Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dudderar et al. (US Pat 6,297,551, hereinafter Dudderar).
Regarding claim 1, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a multilayer package-on-package (PoP) assembly, comprising at least two circuit boards (14, 33), wherein an interposer (16) is disposed between two adjacent circuit boards of the at least two circuit boards, and a shield (25) is disposed on an upper contact surface and/or a lower contact surface of the interposer in contact with the at least two circuit boards; and
electrical elements (18) on a corresponding contact surface are all surrounded (peripherally) by the shield, and a height of the shield is not less than a height of each of the electrical elements.
Regarding claim 2, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a shield coating (21/27), formed based on an electromagnetic interference (EMI) coating process, on an outer surface of the multilayer PoP assembly; wherein
the shield coating and the shield (25) form a shield assembly of the multilayer PoP assembly.
Regarding claim 3, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses the shield (25) is connected to the interposer (16) by pasting or soldering (col. 3, line 65 – col. 3, line 2); or in response to the height of the shield being less than a preset value, the shield is formed on the interposer by electroplating.
Regarding claim 4, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a material of the shield (25) comprises a conductive metal (col. 3, line 65 – col. 3, line 2).
Regarding claim 6, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a shape of the shield (25) comprises any one of a hollow circle, a hollow square, and a hollow rectangle.
Regarding claim 7, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses the height of the shield (25) equals to a height of an electrical element (18) having a maximum height among the electrical elements.
Regarding claim 8, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a circuit structure of each of the electrical elements (18) is a copper pad, a solder joint, or a solder ball.
Regarding claim 9, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses the shield coating (21/27) is physically connected to the shield (25).
Regarding claim 10, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a shape of the shield (25) is determined according to shapes of the at least two circuit boards and distribution of the electrical elements on the circuit board and the interposer.
Regarding claim 11, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a method for packaging a multilayer assembly, wherein the multilayer assembly comprises at least two circuit boards, and the method comprises:
disposing a shield (25) on an upper contact surface and/or a lower contact surface of an interposer (16), wherein electrical elements (18) on a corresponding contact surface are all surrounded by the shield, and a height of the shield is not less than a height of each of the electrical elements;
disposing an interposer (16) between any two adjacent circuit boards (14, 33) of the at least two circuit boards; and
forming, based on an electromagnetic interference (EMI) coating process (col. 3, lines 3-12), a shield coating (21/27) on an outer surface of the multilayer assembly and on an outer surface the interposer.
Regarding claim 12, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses prior to disposing the shield (25) on the upper contact surface and/or the lower contact surface of the interposer (16), the method further comprises:
obtaining a maximum height of the electrical elements (18) on the corresponding contact surface; and
forming the shield having the height that is not less than the maximum height.
Regarding claim 13, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses disposing the shield (25) on the upper contact surface and/or the lower contact surface of the interposer (16) specifically comprises:
pasting or soldering the shield to the corresponding contact surface (col. 3, line 65 – col. 3, line 2).
Regarding claim 15, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a material of the shield (25) comprises a conductive metal (col. 3, line 65 – col. 3, line 2).
Regarding claim 16, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a shape of the shield (25) comprises any one of a hollow circle, a hollow square, and a hollow rectangle.
Regarding claim 17, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses the height of the shield (25) equals to a height of an electrical element (18) having a maximum height among the electrical elements.
Regarding claim 18, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a circuit structure of each of the electrical elements (18) is a copper pad, a solder joint, or a solder ball.
Regarding claim 19, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses the shield coating (21/27) is physically connected to the shield (25).
Regarding claim 20, figure 1 of Dudderar discloses a shape of the shield (25) is determined according to shapes of the at least two circuit boards (14, 33) and distribution of the electrical elements (18) on the circuit board and the interposer (16).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YU-HSI D SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817