CTNF 18/682,020 CTNF 87364 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 4-12, 13, 15, 17, 18, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somani et al. (U.S. 2019/0204128, hereafter referred to as Somani) . Regarding claims 1, 6, 7, 12, 17, 18, and 23 , Somani teaches an apparatus comprising: a plurality of valves (303,319) in series, wherein individual ones of the plurality of valves comprise an inlet and an outlet, wherein an inlet 301 of a first of the plurality of valves is connectable to a gas supply, and wherein an outlet 329 of a last of the plurality of valves in the series is connectable to a process chamber; a plurality of pressure sensors (312,321,327); a plurality of actuators (352,358), wherein individual ones of the plurality of actuators are mechanically coupled with individual ones of the plurality of valves; and a communication interface 365 coupled to the plurality of actuators and the plurality of pressure sensors, wherein the communication interface is configured to carry signals to control the actuators and the sensors (see para 0025, 0036-0037 and figure 3). However, Somani does not explicitly teach that the individual ones of the plurality of pressure sensors are further coupled between a respective solenoid actuator in the plurality of solenoid actuators and a respective valve; and a communication interface that is configured to carry signals to and from the pneumatic bank and/or the plurality of pressure sensors to control and/or monitor status of an individual valve from the plurality of valves. Huck teaches a similar system comprising a pressure detection unit 13a for acquiring data on a pressure variation in the pneumatic actuator 3 of a valve 2, wherein the pressure variation can be used to infer a maintenance status of the valve or of the actuator (see para. 0023). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Somani with the teaching of Huck in order to monitor multiple components simultaneously. Regarding claims 2 and 13, Somani does not explicitly teach that the individual ones of the plurality of pressure sensors are further coupled between a respective solenoid actuator in the plurality of solenoid actuators and a respective valve; and a communication interface that is configured to carry signals to and from the pneumatic bank and/or the plurality of pressure sensors to control and/or monitor status of an individual valve from the plurality of valves. Huck further teaches wherein the plurality of pressure sensors is coupled between a pneumatic gas outlet of the respective solenoid actuator and a pneumatic gas inlet of the respective valve (see figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Somani with the teaching of Huck in order to monitor multiple components simultaneously. Regarding claims 9 and 20, Somani further teaches wherein the communication interface is to receive a signal from a computer to open or close a respective valve (see para. 0023, 0038). Regarding claim 4, 5, 8, 15, 16 and 19 , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Somani with the teaching of Huck since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Regarding claims 10, 11, 21 and 22 , Huck further teaches wherein the diagnostic system can have a wired or wireless communication unit (see para. 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Somani with the teaching of Huck in order to monitor multiple components simultaneously . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 14, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMEL E WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7027. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 10am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Breene can be reached at (571)272-4107 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JAMEL E WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/682,020 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/682,020 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/682,020 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855