DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4 and 13, respectively, on line 7, recites for “a second terminal” but it is unclear which of the second terminal is referred by such recitation. For purposes of examining, the “second terminal” on line 7 is a second terminal of the capacitor that is connected to a second terminal of the second inductor and a second terminal of the resistive hater.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breitlow et al (US 2017/0363663).
Breitlow discloses a control circuit claimed including a rectifier (312) that receives an AC signal from an AC source (108; para 0027), a switch (304) connected to the rectifier, a first diode (306) connected to the switch and the rectifier, an LC circuit (shown by an inductor 308 and a capacitor 310) connected to the switch (304), the first diode (306) and a resistive heater (heating element; also, see Figure 3), a thermocouple that generates a temperature signal of a temperature of the resistive heater (para 0020), a switch controller (104) that receives the temperature signal from the thermocouple and to generate a switch control signal to control a duty cycle of the switch to vary power output to the LC circuit (para 0034) wherein the LC circuit outputs a rectified AC signal having an amplitude that varies based on duty cycle of the switch (also, see para 0035-0037).
With respect to claim 3, Breitlow discloses the switch (304) that includes a first terminal connected to the rectifier (312), and the first diode (306) that includes a cathode that is connected to a second terminal of the switch (as illustrated in Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow et al (US 2017/0363663) in view of Weirich (US 2003/0155872)
Breitlow discloses a control circuit claimed including a rectifier (312) that receives an AC signal from an AC source (108; para 0027) but Breitlow does not show the rectifier having a second diode, a third diode, a fourth diode, and a fifth diode as claimed.
Weirich discloses a rectifier that is known to have a second diode and a third diode wherein anodes of the second and third diodes that are connected to a first terminal of the AC source, a fourth diode and a firth diode wherein cathodes of the fourth and fifths diodes that are connected to a second terminal of the AC source as illustrated in Figure 1.
In view of Weirich, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow with the rectifier including the second, third, fourth and fifth diodes that are known to rectify an AC source as known in the art.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow et al (US 2017/0363663) in view of Skinner et al (US 2015/022178).
Breitlow discloses a control circuit claimed including a first inductor (308) including a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the switch (304) and to a cathode of the first diode (306) with a capacitor including a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first inductor and to a (first) terminal of the resistive heater and a second terminal connected to a (second) terminal of a resistive heater (also, see Figure 3). But, Breitlow does not show a second inductor having its first terminal connected to an anode of the first diode and the rectifier with the second terminal of the capacitor connected to a second terminal of the second terminal as claimed.
Skinner shows it is known to provide a control circuit having a first inductor (L1a) and a capacitor (Cout) wherein the first inductor is connected to a switch M1and to a cathode of a first diode (D2), a second inductor (L1b) connected to an anode of the first diode and a rectifier (114), and the capacitor having its first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first inductor (L1a) and its second terminal connected to a second terminal of the second inductor (L1b). Also, see Figure 3. Skinner discloses that such control circuit provides for a favorable operating condition that allows for reduced stress on the switch as well as the stress on the down-stream converters connected to the output of the circuit (para 0061-0064).
In view of Skinner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow with a second inductor as claimed so that a peak-voltage stress on the control circuit including the switch controller can be reduced as well as any down stream converters or electrical components connected to the output of the circuit.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow et al (US 2017/0363663) in view of Takei et al (US 2005/0258165).
Breitlow discloses a control circuit claimed including the switch controller (104) but does not explicitly show a setpoint generator to generate a setpoint signal.
Takei discloses it is known to provide a switch controller (72) that is provided with a data setting part (70) that sets or generates a setpoint signal (para 0067 and 0100).
In view of Takei, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow with the switch controller having a setpoint generator such as a data setting part as taught by Takei to provide a desired setpoint signal(s) to predictably operate and control the resistive heater according to the heating operations as desired.
With respect to claims 6-8, Takei includes a summer (shown by an accumulating part 71 in Figure 5; para 0068) that includes a noninverting input (shown by the positive terminal of the summer/accumulating part 71) that receives the setpoint signal (e.g., preset temperature) and an inverting input (shown by the negative terminal) that is configured to receive a signal based on the temperature signal from a feedback conditioner (e.g., a temperature sensing part 62) wherein the summer/accumulating part would determine a difference in the received signal (measured temperature) with the preset signal (preset temperature) so that an output of the summer/accumulating part is received by the switch controller having a proportion integral derivative PID controller (which is shown by Breitlow in para 0035; and, also by Takei in para 0068 and in Figure 5) wherein a PID signal from the controller is applied to the switch (para 0069-0071 of Takei) which controls a power output to the resistive heater to predictably meet or achieve the setpoint signal, i.e. the preset temperature as desired.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow in view of Takei as applied to claims 5-8 above, and further in view of Marino et al (US 2007/0024252).
Breitlow in view of Takei discloses the control circuit claimed except for a digital to analog converter (DAC) that is configured to generate a voltage threshold based on the PID signal.
Marino discloses it is known to provide a switch controller (controller 3 with a driver DR) that is connected to a switch S wherein the switch controller includes a proportional integral derivative PID controller that receives an output of a summer/adder (4) to generate a PID signal which is applied to a digital to analog converter DAC that generates a voltage threshold Verr which is compared to a ramp voltage W which is applied from an oscillating pattern of an output voltage (para 0038) wherein an output of the comparator drives the switch via switch driver DR to provide for a desired steady power output (para 0008). Marion further shows the comparator includes non-inverting input (shown by the positive terminal) that receives the voltage threshold from the PID and an inverting input (shown by the negative terminal) that receives the oscillating voltage pattern (also, see Figure 1 and para 0007).
In view of Marino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow, as modified by Takei, with the switch controller further including a digital to analog converter that generates a voltage threshold, based on the PID signal, which is compared to an output voltage oscillator to drive the switch on and off to provide for the desired power output to a resistive load such as the resistive heating element of Breitlow to provide the desired heating output.
Claim(s) 11, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow et al (US 2017/0363663) in view of Armstrong et al (US 6,072,163).
Breitlow discloses a control circuit with at least one heater circuit including a rectifier (312) that receives an AC signal from an AC source (108; para 0027), a switch (304) connected to the rectifier, a first diode (306) connected to the switch and the rectifier, an LC circuit (shown by an inductor 308 and a capacitor 310) connected to the switch (304), the first diode (306) and a resistive heater (heating element; also, see Figure 3), a thermocouple that generates a temperature signal of a temperature of the resistive heater (para 0020), a switch controller (104) that receives the temperature signal from the thermocouple and to generate a switch control signal to control a duty cycle of the switch to vary power output to the LC circuit (para 0034) wherein the LC circuit outputs a rectified AC signal having an amplitude that varies based on duty cycle of the switch (also, see para 0035-0037). But, Breitlow does not explicit disclose for rectifying a 3-phase AC signal.
Armstrong discloses for a 3-phase AC power which is known AC power source wherein the 3-phase AC signal is rectified to supply DC power to a resistive heater as known in the art (also, see column 25, lines 44-55; and Figure 10).
In view of Armstrong, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow with a 3 phase AC power source that provides the 3-phase AC signal that can predictably rectified to provide a DC power source to a heater circuit including a heating element that is well known in the art.
With respect to claim 12, Breitlow discloses the switch (304) that includes a first terminal connected to the rectifier (312), and the first diode (306) that includes a cathode that is connected to a second terminal of the switch (as illustrated in Figure 3).
With respect to claim 19, Breitlow discloses for a plurality of heating elements wherein it would have been obvious to provide a number of heating circuits that is more than one, as a matter of routine operations or as a matter of obvious to try, to provide for individual heating circuit to power each of the heating independently or separately from each other as desired.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow in view of Armstrong as applied to claims 11, 12 and 19 above and further in view of Skinner et al (US 2015/022178).
Breitlow in view of Armstrong discloses a control circuit claimed including a first inductor (308) including a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the switch (304) and to a cathode of the first diode (306) with a capacitor including a first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first inductor and to a (first) terminal of the resistive heater and a second terminal connected to a (second) terminal of a resistive heater (also, see Figure 3). But, Breitlow does not show a second inductor having its first terminal connected to an anode of the first diode and the rectifier with the second terminal of the capacitor connected to a second terminal of the second terminal as claimed.
Skinner shows it is known to provide a control circuit having a first inductor (L1a) and a capacitor (Cout) wherein the first inductor is connected to a switch M1and to a cathode of a first diode (D2), a second inductor (L1b) connected to an anode of the first diode and a rectifier (114), and the capacitor having its first terminal connected to a second terminal of the first inductor (L1a) and its second terminal connected to a second terminal of the second inductor (L1b). Also, see Figure 3. Skinner discloses that such control circuit provides for a favorable operating condition that allows for reduced stress on the switch as well as the stress on the down-stream converters connected to the output of the circuit (para 0061-0064).
In view of Skinner, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow, as modified by Armstrong, with a second inductor as claimed so that a peak-voltage stress on the control circuit including the switch controller can be reduced as well as any down stream converters or electrical components connected to the output of the circuit.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow in view of Armstrong as applied to claims 11, 12 and 19 above and further in view of Takei et al (US 2005/0258165).
Breitlow in view of Armstrong discloses a control circuit claimed including the switch controller (104) but does not explicitly show a setpoint generator to generate a setpoint signal and a summer including a non-inverting input that receives the set point signal and an inverting input that receives a signal based on the temperature signal.
Takei discloses it is known to provide a switch controller (72) that is provided with a data setting part (70) that sets or generates a setpoint signal (para 0067 and 0100) wherein Takei further includes a summer (shown by an accumulating part 71 in Figure 5; para 0068) that includes a noninverting input (shown by the positive terminal of the summer/accumulating part 71) that receives the setpoint signal (e.g., preset temperature) and an inverting input (shown by the negative terminal) that is configured to receive a signal based on the temperature signal from a feedback conditioner (e.g., a temperature sensing part 62) wherein the summer/accumulating part would determine a difference in the received signal (measured temperature) with the preset signal (preset temperature) so that an output of the summer/accumulating part is received by the switch controller having a proportion integral derivative PID controller (which is shown by Breitlow in para 0035; and, also by Takei in para 0068 and in Figure 5) wherein a PID signal from the controller is applied to the switch (para 0069-0071 of Takei) which controls a power output to the resistive heater.
In view of Takei, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow, as modified by Armstrong, with the switch controller having a setpoint generator such as a data setting part as taught by Takei to provide a desired setpoint signal(s) to predictably operate and control the resistive heater according to the heating operations as desired wherein a PID signal from the controller is applied to the switch (para 0069-0071 of Takei) which controls a power output to the resistive heater to predictably meet or achieve the setpoint signal, i.e. the preset temperature as desired.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitlow in view of Armstropng and Takei as applied to claims 14-16 above, and further in view of Marino et al (US 2007/0024252).
Breitlow in view of Armstropng and Takei discloses the control circuit claimed except for a digital to analog converter (DAC) that is configured to generate a voltage threshold based on the PID signal.
Marino discloses it is known to provide a switch controller (controller 3 with a driver DR) that is connected to a switch S wherein the switch controller includes a proportional integral derivative PID controller that receives an output of a summer/adder (4) to generate a PID signal which is applied to a digital to analog converter DAC that generates a voltage threshold Verr which is compared to a ramp voltage W which is applied from an oscillating pattern of an output voltage (para 0038) wherein an output of the comparator drives the switch via switch driver DR to provide for a desired steady power output (para 0008). Marion further shows the comparator includes non-inverting input (shown by the positive terminal) that receives the voltage threshold from the PID and an inverting input (shown by the negative terminal) that receives the oscillating voltage pattern (also, see Figure 1 and para 0007).
In view of Marino, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Breitlow, as modified by Armstropng and Takei, with the switch controller further including a digital to analog converter that generates a voltage threshold, based on the PID signal, which is compared to an output voltage oscillator to drive the switch on and off to provide for the desired power output to a resistive load such as the resistive heating element of Breitlow to provide the desired heating output.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al (US 2007/0163894) discloses for a PID controller having a DAC which provides a voltage signal to a comparator for further controlling a switch.
Algarni (US 2020/0300739) discloses for a setpoint generator that is configured to generate a setpoint signal to a PID controller (see Figure 7).
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761