DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt of the Response and Amendment after Non-Final Office Action filed 08/20/2026 is acknowledged.
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 16, 21
Withdrawn claims: None
Previously cancelled claims: 1-15, 17-20
Newly cancelled claims: None
Amended claims: 16
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 16, 21
Currently rejected claims: 16, 21
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites that the “the clogP(Fij) of the at least one flavor ingredient Fij is within ±0.75 clogP units of the clogP(Oi) of the off-odor component Oi. Claim 16 also recites that Oi may be more than one off-odor component and that Fij may be more than one component. It is unclear as to how to calculate the clogP of multiple components (e.g., is the clogP(Fii) an average of the clogP(Fii) of all the Fij components? Is the clogP(Fii) the total sum of the clogP(Fii) of all the Fij components?). Therefore, it is unclear as to how to determine whether the clogP(Fii) of all the Fij components are within ±0.75 clogP units of the clogP(Oi) of all the Oi components.
For the purpose of this examination, wherein the claim recites more than one Fij and/or more than one Oi, the claim will be interpreted as meaning that the clogP of one of the Fij components is within ±0.75 clogP units of the clogP of at least one of the Oi components.
Claim 21 is rejected by reason of dependency from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulze (US 2020/0056118) as evidenced by admitted prior art.
Regarding claims 16 and 21, Schulze teaches a product [0001] which may comprise (E)-2-heptenal (corresponding to heptenal); and a flavor composition (corresponding to substance mixture) comprising delta-nonalactone [0017], [0024], [0032], [0039]-[0040]. Schulze teaches that the composition comprising delta-nonalactone masks the unpleasant odor of the aldehyde (E)-2-heptenal [0170]. Schulze exemplifies candy as a product [0260], [0262]. Therefore, Schulze at least suggests that the product may be a food product. (E)-2-heptenal may be derived from docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), or eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) as evidenced by page 23, lines 9-12 of the present specification. Therefore, in disclosing (E)-2-heptenal, Schulze discloses a product comprising an off-odor component Oi derived from DHA, ALA, or EPA as recited in present claim 16.
In disclosing delta-nonalactone, Schulze discloses a flavor ingredient Fij as recited in present claims 16 and 21. Schulze teaches that delta-nonalactone may be present in the flavor composition in an amount of 0.00001-80 wt.% based on the total weight of odor active flavor ingredients in the composition (corresponding to components (a)-(d) in the substance mixture) [0024], [0039]. This range encompasses the claimed concentration range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.I.
Delta-nonalactone has a vapor pressure of 0.018 mmHg at 25°C. (E)-2-heptenal has a vapor pressure of 1.823 mmHg at 25°C. Therefore, Fij has a vapor pressure that is less than a vapor pressure of Oi as recited in present claim 16. Delta-nonalactone has a clogP of 1.86 as evidenced by page 9, lines 16-17 of the present specification. (E)-2-heptenal has clogP of 2.11 as evidenced by page 9, line 34- page 10, line 1 of the present specification. Therefore, the clogP(Fij) is within ±0.75 clogP units of the clogP(Oi) as recited in present claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 16 and 21 over Matsumoto: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791