Applicant's submission filed on 1/9/26 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are pending examination, claim 14 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, at line 1, recites the limitation “a decoration”, “printing…with a decoration” has then been recited at lines 5-6. As these two instances both refer to “a decoration” it is indefinite as to if the second instance is intending to draw basis to the first recitation, or if it is separate and distinct from the first; if the latter, there is no further detail as to how, if at all, these two decorations interact. For purposes of examination, these two recitations of “a decoration” will be interpreted as at least inclusive of either scenario.
Claim 1, at line 9, recites “corresponding to the decoration”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as two different “a decoration” have been recited previously in the claim (line 1 vs line 5). For purposes of examination this limitation will be interpreted as at least inclusive of being based on either recitation of “a decoration”.
Claim 1, at line 12, recites “the resin pattern corresponds to the decoration”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as first, nowhere prior to this recitation has “a resin pattern” been recited. And second, as described above, there have been multiple recitations of “a decoration” recited previously in the claim (line 1 vs line 5, and “the decoration” at line 9). For purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as at least inclusive of “a resin pattern corresponds to the decoration” wherein “the decoration” is further interpreted as at least inclusive of any previous recitation of “a” / “the” “decoration.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation: “a structure depth of more than 200 μm”. and the claim also recites “preferably more than 300 μm, particularly preferably more than 400 μm…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the narrower language will be interpreted as at least inclusive of being merely exemplary, and therefore not required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "wherein pulverulent and/ or liquid resin is applied". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is indefinite as to if the intention of this limitation is to establish a distinct and separate application of pulverulent and / or liquid resin application to some component articulated in claim 1, or if the intention is to further limit the form of the resin articulated at lines 10-13 of claim 1. For purposes of examination claim 4 will interpreted as at least inclusive of either such scenario.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein after the application of a layer of resin…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is indefinite as to if the intention of this limitation is to establish that a distinct and separate application of a layer of resin to some component articulated in claim 1 is followed by drying , or if the intention is to further limit that after the applying of the “at least one layer of resin” at lines 10-13 of claim 1 drying or setting occurs as claimed. For purposes of examination claim 11 will interpreted as at least inclusive of either such scenario.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation: “the carrier material is selected from the group containing wood-based material boards,” and the claim also recites “more particularly medium-density fiberboard (MDF), high-density fiberboard (HDF), chipboard, oriented-strand board (OSB), plywood boards and wood-plastic composite (WPC) boards.” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the narrower language will be interpreted as at least inclusive of being merely exemplary, and therefore not required.
The other dependent claims do not cure the defects of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pervan et al (US 2014/0023832; hereafter Pervan) in view of Kalwa et al (US 2019/0176512; hereafter Kalwa512).
Claim 1: Pervan teaches a method for applying a decoration and a surface structure to a carrier material, (see, for example, abstract, [0018], [0028], [0054], [0060], [0063], [0075], [0081]) comprising the following steps:
providing a carrier material or a carrier material, at least one decorative paper and at least one overlay (See, for example, Fig 3-5, [0006-0007], [0122], [0132], [0151]);
printing the carrier material or the at least one decorative paper with a decoration to obtain printed decoration image data (p) (see, for example, Fig 3-5, [0006-0007], [0087], [0122], [0132], [0151], claims);
applying at least one layer of resin to the printed carrier material or to at least one overlay, (see, for example, Figures, [0108], [0113], [0121-0124] wherein the surface being structured (2) is taught to comprise an applied resin);
pressing the at least one resin layer with the carrier material using a structured press platen or pressing the at least one overlay, the at least one decorative paper and a carrier material using a structured press platen (see, for example, Fig 5, [0096-108], [0144-148] for example, the structured press platen interpreted as collectively comprising structures 41, 40B and 24 with respect to Fig 5 taught to be similarly provided via printing digitally and in register with the printed décor);
thereby forming a surface structure on the carrier material that is synchronous to the applied decoration (see, for example, Fig 5, [0096-0108], [0144-148];
and a portion of the structure height of the surface structure results from the application of the at least one resin layer (see, for example, Fig 5, [0096-0108], [0144-148] as the resin layer resides on the surface of the substrate the structure height produced on the substrate thus comprises and results from the application of the applied resin thereon).
Pervan further teaches wherein the resulting resin coated and platen pressed surface structure is desired to be in register / synchronous with the underlying printed décor, and wherein the process is controlled digitally via a digital control unit (see, for example, Fig 5, abstract, [0018], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0075], [0082], [0086], [0108], [0113], [0136-0137], [0145]), but it does not explicitly teach subsequent distribution of the resin being controlled according to and structuring of the platen defined by a digital data file representing a surface structure pattern generated from the printed decoration image data. Kalwa512 teaches a method for the production of synchronous structured laminated materials (See, for example, abstract). Kalwa512 further teaches wherein during the coarse of processing, the dimensions of printed décor can skew, and to ensure improved synchronicity generation of a digital data file representing a surface structure pattern corresponding to the decoration applied by printing should be made via means of sensors or cameras and evaluated in control equipment and implemented in downstream processes including coating and pressing via the control unit (See, for example, [0008 -0012], [0036], [0060-62], [0081-0083]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated from the printed decoration image data a digital data file representing the current surface structure pattern corresponding to the decoration and used this digital data file for subsequent processes including wherein distribution of the resin is being controlled according to it and the structuring of the platen defined by it as it would predictably combat dimensional shifts that could occur following printing and ensure improved synchronicity of décor to overlying structured features. Further still, as the platen structure influences resin distribution, said distribution is thus controlled according to the digital data file at least since the platen structure is defined by this digital data file.
Claim 2: Pervan further teaches wherein at least in portions, a surface structure having a structure depth of more than 500 micron is formed (see, for example, [0142]).
Claim 5: Pervan further teaches wherein the resin is preferably melamine-formaldehyde (See, for example, [0108], [0160-162).
Claim 13: Pervan further teaches wherein the carrier material is selected from the group containing wood-based material boards, more particularly medium-density fiberboard (MDF), high-density fiberboard (HDF), chipboard, oriented-strand board (OSB), plywood boards and wood-plastic composite (WPC) boards (see, for example, [0003-0009], [0017], [0152]).
Claim(s) 1, 3-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalwa et al (US 2015/0097907; hereafter Kalwa) in view of Kalwa512.
Claim 1: Kalwa teaches a method for applying a decoration and a surface structure to a carrier material, (see, for example, abstract, [0107-0108]) comprising the following steps:
providing a carrier material or a carrier material, at least one decorative paper and at least one overlay (See, for example, Fig 3-5, [0027-0037], [0136-142]);
printing the carrier material or the at least one decorative paper with a decoration to obtain printed decoration image data (décor)(see, for example, [0037],[0080], [0142], claims);
applying at least one layer of resin to the printed carrier material or to at least one overlay, (see, for example, [0080-0101], [0108-120]);
pressing the at least one resin layer with the carrier material using a structured press platen or pressing the at least one overlay, the at least one decorative paper and a carrier material using a structured press platen, (see, for example, [0108] press plate is adapted to / designed congruent to the décor and its associated digital data);
thereby forming a surface structure is formed on the carrier material that is synchronous to the applied decoration and a portion of the structure height of the surface structure results from the application of the at least one resin layer (see, for example, [0107-0108], wherein the uppermost material on the carrier is the layer(2) of resin which are explicitly taught to be patternly pressed to achieve décor synchronous structures; as the resin layer resides on the surface of the substrate the structure height produced on the substrate thus comprises and results from the application of the applied resin thereon).
Kalwa further teaches wherein the resulting resin coated and platen pressed surface structure is desired to be in register / synchronous with the underlying printed décor (see, for example, [0080-0101], [0108-120]), but it does not explicitly teach subsequent distribution of the resin being controlled according to and structuring of the platen defined by a digital data file representing a surface structure pattern generated from the printed decoration image data. Kalwa512 teaches a method for the production of synchronous structured laminated materials (See, for example, abstract). Kalwa512 further teaches wherein during the course of processing, the dimensions of printed décor can skew, and to ensure improved synchronicity generation of a digital data file representing a surface structure pattern corresponding to the decoration applied by printing should be made via means of sensors or cameras and evaluated in control equipment and implemented in downstream processes including coating and pressing via a common control unit (See, for example, [0008 -0012], [0036], [0060-62], [0081-0083]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have generated from the printed decoration image data a digital data file representing the current surface structure pattern corresponding to the decoration and used this digital data file for subsequent processes including wherein distribution of the resin is being controlled according to it and the structuring of the platen defined by it as it would predictably combat dimensional shifts that could occur following printing and ensure improved synchronicity of décor to overlying structured features. Further still, as the platen structure influences resin distribution, said distribution is thus controlled according to the digital data file at least since the platen structure is defined by this digital data file.
Claim 3: Kalwa further teaches wherein multiple layers of resin are applied to the printed carrier material or to the overlay (see, for example, [0088-0095)).
Claim 4: Kalwa further teaches wherein pulverulent and/or liquid resin is applied (See, for example, [0040-0043], [0082]).
Claim 5: Kalwa further teaches wherein the resin is selected from the group containing melamine-formaldehyde resins, phenolic resins, melamine-urea-formaldehyde resins and urea-formaldehyde resins. (See, for example, [0043], [0082]).
Claim 6: Kalwa further has taught the application of liquid priming resin layers possessing a solid content of between 30-80% (see, for example, [0043]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a solids content of an applied liquid resin layer, such as the primer layer at a solids content of more than 70%, since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 7: Kalwa further teaches wherein the resin comprises at least one additive and/or adjuvants (see, for example, [0096-0105]).
Claim 8: Kalwa further teaches the at least one additive is selected from the group containing curing agent, wetting agent and release agent and/or the at least one adjuvant is selected from the group containing conductive substances and cellulose (see, for example, [0096-0105]).
Claim 9: Kalwa further teaches wherein the total resin layer can be provided as the application of a multitude of sublayers with each sublayer comprising from 5 to 50 g/m2, and wherein each layer applied can be tailored with various additives and components to enhance particular properties (see, for example, [0085-0087], [0096-0104]). Thus the more sublayers applied, the greater the amount per surface area applied. Although not explicitly teaching between 100 and 500 g/m2 of resin are applied, (or a corresponding number of sublayers achieving such an amount), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a number of resin sublayers providing a total concentration between 100 and 500 g/m2 of resin since such a plurality of layers would enhance the tailorabilty and establishment of various properties, since generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.(MPEP 2144.05 II A) and since discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 10: Kalwa further teaches wherein an undercoat (pre-coating / primer) is applied to the carrier material (see, for example, [0039-0042]).
Claim 11: Kalwa further teaches wherein after the application of a layer of resin it is incipiently dried or set (see, for example, [0081-83]).
Claim 12: Kalwa further teaches wherein in the pressing of the at least one resin layer with the carrier material using a press platen or the pressing of the at least one overlay, the at least one decorative paper and a carrier material using a press platen is carried out in an SC press (short-cycle press) (see, for example, [0107-0108], [0132]).
Claim 13: Kalwa further teaches wherein the carrier material is selected from the group containing wood-based material boards, more particularly medium-density fiberboard (MDF), high-density fiberboard (HDF), chipboard, oriented-strand board (OSB), plywood boards and wood-plastic composite (WPC) boards (see, for example, [0025]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalwa in view of Kalwa512 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Pervan.
Clam 2: Kalwa in view of Kalwa512 teaches the method of claim 1 above, and Kalwa further teaches wherein the surface structure is adapted to and designed to be congruent to the décor as much a possible as it is intended to imitate natural structures such as grain / pore structures of wood or depressions among tiled decors (see, for example, [0108]). But it is silent as to an appropriate depth of such embossed structure, so it does not explicitly teach at least in portions, a surface structure having a structure depth of more than 200 micron. Pervan similarly teaches a method of applying a decoration and a surface structure to a carrier material, (see, for example, abstract, [0018], [0028], [0054], [0060], [0063], [0075], [0081]). Pervan further teaches wherein the surface of the article receiving the surface structuring comprises resin, and wherein its structured pressing method provides for a production adapted, more flexible and cost efficient enhanced (see, for example, [0054], [0061]). Pervan further teaches wherein there is need in the art to achieve deep embossing and wherein its embossing method achieves such an embossing depth of about 0.5 mm and more (See, for example, [0142]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an embossed surface structure having a structure depth of more than 500 micron since such a depth would allow for achieving an established desire in the art for deep embossing, and since when a primary reference is silent as to a certain detail, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to consult a secondary reference which satisfies the deficiencies of the primary reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed 1/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to various 35 USC 112b issues raised previously and some resulting from the amendments (refer to the rejections above for more detail).
Applicant’s arguments that the references do not teach the newly added limitations, particularly directed to requiring the generating, from the printed decoration image data, a digital data file…” are unconvincing in view of newly-cited Kalwa512, as discussed above.
Applicant's further argument (pg 7-8) directed to Pervan’s resin being “removed after pressing”…thus “not a permanent component contributing to surface structure” are amendments filed 1/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The resin referenced by applicant is not resin relied upon by the examiner in the rejection. Considering Fig 5 and [108], the resin relied upon is a layer of melamine formaldehyde resin surface layer on the building panel (2) and not the material used to form platen feature (41).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN H EMPIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712