DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 20, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 18 recites the broad recitation C1-C6 alkyl, and the claim also recites C1-C3 alkyl which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 20 recites the broad recitation C8-C20 alkyl, and the claim also recites C14-C18 alkyl, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The examiner would like to point out that C8-C20 alkyl is actually recited twice in the claim.
Claim 49 refers to compounds of Table 1; however, a claim should be complete in and of itself if at all possible and should not refer to the specification to establish the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 17, 18, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benenato et al. (WO 2018/170306).
Benenato et al. disclose lipid compounds for the intracellular delivery of therapeutic agents. The compounds disclosed in paragraphs 00240, 00260, and 00350, anticipate the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-29, 31, 37, 38, 40, and 47-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benenato et al.
The instant claims are drawn to a composition comprising a compound of claim 1 and at least one additional lipid, wherein the additional lipid is a neutral lipid or a cationic/ionizable lipid, and to a method for delivering a bioactive agent to the spleen and/or lung tissue in a subject by admixing the bioactive agent with a composition of the present invention and administering the formed complex to a subject.
The reference does not expressly disclose an example wherein a compound of instant claim 1 is in a composition with another lipid as required by the instant claims. However, as stated in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102, the reference discloses compounds that anticipate the compounds in the rejected claims. The reference teaches that such compounds may be combined with other lipids, e.g., PEG lipids, phospholipids, etc., to be used in compositions for delivering a therapeutic and/or prophylactic to a mammalian cell or organ. The therapeutic agents include inter alia, proteins, polynucleotides, or nucleic acids, e.g., DNA, RNA, including mRNA (00274-00284).
The instant claims are therefore rendered obvious by Benenato et al. since the reference teaches compounds within the scope of the compound of the present invention that may be combined in compositions with additional lipids such as PEG lipids, phospholipids, etc., to be used in compositions for delivering a therapeutic and/or prophylactic to a mammalian cell or organ.
Claims 3 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692