DETAILED ACTION
This action is based on the Preliminary Amendment filed on 09/17/2023: Claims 1-4, 9, 12-17 and 23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 12-17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20200359218 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20230019089 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method performed by a wireless device for enabling Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key diversity for multiple applications (process of determining an authentication method by a terminal using UE of Figs. 24-24), the method comprising:
determining, by an AKMA client of the wireless device, a root key, KAKMA, and an AKMA key identifier, A-KID, based on primary authentication with a telecommunications network (EEC 2522 may generate an AKMA key and an AKMA key identifier by further including an EEC ID, an ECSP identifier, and an indicator for identifying an edge computing service therein, [0236]);
receiving, by the AKMA client from an application of the wireless device, an application identifier, APP-ID (The EEC identifier may be downloaded from an edge computing service provider to then be installed in the terminal, [0201]), and an Application Function, AF, identifier, AF-ID (ECS 2527 transmits, to the EEC 2522, information including an address of the AAF 2526, [0219]);
verifying, by the AKMA client, the APP-ID (the access token may be used to determine whether or not to permit the UE 310 to use an edge computing service corresponding to the application profile. The response message may be referred to as an “access token response message”, [0165]; the access token includes at least one of a UE user-related identifier (e.g., a subscriber identifier or an identifier of a UE device), an identifier of an application profile, a subscriber category, a subscriber level, and information for identifying the AAF 320 for verifying the access token, [0164]);
verifying, by the AKMA client, that the application is entitled to use the AF-ID (the access token may be used to determine whether or not to permit the UE 310 to use an edge computing service corresponding to the application profile. The response message may be referred to as an “access token response message”, [0165]; the access token includes at least one of a UE user-related identifier (e.g., a subscriber identifier or an identifier of a UE device), an identifier of an application profile, a subscriber category, a subscriber level, and information for identifying the AAF 320 for verifying the access token, [0164]).
However, Lee does not clearly teach responsive to successfully verifying the APP-ID and verifying that the application is entitled to use the AF-ID: deriving an application key, KAPP, based on the KAKMA, the AF- ID, and the APP-ID.
In an analogous art, Li teaches responsive to successfully verifying the APP-ID and verifying that the application is entitled to use the AF-ID: deriving an application key, KAPP, based on the KAKMA, the AF- ID, and the APP-ID (A method for generating a value may be: generated value=KDF(key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]; The AAnF generates Kaf and the validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0170]; UE generates Kaf is similar to a process in which the AAnF generates Kaf, [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the key derivation of Lee with the key formula of Li to provide communication system wherein an AKMA anchor function network element can quickly and accurately determine an authentication server function network element corresponding to a terminal device as suggested, Li [0006].
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 1, responsive to successfully verifying the APP-ID and verifying that the application is entitled to use the AF-ID, further comprising: encrypting the APP-ID; outputting the A-KID, the KAPP, and the encrypted APP-ID to the application (Specifically, after encrypting the generated access token, the AAF 320 may transmit a response message for delivering the encrypted access token to the UE, Lee [0165]; the access token includes at least one of an identifier of an application profile, a subscriber category, a subscriber level, and information for identifying the AAF 320 for verifying the access token, Lee [0164]); and sending, by the application session establishment request to an AF, the session establishment request comprising the A-KID and the encrypted APP-ID (UE transmits a request message including an access token to the AF, Lee [0171]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 2, Lee teaches wherein encrypting the APP-ID comprises encrypting APP-ID using one of the KAKMA and the Kaf (The issued edge computing access token may be encrypted using the AKMA key., [0267]).
However, Lee does not clearly teach : deriving KAPP based on the KAKMA, the AF-ID, and the APP-ID comprises: deriving, using a key derivation function, KDF, an AF key, Ka, based on the KAKMA and the AF-ID; and deriving, using the KDF, the KAPP based on the KaF and the APP-ID.
In an analogous Li teaches deriving KAPP based on the KAKMA, the AF-ID, and the APP-ID comprises: deriving, using a key derivation function, KDF, an AF key, Ka, based on the KAKMA and the AF-ID (The AAnF generates Kaf and the validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0170]; UE generates Kaf is similar to a process in which the AAnF generates Kaf, [0178]); and deriving, using the KDF, the KAPP based on the KaF and the APP-ID (generated value=KDF(key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the key derivation of Lee with the key formula of Li to provide communication system wherein an AKMA anchor function network element can quickly and accurately determine an authentication server function network element corresponding to a terminal device as suggested, Li [0006].
Regarding claim 4, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 2, encrypting APP-ID comprises encrypting APP-ID using the KAKMA (The issued edge computing access token may be encrypted using the AKMA key, Lee [0164]).
Li further teaches wherein: deriving the KAPP based on the KAKMA, the AF-ID, and the APP-ID comprises deriving, using a key derivation function, KDF, the KAPP based on the KAKMA, the AF-ID, and the APP-ID (generated value=KDF(key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]; The AAnF generates Kaf and the validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0170]; UE generates Kaf is similar to a process in which the AAnF generates Kaf, [0178]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches a method performed by a wireless device for enabling Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key diversity for multiple applications (process of determining an authentication method by a terminal using UE of Figs. 24-24), the method comprising:
determining, by an AKMA client of the wireless device, a root key, KAKMA, and an AKMA key identifier, A-KID, based on primary authentication with a telecommunications network (EEC 2522 may generate an AKMA key and an AKMA key identifier by further including an EEC ID, an ECSP identifier, and an indicator for identifying an edge computing service therein, [0236]);
receiving, by an Application Function, AF, client of the wireless device from an application of the wireless device, an application identifier, APP-ID (The EEC identifier may be downloaded from an edge computing service provider to then be installed in the terminal, [0201]);
verifying, by the AF client, APP-ID (the access token may be used to determine whether or not to permit the UE 310 to use an edge computing service corresponding to the application profile. The response message may be referred to as an “access token response message”, [0165]; the access token includes at least one of a UE user-related identifier (e.g., a subscriber identifier or an identifier of a UE device), an identifier of an application profile, a subscriber category, a subscriber level, and information for identifying the AAF 320 for verifying the access token, [0164]);
receiving, by the AKMA client from the AF client, an application function, AF, identifier, AF-ID (the access token may be used to determine whether or not to permit the UE 310 to use an edge computing service corresponding to the application profile. The response message may be referred to as an “access token response message”, [0165]; the access token includes at least one of a UE user-related identifier (e.g., a subscriber identifier or an identifier of a UE device), an identifier of an application profile, a subscriber category, a subscriber level, and information for identifying the AAF 320 for verifying the access token, [0164]);
verifying, by the AKMA client, that the AF client is entitled to use the AF-ID (the access token may be used to determine whether or not to permit the UE 310 to use an edge computing service corresponding to the application profile. The response message may be referred to as an “access token response message”, [0165]; the access token includes at least one of a UE user-related identifier (e.g., a subscriber identifier or an identifier of a UE device), an identifier of an application profile, a subscriber category, a subscriber level, and information for identifying the AAF 320 for verifying the access token, [0164]); receiving, by the AF client from the AKMA client, the A- KID and the KaF (The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key, [0240]).
However, Lee does not teach responsive to verifying that the AF client is entitled to use AF-ID, deriving, by the AKMA client, an AF key, KaF, based on the KAKMA and the AF-ID; deriving, by the AF client, an application key, KAPP, based on the KaF and the APP-ID; encrypting, by the AF client, APP-ID using the Kaf; outputting KAPP, A-KID, and the encrypted APP-ID to the application; and sending, by the application, a session establishment request to an AF, the session establishment request comprising the A-KID and the encrypted APP-ID.
In an analogous art, Li teaches in responsive to verifying that the AF client is entitled to use AF-ID, deriving, by the AKMA client, an AF key, KaF, based on the KAKMA and the AF-ID (the AAnF directly generates Kaf and a validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0099]);
deriving, by the AF client, an application key, KAPP, based on the KaF and the APP-ID (A method for generating a value may be: generated value=KDF(key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]; The AAnF generates Kaf and the validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0170]; UE generates Kaf is similar to a process in which the AAnF generates Kaf, [0178] and After step 615, the AF may encrypt, within the validity period of Kaf by using Kaf, data sent by the AF to the UE, so that data transmission security can be improved, [0178]);
outputting KAPP, A-KID, and the encrypted APP-ID to the application (generated value=KDF(key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]; After step 615, the AF may encrypt, within the validity period of Kaf by using Kaf, data sent by the AF to the UE, so that data transmission security can be improved, [0178]); and
sending, by the application, a session establishment request to an AF, the session establishment request comprising the A-KID and the encrypted APP-ID (The UE sends, to the AF, an application session establishment request (for example, an application session establishment request) that carries the Kakma ID, [0099]),
encrypting, by the AF client, APP-ID using the Kaf (AF may encrypt, within the validity period of Kaf by using Kaf, data sent by the AF to the UE, so that data transmission security can be improved, [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the key derivation of Lee with the messages encryption of Li to provide communication system wherein an AKMA anchor function network element can quickly and accurately determine an authentication server function network element corresponding to a terminal device as suggested, Li [0006].
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches a method performed by a network node implementing an Application Function, AF, for enabling Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key diversity for multiple wireless device applications (method of Fig. 25), the method comprising:
receiving, from an application of a wireless device, a session establishment request comprising an AKMA key identifier, A-KID, and an application identifier, APP-ID (EEC 2522 transmits an EEC authentication/authorization request message to the AAF 2526. The EEC authentication/authorization request message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, an AKMA key ID, and an AKMA authentication code (MAC), [0237]).
However, Lee does not clearly teach obtaining an application key, KAPP, based on the APP-ID; and executing an authentication protocol for the application using KAPP.
In an analogous art, Li teaches obtaining an application key, KAPP, based on the APP-ID (A method for generating a value may be: generated value=KDF(key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]; The AAnF generates Kaf and the validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0170]; UE generates Kaf is similar to a process in which the AAnF generates Kaf, [0178]);
executing an authentication protocol for the application using KAPP (After step 615, the AF may encrypt, within the validity period of Kaf by using Kaf, data sent by the AF to the UE, so that data transmission security can be improved, [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the key derivation of Lee with the key formula of Li to provide communication system wherein an AKMA anchor function network element can quickly and accurately determine an authentication server function network element corresponding to a terminal device as suggested, Li [0006].
Regarding claim 13, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 12, sending, to the telecommunications network, a request for an AF key, Kap(AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC, [0239]); obtaining, from the telecommunications network, KaF (5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key, [0240]).
However, Lee does not teach wherein: the APP-ID comprises an encrypted APP-ID encrypted using an AF key, KaF ; and the method further comprises and decrypting the encrypted APP-ID using the KaF as a decrypted APP-ID.
In an analogous art, Li teaches wherein: the APP-ID comprises an encrypted APP-ID encrypted using an AF key, KaF (AF may encrypt, within the validity period of Kaf by using Kaf, data sent by the AF to the UE, so that data transmission security can be improved, [0178]); and decrypting the encrypted APP-ID using the KaF as a decrypted APP-ID (Correspondingly, when receiving the data from the AF, the UE may decrypt the data by using Kaf, [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the key derivation of Li with the messages encryption of Li to provide communication system wherein an AKMA anchor function network element can quickly and accurately determine an authentication server function network element corresponding to a terminal device as suggested, Li [0006].
Regarding claim 14, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 12, wherein: the APP-ID comprises an encrypted APP-ID encrypted using an AKMA key, KAKMA (The issued edge computing access token may be encrypted using the AKMA key, Lee [0267]; The access token for edge computing access includes at least one piece of the following information... Application profile index, Lee [0257]-[0260]); and the method further comprises: sending the encrypted APP-ID to the telecommunications network (AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525. The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID, Lee [0239]); and receiving a decrypted APP-ID from the telecommunications network (The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters, Lee [0240]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 13, wherein obtaining the KAPP based on the APP-ID comprises deriving, by the AF, KAPP based the decrypted APP-ID (AAF 2526 performs generation of an access token with the edge computing-related profile. The AAF 2526 may generate the access token, based on the edge computing profile information received from the 3GPP core network, Lee [0257]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 13, wherein obtaining the KAPP based on the APP-ID comprises receiving, by the AF from a telecommunications network, KAPP calculated by the telecommunications network based on KAKMA, AF-ID, and the decrypted APP-ID (AAF 2526 performs generation of an access token with the edge computing-related profile. The AAF 2526 may generate the access token, based on the edge computing profile information received from the 3GPP core network, Lee [0257]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee as modified by Li teaches the method of claim 12, wherein obtaining the KAPP based on the APP-ID comprises: sending the APP-ID to the telecommunications network (AAF 2526 transmits, to the 5GC 2525, a request message for an edge computing-related profile (e.g., a GPSI), Lee [0242]); and receiving, by the AF from a telecommunications network, KAPP calculated by the telecommunications network based on KAKMA, AF-ID, and the APP-ID (AAF 2526 performs generation of an access token with the edge computing-related profile. The AAF 2526 may generate the access token, based on the edge computing profile information received from the 3GPP core network, Lee [0257]).
Regarding claim 23, Lee teaches a network node implementing an Application Function, AF, for enabling Authentication and Key Management for Applications, AKMA, key diversity for multiple wireless device applications (AF 330 of Figs. 3, 5 executing method of Fig. 21), the network node comprising: one or more transmitters (communication unit 410); one or more receivers (communication unit 410); and processing circuitry associated with the one or more transmitters and the one or more receivers (controller 430), the processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to:
receive, from an application of a wireless device, a session establishment request comprising an AKMA key identifier, A-KID, and an encrypted application identifier, APP-ID, encrypted using an AK key, KAF;
send, to a telecommunications network, a request for an AF key, Ka, the request comprising A-KID; obtain, from the telecommunications network, the Ka (The newly generated AKMA key may be used to verify messages between the EEC 2522 and the AAF 2526. The EEC 2522 transmits a message to the AAF 2526 in step 2510 using the newly generated AKMA key, [0236]).
However, Lee does not teach obtain an application key, KAPP, based on the KAF and the APP- ID; and execute an authentication protocol for the application using the KAPP.
In an analogous art, Li teaches obtain an application key, KAPP, based on the KAF and the APP- ID (key, parameter 1, parameter 2). KDF is used by the UE and the AUSF to generate a key Kseaf. The key herein may be Kausf, or may be Kakma… The parameter 1 may alternatively indicate application (application, APP) information, for example, a character string “APP ID”, [0120]; The AAnF generates Kaf and the validity period of Kaf based on Kakma and the AF ID, [0170]; UE generates Kaf is similar to a process in which the AAnF generates Kaf, [0178]);
And execute an authentication protocol for the application using the KAPP (After step 615, the AF may encrypt, within the validity period of Kaf by using Kaf, data sent by the AF to the UE, so that data transmission security can be improved, [0178]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the key derivation of Lee with the key formula of Li to provide communication system wherein an AKMA anchor function network element can quickly and accurately determine an authentication server function network element corresponding to a terminal device as suggested, Li [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20220322067 A1): The disclosure relates to a 5G or 6G communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate. According to the disclosure, it is possible for an external server located outside a mobile communication system to efficiently configure a temporary UE identifier for identifying a UE subscribing to the mobile communication system.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641