DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 9, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. All references considered except where stricken. The document “Msc-generator” is not of sufficient quality to review and is also not provided with a statement of relevance.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawings do not comply with 37 CFR 1.184(q) as there are not lead lines between the reference characters and the details or underlines where appropriate on all drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2021/0337377 (hereinafter “Manolakos”).
Regarding claim 29, Manolakos teaches: An apparatus comprising: at least one processor ([0007]); and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code, where the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least ([0007]): send, by a network device, information comprising an indication of an ability of the network device to receive one or more of positioning reference signals in a mode that does not require a measurement gap for reception of positioning reference signals (Abstract, Disclosed are techniques for wireless communication. In an aspect, a user equipment (UE) transmits, to a network entity, one or more capability messages indicating one or more capabilities of the UE to process positioning reference signals (PRS), the one or more capabilities indicating at least a duration of PRS that the UE can process within a measurement window without a measurement gap,); based on the indication, receive from a network node of a communication network information comprising one or more sets of positioning reference signals (Abstract, performs one or more positioning measurements of one or more PRS resources during the measurement window up to the duration of PRS.).
Regarding claim 30, Manolakos teaches: wherein the received one or more sets of positioning reference signals comprises, based on the indication from the network device, a positioning reference signal receivable in the mode that that does not require a measurement gap ([0008]).
Regarding claim 31, Manolakos teaches: wherein the information comprising the indication comprises a further indication of a downlink positioning reference signal processing window that the network device will use for processing a positioning reference signal in the mode that that does not require a measurement gap ([0112] With further reference to DL-PRS, DL-PRS have been defined for NR positioning to enable UEs to detect and measure more neighboring TRPs. Several configurations are supported to enable a variety of deployments (e.g., indoor, outdoor, sub-6 GHz, mmW). In addition, beam sweeping is supported for PRS to support PRS beam operation. The following table illustrates various types of reference signals that can be used for various positioning methods supported in NR.).
Regarding claim 32, Manolakos teaches: wherein the information comprising the indication comprises a further indication of a purpose of the positioning reference signals, and wherein the indicated purpose of the positioning reference signals is for at least one of an accuracy, latency, or a complexity associated with the positioning reference signals ([0084] RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy.).
Regarding claim 33, Manolakos teaches: wherein the at least one non-transitory memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to measure by the network device the one or more sets of positioning reference signals in the mode that that does not require a measurement gap ([0084] Downlink-and-uplink-based positioning methods include enhanced cell-ID (E-CID) positioning and multi-round-trip-time (RTT) positioning (also referred to as “multi-cell RTT”). In an RTT procedure, an initiator (a base station or a UE) transmits an RTT measurement signal (e.g., a PRS or SRS) to a responder (a UE or base station), which transmits an RTT response signal (e.g., an SRS or PRS) back to the initiator. The RTT response signal includes the difference between the ToA of the RTT measurement signal and the transmission time of the RTT response signal, referred to as the reception-to-transmission (Rx-Tx) time difference. The initiator calculates the difference between the transmission time of the RTT measurement signal and the ToA of the RTT response signal, referred to as the transmission-to-reception (Tx-Rx) time difference. The propagation time (also referred to as the “time of flight”) between the initiator and the responder can be calculated from the Tx-Rx and Rx-Tx time differences.).
Regarding claim 34, Manolakos teaches: wherein the mode for different ones of the positioning reference signals is based on at least one of: current scheduling constraints, data activity, positioning reference signal processing capability, positioning reference signal bandwidth, current active downlink bandwidth part, periodicity of positioning reference signals, periodicity of measurement gap pattern, periodicity of downlink positioning reference signal signal processing window, number of positioning reference signal measurement samples, or downlink positioning reference signal processing window ([0086] To assist positioning operations, a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters (e.g., the number of consecutive positioning subframes, periodicity of positioning subframes, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, reference signal identifier, reference signal bandwidth, etc.), and/or other parameters applicable to the particular positioning method. Alternatively, the assistance data may originate directly from the base stations themselves (e.g., in periodically broadcasted overhead messages, etc.). in some cases, the UE may be able to detect neighbor network nodes itself without the use of assistance data.).
Regarding claim 36, Manolakos teaches: sending, by a network device, information comprising an indication of an ability of the network device to receive one or more of positioning reference signals in a mode that does not require a measurement gap for reception of positioning reference signals (Abstract, Disclosed are techniques for wireless communication. In an aspect, a user equipment (UE) transmits, to a network entity, one or more capability messages indicating one or more capabilities of the UE to process positioning reference signals (PRS), the one or more capabilities indicating at least a duration of PRS that the UE can process within a measurement window without a measurement gap,); based on the indication, receiving from a network node of a communication network information comprising one or more sets of positioning reference signals (Abstract, performs one or more positioning measurements of one or more PRS resources during the measurement window up to the duration of PRS.).
Regarding claim 37, Manolakos teaches: wherein the received one or more sets of positioning reference signals comprises, based on the indication from the network device, a positioning reference signal receivable in the mode that that does not require a measurement gap ([0008]).
Regarding claim 38, Manolakos teaches: wherein the information comprising the indication comprises a further indication of a downlink positioning reference signal processing window that the network device will use for processing a positioning reference signal in the mode that that does not require a measurement gap ([0112] With further reference to DL-PRS, DL-PRS have been defined for NR positioning to enable UEs to detect and measure more neighboring TRPs. Several configurations are supported to enable a variety of deployments (e.g., indoor, outdoor, sub-6 GHz, mmW). In addition, beam sweeping is supported for PRS to support PRS beam operation. The following table illustrates various types of reference signals that can be used for various positioning methods supported in NR.).
Regarding claim 39, Manolakos teaches: wherein the information comprising the indication comprises a further indication of a purpose of the positioning reference signals, and wherein the indicated purpose of the positioning reference signals is for at least one of an accuracy, latency, or a complexity associated with the positioning reference signals ([0084] RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy.).
Regarding claim 40, Manolakos teaches: wherein the at least one non-transitory memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to measure by the network device the one or more sets of positioning reference signals in the mode that that does not require a measurement gap ([0084] Downlink-and-uplink-based positioning methods include enhanced cell-ID (E-CID) positioning and multi-round-trip-time (RTT) positioning (also referred to as “multi-cell RTT”). In an RTT procedure, an initiator (a base station or a UE) transmits an RTT measurement signal (e.g., a PRS or SRS) to a responder (a UE or base station), which transmits an RTT response signal (e.g., an SRS or PRS) back to the initiator. The RTT response signal includes the difference between the ToA of the RTT measurement signal and the transmission time of the RTT response signal, referred to as the reception-to-transmission (Rx-Tx) time difference. The initiator calculates the difference between the transmission time of the RTT measurement signal and the ToA of the RTT response signal, referred to as the transmission-to-reception (Tx-Rx) time difference. The propagation time (also referred to as the “time of flight”) between the initiator and the responder can be calculated from the Tx-Rx and Rx-Tx time differences.).
Regarding claim 41, Manolakos teaches: wherein the mode for different ones of the positioning reference signals is based on at least one of: current scheduling constraints, data activity, positioning reference signal processing capability, positioning reference signal bandwidth, current active downlink bandwidth part, periodicity of positioning reference signals, periodicity of measurement gap pattern, periodicity of downlink positioning reference signal signal processing window, number of positioning reference signal measurement samples, or downlink positioning reference signal processing window ([0086] To assist positioning operations, a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters (e.g., the number of consecutive positioning subframes, periodicity of positioning subframes, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, reference signal identifier, reference signal bandwidth, etc.), and/or other parameters applicable to the particular positioning method. Alternatively, the assistance data may originate directly from the base stations themselves (e.g., in periodically broadcasted overhead messages, etc.). in some cases, the UE may be able to detect neighbor network nodes itself without the use of assistance data.).
Regarding claim 43, Manolakos teaches: An apparatus comprising: at least one processor ([0007]); and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code, where the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least ([0007]): receive, by a network node, from a network device of a communication network information comprising an indication of an ability of the network device to receive one or more of positioning reference signals in a mode that does not require a measurement gap for the reception of the positioning reference signals (Step 910); based on the indication, determine at least one configuration of positioning reference signal configurations, wherein the at least one configuration comprises one or more sets of positioning reference signals for reception ([0008]) in at least one of: the mode that does not require a measurement gap or a mode that does require a measurement gap (Step 910); and send by the network node towards the network device information comprising the one or more sets of positioning reference signals ([0119] FIG. 7 is a diagram 700 of an example radio frequency (RF) signal processing procedure, according to various aspects of the disclosure. In order to identify the time of arrival (ToA) of an RF signal (e.g., a positioning reference signal (PRS)), the receiver (e.g., a UE) first buffers and then jointly processes all the resource elements (REs) on the channel on which the transmitter (e.g., a base station) is transmitting the RF signal.).
Regarding claim 44, Manolakos teaches: wherein the information comprising the indication comprises a further indication of a downlink positioning reference signal processing window to be used by the network device for processing a positioning reference signal in the mode that that does not require measurement gap ([0112] With further reference to DL-PRS, DL-PRS have been defined for NR positioning to enable UEs to detect and measure more neighboring TRPs. Several configurations are supported to enable a variety of deployments (e.g., indoor, outdoor, sub-6 GHz, mmW). In addition, beam sweeping is supported for PRS to support PRS beam operation. The following table illustrates various types of reference signals that can be used for various positioning methods supported in NR.).
Regarding claim 45, Manolakos teaches: wherein the information comprising the indication comprises a further indication of a purpose of the positioning reference signals, and wherein the indicated purpose of the positioning reference signals is for at least one of an accuracy, latency, or a complexity associated with the positioning reference signals ([0084] RTT and multi-RTT methods can be combined with other positioning techniques, such as UL-AoA and DL-AoD, to improve location accuracy.).
Regarding claim 46, Manolakos teaches: wherein determining the at least one configuration comprises determining an optimal positioning reference signal configuration with lowest latency based on the two modes ([0074] Channel estimates derived by the channel estimator from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the base station 304 may be used by the transmitter 314 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes, and to facilitate spatial processing. The spatial streams generated by the transmitter 314 may be provided to different antenna(s) 316. The transmitter 314 may modulate an RF carrier with a respective spatial stream for transmission. [0087], [0098], [0127], [0149]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Non-patent Literature entitled, “Summary on agenda item 8.11.4 on on-demand PRS” (hereinafter “R2”).
Regarding claim 35, Manolakos does not specifically teach: wherein the indication for positioning reference signals comprises a request for on-demand positioning reference signals.
However, in the same field of endeavor, R2-2106467 teaches: wherein the indication for positioning reference signals comprises a request for on-demand positioning reference signals (p. 5/11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manolakos to include the feature of on-demand PRS and a combination of Manolakos with R2 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing on-demand PRS in gapless configuration).
Regarding claim 42, Manolakos does not specifically teach: wherein the indication for positioning reference signals comprises a request for on-demand positioning reference signals.
However, in the same field of endeavor, R2-2106467 teaches: wherein the indication for positioning reference signals comprises a request for on-demand positioning reference signals (p. 5/11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manolakos to include the feature of on-demand PRS and a combination of Manolakos with R2 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing on-demand PRS in gapless configuration).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2024/0373435 (Thomas) related to positioning configuration and assistance data enhancements over unlicensed bands
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0154240 (Edge) methods and systems for on-demand transmission of a positioning reference signal in a wireless network
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643