DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. The claims are directed to the same molded component formed from a copolyester composition with the only difference being in a future intended use. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, and 4-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10, recites “wherein the inherent viscosity is…” in line 11-12, and recites “wherein the polyester has a Tg…” in line 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear if the inherent viscosity and/or polyester is referring to the properties of the priorly recited “copolyester composition” or to the “at least one copolyester” that is in the composition.
Claims 18 and 19 recites the limitation "the plastic composition.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18 and 19 recites the limitation "when tested to the methods disclosed in Example 2." The term “Example 2” in claims 18-19 renders the claim indefinite because the term “Example 2” does not define any testing standard method in the claim. In the specification, “Example 2” does not define an actual testing method, but appears to be directed to “Test Bar Production” of an injection molded bar that is 0.5inch x 5inch x 0.124inch in width, length and thickness. It appears that the actual testing method used is an “ESCR property retention in Reverse Side Impact,” testing of a 0.5inch x 5inch x 0.124inch conditioned bar, after exposure to a chemical in a polyethylene bag for 24 hours at 23 deg C, and tested with a CEAST Pendulum Impact Tester equipped with a 15-Joule hammer at 23 deg C.
Claim 20 recites “the polyester…” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear if the “polyester” is referring to the “copolyester” of claim 1 or another polyester.
Claims 4-9, 11-17, and 20, are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-13, 15-20, of recently allowed App. No. 18/251,549. (App. No. 18/251,549).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/251,549 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-20, App. No. 18/251,549 teaches an article comprising a molded component configured to receive terpene oil, comprising a container and a conduit, wherein the molded component is formed of a copolyester composition comprising a copolyester of a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 97.1-98.5 mol% terephthalic acid residue, and 1.5-29 mole% isophthalic acid residues, and a glycol component comprising 10-12 mole% 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol and 88-90 mole% of1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, with an inherent viscosity of 0.75-0.95 dL/g, and a Tg of 100-115 deg C. (Claims 1, 7-13, and 15-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0270806 A1 to Hale (hereinafter Hale).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-20, Hale teaches a polyester/polymer blend compositions, comprising a polyester composition comprising a polyester of a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 70-100 mole% of terepththalic acid, and 0-30 mole% of an aromatic dicarboxylic acid residue, and a glycol component comprising 15-70 mole% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 30-85 mole% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, wherein the polyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.32-0.75 dL/g, and a Tg from 100-150 deg C and the blend has a Tg greater than 85 deg C (para 54-65), with a crystallization half-time of greater than 5 minutes. (para 353). Specifically, the polyester comprises a dicarboxylic acid component with 100 mol% of terephthalate residues, and a glycol component with 14.6 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 85.4 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, the polyester having an intrinsic viscosity of 0.736 dL/g, with a Tg of 104 deg C (para 603 and Table 3), which meets the claimed polyester composition. Hale further teaches the composition may be used in molded articles formed by injection molding (para 249) to form fibers (para 526), bottles, eyeglass frames, and/or disposable syringes, (para 528), which meets the claimed molded article that is wearable and/or container with a conduit configured to convey a fluid.
Regarding the claimed properties of reverse-side impact, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polyester composition of Hale to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Hale teaches a substantially identical polyester composition to the claimed invention such as a polyester comprising a dicarboxylic acid component with 100 mol% of terephthalate residues, and a glycol component with 14.6 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 85.4 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, which is the same and within the claimed ranges as the Applicant’s examples, and it appears from the Applicant’s examples that it is the mol% of the dicarboxylic and glycol components which controls the degradation properties of the polyester composition, and this is further evident by the polyester composition of Hale having the claimed Tg and inherent viscosity properties. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0184940 A1 to Germroth et al. (hereinafter Germroth).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-20, Germroth teaches a polyester composition comprising at least one polyester of a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 70-100 mole% of terepththalic acid, and 0-30 mole% of an aromatic dicarboxylic acid residue, and a glycol component comprising 5-50 mole% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 50-95 mole% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, (See abstract and para 609-618), wherein the polyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.50-1.2 dL/g, and a Tg from 85-125 deg C (para 618) and a crystallization half-time of greater than 5 minutes. (para 2218). Specifically, the polyester comprises a dicarboxylic acid component with 100 mol% of terephthalate residues, and a glycol component with 14.6 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 85.4 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, the polyester having an intrinsic viscosity of 0.736 dL/g, with a Tg of 104 deg C (para 2503 and Table 3), which meets the claimed polyester composition. Germroth further teaches the composition may be used in molded articles formed by injection molding (para 2154) to form fibers, bottles, containers (para 2154), and articles such as sport goggles, sterilization containers, medical packaging/bottles, (para 2383), cosmetic and personal care application bottles, tubes, and jars (para 2385), eyeglasses and frames, (para 2394-2396), and/or intravenous components for administering fluids, (para 2408-2414), which meets the claimed molded article that is wearable and/or container with a conduit configured to convey a fluid.
Regarding the claimed properties of reverse-side impact, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polyester composition of Germroth to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Germroth teaches a substantially identical polyester composition to the claimed invention such as a polyester comprising a dicarboxylic acid component with 100 mol% of terephthalate residues, and a glycol component with 14.6 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 85.4 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, which is the same and within the claimed ranges as the Applicant’s examples, and it appears from the Applicant’s examples that it is the mol% of the dicarboxylic and glycol components which controls the degradation properties of the polyester composition, and this is further evident by the polyester composition of Germroth having the claimed Tg and inherent viscosity properties. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0217830 A1 to Crawford et al. (hereinafter Crawford).
Regarding claims 1-6, 8-20, Crawford teaches an article comprising at least one polyester of a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 70-100 mole% of terepththalic acid, residues and a glycol component comprising 1-15 mole% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 85-99 mole% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, (See abstract and para 8-13), wherein the polyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.35-1.2 dL/g, and a Tg from 90-115 deg C (para 13), and crystallization half-time of less than 10 minutes but more than 30 seconds (para 44). Crawford teaches the article are prepared by to form blown bottles (para 439), and are molded articles obtained by injection blown molded or compression molded manufacture (para 485-486) and may also be used to form protective films and coated articles. (para 487). Specifically, the polyester comprises a dicarboxylic acid component with 100 mol% of terephthalate residues, and a glycol component with 9.1-10.2 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 89.8-90.9 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, the polyester having an intrinsic viscosity of 0.72-0.85 dL/g, with a Tg of 98-101 deg C (See Tables 2-7), which meets the claimed polyester composition. Crawford further teaches the polyester is used to form a 16 oz Boston round bottle (Table 7, para 533-534), which meets the claimed molded article that is a container with a conduit configured to convey a fluid.
Regarding the claimed properties of reverse-side impact, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polyester composition of Crawford to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Crawford teaches a substantially identical polyester composition to the claimed invention such as a polyester comprising a dicarboxylic acid component with 100 mol% of terephthalate residues, and a glycol component with 9.1-10.2 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 89.8-90.9 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, which is the same and within the claimed ranges as the Applicant’s examples, and it appears from the Applicant’s examples that it is the mol% of the dicarboxylic and glycol components which controls the degradation properties of the polyester composition, and this is further evident by the polyester composition of Crawford having the claimed Tg and inherent viscosity properties. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 1-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0104930 A1 to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claims 1-20, Lin teaches an article comprising at least one polyester of a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 70-100 mole% of terepththalic acid residues (para 104) and 1-30 moles% of isophthalic acid (para 105), and a glycol component comprising 1-15 mole% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 85-99 mole% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, (See abstract and para 95), wherein the polyester has an inherent viscosity of 0.35-1.2 dL/g, and a Tg from 55-120 deg C (para 80-81). Lin teaches the article are prepared by injection molding (para 138) or compression molding (para 142), and the molded articles obtained include films and laminates used as containers inside metal cans and beverage containers/cans (para 2 and 141-149), which meets the claimed molded article that is a container with a conduit configured to convey a fluid. Specifically, the polyester comprises a dicarboxylic acid component with 97 mol% of terephthalic acid residues and 3 mol% of isophthalic acid residue, and a glycol component with 13 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 87 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, the polyester having an intrinsic viscosity 0.79 dL/g, with a Tg of 105 deg C (See Table 1, Example E2), which meets the claimed polyester composition.
Regarding the claimed properties of reverse-side impact and crystallization half-time, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polyester composition of Lin to have the claimed properties of the claimed invention because Lin teaches a substantially identical polyester composition to the claimed invention such as a polyester comprising a dicarboxylic acid component with 97 mol% of terephthalic acid residues and 3 mol% of isophthalic acid residue, and a glycol component with 13 mol% of 2,2,4,4-tetramethyl-1,3-cyclobutanediol residues, and 87 mol% of 1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol residues, which is the same and within the claimed ranges as the Applicant’s examples, and it appears from the Applicant’s examples that it is the mol% of the dicarboxylic and glycol components which controls the degradation properties of the polyester composition, and this is further evident by the polyester composition of Lin having the claimed Tg and inherent viscosity properties. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766