DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “dust collecting device” in Claims 21-29, and “joining device” in Claims 34, 35, and 40.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiang WO 2016/165612 A1 (hereafter Xiang).
Regarding Claim 21, Xiang anticipates:
21. (New) A dust collecting device (vacuum cleaner, title) comprising:
an air inflow part (assembly comprising air inlet 2001 and air duct 209) that defines a suction flow path (fluid path through air inlet 2001 and air duct 209) configured to receive air (from vacuum attachment 10, Figure 1);
a dust separating part (separation device 101) comprising at least one cyclone (cyclone separation device) configured to separate dust from the air received through the air inflow part;
a bag support (dust bucket 202) configured to accommodate a dust bag (dust bag 211), the dust bag being configured to store the dust separated by the dust separating part (Figure 2);
a housing (assembly comprising cover 100 and lower body 200) that accommodates the bag support and the dust separating part therein (Figure 2);
a suction motor (vacuum motor 20) configured to cause a flow of the air through the suction flow path and the dust separating part (air flow shown in Figure 2); and
a connection part that defines (i) a connection flow path (air path through motor front filter 102 and first passage 204 as shown in Figure 2) configured to guide the air having passed through the dust separating part to the suction motor (shown in Figure 2) and (ii) a bypass flow path (vent 2021 and second channel 2041) that connects the bag support to the suction motor (shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 24, Xiang anticipates:
24. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the housing (assembly comprising cover 100 and lower body 200) comprises:
a lower housing (lower body 200) coupled to the bag support (dust bucket 202) and connected to the bypass flow path (vent 2021 and second channel 2041)(shown in Figure 2); and
an upper housing (cover 100) that is connected to (through air inlet duct of the separation device 105) the air inflow part (assembly comprising air inlet 2001 and air duct 209) and accommodates the dust separating part (separation device 101), the upper housing being connected to (through filter air duct 103) the connection flow path (through motor front filter 102 and first passage 204 as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 25, Xiang anticipates:
25. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the connection flow path (air path through motor front filter 102 and first passage 204 as shown in Figure 2) and the bypass flow path (vent 2021 and second channel 2041) are fluidly connected to each other (shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 26, Xiang anticipates:
26. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the dust bag (dust bag 211) is made of an impermeable material (Paragraph [0007] – “dust collecting bag is a dust collecting bag of a non-gas penetrating material”).
Regarding Claim 27, Xiang anticipates:
27. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the dust bag (dust bag 211) is configured to expand (due to negative pressure of the vacuum motor, Paragraph [0007]) in the bag support (dust bucket 202) based on operation of the suction motor (vacuum motor 20).
Regarding Claim 28, Xiang anticipates:
28. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the bag support (dust bucket 202) comprises a support part main body (cavity of dust bucket 202, Figure 2) configured to accommodate the dust bag (dust bag 211) therein (Figure 2),
wherein the housing (assembly comprising cover 100 and lower body 200) comprises a lower housing (lower body 200) coupled to the bag support and connected to the bypass flow path (vent 2021 and second channel 2041), and
wherein an outer peripheral surface of the support part main body is spaced apart from an inner peripheral surface of the lower housing (shown in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 29, Xiang anticipates:
29. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the bag support (dust bucket 202) comprises a support part main body (cavity of dust bucket 202, Figure 2) configured to accommodate the dust bag (dust bag 211) therein (Figure 2),
wherein the housing (assembly comprising cover 100 and lower body 200) comprises a lower housing (lower body 200) coupled to the bag support and connected to the bypass flow path (vent 2021 and second channel 2041), and
wherein a lower surface of the support part main body is spaced apart from a lower surface of the lower housing (shown in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 22, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang WO 2016/165612 A1 (hereafter Xiang) in view of common knowledge.
Regarding Claim 22, Xiang teaches:
22. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the bag support (dust bucket 202) comprises a support part main body (cavity of dust bucket 202, Figure 2) configured to accommodate the dust bag (dust bag 211) therein (Figure 2), and
wherein the support part main body defines a plurality of suction holes along an outer peripheral surface of the support part main body (see discussion below).
Xiang discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for disclosing a plurality of suction holes along an outer peripheral surface of the dust bucket 202. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the vent 2021 and second channel 2041 of the Xiang device would create a significantly high suction pressure inside the dust bucket 202 if the inlet of the vacuum attachment 10 gets plugged, resulting from the vacuum motor only being able to draw from the dust bucket cavity as designed. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Xiang device to add a plurality of small suction holes in the dust bucket 202 that will provide leakage paths into the dust bucket to limit the magnitude of suction pressure.
Regarding Claim 23, Xiang teaches:
23. (New) The dust collecting device of claim 21, wherein the bag support (dust bucket 202) comprises a support part main body (cavity of dust bucket 202, Figure 2) configured to accommodate the dust bag (dust bag 211) therein (Figure 2), and
wherein the support part main body defines a plurality of suction holes at a lower surface of the support part main body facing downward in a gravitational direction (see discussion below).
Xiang discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for disclosing a plurality of suction holes at a lower surface of the dust bucket 202. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the vent 2021 and second channel 2041 of the Xiang device would create a significantly high suction pressure inside the dust bucket 202 if the inlet of the vacuum attachment 10 gets plugged, resulting from the vacuum motor only being able to draw from the dust bucket cavity as designed. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Xiang device to add a plurality of small suction holes in the dust bucket 202 that will provide leakage paths into the dust bucket to limit the magnitude of suction pressure. Note: location and orientation of the holes would make no design difference.
Regarding Claim 30, Xiang teaches:
30. (New) A cleaner (vacuum cleaner, title) comprising:
a suction flow path (fluid path through air inlet 2001 and air duct 209) configured to receive air (from vacuum attachment 10, Figure 1);
a dust separating part (separation device 101) comprising at least one cyclone (cyclone separation device) configured to separate dust from the air received through the suction flow path;
a bag support (dust bucket 202) configured to accommodate a dust bag (dust bag 211), the dust bag being configured to store the dust separated by the dust separating part (Figure 2);
a housing (assembly comprising cover 100 and lower body 200) that accommodates the bag support and the dust separating part therein (Figure 2);
a suction motor (vacuum motor 20) configured to cause a flow of the air through the suction flow path and the dust separating part (air flow shown in Figure 2);
a battery (see discussion below) configured to supply power to the suction motor;
a handle (vacuum attachment 10) configured to be gripped by a user (Figure 1); and
a connection part that defines (i) a connection flow path (air path through motor front filter 102 and first passage 204 as shown in Figure 2) configured to guide the air having passed through the dust separating part to the suction motor (shown in Figure 2) and (ii) a bypass flow path (vent 2021 and second channel 2041) configured to guide the air having passed through a space between the bag support and the housing to the suction motor (shown in Figure 2).
Xiang discloses substantially all the limitations of the claim(s) except for disclosing how the device is powered. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a battery to power the vacuum cleaner because it is old and well known, as predicted by the prior art, to be a substitutable portable power source with the motivation to eliminate the need for an AC power cord.
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claims 31-40, a search of the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the device as claimed in the context of the entire scope of the claims. Thus, for at least the foregoing reasons, the instant invention is neither anticipated nor rendered obvious by the prior art because the device is not taught nor suggested as set forth in the entire context of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of vacuum cleaners and vacuum cleaner docking stations.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723