DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shapiro et al (US 20110153080 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Shapiro)
Regarding Claims 1, 11, and 13, Shapiro teaches a method of controlling an industrial device comprising a manipulator (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0004 and 0022), the method including:
a control system for controlling an industrial device comprising a manipulator (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0004 and 0022), the control system including at least one data processing device and at least one memory having at least one computer program stored thereon (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0033, 0106, and Figure 1, the instructions are interpreted as the computer program), the at least one computer program having program code which, when executed by the at least one data processing device, causes the at least one data processing device to perform the steps of (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0033 and 0106, the instructions are computer-readable, which is interpreted as program code):
an industrial device comprising a manipulator (See at least Shapiro Paragraph 0022) and a control system including at least one data processing device and at least one memory having at least one computer program stored thereon (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0033, 0106, and Figure 1, the instructions are interpreted as the computer program), the at least one computer program having program code which, when executed by the at least one data processing device, causes the at least one data processing device to perform the steps of (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0033 and 0106, the instructions are computer-readable, which is interpreted as program code):
providing, in a control system, a plurality of consecutive target points for the manipulator (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0018, 0025, 0053, 0056, and Figure 3, the waypoints l2-l4 are interpreted as target points);
providing a plurality of alternative zone groups simultaneously in the control system, where each zone group includes at least one zone associated with a target point (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0053, 0056, and Figure 3, each target point has 4 alternative zone groups);
for each zone group, evaluating, by the control system, a performance value of a performance parameter of the industrial device (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0056-0058, and 0063, the cycle time, which is interpreted as a performance parameter, is evaluated), the performance parameter being associated with execution by the manipulator of a movement path associated with the target points and the at least one zone (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0056-0058, 0063, and Figure 3, the cycle time is associated with execution of the path along the target points with the zones);
selecting one of the zone groups based on the evaluation (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0063, 0073-0074, and Figure 5, the zone that corresponds to the lowest cycle time is selected); and
controlling the industrial device based on the selected zone group (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0016, 0025-0026, and 0074, the selected zone group is returned for use by a robotic programmer that seeks a path for moving the robot/industrial device from the source to target configuration), the control including executing the movement path associated with the selected zone group by the manipulator (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0016, 0025-0026, and 0074, the selected zone group is returned for use by a robotic programmer for executing a path for the robot to move from the source to target configuration).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Shapiro teaches wherein each zone group comprises one or more fly-by zones (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0019 and 0056, the zones are fly by zones), and wherein the performance parameter is associated with execution by the manipulator of a movement path created based on the target points and the at least one fly-by zone of the zone group (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0019, 0056-0058, 0063, and Figure 3, the cycle time/performance parameter is associated with execution of the path along the target points with the fly by zones).
Regarding Claim 3, Shapiro teaches for each zone group, creating a movement path based on the target points and the at least one fly-by zone of the zone group (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0019, 0056-0060, 0073, and Figure 3, paths are created using fly-by zones for each target point).
Regarding Claim 4, Shapiro teaches the evaluation is made based on the created movement paths (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0056-0058, 0063, and 0073-0074, the cycle time, which is interpreted as a performance parameter, is evaluated based on the paths).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Shapiro teaches wherein the evaluation comprises, for each movement path, simulating the control of the industrial device (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0073-0074, and 0086, the evaluation comprises simulating each motion path).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Shapiro teaches providing at least one additional zone group based on the evaluation, and wherein the selection is made also based on the at least one additional zone group (See at least Shapiro Paragraphs 0074-0075, and Figure 5, new paths with additional zones are generated based on the evaluation in 508, and the new paths with the additional zones are selected after simulation).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro in view of Liang et al (US 20150306768 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Liang)
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Shapiro fails to disclose receiving a selection indicative of the performance parameter among a plurality of different performance parameters from a user prior to evaluating the performance values.
However, Liang teaches receiving a selection indicative of the performance parameter among a plurality of different performance parameters from a user prior to evaluating the performance values (See at least Liang Paragraphs 0053-0054, the user selects the parameters to be evaluated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Shapiro with Liang to have the user select the performance parameters prior to evaluation. This modification, as taught by Liang, would cause the system to evaluate the motion based on the evaluation criterion selected by the user (See at least Liang Paragraphs 0053-0054), thus, generating a motion according to the user’s preference making the system more desirable to users.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro in view of Heim et al “Trajectory optimization of industrial robots with application to computer-aided robotics and robot controllers” (Hereinafter referred to as Heim)
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Shapiro fails to disclose determining an actual performance value of the performance parameter based on the control of the industrial device; and
modifying the selected zone group based on the actual performance value.
However, Heim teaches determining an actual performance value of the performance parameter based on the control of the industrial device (See at least Heim Pages 413-415 Section 3. ON-LINE ROBOT CONTROLLERS AND INTERNAL PATH PLANNING METHODS, and Pages 416-418 section 5.2 Comparison of ROBCAD/RRS Simulation with the Real Robotic System, the time for the real robot to execute the trajectory is interpreted as the actual performance value); and
modifying the selected zone group based on the actual performance value (See at least Heim Pages 413-415 Section 3. ON-LINE ROBOT CONTROLLERS AND INTERNAL PATH PLANNING METHODS, and Pages 416-418 section 5.2 Comparison of ROBCAD/RRS Simulation with the Real Robotic System, the radii of the fly-by zones are modified to the optimal value of 5 cm based on the experiments/actual performance values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Shapiro with Heim to modify the select zone group based on the actual performance value. Heim teaches the smaller the zones, the slower the robot movement and the larger the zones, the larger the deviation from the optimal path (See at least Heim Pages 413-415 Section 3. ON-LINE ROBOT CONTROLLERS AND INTERNAL PATH PLANNING METHODS). By modifying the selected zone group based on the actual performance value, as taught by Heim, the zones are optimally generated at a radius of 5cm so that the zones are not too big, causing a large deviation from the path, or too small, causing slow movement of the robot (See at least Heim Pages 413-415 Section 3. ON-LINE ROBOT CONTROLLERS AND INTERNAL PATH PLANNING METHODS), thus, generating an optimal trajectory.
Claims 9-10 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shapiro in view of Norrlof et al (WO 2020/007458 A1) (Hereinafter referred to as Norrlof)
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Shapiro fails to disclose wherein the at least one zone comprises one or more reorientation zones and wherein the method further includes controlling reorientation of an end effector of the manipulator based on the reorientation zones when executing the movement path by the manipulator.
However, Norrlof teaches wherein the at least one zone comprises one or more reorientation zones (See at least Norrlof Page 8 lines 11-18, the orientation blending zone for initiating a reorientation of a tool is interpreted as the reorientation zone), and wherein the method further includes controlling reorientation of an end effector of the manipulator based on the reorientation zones when executing the movement path by the manipulator (See at least Norrlof Page 8 lines 11-18, and Page 17 lines 10-23, the tool/end effector is reorientated in the reorientation/orientation blending zone when executing the movement path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Shapiro with Norrlof to have one or more reorientation zones. This modification, as taught by Norrlof, would designate a zone for the end effector of the manipulator to be reoriented (See at least Norrlof Page 8 lines 11-18, and Page 17 lines 10-23), thus, improving the control of the manipulator.
Regarding Claims 10 and 19, Shapiro fails to disclose wherein the at least one zone comprises one or more secondary zones and wherein the method further includes controlling actuation of a secondary actuator of the industrial device based on the secondary zones when executing the movement path by the manipulator.
However, Norrlof teaches wherein the at least one zone comprises one or more secondary zones (See at least Norrlof Page 8 line 11-Page 9 line 6, the external device blending zone is interpreted as a secondary zone), and wherein the method further includes controlling actuation of a secondary actuator of the industrial device based on the secondary zones when executing the movement path by the manipulator (See at least Norrlof Page 8 line 11-Page 9 line 6, and Page 17 lines 10-23, the external device/secondary actuator is operated in the external device blending zone when executing the movement path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings disclosed in Shapiro with Norrlof to have one or more secondary zones. This modification, as taught by Norrlof, would designate a zone for an external device of the manipulator to be operated (See at least Norrlof Page 17 lines 10-23), thus, improving the control of the industrial device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 8 of the remarks, that Shapiro does not disclose providing a plurality of alternative zone groups simultaneously in the control system. Applicant states “The zone combinations are never simultaneously provided as pre-built alternative groups ready for comparison. Rather, the graph structure represents all possible individual location-zone pairings, but not a set of complete, simultaneously-available alternative zone groups. The claims require providing multiple complete zone groups all at the same time, available for evaluation and selection. Shapiro does not teach this architecture.”.
However, Examiner disagrees. Figure 3 shows a plurality of alternative zone groups that are provided simultaneously.
Each target point is provided with four alternative zone groups simultaneously. The groups are provided at the same time for evaluation and selection as Paragraph 0064 states “Given a path P with n locations and a set S with m zones, the complexity of a naive process that scans all the possible combinations of locations and zones is: O(m.sup.n).”. Figure 5 and Paragraphs 0073-0074 show the naïve process that scans all possible combinations of locations and zones
Each path is simulated and the cycle time for each path that does not result in a collision is evaluated and the path with the lowest cycle time is selected. Therefore, Shapiro teaches providing a plurality of alternative zone groups simultaneously in the control system.
Applicant further argues, on Page 8 of the remarks, that Shapiro does not disclose evaluating a performance value of a performance parameter for each zone group. Applicant states “The claims require evaluating such performance parameters for multiple zone groups to enable comparison and selection. Shapiro's binary pass-fail evaluation is fundamentally distinct from the claimed performance-value evaluation mechanism”.
However, as shown above in paragraphs 0073-0074 and Figure 5, the cycle time is evaluated for each valid path. The different paths have different zones as shown in Figure 3. Each path is simulated and when the path is collision free, the cycle time for the path is stored in the population database. The cycle times for each valid path are then evaluated to select the path with the lowest cycle time. Therefore, Shapiro teaches evaluating a performance value of a performance parameter for each zone group.
Applicant further argues, on Page 9 of the remarks, that Shapiro does not disclose selecting one of the zone groups based on the evaluation. Applicant states “Shapiro selects based on optimization (largest collision-free zones), not based on evaluation of a performance metric.”.
However, as shown above in paragraphs 0073-0074 and Figure 5, the zones that are selected are based on the evaluation of the cycle time. The simulated path with the lowest cycle time is selected. Thus, the robot programmer uses the zones associated with the path with the lowest cycle time. Therefore, Shapiro teaches selecting one of the zone groups based on the evaluation.
For these reasons, the claims still stand rejected over Shapiro.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESVINDER SINGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3657