Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 13 each recite “wherein a portion of an electrolyte applied to the lithium metal composite anode interfaces with a surface of the lithium metal composite anode at a contact angle less than ninety (90) degrees”. As written, it is not entirely clear if the electrolyte is meant to be positively required as a structure of or attached to the anode. However, the limitation appears to indicate a property of the claimed anode when an electrolyte is applied, and not a positive recitation of the electrolyte as part of the claimed lithium metal composite anode. If the claim is intended to be interpreted as claiming the combination of the anode and the electrolyte layer, it is suggested to reword the claim to state “further including” prior to the recitation of “a portion” rather than “wherein” and insert “and” before “interfaces”. If the limitation is intended to be a recitation of a property, it is suggested to add “when” before “a portion”. Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15 are included as they depend from claims 4 and 13.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "or the like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0123114 (Cho) (cited on IDS filed 02/13/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Cho discloses a method of forming a lithium metal anode comprising a lithium metal and adding a hydrophilic material in the form of a coating which is considered adhering the hydrophilic matter to the portion of lithium metal [0033, 0077, claim 8].
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Figure 7 illustrates the hydrophilic property of the nanomaterial coating including a nitrogen doped graphene oxide layer which are well wet and contrast with a hydrophobic property of titania nanopowder [0033].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Cho discloses the hydrophilic property as described in [0033] and Figure 7 for a nitrogen-doped graphene oxide coated layer and describes it as “well wet”. A hydrophilic surface which is well wet is considered to inherently have a contact angle less than 90 degrees as this is generally understood to be the meaning of hydrophilic. Applicant’s instant specification at [0033] states that when applied to the portion of the lithium metal, the hydrophilic matter can cause a liquid (e.g. liquid electrolyte, water, polymer electrolytes with plasticizer etc.) to form a contact angle of less than 90 degrees on the surface of the lithium metal composite. Further, the instant specification at [0037] states that a low contact angle is associated with a hydrophilic surface and is indicative of a surface’s good wettability. Thus, the well-wet hydrophilic surface of Cho is considered to mee the required contact angle. Further, Cho discloses that four kinds of electrolytes were used and include carbonate solutions (carbonate based liquid electrolyte) and ether-based electrolytic liquid solutions.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Cho discloses the film of graphene may be applied by dip coating, spray coating, spin coating, inkjet coating, doctor blading, etc. [0074].
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Cho discloses lithium metal anode [0045, 0065, 0072, 0086] which is considered to be a disclosure of pure lithium as no express disclosure of additional materials are present. Alternatively, if other materials are present with the lithium, it is considered a lithium composite.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Cho discloses a demonstration of the anode with a cathode and carbonate-based electrolyte (separator) [0042], and discloses a lithium metal battery comprising the disclosed lithium metal anode, a cathode and an electrolyte (separator) therebetween [0054].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 9, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0123114 (Cho) in view of Tao, “A surface chemistry approach to tailor the hydrophilicity and lithiophilicity of carbon films for hosting high-performance metal anodes” (both cited on IDS filed 02/13/2024).
Cho discloses a lithium anode as discussed above but does not disclose chemical groups or embedding.
Tao discloses forming lithium metal anodes to enable stable Li metal batteries using a carbon scaffold formed of numerous interwoven nanofibers. The scaffold is immersed in ammonia solution and provides an ammoniated scaffold. The ammoniated scaffold is then placed on a surface of molten and the molten Li climbs and is uniformly distributed into the carbon scaffold due to the improved wettability (pages 6-7). Providing the ammoniated carbon improves the wettability of the carbon scaffold and allows for the uniform distribution of the carbon in the lithium. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the surface of the carbon of Cho to improve the wettability thereof for interaction with Li and provide large binding energy toward the Li (page 7 of Tao).
Regarding the dispersion and embedding, Tao discloses a scaffold comprising interwoven nanofibers (considered particles) and the molten lithium uniformly infiltrates the carbon scaffold to provide an anode that delivers higher capacity due to lithiophilic (ammoniated) carbon and unique microstructure (Tao conclusion). It would have been obvious to combine the hydrophilic matter of Tao which is dispersed and embedded throughout the lithium metal disclosed by Tao in the anode of Cho to provide the benefits disclosed by Tao such as higher capacity.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0123114 (Cho) (cited on IDS filed 02/13/2024) in view of US 2022/0093969 (Ma).
Cho discloses electrolytes but does not disclose a polymer-based electrolyte comprising a plasticizer. Ma discloses an electrolyte comprising a polymer-based electrolyte and a plasticizer (abstract) to bond the anode to a separator. Ma further discloses a cathode, liquid electrolyte (214) which is located inside the separator (212) [0039, Figure 2] and polymer electrolyte lamination layer (216). The polymer electrolyte lamination layer provides significantly less swell than anodes without the lamination layer [0034]. It would have been obvious to provide a polymer-based electrolyte with a plasticizer as disclosed by Ma as the electrolyte in Cho to provide less swell in the anode.
Conclusion
JENNIFER C. MCNEIL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/Jennifer McNeil/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723