DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 29 December 2025 has been entered. Claims 13-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to Claims 13 and 20 have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 1 October 2025. However, Applicant’s amendments to Claims 13 and 20 do not overcome the U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 29 December 2025, with respect to the U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 13-24, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant Remarks
Applicant remarks that it is not obvious to modify Chen-2018 to incorporate the teachings of Rollig.
First, the previous office action states that “Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose the method applied in materially integral connections which can occur in the area between a surface of a semiconductor element, a connecting layer and a surface of a substrate”. Therefore, Chen-2018 also fails to describe that the focal plane of the digital camera corresponds to the interface between the semiconductor element and the connecting layer. In Chen-2018, the optical measurement setup is designed such that the focal point of the camera is located directly on the surface of the substrate under investigation. It is explicitly stated that the camera is "focused on the sample surface" in order to record the speckles on the sample surface as near-field speckles. (See Chen-2018 page 3). The imaging device, therefore, sharpens exclusively the outer, optically accessible surface of the material. In contrast, claim 13 of the present application does not require focusing on the outer surface, but teaches something qualitatively different: the focal plane of the optical detector is adjusted such that it corresponds to the interface between the semiconductor element and the connecting layer, i.e. an internal intermediate layer within the sample. By focusing the camera on the interface between the semiconductor element and the connecting layer, the measurement is directed precisely at the materially integral connection itself.
Second, Chen-2018 does not disclose a comparable analysis. The analysis in Chen- 2018 is based on a correlation function in which intensity differences between frames are squared and accumulated over time. This corresponds to a classical variance or autocorrelation-type measure and is used there to derive a parameter that reflects the local temperature field and its temporal evolution; the focus is on describing thermal behavior and heat transport in the sample. In contrast, the present application defines two specific evaluation quantities that are built on absolute values of intensity differences. One evaluates the absolute change between successive time steps, the other the absolute change of each time step relative to the initial image.
Lastly, Chen-2018 does not disclose any thermal excitation source that emits a pulse of electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength greater than 400 nm. In particular, the wavelength of 650 nm cited in the Office Action clearly refers to the illumination laser diode used to create the static speckle pattern on the sample surface, not to the high- power thermal excitation source. Defining the thermal excitation source as a pulse of electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength greater than 400 nm enables material- adapted and reproducible energy input with appropriate penetration depth and minimal risk of structural damage.
Only by considering Chen-2018 a person of ordinary skill in the art would try to optimize the existing surface-based speckle method rather than fundamentally change its architecture. They would typically consider measures such as increasing the number of recorded frames, adjusting exposure time, excitation power, or illumination geometry, refining the known correlation or variance analysis (e.g. filtering, thresholds, window sizes), or combining the surface speckle data with other conventional NDT techniques. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not suggest distinguishing features.
A skilled person would not combine Chen-2018 with Rollig in the first place, because the two documents address fundamentally different technical problems. Rollig is concerned with the detection of mechanical stresses in wafer structures and not with the detection of defects in materially integral connections. Its methodology, objectives, and measurement conditions are therefore unrelated to the defect-focused, speckle-dynamic analysis in Chen-2018. For this reason, a combination would not be technically meaningful or motivated.
Even if such a combination were made, a person of ordinary skill in the art would still remain within the conceptual framework of surface-based optical inspection. In particular, the entire disclosure of Rollig is limited to surface-related or wafer-level stress analysis (see Rollig Claim 1 and paragraph [0011]). Nowhere in Rollig is it described or even suggested that the optical system should be focused into an intermediate layer of stacked assembly. In contrast to the method described herein, there is no teaching in Rollig to position the focal plane in a bonding or connecting layer between different components.
Additionally, Rollig provides no hint at all toward defining a thermal excitation pulse with a wavelength greater than 400 nm, as it does not mention any wavelength at all.
Examiner Responses
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen-2018 and Röllig are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e. laser speckle photometry. Thus, they can be obviously combinable.
Examiner agrees that the previous office action states that “Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose the method applied in materially integral connections which can occur in the area between a surface of a semiconductor element, a connecting layer and a surface of a substrate”. However, Examiner respectfully points out that the office action uses Chen-2018 to teach claim limitations which do not require “the focal plane of the digital camera corresponds to the interface between the semiconductor element and the connecting layer”. Röllig is used to teach “the area between a surface of a semiconductor element, a connecting layer and a surface of a substrate”. The office action points to the abstract and ph. 3 ln. 17-18 to teach “metallic layers on its surface”. For additional support and details, pg. 3 ln. 55-58 states “A CCD or CMOS camera can be used as an optical detector. In the invention, substrates that have metallic layers on their surface, with which electrical conductor tracks or electrical connection contact points are preferably formed, are examined in a region of the surface of the substrate”. The multiple metallic layers are on the surface of the substrate. Thus, the outer surface is interpreted as the top of the first metallic layer. Because the detection is “in a region of the surface of the substrate”, the focal plane of the camera must be in the region which is not the outer surface of the metallic layers, i.e. in the layers connecting the outer surface to the substrate. In other words, the focal plane of the camera has to correspond to the interface between the semiconductor element and the connecting layer, i.e. an internal intermediate layer within the substrate
Examiner respectfully points out that Röllig is relied on to teach the equations, and not Chen-2018. Röllig pg. 4 ln. 51-57 teaches the correlation function as the difference between intensities at different times for the same position. Röllig’s correlation function can be used to derive the correlation functions such as claimed, because the correlation function at the measuring position xy is the summation of
. The correlation function that the Applicant points out, in which intensity differences between frames are squared and accumulated over time, is only one derivation from the correlation function that the Examiner points out. Therefore, Röllig teaches intensity differences, which can be used to derive two expressions as claimed, i.e. absolute value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to derive such correlation functions as claimed, since it was known in the art to derive equations from other equations (Röllig pg. 4 ln. 24- pg. 5 ln. 29).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen-2018 pg. 3 para. 2 states “The research measurements were carried out based on the thermal excitation method completed by a high power laser. The experimental setup is shown in Figure 4. In the figure, components of the setup are numbered from 1-5. Number 1 is a laser diode with the wavelength of 650 nm (DD 650, Picotronic GmbH)... Number 3 is the high power laser diode (Compact 50/400, DILAS GmbH) combined with a reflective collimator (RC02SMA-P01, Thorlabs GmbH). The high power laser was applied to provide a thermal pulse to excite sample surface, and yield a dynamic speckle signal generated by the illuminating laser diode”. Therefore, Chen-2018 does teach what the Applicant remarks is a “high- power thermal excitation source”. Examiner points to the 650 nm wavelength to explain how the wavelength of the laser diodes are greater than 400 nm.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The teachings of Röllig which are requirements of the claim limitations are “the method applied in materially integral connections” and wherein
and
. In other words, Röllig teaches an application of the method and a derivation of equations, i.e. applying the laser speckle photometry method to a specific purpose. Röllig is not combined with Chen-2018 in a way that fundamentally changes the architecture of Chen-2018, even if they have differences in architecture. Therefore, Röllig does not fundamentally change the architecture of Chen-2018.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen-2018 and Röllig are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, i.e. laser speckle photometry. The motivation of combining Chen-2018 and Röllig is the advantage of improving detection accuracy and speed (Röllig pg. 6 ln. 7-8) via applying the methods of Chen-2018 to “materially integral connections” with specific derived mathematical expressions. Examiner respectfully asserts that the combination Chen-2018 and Röllig is technically meaningful to one of ordinary skill in the art because Röllig (See Röllig pg. 4 ln. 2-11) is concerned with the detection of defects, for example geometric distortion, in materially integral connections, for example within the metallic layers of the surface. Also, Röllig teaches the system records and digitizes at specific times in order to compare “at least two completely different stochastic speckle patterns caused by external state changes is carried out based on the spatial relationship of a point to neighboring points”. Therefore, the combination Chen-2018 and Röllig is technically meaningful to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner respectfully points out that the claim limitations do not require “the optical system should be focused into an intermediate layer of stacked assembly”. Further, the claim limitation only requires “the method applied in materially integral connections”. The following statement in the claim, “which can occur…” simply gives an example, not further limiting the claim. Examiner recommends further limiting the claim as Applicant has remarked.
Examiner agrees that Röllig does not teach a specific wavelength. However, Chen-2018 pg. 3 para. 2 states “The research measurements were carried out based on the thermal excitation method completed by a high power laser. The experimental setup is shown in Figure 4. In the figure, components of the setup are numbered from 1-5. Number 1 is a laser diode with the wavelength of 650 nm (DD 650, Picotronic GmbH)... Number 3 is the high power laser diode (Compact 50/400, DILAS GmbH) combined with a reflective collimator (RC02SMA-P01, Thorlabs GmbH). The high power laser was applied to provide a thermal pulse to excite sample surface, and yield a dynamic speckle signal generated by the illuminating laser diode”. Therefore, Chen-2018 does teach what the Applicant remarks is a “high- power thermal excitation source”. Examiner points to the 650 nm wavelength to explain how the wavelength of the laser diodes are greater than 400 nm. In a thermal excitation method, a person with ordinary skill in the art would think to use laser diodes with wavelength including the 650 nm taught by Chen-2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 16, 17, 21, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN L ET AL: "Laser speckle photometry: an advanced method for defect detection in ceramics", PROCEEDINGS OF SPIE; [PROCEEDINGS OF SPIE; ISSN 0277-786X; VOL. 8615], SPIE, 1000 20TH ST. BELLINGHAM WA 98225-6705 USA, vol. 10834, 7 September 2018 (2018-09-07), pages 1-7, hereinafter Chen-2018, in view of Röllig et al. (DE102017203765B4), hereinafter Röllig.
As to claim 13, Chen-2018 teaches a method for identifying defects (Chen-2018 Fig. 1; abstract; defect detection via LSP (Laser Speckly Photometry)), in which, using a first measuring module (Chen-2018 fig. 1; pg. 2 para. 3; the experimental setup of LSP containing three basic parts: an illumination source, an external excitation source and a detector),
monochromatic electromagnetic radiation from an illumination source is directed in a continuously defocused manner onto the surface (Chen-2018 fig. 1; pg. 2 para. 3; A laser diode as the illumination source generates a static speckle pattern on sample surface. The laser illumination can be continuous and pulsed. A laser diode is known in the art to provide monochromatic electromagnetic radiation and to emit a defocused beam before the aid of a lens, etc.),
and a pulse of electromagnetic radiation with a wavelength greater than 400 nm is directed from at least one thermal excitation source (Chen-2018 pg. 3 para. 2; the thermal excitation method is completed by a laser diode with the wavelength of 650 nm, thus both laser diodes 1, 3 have wavelengths greater than 400 nm),
and subsequently, within a time interval, using a digital camera as an optical detector (Chen-2018 pg. 3 para. 3; the dynamic speckle signals recorded by the digital camera are evaluated based on a time-resolved image analysis), at least three images of speckle patterns are captured at predeterminable times and are transferred to an electronic evaluation unit (Chen-2018 fig. 5-6; pg. 3 para. 3 - pg. 4 para. 1; the intensity of each pixel was processed in the time domain, where max n is the number of frames or images recorded by the camera (four images in fig. 5; fifteen frames according to fig. 6)),
wherein in the electronic evaluation unit, for at least one measuring position ij, a temporal and spatial domain analysis by the equations (Chen-2018 Equation 1; pg. 3 para. 3; fig. 5- pg. 4 para. 1; Equation 1 represents the temporal analysis with the time dependence “τ”, and the spatial domain analysis with location coordinates “x” and “y”)
and a result obtained in this way is compared with results obtained in advance for defect-free and defective materially integral connections of a same type (Chen-2018 fig. 6; pg. 4 para. 2 - pg. 5 para. 1; the relationship between the correlation function and the change of local temperature is shown in fig. 6) in order to decide whether specified quality criteria of the tested materially integral connection have been achieved or not (Chen-2018 fig. 6; pg. 4 para. 2 - pg. 5 para. 1; It has been proven that the highest shift is the speckle images leads to the maxima of the correlation function. The specified quality criteria has been achieved because the numerical value of correlation function exhibits similar behavior to that of the local temperature).
However, Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose the method applied in materially integral connections which can occur in the area between a surface of a semiconductor element, a connecting layer and a surface of a substrate; and wherein
and
as captured intensity,
as time, I as intensity and C as accumulation of the intensity difference between two neighboring identified speckle patterns are performed at the respective measuring position ij.
Röllig, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the method applied in materially integral connections which can occur in the area between a surface of a semiconductor element, a connecting layer and a surface of a substrate (Röllig abstract; pg. 3 ln. 17-18; The substrate has metallic layers on its surface with which electrical conductor tracks or electrical connection contact points are inspected in an area of the surface of the substrate; i.e. semiconductor materials and other structures. Thus, the method is applied in materially integral connections),
and wherein
and
as captured intensity, τ as time, I as intensity and C as accumulation of the intensity difference between two neighboring identified speckle patterns are performed at the respective measuring position ij (Röllig pg. 4 ln. 51-57; the correlation function is given by
where N corresponds to the number of individual images detected, τ is the time shift and I (n, x, y) corresponds to the intensity of a respective picture element (pixel). Thus, the correlation function at the measuring position xy is the summation of
. Thus, the correlation function is the difference between intensities at different times for the same position. Röllig’s correlation function can be used to derive the correlation functions such as claimed.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to derive such correlation functions as claimed, since it was known in the art to derive equations from other equations. See Röllig pg. 4 ln. 24- pg. 5 ln. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 to incorporate the teachings of Röllig to include the method applied in materially integral connections which can occur in the area between a surface of a semiconductor element, a connecting layer and a surface of a substrate; and wherein
and
as captured intensity,
as time, I as intensity and C as accumulation of the intensity difference between two neighboring identified speckle patterns are performed at the respective measuring position ij; for the advantage of improving detection accuracy and speed (Röllig pg. 6 ln. 7-8).
Röllig Fig. 1
Chen-2018 Fig. 1
Chen-2018 Fig. 4
Chen-2018 Fig. 5
Chen-2018 Equation 1
Chen-2018 Fig. 6
Chen-2018 Fig. 7
As to claim 14, Chen-2018 teaches wherein a laser beam source, a flash lamp, a contact heating device or a convection heating device or combinations of these excitation sources is/are used as the excitation source (Chen-2018 fig. 1; pg. 2 para. 3; A laser diode as the illumination source).
As to claim 16, Chen-2018 teaches wherein the substrate with the semiconductor element materially integral thereto is statically fixed in relation to the excitation source and a unit detecting the respective planar speckle pattern, at least during the emission of the monochromatic electromagnetic radiation and the spatially resolved detection of the planar speckle pattern that forms (Chen-2018 fig. 4; pg. 2 ln. para. 3; pg. 3 para. 2; The laser diode generates a static speckle pattern on sample surface. The experimental setup in fig. 4, i.e. during emission and detection, has the sample surface statically fixed in relation to the laser diode 1 and the detection system 2).
However, Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose the substrate with the semiconductor element materially integral thereto.
Röllig, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the substrate with the semiconductor element materially integral thereto (Röllig abstract; pg. 3 ln. 17-18; The substrate has metallic layers on its surface with which electrical conductor tracks or electrical connection contact points are inspected in an area of the surface of the substrate; i.e. semiconductor materials and other structures. Thus, the method is applied in materially integral connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 to incorporate the teachings of Röllig to include the substrate with the semiconductor element materially integral thereto; for the advantage of improving detection accuracy and speed (Röllig pg. 6 ln. 7-8).
As to claim 17, Chen-2018 teaches wherein the illumination source used is a laser radiation source or at least one laser diode (Chen-2018 fig. 1; pg. 2 para. 3; A laser diode as the illumination source).
As to claim 21, Chen-2018 teaches wherein speckle patterns are detected using the first measuring module as electromagnetic radiation being reflected diffusely and in a directed manner (Chen-2018 fig. 1; pg. 2 para. 3; A laser diode as the illumination source generates a static speckle pattern on sample surface. The light is being reflected diffusely because the speckle pattern causes a rough or irregular surface, thus diffusing the light in different directions. The light is reflected in a directed manner to the detector).
As to claim 22, Chen-2018 teaches wherein the result is output optically, acoustically and/or is taken into account for subsequent processing steps of the mounted substrate. (Chen-2018 fig. 6-7; the result is output optically, as shown in fig. 6-7).
As to claim 24, Chen-2018 teaches a substrate, which consists of a ceramic material (Chen-2018 abstract; the system performs defect detection for quality assurance of ceramics).
However, Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose wherein a materially integral connection between a semiconductor element and the substrate.
Röllig, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein a materially integral connection between a semiconductor element and the substrate, which consists of a ceramic material, is tested (Röllig abstract; pg. 3 ln. 17-18; The substrate has metallic layers on its surface with which electrical conductor tracks or electrical connection contact points are inspected in an area of the surface of the substrate; i.e. semiconductor materials and other structures. Thus, the method is applied in materially integral connections), which consists of a ceramic material, is tested (Röllig abstract; method for determining mechanical stresses in substrates or circuit carriers (3), which are formed with a ceramic material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 to incorporate the teachings of Röllig to include wherein a materially integral connection between a semiconductor element and the substrate, which consists of a ceramic material, is tested; for the advantage of improving detection accuracy and speed (Röllig pg. 6 ln. 7-8).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-2018 in view of Röllig, further in view of Telschow et al. (US 5535006 A), hereinafter Telschow.
As to claim 15, Chen-2018 teaches wherein using the laser radiation source as a thermal excitation source, a pulse of electromagnetic radiation has been achieved (Chen-2018 pg. 3 para. 2; the thermal excitation method is completed by a laser diode with the wavelength of 650 nm) in the focal spot on the surface is directed at a measuring position (Chen-2018 fig. 1; the focal spot is pictured from the speckle excitation to be focused on the measuring position where the speckle pattern is located).
However, Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose wherein the pulse of electromagnetic radiation at which a power density of at least 0.5 W/mm2 has been achieved in the focal spot on the surface of the semiconductor element.
Röllig, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the pulse of electromagnetic radiation has been achieved in the focal spot on the surface of the semiconductor element (Röllig pg. 3 ln. 49-54; The power density in the focal spot is maintained at the surface. Röllig abstract; pg. 3 ln. 17-18; The substrate can be of semiconductor materials).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 to incorporate the teachings of Röllig to include wherein the pulse of electromagnetic radiation has been achieved in the focal spot on the surface of the semiconductor element; for the advantage of improving detection accuracy and speed (Röllig pg. 6 ln. 7-8).
Still lacking, the limitation such as a power density of at least 0.5 W/mm2.
Telschow, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a power density of at least 0.5 W/mm2 (Telschow col. 10 ln. 1-5; the detection can be achieved with power densities at the surface on the order of 200 W/cm², which equals 2 W/mm2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 in view of Röllig to incorporate the teachings of Telschow to include a power density of at least 0.5 W/mm2; for the advantages of preventing surface damage (Telschow col. 10 ln. 1-5) and achieving high generation efficiency (Telschow col. 9 ln. 17-19).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-2018 in view of Röllig, further in view of CHEN LILI ET AL: 'Laser speckle photometry - Optical sensor systems for condition and process monitoring", MATERIALPRUEFUNG, I March 2019 (2019-03-01), pages 213-219, XP055975020, DE ISSN: 0025-5300, hereinafter Chen-2019.
As to claim 18, Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose wherein the thermal excitation source is operated with a pulse duration in the range from 0.2 s to 5 s and/or at least three images of speckle patterns are captured within a time interval in the range from 7.5 s to 15 s.
Chen-2019, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the thermal excitation source is operated with a pulse duration in the range from 0.2 s to 5 s and/or at least three images of speckle patterns are captured within a time interval in the range from 7.5 s to 15 s (Chen-2019 pg. 217 col. 3 para. 1; measurement speed can be 50 frames per second, including measurement and evaluation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 in view of Röllig to incorporate the teachings of Chen-2019 to include wherein the thermal excitation source is operated with a pulse duration in the range from 0.2 s to 5 s and/or at least three images of speckle patterns are captured within a time interval in the range from 7.5 s to 15 s; for the advantage of high manufacturing performance (Chen-2019 pg. 214 col. 3 para. 2).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-2018 in view of Röllig, further in view of Kirkpatrick et al. (US7079257B1), hereinafter Kirkpatrick, and Rice et al. (US10955275B2), hereinafter Rice.
As to claim 19, Chen-2018 does not explicitly disclose wherein a second measuring module is used on the side of the substrate opposite the side on which the semiconductor element is connected in a materially integral manner.
Röllig, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the semiconductor element is connected in a materially integral manner (Röllig abstract; pg. 3 ln. 17-18; The substrate has metallic layers on its surface with which electrical conductor tracks or electrical connection contact points are inspected in an area of the surface of the substrate; i.e. semiconductor materials and other structures. Thus, the method is applied in materially integral connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 to incorporate the teachings of Röllig to include wherein the semiconductor element is connected in a materially integral manner; for the advantage of improving detection accuracy and speed (Röllig pg. 6 ln. 7-8).
Still lacking the limitation such as wherein a second measuring module is used on the side of the substrate opposite the side on which the substrate element is connected.
Kirkpatrick, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein a second measuring module is used (Kirkpatrick fig. 2; col. 4 ln. 52-57; A speckle-based analysis system 200 includes a first laser diode 204 and a second laser diode 205 at a first axis 210 and a second axis 211, respectively. The first measuring module can be described by Kirkpatrick as the first laser diode 204 to the sample, to the CCD camera 212. The second measuring module can be described by Kirkpatrick as the second laser diode 205 to the sample, to the CCD camera 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 in view of Röllig to incorporate the teachings of Kirkpatrick to include wherein a second measuring module is use; for the advantages of increased radiation at differing wavelengths for enhanced detection (Kirkpatrick col. 4 ln. 65- col. 5 ln. 3).
Still lacking the limitation such as wherein the second measuring module is used on the side of the substrate opposite the side on which the substrate element is connected.
Rice, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the second measuring module is used on the side of the substrate opposite the side on which the substrate element is connected (Rice fig. 1B; col. 7 ln. 67 – col. 8 ln. 9; The light source 100 and the photodetector 200 can be positioned on opposite sides of the sample 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 in view of Röllig and Kirkpatrick to incorporate the teachings of Rice to include wherein the second measuring module is used on the side of the substrate opposite the side on which the substrate element is connected; for the advantage of optimization via suitable configurations for each geometry variation (Rice col. 8 ln. 19-26).
As to claim 20, Chen-2018 in view of Röllig does not explicitly disclose wherein the second measuring module is of a same type as the first measuring module, or using an illumination source, which directs electromagnetic radiation in a broadband wavelength range at a field angle or telecentrically onto the surface of the substrate which is opposite the side on which the semiconductor element is connected in a materially integral manner, using a digital camera as an optical sensor, static white light images or wavelengths selected by optical filtering are captured and are evaluated using electronic image processing in the electronic evaluation unit.
Kirkpatrick, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the second measuring module is of a same type as the first measuring module, or using an illumination source, which directs electromagnetic radiation in a broadband wavelength range at a field angle or telecentrically onto the surface of the substrate which is opposite the side on which the semiconductor element is connected in a materially integral manner, using a digital camera as an optical sensor, static white light images or wavelengths selected by optical filtering are captured and are evaluated using electronic image processing in the electronic evaluation unit (Kirkpatrick fig. 2; col. 4 ln. 52-57; A speckle-based analysis system 200 includes a first laser diode 204 and a second laser diode 205 at a first axis 210 and a second axis 211, respectively. The first measuring module can be described by Kirkpatrick as the first laser diode 204 to the sample, to the CCD camera 212. The second measuring module can be described by Kirkpatrick as the second laser diode 205 to the sample, to the CCD camera 212).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 in view of Röllig to incorporate the teachings of Kirkpatrick to include wherein the second measuring module is of a same type as the first measuring module, or using an illumination source, which directs electromagnetic radiation in a broadband wavelength range at a field angle or telecentrically onto the surface of the substrate which is opposite the side on which the semiconductor element is connected in a materially integral manner, using a digital camera as an optical sensor, static white light images or wavelengths selected by optical filtering are captured and are evaluated using electronic image processing in the electronic evaluation unit; for the advantages of increased radiation at differing wavelengths for enhanced detection (Kirkpatrick col. 4 ln. 65- col. 5 ln. 3).
Rice Fig. 1B
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-2018 in view of Röllig, further in view of Zalevsky et al. (US20190212124A1), hereinafter Zalevsky.
As to claim 23, Chen-2018 in view of Röllig does not explicitly disclose wherein electromagnetic radiation with different wavelengths is emitted with the thermal excitation source, so that the respective electromagnetic radiation of the individual wavelengths penetrates to different depths of the semiconductor element, the connecting layer or the substrate.
Zalevsky, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein electromagnetic radiation with different wavelengths is emitted with the thermal excitation source, so that the respective electromagnetic radiation of the individual wavelengths penetrates to different depths of the semiconductor element, the connecting layer or the substrate (Zalevsky [0146]; [0148]; Speckles patterns of different wavelength ranges provide data about sample parameters within different depths of the sample (i.e. the substrate). The detector can separate light components of the different wavelengths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chen-2018 in view of Röllig to incorporate the teachings of Zalevsky to include wherein electromagnetic radiation with different wavelengths is emitted with the thermal excitation source, so that the respective electromagnetic radiation of the individual wavelengths penetrates to different depths of the semiconductor element, the connecting layer or the substrate; for the advantage of providing volumetric (three-dimensional) data about the sample (Zalevsky [0014]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877