DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed 05/22/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claims 21-24 have been canceled.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-11, 13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamid et al. (U.S. 20220377510).
For claim 1, Hamid et al. disclose a method for assisting in a configuring of charging triggers in a Network Function, NF, the method being performed by a Converged Charging Function, CHF, the method comprising:
sending, without waiting for a charging data request, a notification message from the CHF to the NF, wherein the notification message at least indicates one or more charging triggers to be configured by the NF in accordance with the notification message enabling the configuring of the one or more charging triggers based on a single notification message (at least steps 703-706 in Fig. 7 and [0091]-[0093]. The entity (SMF) may receive subscriber information from a CHF. The subscriber information, in various implementations, may include data indicative of limits on usage of a network by a subscriber and/or usage of the network by the subscriber. For instance, the subscriber information may include an amount and/or type of services that the subscriber is permitted to transmit and/or receive using at least one network (e.g., a 5GC) in accordance with the subscriber's plan. In some examples, the subscriber information may indicate a remaining amount of services and/or a total amount of services that the subscriber can transmit and/or receive using network(s). For instance, the amount of services may be an amount of data (e.g., in gigabytes (GB) or some other data measurement) traversing the network(s), a number of sessions delivered using the network(s), or the like. In various implementations, the type of services may include at least one of a QoS of the services, a latency of the services, a bandwidth allotted to the services, or a slice type (SST) of the services. In some cases, the subscriber information may indicate whether the subscriber is permitted to transmit and/or receive GBR services using the network(s).)
For claim 2, Hamid et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the notification message indicates that the one or more charging triggers pertain to all service sessions of the NF ((at least steps 703-706 in Fig. 7 and [0091]-[0093]. The entity (SMF) may receive subscriber information from a CHF. The subscriber information, in various implementations, may include data indicative of limits on usage of a network by a subscriber and/or usage of the network by the subscriber. For instance, the subscriber information may include an amount and/or type of services that the subscriber is permitted to transmit and/or receive using at least one network (e.g., a 5GC) in accordance with the subscriber's plan. In some examples, the subscriber information may indicate a remaining amount of services and/or a total amount of services that the subscriber can transmit and/or receive using network(s). For instance, the amount of services may be an amount of data (e.g., in gigabytes (GB) or some other data measurement) traversing the network(s), a number of sessions delivered using the network(s), or the like. In various implementations, the type of services may include at least one of a QoS of the services, a latency of the services, a bandwidth allotted to the services, or a slice type (SST) of the services. In some cases, the subscriber information may indicate whether the subscriber is permitted to transmit and/or receive GBR services using the network(s).)
For claim 3, Hamid et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the notification message indicates that the one or more charging triggers pertain to a particular network slice (at least [0084]. The CHF may receive the request and access and/or modify subscriber information stored in the CHF based on the request. In addition, the CHF may generate and transmit (to the entity) a response based on the accessed and/or modified subscriber information.)
For claim 4, Hamid et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving a subscription request to send notification messages to the NF, and wherein the sending of the notification message is performed in response to receiving the subscription request (at least [0084]. The CHF may receive the request and access and/or modify subscriber information stored in the CHF based on the request. In addition, the CHF may generate and transmit (to the entity) a response based on the accessed and/or modified subscriber information.)
For claim 6, Hamid et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the NF is a Session Management Function, SMF (at least [0050]. The SMF 110 and/or the PCF 112 may transmit the request to the front-end of the CHF 114 over the first interface 122.)
For claim 10, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 11, Hamid et al. disclose the method according to claim 10, further comprising sending, before receiving the notification message, a subscription request to receive notification messages from the CHF (at least [0084]. The CHF may receive the request and access and/or modify subscriber information stored in the CHF based on the request. In addition, the CHF may generate and transmit (to the entity) a response based on the accessed and/or modified subscriber information.)
For claim 13, the claim has features similar to claim 6. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 6.
For claim 17, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 18, the claim has features similar to claim 4. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 4.
For claim 19, the claim has features similar to claim 1. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 1.
For claim 20, the claim has features similar to claim 11. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamid et al. (U.S. 20220377510) in view of Lagha et al. (U.S. 10904021).
For claim 5, Hamid et al. do not disclose the method according to claim 4, further comprising: determining whether an unsubscription request to stop sending further notification messages to the NF has been received after receiving the subscription request, and in response to determining that an unsubscription request has not been received after receiving the subscription request, sending an additional notification message from the CHF to the NF, wherein the additional notification message also at least indicates one or more charging triggers to be configured by the NF in accordance with the additional notification message (at least Fig. 2 and col. 4, line 41 to col. 5, line 67. Again, after some period of time (e.g. responsive to a trigger), the SMF 204 sends additional current network session information to the CHF 208. The CHF 208 will thus again determine from the additional current network session information characteristic(s) of the network session, and based on the characteristic(s) dynamically select between online and offline charging for the network session. The CHF 208 communicates the offline charging selection to the SMF 204 after determining. More importantly, the CHF 208 stops sending further message to the PCF and SMF 204 after receiving end session request message.)
In the same field of endeavor, Lagha et al. disclose determining whether an unsubscription request to stop sending further notification messages to the NF has been received after receiving the subscription request, and in response to determining that an unsubscription request has not been received after receiving the subscription request, sending an additional notification message from the CHF to the NF, wherein the additional notification message also at least indicates one or more charging triggers to be configured by the NF in accordance with the additional notification message (at least Fig. 2 and col. 4, line 41 to col. 5, line 67. Again, after some period of time (e.g. responsive to a trigger), the SMF 204 sends additional current network session information to the CHF 208. The CHF 208 will thus again determine from the additional current network session information characteristic(s) of the network session, and based on the characteristic(s) dynamically select between online and offline charging for the network session. The CHF 208 communicates the offline charging selection to the SMF 204 after determining. More importantly, the CHF 208 stops sending further message to the PCF and SMF 204 after receiving end session request message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hamid et al. as taught by Lagha et al. for purpose of sending further message to the PCF and SMF 204 after receiving end session request message.
For claim 12, the claim has features similar to claim 5. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 5.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamid et al. (U.S. 20220377510) in view of Chun (U.S. 20230319755).
For claim 7, Hamid et al. do not disclose the method according to claim 6, comprising sending the notification message to the SMF via an N40 reference point.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun discloses sending the notification message to the SMF via an N40 reference point (at least [0156]. N40 means a reference point between SMF and charging function (CHF)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hamid et al. as taught by Chun for purpose of supporting online and offline charging.
For claim 14, the claim has features similar to claim 7. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamid et al. (U.S. 20220377510) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (U.S. 20230354463).
For claim 8, Hamid et al. do not disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein the NF is one of an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, and a Network Exposure Function, NEF.
In the same field of endeavor, Talebi Fard et al. disclose wherein the NF is one of an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, and a Network Exposure Function, NEF (at least [0065]. The NFs depicted in FIG. 3 include a user plane function (UPF) 305, an access and mobility management function (AMF) 312, a session management function (SMF) 314, a policy control function (PCF) 320, a network repository function (NRF) 330, a network exposure function (NEF) 340, a unified data management (UDM) 350, an authentication server function (AUSF) 360, a network slice selection function (NSSF) 370, a charging function (CHF) 380, a network data analytics function (NWDAF) 390, and an application function (AF) 399.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hamid et al. as taught by Talebi Fard et al. for purpose of providing charging functionality.
For claim 15, the claim has features similar to claim 8. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 8.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamid et al. (U.S. 20220377510) in view of Zhu (U.S. 20220217005).
For claim 9, Hamid et al. do not disclose the method according to claim 4, comprising exposing an Application Programming Interface, API, for explicitly receiving the subscription request.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhu discloses exposing an Application Programming Interface, API, for explicitly receiving the subscription request (at least [0116]. The NEF may provide a quantity of times that an application (application service) in a network slice instance invokes a network capability application programming interface (API). Based on the trigger condition of event-based charging, the quantity of times that the application invokes the network capability API may be provided to the CHF and used as the charging data.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Hamid et al. as taught by Zhu for purpose of providing charging data.
For claim 16, the claim has features similar to claim 9. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 9
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644