or more internal processes are suspended or disabled (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
(eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep indicates one or more internal processes are suspended or disabled)); and
upon determining that the wireless device is within the area with NTN network access, determining that the wireless device is using a normal power mode of operation in which one or more of the internal processes that were suspended or disabled are reactivated or enabled (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE …..
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 2 (from R1-2102961 [5]): Re-use the current PSM scheme adjusting only the timers with the wait-time until the next satellite covers the UE.
(using a normal power mode of operation in which one or more of the internal processes that were suspended or disabled are reactivated or enabled while in coverage for monitor POs is implicit)).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Regarding claim 32, GATEHOUSE teaches the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to, upon determining that the wireless device is outside the area with NTN network access, suspend a network reachability timer for the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.).
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 35, GATEHOUSE teaches the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to, upon determining that the wireless device is within the area with NTN network access, resume a network reachability timer for the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.).
Regarding claim 36, GATEHOUSE teaches the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to, upon determining that the wireless device is within the area with NTN network access, adapt a discontinuous reception cycle for the wireless device based in part on the information indicative of the availability of NTN network access and the obtained location of the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.).
Regarding claim 37, GATEHOUSE teaches the network node of claim 31, the processing circuitry further operable to, upon determining that the wireless device is within the area with NTN network access, determine the wireless device autonomously resumed to an active state (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE.
Proposal 1c: The UE and core network should agree on which coverage windows are also paging windows for iDRX (all by default).
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.).
Regarding claim 38, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to provide the wireless device with information indicative of the availability of NTN network access by providing information related to a shape, size, center, movement, or orientation of an area covered by NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound.).
Regarding claim 39, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to provide the wireless device with information indicative of the availability of NTN network access by one or more of:
providing explicit information about where NTN network access exists, providing explicit information about where NTN network access is absent (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.); and
providing information about one or more borders associated with an area covered by NTN network access.
Regarding claim 40, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the processing circuitry is operable to provide the wireless device with information indicative of the availability of NTN network access by providing coverage timing information indicating when an area will be covered by NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
See also Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lin; Yi-Ting, (US 20250097845 A1), describing METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CSI REPORTING
Chen et al. (US 20240373363 A1), describing USER EQUIPMENT, METHOD OF USER EQUIPMENT, NETWORK NODE, AND METHOD OF NETWORK NODE
Li et al. (US 20240064851 A1), describing MESSAGE TRANSMISSION VIA NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
Nuggehalli et al. (US 20240032139 A1), describing DISCONTINUOUS COVERAGE IN NR NTN AND IOT NTN SYSTEMS
Tseng et al. (US 20230047987 A1), describing IMPLEMENTING THE IDLE MODE WHILE OUT OF A RAN COVERAGE AREA
Shrestha et al. (US 20230043459 A1), describing SLEEP WAKEUP METHODS FOR DISCONTINUOUS COVERAGE IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
MediaTek Inc., (R2-2106479), describing Summary 9.2.2 Open Issues not Covered by NR-NTN
Huawei, (R2-2104552), describing IOT NTN essential parts
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413