Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 14-16 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0395257) of record, in view of Taguchi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0286643) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 15 of Chun discloses a system on a wafer assembly comprising: a cooling component (200) [0051]; a frame structure (300) coupled to the cooling component by way of at least one fastener (202), the frame structure comprising an inner frame portion, an outer frame portion, and an opening between the inner frame portion and the outer frame portion (FIG. 14); an interposer assembly (100) disposed on a SoW, the interposer assembly comprising a carrier (108) and a connector (143) coupled to the carrier, at least a portion of the carrier of the interposer assembly disposed between the cooling component and the frame structure, and the connector configured to be connected to an external component through the opening [0046].
Chun is silent with respect to “a gasket disposed between the portion of the carrier of the interposer assembly and the frame structure”.
FIG. 2 of Taguchi discloses a similar SoW assembly, comprising a frame structure (14) coupled to the cooling component (12) by way of at least one fastener; the interposer assembly comprising a carrier (22) and a connector (24) coupled to the carrier; the connector configured to be connected to an external component through the opening [0028]; and a gasket (18) disposed between the portion of the carrier of the interposer assembly and the frame structure [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chun, as taught by Taguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun in the above manner for purpose of transmitting signal and improving heat radiation ([0066] of Taguchi).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses voltage regulating modules (400) disposed in an inner opening defined by the inner frame portion.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 2 of Taguchi discloses the gasket (18) comprises an elongate structure positioned between the inner frame portion and the portion of the interposer assembly.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses the SoW comprises an array of integrated circuit dies, and the interposer assembly provides an input/output connector for the SoW assembly [0001].
Regarding Claim 8
Chun discloses the array of integrated circuit dies are configured to perform neural network training [0022].
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses a plurality of additional interposer assemblies (50B) positioned around a periphery of the SoW, the interposer assembly and the plurality of additional interposer assemblies each comprising an input/output connector for the SoW assembly [0024].
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 15 of Chun discloses a system on a wafer (SoW) assembly comprising: a frame structure (300) comprising an inner frame portion, an outer frame portion, and a first opening between the inner frame portion and the outer frame portion (FIG. 14); a cooling component (200) [0051] coupled to the frame structure by way of at least one fastener (202); an interposer assembly (100) on an SoW with an array of integrated circuit dies, the interposer assembly including a carrier (108) and a connector (143) coupled to the carrier, the connector configured to be connected to an external component through the first opening of the frame structure [0046], a portion of the carrier positioned between the frame structure and the cooling component.
Chun is silent with respect to “a gasket disposed between the portion of the carrier and the frame structure”.
FIG. 2 of Taguchi discloses a similar SoW assembly, comprising a frame structure (14) coupled to the cooling component (12) by way of at least one fastener; and a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly (22) and the frame structure [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chun, as taught by Taguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun in the above manner for purpose of transmitting signal and improving heat radiation ([0066] of Taguchi).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 14 of Chun discloses the frame structure further has a second opening at a center region of the frame structure
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses voltage regulating modules (400) disposed in the second opening of the frame structure.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses the interposer assembly provides an input/output connector for the SoW assembly [0024].
Claim 6, 10-13 and 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun and Taguchi, in view of Kinnune (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0146425) of record.
Regarding Claim 6
Chun as modified by Taguchi discloses Claim 5.
Chun as modified by Taguchi is silent with respect to “a second gasket having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket”.
FIG. 1 of Kinnune discloses a similar assembly, comprising a second gasket (30) having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chun to comprise a second gasket having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket, as taught by Kinnune. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun in the above manner for purpose of improving sealing ([0006] of Kinnune).
Regarding Claim 10
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a compressible material for gasket for purpose of improving sealing. In particular, Kinnune discloses the gasket comprises a compressible material.
Regarding Claim 11
Taguchi discloses the gasket further comprises a conductive layer at least partially around the compressible material [0028].
Regarding Claim 12
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a pressure sensitive adhesive on the conductive layer for purpose of improving sealing.
Regarding Claim 13
Taguchi discloses the gasket promotes the enforcement of the blocking against the leak signal by suppressing the electromagnetic wave leakage [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a ground path for the gasket between the frame structure and the interposer assembly for purpose of EM shielding.
Regarding Claim 17
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a compressible material for gasket for purpose of improving sealing. In particular, Kinnune discloses the gasket comprises a compressible material.
Regarding Claim 18
Taguchi discloses the gasket further comprises a conductive layer at least partially around the compressible material [0028].
Regarding Claim 19
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a pressure sensitive adhesive on the conductive layer for purpose of improving sealing.
Pertinent Art
Pertinent art includes Oka (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0133667), Yu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0365488), Ku (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0385929), Park (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0144165), Yu (CN 110323143), Casati (EP 0484297), and Yamada (WO 2011083737).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897