DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This office action considers claims 1-20 and 41 filed on 05/19/2026 are pending for prosecution.
Claims 21-40 are canceled.
Claim 41 is added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 1-20 and 41, filed on 05/19/2026 have been considered fully but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument that Gatehouse fails to disclose that the wireless device uses its location to determine whether it is within an NTN area (REMARKS, Page 9 of 11).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that Gatehouse discloses-
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.
See also, In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
From the above, it is construed that
(1) UE determines, by assistance from satellite/core network, as agreed upon or coordination between the core network and UEs, whether the wireless device/UE is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based on received scheduling information based on location of UE from satellite/core network, time of coverage availability and a corresponding location of the wireless device/UE at the time of coverage availability, implicit from RA procedure, causing the UE to alternate between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage as in Proposal 1, Proposal 1a and Figure 2;
or alternately,
(2) UE determines, by itself, whether the wireless device is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based on predicting coverage opportunities/availability from received long term ephemeris of satellite and a determined location of the wireless device/UE, implicit from X determination by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search, to alternate between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage as in Proposal 1, Proposal 1b and Figure 3.
Accordingly claim 1 and similarly claims 11 and 41 are rejected.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-20 being dependent on claim 1 and 11, are also rejected for the same reason as above.
NOTICE for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by Gatehouse et al. (R2-2105860 “Mobile-Termination with non-continuous coverage in NTN”, of IDS, hereinafter ‘GATEHOUSE’).
Regarding claim 1, GATEHOUSE teaches a method performed by a wireless device (Page 1, 1. Introduction: UE) for adapting to intermittent network coverage in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (
Page 1, 1. Introduction
A UE and a satellite (the core network) must agree upon the timing of paging occasions such that the UE is monitoring paging and is reachable by the network.
Definitions [3GPP 36.304]:
.....
2. A Paging Occasion (PO) is a subframe where there may be P-RNTI transmitted on PDCCH addressing the paging message.
Page 1, 2. Paging: Problem Statement
Figure 1: Illustration of the mismatching of paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Observation 1: It is essential to define appropriate procedures for handling the issue of paging in NTN in an energy efficient manner.
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.), the method comprising:
receiving information indicative of the availability of NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
See also, In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound.
(PSM timer scheduling of a UE indicates UE receives from Satellite/Core Network Node schedule for network coverage or availability of NTN network access based on protocol understanding between core network and UE, or
receives long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps or avalability));
determining whether the wireless device is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based in part on the received information and a location of the wireless device (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
See also, In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
(Construed that
(1) UE determines, by assistance from satellite/core network, as agreed upon or coordination between the core network and UEs, whether the wireless device/UE is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based on received scheduling information based on location of UE from satellite/core network, time of coverage availability and a corresponding location of the wireless device/UE at the time of coverage availability, implicit from RA procedure, causing the UE to alternate between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage as in Proposal 1, Proposal 1a and Figure 2;
or alternately,
(2) UE determines, by itself, whether the wireless device is within or outside of an area with NTN network access based on predicting coverage opportunities/availability from received long term ephemeris of satellite and a determined location of the wireless device/UE, implicit from X determination by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search, to alternate between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage as in Proposal 1, Proposal 1b and Figure 3.);
upon determining that the wireless device is outside the area with NTN network access, operating in a reduced power mode in which one or more internal processes are suspended or disabled (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
(eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep indicates one or more internal processes are suspended or disabled)); and
upon determining that the wireless device is within the area with NTN network access, operating in a normal power mode in which one or more of the internal processes that were suspended or disabled are reactivated or enabled (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 2 (from R1-2102961 [5]): Re-use the current PSM scheme adjusting only the timers with the wait-time until the next satellite covers the UE.
(using a normal power mode of operation in which one or more of the internal processes that were suspended or disabled are reactivated or enabled while in coverage for monitor POs is implicit)).
Regarding claim 2, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the reduced power mode comprises modifying wireless device configuration (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.).
Regarding claim 3, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 2, wherein modifying wireless device configuration comprises one or more of:
entering an inactive state (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs);
adapting paging occasions to periods of network availability and network unavailability (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.); and
adapting discontinuous reception cycles to periods of network availability and unavailability (
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 2 (from R1-2102961 [5]): Re-use the current PSM scheme adjusting only the timers with the wait-time until the next satellite covers the UE.).
Regarding claim 4, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the reduced power mode comprises suspending a wireless device operation (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
(Sleep for UE indicates suspending a wireless device operation from wireless communication)).
Regarding claim 5, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 4, wherein suspending the wireless device operation comprises suspending one or more of:
cell search;
page monitoring (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
….. ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.);
neighbor cell measurements;
periodic registration;
periodic area updates;
system information acquisition; and
reachability timer monitoring.
Regarding claim 6, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the normal power mode of operation comprises modifying wireless device configuration (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 7, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 6, wherein modifying wireless device configuration comprises one or more of:
entering a connected state;
adapting paging occasions to periods of network availability and network unavailability; and
adapting discontinuous reception cycles to periods of network availability and unavailability (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
In R1-2102961 [5], “Essential adaptations for discontinuous coverage in IoT-NTN”, Gatehouse and Sateliot proposed that TN PSM functionality is re-used, but both the core network and UE will add a wait period X to the T3324 timer that corresponds to the time from T3324 expires until the UE is in coverage. Here the UE could determine X by either ephemeris-based prediction or by iterative cell search.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 8, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein operating in the normal power mode of operation comprises resuming a wireless device operation (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 9, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 8, wherein resuming the wireless device operation comprises resuming one or more of:
cell search;
page monitoring (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
….. ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
Figure 3: Moving (current) paging windows into coverage windows in NTN.);
neighbor cell measurements;
periodic registration;
periodic area updates;
system information acquisition; and
reachability timer monitoring.
Regarding claim 10, GATEHOUSE teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving information indicative of the availability of NTN network access comprises one or more of:
receiving information related to a shape, size, center, movement, or orientation of an area covered by NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound. );
receiving explicit information about where NTN network access exists (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.);
receiving explicit information about where NTN network access is absent (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
In R2-2103511 [1], “Discussion on discontinuous coverage for NTN NB-IoT”, Huawei and HiSilicon proposed to use eDRX to monitor for paging while a UE is in coverage and PSM/MICO during coverage gaps to limit the power consumption of UEs. An implicit requirement of this scheme is stated explicitly in R1-2102920 [2], “Discussion on additional enhancements for IoT-NTN”, ZTE suggested to enhance eDRX and PSM to support aperiodic sleep such that UEs can be scheduled to wake up and monitor POs within coverage windows.
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.);
receiving information about one or more borders associated with an area covered by NTN network access; and
receiving coverage timing information indicating when an area will be covered by NTN network access (
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
See also Figure 2: Matching paging windows and coverage windows in NTN.).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 10.
Regarding claim 41, GATEHOUSE teaches a system for adapting to intermittent network coverage in a non- terrestrial network (NTN) (
Page 1, 1. Introduction
A UE and a satellite (the core network) must agree upon the timing of paging occasions such that the UE is monitoring paging and is reachable by the network.
Page 1, 2. Paging: Problem Statement
A UE in the NTN scenario will experience cells moving towards and away from the UE and occasional ‘coverage gaps’ in the case of discontinuous coverage.), the system comprising: a network node, the network node configured to provide a wireless device with information indicative of the availability of NTN network access (
Page 1, 1. Introduction
satellite (the core network)
Page 2, 3. Paging: Minimum viable product
To be viable this scheme must address how the iDRX and PSM timers are set and agreed upon between the core network and UEs. One option is that the core network schedules the PSM timer of a UE such that the timer coincides with the next coverage window for that UE. This scheduling could take place upon either RRC Release or during/after the RA procedure. The iDRX timer could be set in the same way - possibly just once and maintained through all coverage windows.
Proposal 1 (from R2-2103511 [1]): Adopt a scheme where the UE is alternating between eDRX and PSM based on the presence or outage of coverage.
Proposal 1a: The core network should determine PSM/iDRX timers for each UE according to predicted coverage opportunities (for the TA or the specific UE if location information is available) and update them for the UE (if required) either upon RRC Release or during/after the random-access procedure.
In R2-2102829 [3] “On Cell-Reselection in NR-NTN” and R1-2102752 [4] “UE Time and frequency Synchronisation for NR-NTN”, Mediatek proposed that UEs could use long-term ephemeris information to predict coverage gaps. This could allow the UE to wake up from idle-DRX or PSM before a coverage window.
Proposal 1b: The UE should determine the PSM period according to predicted coverage opportunities and a prediction error bound. ); and
a wireless device configured to (
Page 1, 1. Introduction
UE).
Further claim 41 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shrestha et al., (US 20240313854 A1), describing PAGING IN DISCONTINUOUS COVERAGE
Zhu; Yajun, (US 20240064635 A1), describing COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS, COMMUNICATION DEVICE, AND STORAGE MEDIUM
Yu et al. (US 20220255619 A1), describing SATCOM GSM SOLUTION DIRECTLY COMMUNICATE WITH GSM PHONES
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413