Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 6th, 2024, April 3rd, 2024, and August 22nd, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guillot (US 2020/0393702).
Regarding claim 1, Guillot discloses a spectacle lens (Figs. 1 and 8, element 10), comprising:
a central clear area (16) that is an area including an eye point and allows a light beam entering from an object-side surface to exit from an eyeball-side surface, enter into a wearer's pupil, and converge on a retina ([0088], “central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point that faces the pupil of the person gazing straight ahead in standard wearing conditions”);
a functional area (14) that is an annular functional area surrounding the central clear area (as shown in Fig. 8, 14 surrounds 16), and having a retinal non-convergence region that does not allow the light beam entering into the wearer's pupil to converge on the retina, while allowing the light beam entering from the object-side surface to exit from the eyeball-side surface ([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”); and
an outer clear area (12) that is an annular area surrounding the functional area on an outer edge side of a spectacle lens (as shown in Fig. 8, 12 is a clear area surrounding 14), and allows the light beam entering from the object-side surface to exit from the eyeball-side surface, enter into the wearer's pupil, and converge on the retina ([0073], “The refraction area 12 has a refractive power P1 based on the prescription of the eye of the person for which the lens element is adapted.”),
wherein in planar view, the functional area falls within a circle centered on an eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 15.00 to 25.00 mm ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”).
Regarding claim 2, Guillot discloses a spectacle lens (Figs. 1 and 8, element 10), comprising:
a central clear area (16) that is an area including an eye point and allows a light beam entering from an object-side surface to exit from an eyeball-side surface, enter into a wearer's pupil, and converge on a retina ([0088], “central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point that faces the pupil of the person gazing straight ahead in standard wearing conditions”);
a functional area (14) that is an annular functional area surrounding the central clear area (as shown in Fig. 8, 14 surrounds 16), and having a retinal non-convergence region that does not allow the light beam entering into the wearer's pupil to converge on the retina, while allowing the light beam entering from the object-side surface to exit from the eyeball-side surface ([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”); and
an outer clear area (12) that is an annular area surrounding the functional area on an outer edge side of a spectacle lens (as shown in Fig. 8, 12 is a clear area surrounding 14), and allows the light beam entering from the object-side surface to exit from the eyeball-side surface, enter into the wearer's pupil, and converge on the retina ([0073], “The refraction area 12 has a refractive power P1 based on the prescription of the eye of the person for which the lens element is adapted.”),
wherein the functional area is provided at a position where the light beam enters into a defocus-sensitive area on a wearer's retina, in a range of rotation angles of any one of 10 to 20 degrees ([0177], “concentric rings of optical elements may have a diameter comprised between 9 mm and 60 mm”, [0096], “a CRE to lens distance of 25.5 mm”, [0212], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm”, based on the information disclosed in [0177, 0103, 0212], the rotation angle would be between 10 and 20 degrees for the functional area since the angle covered by a length of 25.5mm from the lens to the eye rotation center and a height difference from a radius of 4.5mm for the clear center to the radius of 10mm for the concentric ring of optical elements, the angle would be 11.5 degrees),
the outer clear area is provided at a position where the light beam enters in a range of rotation angles exceeding the above one value (as shown in Fig. 8, the outer clear area is in a rotation angle larger than 20 degrees), and
the retinal non-convergence area is intensively provided within the functional area of an entire spectacle lens (as shown in Fig. 8, the optical elements are intensively provided in the functional area 14).
Regarding claim 3, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided within the functional area (14) relative to an area of the retinal non-convergence area in the entire spectacle lens, is 80% or more (as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the optical elements in the functional area 14 are located only in the functional area and thus has a relative area of more than 80%).
Regarding claim 4, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided within the functional area (examiner interprets this to be a single ring of 14 in Fig. 8) relative to an area of an entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12).
Regarding claim 5, Guillot further discloses wherein in the functional area, 30% or more of the light beam entering into the wearer's pupil is not allowed to converge on the retina ([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”, as disclosed in [0181] and as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, since the entire region of 14 is covered by the optical elements, more than 30% of light does not converge on the retina).
Regarding claim 6, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, when the outer clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r1 [mm] (r1 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an outer clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the outer clear area exceeds a width of 3.00mm), capable of circumscribing the retinal non-convergence area within the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side, the functional area falls within a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 15.00 to 25.00 mm ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”).
Regarding claim 7, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, when the central clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r2 [mm] (r2 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an central clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the central clear area exceeds a diameter of 3.00mm) and capable of circumscribing the retinal non-convergence area within the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the central clear area side (as shown in Figs. 1-8, 16 circumscribes 14), the central clear area has a size that includes a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 4.00 to 13.00 mm, and has a size that falls within a circle with a diameter of other one value within the above range ([0088], “the central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point … has a diameter greater than or equal to 4 mm”, [0211], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 10 mm and centered on the optical center”, this would mean the central region has a diameter between 4mm and 10mm).
Regarding claim 8, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided in the functional area (14) relative to an area of the retinal non-convergence area in the entire spectacle lens, is 80% or more (as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the optical elements in the functional area 14 are located only in the functional area and thus has a relative area of more than 80%), and
in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided in the functional area relative to an area of the entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12), and
in the functional area, 30% or more of the light beam entering into the pupil of the wearer is not allowed to converge on the retina (([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”, as disclosed in [0181] and as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, since the entire region of 14 is covered by the optical elements, more than 30% of light does not converge on the retina)), and
in planar view, when the outer clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r1 [mm] (r1 is any one value in the range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an outer clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the outer clear area exceeds a width of 3.00mm) that can circumscribe the retinal non-convergence area in the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side, the functional area falls within a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value in a range of 15.0 or more 25.00 or less ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”), and
in planar view, when the central clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r2 [mm] (r2 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an central clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the central clear area exceeds a diameter of 3.00mm) that can circumscribe the retinal non-convergence area in the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side (as shown in Figs. 1-8, 16 circumscribes 14), the central clear area has a size that includes a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 4.00 to 13.00 mm, and has a size that falls within a circle with a diameter of other one value within the above range ([0088], “the central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point … has a diameter greater than or equal to 4 mm”, [0211], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 10 mm and centered on the optical center”, this would mean the central region has a diameter between 4mm and 10mm).
Regarding claim 9, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided within the functional area (14) relative to an area of the retinal non-convergence area in the entire spectacle lens, is 80% or more (as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the optical elements in the functional area 14 are located only in the functional area and thus has a relative area of more than 80%).
Regarding claim 10, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided within the functional area (examiner interprets this to be a single ring of 14 in Fig. 8) relative to an area of an entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12).
Regarding claim 11, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided within the functional area (examiner interprets this to be a single ring of 14 in Fig. 8) relative to an area of an entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12).
Regarding claim 12, Guillot further discloses wherein in the functional area, 30% or more of the light beam entering into the wearer's pupil is not allowed to converge on the retina ([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”, as disclosed in [0181] and as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, since the entire region of 14 is covered by the optical elements, more than 30% of light does not converge on the retina).
Regarding claim 13, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, when the outer clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r1 [mm] (r1 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an outer clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the outer clear area exceeds a width of 3.00mm), capable of circumscribing the retinal non-convergence area within the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side, the functional area falls within a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 15.00 to 25.00 mm ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”).
Regarding claim 14, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, when the central clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r2 [mm] (r2 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an central clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the central clear area exceeds a diameter of 3.00mm) and capable of circumscribing the retinal non-convergence area within the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the central clear area side (as shown in Figs. 1-8, 16 circumscribes 14), the central clear area has a size that includes a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 4.00 to 13.00 mm, and has a size that falls within a circle with a diameter of other one value within the above range ([0088], “the central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point … has a diameter greater than or equal to 4 mm”, [0211], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 10 mm and centered on the optical center”, this would mean the central region has a diameter between 4mm and 10mm).
Regarding claim 15, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided in the functional area (14) relative to an area of the retinal non-convergence area in the entire spectacle lens, is 80% or more (as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the optical elements in the functional area 14 are located only in the functional area and thus has a relative area of more than 80%), and
in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided in the functional area relative to an area of the entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12), and
in the functional area, 30% or more of the light beam entering into the pupil of the wearer is not allowed to converge on the retina (([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”, as disclosed in [0181] and as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, since the entire region of 14 is covered by the optical elements, more than 30% of light does not converge on the retina)), and
in planar view, when the outer clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r1 [mm] (r1 is any one value in the range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an outer clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the outer clear area exceeds a width of 3.00mm) that can circumscribe the retinal non-convergence area in the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side, the functional area falls within a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value in a range of 15.0 or more 25.00 or less ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”), and
in planar view, when the central clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r2 [mm] (r2 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an central clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the central clear area exceeds a diameter of 3.00mm) that can circumscribe the retinal non-convergence area in the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side (as shown in Figs. 1-8, 16 circumscribes 14), the central clear area has a size that includes a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 4.00 to 13.00 mm, and has a size that falls within a circle with a diameter of other one value within the above range ([0088], “the central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point … has a diameter greater than or equal to 4 mm”, [0211], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 10 mm and centered on the optical center”, this would mean the central region has a diameter between 4mm and 10mm).
Regarding claim 16, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided within the functional area (examiner interprets this to be a single ring of 14 in Fig. 8) relative to an area of an entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12).
Regarding claim 17, Guillot further discloses wherein in the functional area, 30% or more of the light beam entering into the wearer's pupil is not allowed to converge on the retina ([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”, as disclosed in [0181] and as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, since the entire region of 14 is covered by the optical elements, more than 30% of light does not converge on the retina).
Regarding claim 18, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, when the outer clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r1 [mm] (r1 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an outer clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the outer clear area exceeds a width of 3.00mm), capable of circumscribing the retinal non-convergence area within the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side, the functional area falls within a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 15.00 to 25.00 mm ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”).
Regarding claim 19, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, when the central clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r2 [mm] (r2 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an central clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the central clear area exceeds a diameter of 3.00mm) and capable of circumscribing the retinal non-convergence area within the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the central clear area side (as shown in Figs. 1-8, 16 circumscribes 14), the central clear area has a size that includes a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 4.00 to 13.00 mm, and has a size that falls within a circle with a diameter of other one value within the above range ([0088], “the central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point … has a diameter greater than or equal to 4 mm”, [0211], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 10 mm and centered on the optical center”, this would mean the central region has a diameter between 4mm and 10mm).
Regarding claim 20, Guillot further discloses wherein in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided in the functional area (14) relative to an area of the retinal non-convergence area in the entire spectacle lens, is 80% or more (as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the optical elements in the functional area 14 are located only in the functional area and thus has a relative area of more than 80%), and
in planar view, an area of the retinal non-convergence area provided in the functional area relative to an area of the entire spectacle lens, is 20% or less (as shown in Fig. 8, a single ring of 14 is less than 20% coverage of the entire refractive lens 12), and
in the functional area, 30% or more of the light beam entering into the pupil of the wearer is not allowed to converge on the retina (([0181], “having optical elements configured so that along at least one section of the lens the mean sphere and/or mean cylinder of optical elements increases from a point of said section towards the peripheral part of said section allows increasing the defocus of the light rays in front the retina in case of myopia”, as disclosed in [0181] and as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, since the entire region of 14 is covered by the optical elements, more than 30% of light does not converge on the retina)), and
in planar view, when the outer clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r1 [mm] (r1 is any one value in the range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an outer clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the outer clear area exceeds a width of 3.00mm) that can circumscribe the retinal non-convergence area in the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side, the functional area falls within a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value in a range of 15.0 or more 25.00 or less ([0212], “The optical elements on the circle of diameter 20 mm and centered on the optical center of the refraction area may be micro lenses having a mean sphere of 4.75 D”), and
in planar view, when the central clear area is shaped as an aggregate of all circles with a radius r2 [mm] (r2 is any one value in a range of 1.50 or more and 2.50 or less) (examiner interprets this to mean an central clear area having a width of at least 3.00mm to accommodate circles of diameter of 3.00mm, as shown in Figs. 1 and 8, the central clear area exceeds a diameter of 3.00mm) that can circumscribe the retinal non-convergence area in the functional area without including other retinal non-convergence areas on the outer clear area side (as shown in Figs. 1-8, 16 circumscribes 14), the central clear area has a size that includes a circle centered on the eye point and having a diameter that is any one value of 4.00 to 13.00 mm, and has a size that falls within a circle with a diameter of other one value within the above range ([0088], “the central zone 16 comprises a framing reference point … has a diameter greater than or equal to 4 mm”, [0211], “optical elements on the circle of diameter 10 mm and centered on the optical center”, this would mean the central region has a diameter between 4mm and 10mm).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Tse (US 2015/0109574), Bakaraju (US 2020/0073147), Lau (US 11,061,255), Qi (US 2021/0271112), Rappon (US 2022/0035179), Hones (US 2022/0146857), Braunger (US 2023/0296917), teach a spectacle lens, comprising: a central clear area that is an area including an eye point and allows a light beam entering from an object-side surface to exit from an eyeball-side surface, enter into a wearer's pupil, and converge on a retina; a functional area that is an annular functional area surrounding the central clear area, and having a retinal non-convergence region; and an outer clear area that is an annular area surrounding the functional area.
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5 January 2026