DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-13, drawn to an apparatus.
Group II, claims 14-19, drawn to a method.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of the apparatus, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of EP 0 393 767 A2. See further the Written Opinion of parent PCT/EP2022/072685.
During a telephone conversation with Jared Dujack on 02 July 2025 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-13. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation 0.1 – 10 mm, and the claim also recites 0.5 – 5 mm which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, claims 8 and 12 recite “a vacuum means… for” and “a separate vacuum means… for” which are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Which is further defined in ¶¶ 24-25, 28 reproduced below:
(1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehmann et al. (WO 2019/145240 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lehmann discloses a mold arrangement for producing a preform element of a wind turbine blade (title/abstract; FIG. 1-10), including:
support elements 70a-d, equated with the mold carrier, with a curved top surface 78, equated with the claimed receiving section, having a three-dimensional receiving surface for receiving a mold element (FIG. 5; 16:1-11), and
a plurality of strips 88a-e, equated with the claimed at least one transferable and flexible plate-like mold element, configured to receive preform building material and arrangeable on the receiving surface (FIG. 6-7; 3:24-31, 8:22-30, 16:13-34)
which flexible mold element adapts to the three-dimensional geometry of the receiving surface when positioned on the receiving surface (FIG. 6-7).
Regarding claim 2, Lehmann discloses that the three-dimensional receiving surface is at least partly a convex and/or a concave (FIG. 6-8).
Regarding claim 3, Lehmann discloses that the flexible mold element is made of a polymer or metal (3:24-31, 8:22-30).
Regarding claim 4, Lehmann discloses a gel coat, equated with the polymer coating, applied to the mold surface prior to the build material (1:23+).
Regarding claim 6, Lehmann discloses the planar members have thickness between 1 and 50 mm (3:24-31), which overlaps the claimed range (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, Lehmann discloses the flexible mold element is configured to adapt to the three-dimensional receiving surface by gravity only (FIG. 6-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (WO 2019/145240 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Tobin et al. (US 2019/0152127 A1).
Lehmann does not appear to expressly that the flexible mold is aluminum.
However, Tobin discloses a similar mold assembly for composite wind turbine blades (title/abstract; FIG. 8-21) in which the flexible mold body segments 130 are made of aluminum (¶ 51).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Lehmann to include the material of Tobin, because such materials are known in the art and could be used with expected results.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (WO 2019/145240 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Nathoo (US 4,946,640 A).
Regarding claim 8-10, Lehmann does not appear to expressly disclose a vacuum for fixing the flexible molds to the receiving surface.
However, Nathoo discloses a similar device for forming composite preforms (title/abstract) in which a flexible mold 68 is fixed by application of vacuum through a perforated receiving surface 90A via pump 28 with seal means 64 (5:3+, 5:45+, 5:59+; FIG. 1-5, 10).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lehmann to include the vacuum means of Nathoo, in order to reversibly secure the flexible mold to the receiving surface.
Regarding claim 11-12, Nathoo discloses an upper flexible sheet 70, equated with the claimed vacuum foil, which covers the preform 12 and can establish a vacuum via pump 76 (6:9+).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (WO 2019/145240 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Lehmann et al. (WO 2019/115337 A1) hereinafter Lehmann-337.
Lehmann does not appear to expressly disclose more than one receiving section wherein each receiving section is removably arrangeable at a carrier structure of the mold carrier.
However, Lehmann-337 discloses a similar device for molding composite turbine blades wherein plural blade portions are formed simultaneously (FIG. 7a-c, 8; 19:15-20:5).
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Lehmann to include plural receiving sections of Lehmann-337, in order to simultaneously form an entire turbine blade.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEHMANN MADSEN; Kristian
US 20220143875 A1
Lucas; Thomas George et al.
US 20240262052 A1
Nielsen; Anette Struve et al.
US 20240198561 A1
Tobin; James Robert et al.
US 11390013 B2
Nielsen; Anette Struve et al.
US 20240173898 A1
LEHMANN MADSEN; Kristian
US 20200384707 A1
LEHMANN MADSEN; Kristian
US 20210060878 A1
Richter; Jed
US 9579861 B2
Blackburn; Robert et al.
US 9259859 B2
Feigenblum; José et al.
US 10173379 B2
Wardropper; Steve et al.
US 10384404 B2
Nielsen; Anette Struve et al.
US 12539646 B2
Madsen; Kristian Lehmann
US 11623369 B2
Bech; Anton
US 9180606 B2
Lehmann Madsen; Kristian et al.
US 11607826 B2
Ponnada; Sri Markandeya Rajesh
US 12420457 B2
Børsting; Dennis André et al.
US 9381705 B2
Lehmann Madsen; Kristian
US 11577478 B2
Nielsen; Anette Struve et al.
US 12528233 B2
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742