DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 17-29 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 22, 23, 24, 27, 28, and 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) in view of Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1)
In regards to claim 17, ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for efficient usage of a main receiver and a wake-up receiver (WUR) for paging-early-indication (PEI) reception, the method comprising: determining to use the WUR as a primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in Discontinuous Reception (DRX), wherein the WUR consumes less power than the main receiver (Elkotby ,“US 20240284456 A1”, teaches determining to use the WUR, ULP receiver, as a primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX, wherein the ULP, consumes less power than the main receiver, conventional receiver, “[Abstract]…A WTRU may receive a ULP-specific configuration, and may activate the ULP receiver, and inactivate the Uu receiver, when support of ULP paging operation, by the network, is determined. The ULP receiver may detect a Low-Power Wake-Up Signal (LP-WUS) and may activate the Uu receiver and perform PDCCH monitoring. Under condition that the WTRU detects, in the channel monitoring, its identifier in a paging message received via the Uu receiver, the WTRU initiates a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure… [0229] According to a second technical realization, a ULP receiver of a WTRU may be configured with a short ULP-specific paging cycle for paging indication detection whereas the conventional receiver of the WTRU may be configured with multiple (e.g., a short and a long/legacy) paging cycles. The conventional receiver's configured short paging cycle may be used to support a faster paging DCI and/or message/record detection/decoding in response to a ULP-receiver triggered operation, e.g., based on the detection of a paging indication (e.g., LP-WUS, paging early indication, or early paging indication) by the ULP receiver. In other words, the paging DCI and/or paging message/record are decoded by the conventional/traditional receiver only if a true paging indication is detected by the ULP receiver, thus, a power saving gain is still achievable by WTRU despite the reduction in paging latency. This is mainly due to the fact the paging indication/DCI false alarms only occur over the ULP channels where the WTRU ID is still not detected in the paging message which is still decoded using the power efficient ULP receiver.”);
detecting, at the WUR, a PEI; responsive to the detecting the PEI, the WUR activating the main receiver for monitoring a paging occasion (PO) (“[0229] According to a second technical realization, a ULP receiver of a WTRU may be configured with a short ULP-specific paging cycle for paging indication detection whereas the conventional receiver of the WTRU may be configured with multiple (e.g., a short and a long/legacy) paging cycles. The conventional receiver's configured short paging cycle may be used to support a faster paging DCI and/or message/record detection/decoding in response to a ULP-receiver triggered operation, e.g., based on the detection of a paging indication (e.g., LP-WUS, paging early indication, or early paging indication) by the ULP receiver. In other words, the paging DCI and/or paging message/record are decoded by the conventional/traditional receiver only if a true paging indication is detected by the ULP receiver, thus, a power saving gain is still achievable by WTRU despite the reduction in paging latency. This is mainly due to the fact the paging indication/DCI false alarms only occur over the ULP channels where the WTRU ID is still not detected in the paging message which is still decoded using the power efficient ULP receiver.”);
The low power/wake-up receiver feature of ELKOTBY (“US 20240284456 A1”) differs from that of claim 17, in that ELKOTBY is silent on determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY by determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
In regards to claim 28, ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) teaches a user equipment for efficient usage of a main receiver and a wake-up receiver (WUR) for paging-early-indication (PEI) reception, the user equipment comprising:
power supply circuitry; and processing circuitry powered via the power supply circuitry (“[0042] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102. As shown in FIG. 1B, the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and/or other elements/peripherals 138, among others. It will be appreciated that the WTRU 102 may include any sub-combination of the foregoing elements while remaining consistent with an embodiment.”) and configured to determine to use the WUR as a primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in Discontinuous Reception (DRX), wherein the WUR consumes less power than the main receiver (Elkotby ,“US 20240284456 A1”, teaches determining to use the WUR, ULP receiver, as a primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX, wherein the ULP, consumes less power than the main receiver, conventional receiver, “[Abstract]…A WTRU may receive a ULP-specific configuration, and may activate the ULP receiver, and inactivate the Uu receiver, when support of ULP paging operation, by the network, is determined. The ULP receiver may detect a Low-Power Wake-Up Signal (LP-WUS) and may activate the Uu receiver and perform PDCCH monitoring. Under condition that the WTRU detects, in the channel monitoring, its identifier in a paging message received via the Uu receiver, the WTRU initiates a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure… [0229] According to a second technical realization, a ULP receiver of a WTRU may be configured with a short ULP-specific paging cycle for paging indication detection whereas the conventional receiver of the WTRU may be configured with multiple (e.g., a short and a long/legacy) paging cycles. The conventional receiver's configured short paging cycle may be used to support a faster paging DCI and/or message/record detection/decoding in response to a ULP-receiver triggered operation, e.g., based on the detection of a paging indication (e.g., LP-WUS, paging early indication, or early paging indication) by the ULP receiver. In other words, the paging DCI and/or paging message/record are decoded by the conventional/traditional receiver only if a true paging indication is detected by the ULP receiver, thus, a power saving gain is still achievable by WTRU despite the reduction in paging latency. This is mainly due to the fact the paging indication/DCI false alarms only occur over the ULP channels where the WTRU ID is still not detected in the paging message which is still decoded using the power efficient ULP receiver.”);
wherein, responsive to detection of a PEI by the WUR, the WUR activates the main receiver for monitoring a paging occasion (PO) (“[0229] According to a second technical realization, a ULP receiver of a WTRU may be configured with a short ULP-specific paging cycle for paging indication detection whereas the conventional receiver of the WTRU may be configured with multiple (e.g., a short and a long/legacy) paging cycles. The conventional receiver's configured short paging cycle may be used to support a faster paging DCI and/or message/record detection/decoding in response to a ULP-receiver triggered operation, e.g., based on the detection of a paging indication (e.g., LP-WUS, paging early indication, or early paging indication) by the ULP receiver. In other words, the paging DCI and/or paging message/record are decoded by the conventional/traditional receiver only if a true paging indication is detected by the ULP receiver, thus, a power saving gain is still achievable by WTRU despite the reduction in paging latency. This is mainly due to the fact the paging indication/DCI false alarms only occur over the ULP channels where the WTRU ID is still not detected in the paging message which is still decoded using the power efficient ULP receiver.”),
and, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
The low power/wake-up receiver feature of ELKOTBY (“US 20240284456 A1”) differs from that of claim 28, in that ELKOTBY is silent on wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is not satisfied; and responsive to the determination that the condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is not satisfied, switch to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY by determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson, to thus arrive at claim 28. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
In regards to claim 29, ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) teaches a user equipment (UE) for efficient usage of a main receiver and a wake-up receiver (WUR) for paging-early-indication (PEI) reception, the UE comprising:
a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that provides instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to (“[0042] FIG. 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example WTRU 102. As shown in FIG. 1B, the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132, a power source 134, a global positioning system (GPS) chipset 136, and/or other elements/peripherals 138, among others. It will be appreciated that the WTRU 102 may include any sub-combination of the foregoing elements while remaining consistent with an embodiment…[0436] Moreover, in the embodiments provided above, processing platforms, computing systems, controllers, and other devices that include processors are noted. These devices may include at least one Central Processing Unit (“CPU”) and memory. In accordance with the practices of persons skilled in the art of computer programming, reference to acts and symbolic representations of operations or instructions may be performed by the various CPUs and memories. Such acts and operations or instructions may be referred to as being “executed,” “computer executed” or “CPU executed.””):
determine to use the WUR as a primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in Discontinuous Reception (DRX), wherein the WUR consumes less power than the main receiver (Elkotby ,“US 20240284456 A1”, teaches determining to use the WUR, ULP receiver, as a primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX, wherein the ULP, consumes less power than the main receiver, conventional receiver, “[Abstract]…A WTRU may receive a ULP-specific configuration, and may activate the ULP receiver, and inactivate the Uu receiver, when support of ULP paging operation, by the network, is determined. The ULP receiver may detect a Low-Power Wake-Up Signal (LP-WUS) and may activate the Uu receiver and perform PDCCH monitoring. Under condition that the WTRU detects, in the channel monitoring, its identifier in a paging message received via the Uu receiver, the WTRU initiates a connection establishment or a connection resume procedure… [0229] According to a second technical realization, a ULP receiver of a WTRU may be configured with a short ULP-specific paging cycle for paging indication detection whereas the conventional receiver of the WTRU may be configured with multiple (e.g., a short and a long/legacy) paging cycles. The conventional receiver's configured short paging cycle may be used to support a faster paging DCI and/or message/record detection/decoding in response to a ULP-receiver triggered operation, e.g., based on the detection of a paging indication (e.g., LP-WUS, paging early indication, or early paging indication) by the ULP receiver. In other words, the paging DCI and/or paging message/record are decoded by the conventional/traditional receiver only if a true paging indication is detected by the ULP receiver, thus, a power saving gain is still achievable by WTRU despite the reduction in paging latency. This is mainly due to the fact the paging indication/DCI false alarms only occur over the ULP channels where the WTRU ID is still not detected in the paging message which is still decoded using the power efficient ULP receiver.”) and
wherein, responsive to detection of a PEI by the WUR, the WUR activates the main receiver for monitoring a paging occasion (PO) (“[0229] According to a second technical realization, a ULP receiver of a WTRU may be configured with a short ULP-specific paging cycle for paging indication detection whereas the conventional receiver of the WTRU may be configured with multiple (e.g., a short and a long/legacy) paging cycles. The conventional receiver's configured short paging cycle may be used to support a faster paging DCI and/or message/record detection/decoding in response to a ULP-receiver triggered operation, e.g., based on the detection of a paging indication (e.g., LP-WUS, paging early indication, or early paging indication) by the ULP receiver. In other words, the paging DCI and/or paging message/record are decoded by the conventional/traditional receiver only if a true paging indication is detected by the ULP receiver, thus, a power saving gain is still achievable by WTRU despite the reduction in paging latency. This is mainly due to the fact the paging indication/DCI false alarms only occur over the ULP channels where the WTRU ID is still not detected in the paging message which is still decoded using the power efficient ULP receiver.”) and
The low power/wake-up receiver feature of ELKOTBY (“US 20240284456 A1”) differs from that of claim 29, in that ELKOTBY is silent on determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY by determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
In regards to claim 22, ELKOTBY is silent on the method of claim 17, further comprising: while the main receiver is the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX, determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is satisfied, and responsive to this determination, switching to using the WUR as the primary receiver. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches while a main receiver is a primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal when waking up in DRX, determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver is satisfied, and responsive to this determination, switching to using the WUR as the primary receiver (“[0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the low power/wake-up receiver feature of ELKOTBY to arrive at the method of claim 17, further comprising: while the main receiver is the primary receiver for monitoring WUS or WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX, determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS or WUR signal (i.e PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is satisfied, and responsive to this determination, switching to using the WUR as the primary receiver. as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
In regards to claim 23, ELKOTBY is silent on the method of claim 17, wherein the condition is based on at least one of a group paging rate, UE specific paging rate, PEI rate, false paging rate, latency constraint, quality of the channel, or any combination thereof. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS, Wilhelmsson further teaches where the condition (i.e. the station being within a threshold range) can be based on a quality of a channel (i.e a received signal power and/or error rate) (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0061] As an example, suppose that the sensitivity of the wake-up receiver is −80 dBm, whereas the sensitivity of the main receiver is −100 dBm. Upon reception of the WUR signal by the main radio (which is possible as long as the received power is above −100 dBm), the signal power can be estimated. If the estimated power is below −80 dBm it is determined that the wake-up receiver is out of coverage, whereas if it is above −80 dBm it is within coverage. [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY to arrive at the method of claim 17, wherein the condition is based on at least one of a group paging rate, UE specific paging rate, PEI rate, false paging rate, latency constraint, quality of the channel, or any combination thereof, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
In regards to claim 24, ELKOTBY is silent on the method of claim 17, wherein determining to use the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is based on channel quality being greater than a channel quality threshold. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS, Wilhelmsson further teaches where the condition (i.e. the station being within a threshold range) can be based on a quality of a channel (i.e a received signal power and/or error rate) being greater than a channel quality threshold (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0061] As an example, suppose that the sensitivity of the wake-up receiver is −80 dBm, whereas the sensitivity of the main receiver is −100 dBm. Upon reception of the WUR signal by the main radio (which is possible as long as the received power is above −100 dBm), the signal power can be estimated. If the estimated power is below −80 dBm it is determined that the wake-up receiver is out of coverage, whereas if it is above −80 dBm it is within coverage. [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY to arrive at the method of claim 17, wherein determining to use the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is based on channel quality being greater than a channel quality threshold, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
In regards to claim 27, ELKOTBY is silent on the method of claim 17, wherein the WUR is not capable of decoding contents of the PEI. The low power/wake-up receiver feature of ELKOTBY (“US 20240284456 A1”) differs from that of claim 17, in that ELKOTBY is silent on determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring PEI when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS. Wilhelmsson further teaches where the WUR is not capable of decoding contents of the WUS/WUR signal due to being out of range (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY to arrive at the method of claim 17, wherein the WUR is not capable of decoding contents of the PEI. as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition, and further due to the fact that the WUR being incapable of decoding contents of WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI) is a condition necessary in determining the most efficient radio (i.e. main radio in the case that WUR is incapable of receiving WUS/WUR signal) for wake-up signal reception.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) in view of Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) in view of ZHANG (US 20200145921 A1).
In regards to claim 18, ELKTOBY is silent on the method of claim 17, further comprising: adjusting one or more thresholds for the condition based on information included in the PEI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power saving in a wireless communication system. Despite these differences similar features have been seen other prior art featuring use of a low power/wake-up receivers.
Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point which can be determined based upon the detection result of a WUS and/or WUR signal) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY by determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
The combined teachings of ELKOTBY in view of Wilhelmsson further differ from claim 18, in that the combined teachings are silent on the method of claim 17, further comprising: adjusting one or more thresholds for the condition based on information included in the PEI. However similar features have been seen in other prior art involving use of a wake-up signal (i.e. PEI) for power saving in a wireless communication system. ZHANG (US 20200145921 A1) for example teaches adjusting one or more thresholds, a WUS time window, for a condition of detecting a wake-up signal (WUS), based on information included in the WUS, a non-wake up condition that extends the WUS time window (“[0011] In accordance with another example, a wireless communications device may initialize parameters associated with a wake-up signal time window and initialize a counter of signals received indicating non-wake up. The wireless communication device may detect, during a next configured WUS time window, a received wake-up signal. The wireless communications device may determine whether the received wake-up signal indicates a wake-up or a non-wake-up condition. If the received wake-up signal indicates a wake-up condition, then the wireless communications device may (i) wake up a receiver of the wireless communication device to detect a new radio physical downlink control channel (NR-PDCCH) during a discontinuous reception (DRX) on duration; (ii) reset the counter of signals indicating non-wake up; and (iii) reset a size of a next extended WUS time window to a basic window size plus a time drift caused by one DRX cycle. If the wake-up signal indicates a non-wake up condition, the wireless communications device may (i) increment the counter, and (ii) adjust the size of the next extended WUS time window.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of ZHANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power-saving feature suggested by the combined teachings of ELKOTBY in view of Wilhelmsson such as determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI, by adjusting a threshold for the condition, for the detection of the WUS (i.e. PEI), a WUS time window, based upon information included in the WUS (i.e. PEI), to thus arrive at claim 18. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide additional flexibility to the feature for detecting a WUS/PEI suggested by the combined teachings of ELKOBTY in view of Wilhemsson.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) in view of Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) in view of MAZLOUM (“US 20210344542 A1”).
In regards to claim 20, ELKOTBY is silent on the method of claim 17, further comprising: recording the received PEI and feeding the received PEI to the main receiver after activating the main receiver, wherein the main receiver demodulates the received PEI. Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) teaches determining that a condition (i.e. that station be within a threshold range of an access point) for using a wireless wake-up receiver (WUR) as the primary receiver for monitoring a paging early indication (i.e. wake-up signal, WUS and/or WUR signal) when waking in DRX is not satisfied and in response, switching using the main receiver (i.e. conventional receiver) as the primary receiver for monitoring the WUS when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring the WUS. Wilhelmsson further teaches feeding/receiving by the main receiver the WUS/WUR signal (“[0019] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention, the foregoing and other objects are achieved in technology (e.g., methods, apparatuses, nontransitory computer readable storage media, program means) that operates a mobile device that comprises a main receiver and a wake-up receiver. The operation includes periodically attempting to receive a first signal (e.g., wake-up signal or synchronization signal) that is configured for receipt by the wake-up receiver. For each attempt, a detection result is generated that indicates whether the first signal was received with a signal quality that satisfies a predetermined minimum quality criterion. One or more of the detection results are used as a basis for deciding whether or not the wake-up receiver is within range of an access point. If the decision is that the wake-up receiver is not within range of the access point, then an operation of the mobile device is adjusted. [0020] In some but not necessarily all embodiments consistent with the invention, adjusting the operation of the mobile device comprises operating the main receiver without reliance on wake-up receiver functionality… [0055] Detecting that the STA 303 is out-of-range can be achieved in a number of alternative ways. In one alternative, the STA assesses its ability to receive synchronization/WUS signals over the period of time, T (step S5). Using this information, the STA 303 can decide that it is out of range based on detecting that the number of missed synchronization/WUSs during the time T is too high. And here too, there are a number of alternatives. For example, deciding that too many signals have been missed may mean missing more than some predefined number, N (e.g., N=3) of consecutive signals. As another alternative, a decision that the STA 303 is out-of-range may be made based on detecting that some predetermined number, M, out of the latest N synchronization/WUS signals were not received, where M and N are both positive integers (e.g., M=7 and N=10). [0056] In response to detecting that it is out-of-range of the WUR signals, the STA 303 signals to the AP 301 that it is out-of-range (step S6). In response, the AP 301 adjusts its operation accordingly, so as not to rely on the STA's wake-up receiver functionality. For example, the AP 301 may transmit a conventional (legacy) signal (e.g., configured for receipt by the STA's main transceiver) to indicate to the STA 303 that it has data available for downlink transmission to the STA 303 (step S7)… [0062] To describe these exemplary embodiments further, the main receiver is used during normal operation to determine whether the wake-up receiver is within range of the WUR signals. When this is the case, the main receiver can be permitted to be put into a sleep mode, with the wake-up receiver be used to reawaken the main receiver when data is available. If the station moves out-of-range of the WUR signal while the main receiver is in sleep mode, the wake-up receiver will start to miss some of the WUR signals (e.g., it will miss the periodically transmitted synchronization signals). The wake-up receiver will respond to detecting that it has missed WUR signals by turning on the main receiver to receive the WUR signals. “).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Wilhelmsson it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the low power/wake-up receivers feature of ELKOTBY by determining that a condition for using the WUR as the primary receiver for monitoring a wake-up signal (WUS)/wake-up receiver (WUR) signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX is not satisfied and, in response, switching to using the main receiver as the primary receiver for monitoring WUS/WUR signal (i.e. PEI of ELKOTBY) when waking up in DRX and not using the WUR for monitoring PEI, and by recording the received PEI and feeding the received PEI to the main receiver after activating the main receiver, as similarly seen in Wilhelmsson in order to provide a benefit of more efficient reception of wake-up signals by selecting the most efficient receiver (i.e. wake-up receiver (WUR)/low power receiver, or main/full power receiver) for reception of the wake-up signals dependent upon a particular condition.
The combined teachings of ELKOTBY in view of Wilhelmsson further differ from claim 20 in that the combined teachings are silent wherein the main receiver demodulates the received PEI, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 20. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in wireless communication networks. MAZLOUM (“US 20210344542 A1”) teaches a feature for power-saving where a main receiver modulates, non-coherent decoding, a wake-up signal, in order to support a subsequent decoding/demodulation of data. (“[0096] While in the examples of FIGS. 6 and 7 scenarios are illustrated where there is a dedicated low-power receiver 1352, in other examples there may be no low-power receiver. Instead, the WUS may be detected by the main receiver 1351 in a low-power state. For example, the main receiver 1351 may not be fit to demodulate and decode data mapped to Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK), Binary Phase Shift Keying (BPSK), or Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (QAM) constellations. Rather, the main receiver 1351 may be fit to perform non-coherent decoding of a WUS, when operating in the low-power state. Then, in response to receiving the WUS, the main receiver 1351 may transition into a high-power state in which it is fit to decode and demodulate the ordinary data, e.g., on channel 263, etc.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of MAZLOUM it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the WUS/PEI suggested by the combined teachings of ELKOTBY in view of WILHELMSSON by having the main receiver demodulate the received WUS/PEI as similarly seen in the power saving feature of MAZLOUM to thus arrive at 20, in order to support further data communication that are indicated by the decoding/demodulation of the WUS/PEI.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) in view of Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) in view of MAZLOUM (“US 20210344542 A1”) in view of PENG (US 20240259998 A1)
In regards to claim 21, the combined teachings of ELKTOBY in view of WILHELMSSON in view of MAZLOUM are silent on the method of claim 20, further comprising: determining that the demodulated PEI indicates no paging for the UE, and responsive to this determination, ignoring decoding the paging occasion. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power-saving in wireless communication networks. PENG (US 20240259998 A1) for example teaches a power saving feature where a decoded PEI/WUS indicates that there is no paging for a UE, and responsive to the indication, ignoring (i.e. skipping) decoding the paging occasion (“[0033] FIG. 3 shows an example paging cycle including a paging indication. Before the UE receives a paging message, paging indication information (also “paging configuration information”) can inform the UE that the UE can skip reception of the paging message, including skipping the paging PDCCH, thus avoiding a false alarm. The paging indication information can indicate a paging indication channel and/or a paging occasion. The paging indication information can be carried on a paging early indication (PEI) signal/channel, such as a wake-up signal/channel (WUS) and/or paging scheduling channel, such as paging-PDCCH.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of PENG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power-saving feature suggested by the combined teachings of ELKOTBY in view of WILHEMSSON in view of MALZOUM, by determining that the demodulated PEI/WUS (i.e. demodulated PEI/WUS suggested by the combined teachings of EKLOTBY in view of WILHEMSSON in view of MALZOUM in claim 20) indicates no paging for the UE, and responsive to this determination, ignoring/skipping decoding the paging occasion (PO), as suggested by PENG, in order to take advantage of the power-saving benefits yielded by use of PEI/WUS to skip monitoring a PO.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELKOTBY (US 20240284456 A1) in view of Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) in view of NAM (US 20200154355 A1).
In regards to claim 26, the combination of ELKTOBY in view of Wilhelmsson (US 20180310249 A1) is silent on the method of claim 17, wherein the step of detecting, at the WUR, the PEI includes determining a presence of a specific Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) associated with the UE that is a Downlink Control Information (DCI) included on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving power saving in wireless communications networks. NAM (US 20200154355 A1) for example teaches a feature where a step of detecting a wake-up signal (WUS) includes determining a presence of a specific DMRS associated with a UE that is a DCI included in a PDCCH (“[0106] Additionally, for PDCCH-based WUS, the at least one WUS may include at least one of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmitted on a PDCCH in the one or more resources or downlink control information (DCI) transmitted on a PDCCH in the one or more resources. In this case, for a PDCCH-based WUS, the DMRS and/or the DCI may be scrambled with a scrambling sequence of the set of scrambling sequences assigned to the UE. [0107] Thus, according to aspects, monitoring for the at least one WUS may include monitoring for a DMRS and/or DCI scrambled with a scrambling sequence assigned to the UE. For example, if, during monitoring, the UE detects that a DMRS and/or DCI in a received signal is scrambled with the scrambling sequence assigned to the UE, the UE may detect that the DMRS and/or DCI is a WUS intended for the UE. Thus, based on the detection, the UE may transition to the ON state of the DRX mode (e.g., to receive additional data). Additionally, in some cases, for PDCCH-based WUS, RNTI hopping (e.g., jointly or separately from scrambling sequence hopping) may also be considered. For example, when detecting the PDCCH-based WUS, the UE may check whether the cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the PDCCH is scrambled by a specific RNTI based on the assigned RNTI-hopping sequence. Only when the CRC is scrambled by the RNTI assigned to the UE, the UE can succeed in decoding the PDCCH and determine that the PDCCH-based WUS is intended for the UE.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of NAM it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power-saving feature suggested by the combined teachings of ELKTOBY in view of Wilhelmsson, by such that the step of detecting, at the WUR, the WUS (i.e. PEI) includes determining a presence of a specific Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) associated with the UE that is a Downlink Control Information (DCI) included on a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), as similarly seen in NAM, in order to provide a reliable and well-known means to provide WUS/PEI detection at the WUR.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476