DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
1. The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on February 05, 2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on February 05, 2024. Claims 1-3, 5-8,11-19, 22, 23, 26 and 27 are now pending in the present application and Claims 4, 9-10, 20-21, 24-25 and 28 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/14/2024, 01/08/2025 and 08/05/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-3,5-8,11-23 and 26-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, 13-20, 22 and 26-27 of copending Application No. 18/681,209 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both relate expressly to apparatus or a method of reporting a power headroom report (PHR). The present claims 1 and 13 include substantially the same features as claims 1 and 13 of copending application and the only difference is by the wordings.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Please see the direct claim comparison below.
Instant application 18/681,374
Co-pending application 18/681,209
(us 2025/0142489 A1)
1. A method for reporting a power headroom report (PHR), performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving configuration information transmitted by a base station, wherein the configuration information instructs the UE to support PHR reporting of at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) on one carrier; receiving a power control parameter of at least one TRP corresponding to at least one carrier transmitted by the base station; receiving a trigger condition for PHR reporting of at least one TRP transmitted by the base station; and triggering PHR reporting of at least two TRPs corresponding to each carrier based on the power control parameter and the trigger condition for reporting.
1. A method for reporting a power headroom report (PHR), performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving configuration information sent by a base station, the configuration information being used for instructing the UE to support, on one carrier, a PHR reporting for one single transmission reception point (TRP); receiving, from the base station, power control parameters corresponding to at least one carrier that support one or more TRPs; receiving, from the base station, a PHR reporting trigger condition corresponding to the one or more TRPs; and triggering the PHR reporting for a respective TRP corresponding to each carrier based on the power control parameters and the reporting trigger condition.
13. A method for reporting a power headroom report (PHR), performed by a base station, comprising: transmitting configuration information to a user equipment (UE), wherein the configuration information instructs the UE to support PHR reporting of at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) on one carrier; transmitting a power control parameter of at least one TRP corresponding to at least one carrier to the UE; transmitting a trigger condition for PHR reporting of at least one TRP to the UE; and receiving PHRs of at least two TRPs corresponding to each carrier transmitted by the UE.
13. A method for reporting a power headroom report (PHR), performed by a base station, comprising: sending configuration information to a user equipment (UE), the configuration information being used for instructing the UE to support, on one carrier, a PHR reporting for one single transmission reception point (TRP); sending power control parameters corresponding to at least one carrier that support one or more TRPs to the UE; sending a PHR reporting trigger condition corresponding to the one or more TRPs to the UE; and receiving, from the UE, a PHR reporting of a respective TRP corresponding to each carrier.
Claim 2 of present application is met by claim 8 of the copending application.
Claim 3 of present application is met by claim 9 of the copending application.
Claims 5 and 6 of present application are met by claim 11 of the copending application.
Claim 7 of present application is met by claim 2 of the copending application.
Claim 8 of present application is met by claims 3 and 4 of the copending application.
Claim 11 of present application is met by claim 6 of the copending application.
Claim 12 of present application is met by claim 7 of the copending application.
Claim 14 of present application is met by in part of claim 13 of the copending application.
Claim 15 of present application is met by claim 20 of the copending application.
Claim 16 of present application is met by claim 22 of the copending application.
Claim 17 of present application is met by in part of claim 22 of the copending application.
Claim 18 of present application is met by claim 14 of the copending application.
Claim 19 of present application is met by claims 15-17 of the copending application.
Claim 22 of present application is met by claim 18 of the copending application.
Claim 23 of present application is met by claim 19 of the copending application.
Claim 26 of present application is met by claim 26 of the copending application.
Claim 27 of present application is met by claim 27 of the copending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8,11-19, 22, 23, 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US 2021/0045070 A1) in view of Lei at al (U.S. Patent Pub. # US2019/0014444 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yi et al discloses a mended for reporting a power headroom report (PHR) (paragraphs 0359,0416 and 0423), performed by a user equipment (UE) , comprising: receiving configuration information transmitted by a base station (paragraphs 0331 and 0416, “..A wireless device may receive an RRC message indicating one or more parameters for the power headroom reporting procedure.”), wherein the configuration information instructs the UE to support PHR reporting of at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) on one carrier (paragraph 0416, “…, a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages indicating whether to support a TRP-specific PHR report or a cell-specific PHR report. In response to a configuration of a TRP-specific PHR report, a wireless device may operate a PHR process per TRP.”); receiving a power control parameter of at least one TRP corresponding to at least one carrier transmitted by the base station (paragraphs 0354 and 0357); receiving a trigger condition for PHR reporting of at least one TRP transmitted by the base station (paragraphs 0416- 0418); and triggering PHR reporting of at least two TRPs corresponding to each carrier based on the power control parameter (paragraph 0419, “…The wireless device may transmit a PHR comprising one or more cells of a TRP, or a PH value for an activated cell. The wireless device may support a first PHR process associated with a first TRP. The wireless device may support a second PHR process associated with a second TRP in response to being activated with the second TRP. The wireless device may transmit PH values for one or more first cells associated with the first TRP in a PHR, in response to a PHR trigger is associated with the first TRP. The wireless device may transmit PH values for one or more second cells associated with the second TRP, in response to a PHR trigger is associated with the second TRP. The wireless device may transmit a PH value for a cell that is associated with a TRP when the wireless device is triggered with a PHR towards to the TRP.”) and the trigger condition for reporting (paragraphs 0420-0421, “…In response to activating with a multi-TRP scenario in the cell group, the wireless device may transmit a PHR to each TRP when a PHR trigger occurs.”).
Yi et silent to receiving, a trigger condition transmitted by the base station.
Lei et al discloses UE receives a trigger condition transmitted by a base station (paragraph 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Lei et al in to the method of Yi et al , such that the UE could be received a trigger condition for PHR reporting of at least one TRP transmitted by the base station in order to improve the overall utilization of radio resources and to reduce a power consumption of the UE as taught by Lei et al (paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 2, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 1. Yi et al discloses wherein triggering the PHR reporting of the at least two TRPs corresponding to each carrier based on the power control parameter and the trigger condition for reporting, comprises: reporting a PHR of each TRP on the carrier to the base station, in response to determining based on the power control parameter and the trigger condition for reporting that the UE satisfies the trigger condition for reporting (paragraphs 0419-0421, “… In response to activating with a multi-TRP scenario in the cell group, the wireless device may transmit a PHR to each TRP when a PHR trigger occurs”)
Regarding claim 3, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 2. Yi et al discloses wherein reporting the PHR of each TRP on the carrier to the base station, comprises: sorting each TRP; sorting the PHR of each TRP according to a sorting order of the respective TRPs; and transmitting the PHR of each TRP sorted in order to the base station wherein sorting each TRP comprises at least one of:
sorting each TRP according to a predefined sorting rule;
sorting each TRP according to a sorting rule provided by a protocol; sorting each TRP according to a sorting rule configured/indicated by a network; or
autonomously sorting each TRP (figure 30, sorted TRPs; paragraph 0417; a predetermine a MAC CE format to support a multi-TRP scenario (i.e., sorting each TRP according to a predefined sorting rule))
Regarding claim 5, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 3. Yi et al discloses wherein reporting the PHR of each TRP on the carrier to the base station comprises at least one of: in response to the carrier being configured with power back-off, reporting maximum transmit power of each TRP on the carrier after the power back-off in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and the UE having a real PUSCH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after the real PUSCH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a PUSCH and the UE having a real PUSCH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference PUSCH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a PUSCH and the UE not having a real PUSCH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference PUSCH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and the UE having a real PUCCH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after the real PUCCH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a PUCCH and the UE having a real PUCCH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference PUCCH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a PUCCH and the UE not having a real PUCCH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference PUCCH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a sounding reference signal (SRS) and the UE having a real SRS transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after the real SRS transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with an SRS and the UE having a real SRS transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference SRS transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with an SRS and the UE not having a real SRS transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference SRS transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a physical random access channel (PRACH) and the UE having a real PRACH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after the real PRACH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a PRACH and the UE having a real PRACH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference PRACH transmission in order; in response to the carrier being configured with a PRACH and the UE not having a real PRACH transmission, reporting a power headroom of each TRP after reference PRACH transmission in order; reporting a power back-off value of each TRP in order; or reporting a power back-off value of the UE (paragraph 0417, “…. A wireless device may inform a TRP index using one of reserved bits as shown in FIG. 24A or FIG. 24B. A bit ‘S’ may be used to indicate a first TRP (e.g., ‘0’) or a second TRP (e.g., ‘1’). When the first PH and the second PH are based on a reference format, the wireless device may transmit the first PH associated with the first TRP, or transmit the first PH if the PHR is transmitted to the first TRP and transmit the second PH if the PHR is transmitted to the second TRP. Based on a prioritization/selection rule, a wireless device may transmit a PH value for a cell in a multi-TRP scenario, when the cell is not a PCell. For the PCell, the wireless device may transmit a Type 2 PH for PCell of the other TRP. FIG. 30 illustrates an example of a MAC CE format to support a multi-TRP scenario. One or more first cells associated with a first TRP may be present first and one more second cells associated with a second TRP may be followed.”
Regarding claim 6, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 5. Yi et al discloses wherein reporting the PHR of each TRP on the carrier to the base station further comprises: reporting an identity of each TRP in order (paragraph 0417, “…The wireless device transmits a PHR comprising a PH value of Cell 1 associated with the first TRP and a PH value of Cell 2 associated with the first TRP. A wireless device may inform a TRP index using one of reserved bits as shown in FIG. 24A or FIG. 24B. A bit ‘S’ may be used to indicate a first TRP (e.g., ‘0’) or a second TRP (e.g., ‘1’). When the first PH and the second PH are based on a reference format, the wireless device may transmit the first PH associated with the first TRP, or transmit the first PH if the PHR is transmitted to the first TRP and transmit the second PH if the PHR is transmitted to the second TRP. Based on a prioritization/selection rule, a wireless device may transmit a PH value for a cell in a multi-TRP scenario, when the cell is not a PCell. For the PCell, the wireless device may transmit a Type 2 PH for PCell of the other TRP. FIG. 30 illustrates an example of a MAC CE format to support a multi-TRP scenario. One or more first cells associated with a first TRP may be present first and one or more second cells associated with a second TRP may be followed.”
Regarding claim 7, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 1. Yi et al discloses wherein the power control parameter comprises at least one of: first information corresponding to a TRP on the carrier; or second information corresponding to the carrier (paragraphs 0419-0421)
Regarding claim 8, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 7. Yi et al discloses wherein the first information corresponding to the TRP on the carrier comprises at least one of: identity information corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; identity information of a downlink path loss reference carrier corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; a downlink path loss change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; an uplink power back-off change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; a PHR periodic reporting timer corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) power threshold corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; an MPE reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; an uplink MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; or MPE millimeter wave FR2 reporting corresponding to the TRP on the carriers wherein the identity information corresponding to the TRP on the carrier comprises at least one of: an identify of an uplink physical channel of the TRP on the carrier; a beam information identity of the TRP on the carrier; a sounding reference signal SRS resource set identity of the TRP on the carrier; or a power control parameter set identity of the TRP on the carrier, wherein the uplink physical channel comprises at least one of: a PUCCH; a PUSCH; an SRS; or a PRACH (paragraph 0416, “…a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages indicating whether to support a TRP-specific PHR report or a cell-specific PHR report. In response to a configuration of a TRP-specific PHR report, a wireless device may operate a PHR process per TRP).
Regarding claim 11, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 7. Yi et al discloses wherein the second information corresponding to the carrier comprises at least one of: identity information of a downlink path loss reference carrier corresponding to the carrier; a downlink path loss change corresponding to the carrier; an uplink power back-off change corresponding to the carrier; a PHR periodic reporting timer corresponding to the carrier; a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier; an MPE power threshold corresponding to the carrier; an MPE reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier; an uplink MPE power back-off change corresponding to the carrier; or MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the carrier. (paragraph 0357, “…a base station may transmit one or more messages configuring one or more downlink reference signals that are used for measuring pathloss from the base station to a wireless device”).
Regarding claim 12, Yi et al in view of Lei et al discloses the method of claim 1. Yi et al discloses wherein the trigger condition for reporting comprises at least one of: changing identity information corresponding to a TRP on the carrier; changing a downlink path loss reference carrier corresponding to a TRP on the carrier; changing a carrier for uplink physical channel transmission of a TRP on the carrier; a timeout of a PHR periodic reporting timer corresponding to a TRP on the carrier; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to a TRP on the carrier, and an actual downlink path loss change corresponding to the TRP exceeding a downlink path loss change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to a TRP on the carrier, and an actual uplink power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink power back-off change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to a TRP on the carrier, and an actual downlink path loss change corresponding to the TRP exceeding a downlink path loss change corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to a TRP on the carrier, and an actual uplink power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink power back-off change corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR periodic reporting timer corresponding to the carrier; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier, and an actual downlink path loss change corresponding to the TRP exceeding a downlink path loss change corresponding to a TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier, and an actual uplink power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink power back-off change corresponding to a TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier, and an actual downlink path loss change corresponding to the TRP exceeding a downlink path loss change corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of a PHR reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier, and an actual uplink power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink power back-off change corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; changing a downlink path loss reference carrier corresponding to the carrier; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the TRP on the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an MPE power threshold corresponding to the TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the TRP on the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the TRP on the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an MPE power threshold corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the TRP on the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink MPE power back-off change corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an MPE power threshold corresponding to the TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP on the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an MPE power threshold corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; configuring MPE FR2 reporting corresponding to the carrier, and an MPE power back-off change corresponding to the TRP exceeding an uplink MPE power back-off change corresponding to the carrier in the power control parameter; a timeout of an MPE reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the TRP on the carrier; or a timeout of an MPE reporting prohibition timer corresponding to the carrier (paragraphs 0331).
Regarding claim 13, Yi et al discloses a method for reporting a power headroom report (PHR) (paragraphs 0359,0416 and 0423), performed by a base station, comprising: transmitting configuration information to a user equipment (UE) (paragraph 0416, “…, a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages indicating whether to support a TRP-specific PHR report or a cell-specific PHR report. In response to a configuration of a TRP-specific PHR report, a wireless device may operate a PHR process per TRP.”), wherein the configuration information instructs the UE to support PHR reporting of at least one transmission and reception point (TRP) on one carrier (paragraph 0416); transmitting a power control parameter of at least one TRP corresponding to at least one carrier to the UE (paragraphs 0354 and 0357); transmitting a trigger condition for PHR reporting of at least one TRP to the UE (paragraphs 0416- 0418); and receiving PHRs of at least two TRPs corresponding to each carrier transmitted by the UE (paragraphs 0419 and 0420-0421.
Yi et silent to transmitting a trigger condition to the UE.
Lei et al discloses a base station transmits a trigger condition to a UE. (paragraph 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Lei et al in to the method of Yi et al , such that the base station could be transmitted a trigger condition for PHR reporting of at least one TRP to the UE in order to improve the overall utilization of radio resources and to reduce a power consumption of the UE as taught by Lei et al (paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 14, and as applied the claim 13, above, claim 14 is similar in scope to the claim 2 and thus the rejection to claim 2 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, and as applied the claim 14, above, claim 15 is similar in scope to the claim 3 and thus the rejection to claim 3 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, and as applied the claim 15, above, claim 16 is similar in scope to the claim 5 and thus the rejection to claim 5 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, and as applied the claim 16, above, claim 17 is similar in scope to the claim 6 and thus the rejection to claim 6 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, and as applied the claim 13, above, claim 18 is similar in scope to the claim 7 and thus the rejection to claim 7 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, and as applied the claim 18, above, claim 19 is similar in scope to the claim 8 and thus the rejection to claim 8 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 19.
Regarding claim 22, and as applied the claim 18, above, claim 22 is similar in scope to the claim 11 and thus the rejection to claim 11 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 22.
Regarding claim 23, and as applied the claim 13, above, claim 23 is similar in scope to the claim 12 and thus the rejection to claim 12 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 23.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is similar in scope to the claim 1 except in apparatus form and thus the rejection to claim 1 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 26. Yi discloses a user equipment (UE) (figure 15, wireless device 1502), comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, wherein the processor is configured to. receive configuration information transmitted by a base station (paragraphs ,0227-02230) .
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is similar in scope to the claim 13 except in apparatus form and thus the rejection to claim 13 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 27. Yi et al discloses a base station (figure 15, a base station 1504), comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively (paragraphs ,0227-02230).
Conclusion
/FATUMA G SHERIF/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649