CTNF 18/682,978 CTNF 77721 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S 2020/0403025 A1) (submitted from the PCT filed on 02/12/2024) . As to claim 1, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B an imaging device comprising: a base body (comprising “interlayer dielectric layers” 211, 213, and 215) (Fig. 4B, para. [0063]); a pixel array unit (“pixel array region” R1, Fig. 1) including a plurality of first color pixels (“first pixel region” P1, Figs. 3, 4B) lying adjacent to each other and each including a first color filter (345 a, Fig. 4B) (Figs. 3, 4B, para. [0071]-[0072], [0074]) and a first photoelectric conversion unit (“photoelectric conversion region” 110, Fig. 4B) that receives first color light passed through the first color filter (345a) and performs photoelectric conversion on the first color light (Fig. 4B, para. [0043], [0049], [0058]-[0059]), and a plurality of second color pixels (“second pixel region” P2, Figs. 3, 4B) lying adjacent to each other and each including a second color filter (345b) and a second photoelectric conversion unit (110, Fig. 4B) that receives second color light passed through the second color filter (345b) and performs photoelectric conversion on the second color light (Fig. 4B, para. [0043], [0070]-[0077]), the plurality of first color pixels (“first pixel region” P1) and the plurality of second color pixels (“second pixel region” P2, Figs. 3, 4B) being disposed on the base body (comprising “interlayer dielectric layers” 211, 213, and 215) (Figs. 3, 4B, para. [0043]); a first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) positioned in a gap among a plurality of the first color filters (345 a, Fig. 4B), the first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324) having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first color filter (345a) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070]); and an inter-pixel light shielding film (“light-shield pattern” 322) positioned in a gap between the plurality of first color pixels (“first pixel region” P1, Figs. 3, 4B) and the plurality of second color pixels (“second pixel region” P2, Figs. 3, 4B), the inter-pixel light shielding film (“light-shield pattern” 322) suppressing transmission of light entering the pixel array unit (“pixel array region” R1, Fig. 1) (Fig.4b, para. [0069], [0085], [0148]). As to claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the device further comprising: a first inter-different color pixel wall member (324) positioned in a gap between the first color filter (345a) and the second color filter (345b) (Fig. 4B), the first inter-different color pixel wall member (324) being laminated together with the inter-pixel light shielding film (322) (Fig. 4B), the first inter-different color pixel wall member (324) having a refractive index (refractive index of 1.1- 1.3, para. [0070]) lower than both the refractive index of the first color filter (345a) and a refractive index of the second color filter (345b) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070]). As to claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the device further comprising: a second inter-identical color pixel wall member (see a second “low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) positioned in a gap among a plurality of the second color filters (345b) (Fig. 4B), the second inter-identical color pixel wall member (see a second “low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the second color filter (345b) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070]). As to claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first color pixel is a red pixel (para. [0074]), and the inter-pixel light shielding film (322) is provided solely around a red pixel group including a plurality of the red pixels (Figs. 1, 3, and 4B, para. [0074]). As to claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) includes SiN (silicon nitride), SiO 2 (silicon oxide), or a resin material (“organic material”, para. [0070]), or has a void. As to claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the inter-pixel light shielding film (322) includes a material containing at least one of Ti (titanium) (see para. [0069]), W (tungsten), Cu (copper), Al (aluminum) or oxides thereof. As to claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein the inter-pixel light shielding film (322) is provided at an identical layer to a color filter layer including the first color filter and the second color filter, or provided between the first color filter (345a) and the first photoelectric conversion unit (110) and between the second color filter (345b) and the second photoelectric conversion unit (second “photoelectric conversion region” 110) (Fig. 4B). As to claim 11, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B an electronic apparatus comprising an imaging device (Fig. 4B), the imaging device (Fig. 4B) including: a base body (comprising “interlayer dielectric layers” 211, 213, and 215) (Fig. 4B, para. [0063]); a pixel array unit (“pixel array region” R1, Fig. 1) including a plurality of first color pixels (“first pixel region” P1, Figs. 3, 4B) lying adjacent to each other and each including a first color filter (345a) (Figs. 3, 4B, para. [0071]-[0072], [0074]) and a first photoelectric conversion unit (“photoelectric conversion region” 110, Fig. 4B) that receives first color light passed through the first color filter and performs photoelectric conversion on the first color light (Fig. 4B, para. [0043], [0049], [0058]-[0059]), and a plurality of second color pixels (“second pixel region” P2, Figs. 3, 4B) lying adjacent to each other and each including a second color filter (345b) and a second photoelectric conversion unit (110, Fig. 4B) that receives second color light passed through the second color filter (345b) and performs photoelectric conversion on the second color light (Fig. 4B, para. [0043], [0070]-[0077]), the plurality of first color pixels (“first pixel region” P1) and the plurality of second color pixels (“second pixel region” P2, Figs. 3, 4B) being disposed on the base body (comprising “interlayer dielectric layers” 211, 213, and 215) (Figs. 3, 4B, para. [0043]); a first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) positioned in a gap among a plurality of the first color filters (345 a, Fig. 4B), the first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324) having a refractive index lower than a refractive index of the first color filter (345a) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070]); and an inter-pixel light shielding film (“light-shield pattern” 322) positioned in a gap between the plurality of first color pixels (“first pixel region” P1, Figs. 3, 4B) and the plurality of second color pixels (“second pixel region” P2, Figs. 3, 4B), the inter-pixel light shielding film (“light-shield pattern” 322) suppressing transmission of light entering the pixel array unit (“pixel array region” R1, Fig. 1) (Fig.4b, para. [0069], [0085], [0148]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S 2020/0403025 A1) in view of Yang et al. (U.S 2021/0118929 A1) . As to claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a side surface of the first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) is covered with a first protective film (“protective layer” 330) having a refractive index (refractive index of “aluminum oxide” is 1.74-1.77, para. [0072]) higher than the refractive index of the first inter-identical color pixel wall member (“low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) (refractive index of 1.1- 1.3, para. [0070]) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070], [0072]). Kim et al. do not disclose a first protective film having a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the first color filter. Yang et al. disclose in Fig. 5 a first protective film (250) having a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the first color filter (300) (refractive index of 300 is “1.6 to 1.7”, para. [0083]) (Fig. 5, para. [0081], [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of Kim et al. by having the first protective film having a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the first color filter, as taught by Yang et al., in order to block light from passing through toward neighboring pixels (see para. [0083] in Kim et al.) and also reduce cross-talk between the pixel regions. As to claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a side surface of the first inter-different color pixel wall member (324) is covered with a third protective film (330) having a refractive index (refractive index of “aluminum oxide” is 1.74-1.77, para. [0072]) higher than a refractive index (refractive index of 1.1- 1.3, para. [0070]) of the first inter-different color pixel wall member (324) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070], [0072]). Kim et al. do not disclose a third protective film having a refractive index lower than both the refractive index of the first color filter and a refractive index of the second color filter. Yang et al. disclose in Fig. 5 a third protective film (250) having a refractive index lower than both the refractive index of the first color filter (300) and a refractive index of the second color filter (300) (refractive index of 300 is “1.6 to 1.7”, para. [0083]) (Fig. 5, para. [0081], [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of Kim et al. by having a third protective film having a refractive index lower than both the refractive index of the first color filter and a refractive index of the second color filter, as taught by Yang et al., in order to block light from passing through toward neighboring pixels (see para. [0083] in Kim et al.), and also reduce cross-talk between the pixel regions. As to claim 6, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, Kim et al. disclose in Figs. 1, 3 & 4B all claimed limitations including the limitation: wherein a side surface of the second inter-identical color pixel wall member (see a second “low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) is covered with a second protective film (see second “protective layer” 330) having a refractive index (refractive index of “aluminum oxide” is 1.74-1.77, para. [0072]) higher than the refractive index (refractive index of 1.1- 1.3, para. [0070]) of the second inter-identical color pixel wall member (see a second “low-refractive pattern” 324, Fig. 4B) (Fig. 4B, para. [0070], [0072]). Kim et al. do not disclose a second protective film having a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the second color filter. Yang et al. disclose in Fig. 5 a second protective film (260) having a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the second color filter (second “color filter” 300) (refractive index of 300 is “1.6 to 1.7”, para. [0083]) (Fig. 5, para. [0081], [0083]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify reference of Kim et al. by having a second protective film having a refractive index lower than the refractive index of the second color filter, as taught by Yang et al., in order to block light from passing through toward neighboring pixels (see para. [0083] in Kim et al.), and also reduce cross-talk between the pixel regions . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : KAWAMURA (U.S 2015/0130007 A1) . Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THANH Y TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2110. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 10am-10pm (flex) (PST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kretelia Graham can be reached at (571)272-5055. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Thanh Y. Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 28, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/682,978 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817