Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 7 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 110323143, machine-translation provided), in view of Casati (EP 0484297).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 23 of Yu discloses a system on a wafer assembly comprising: a cooling component (36); a frame structure (30) coupled to the cooling component by way of at least one fastener; an interposer assembly (220) disposed on a SoW, at least a portion of the interposer assembly disposed between the cooling component and the frame structure.
Yu is silent with respect to “a frame structure coupled to the cooling component by way of at least one fastener” and “a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly and the frame structure”.
FIG. 1 of Casati discloses a similar SoW assembly, comprising a frame structure (2) coupled to the cooling component (1) by way of at least one fastener; and a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly and the frame structure (Col. 6, Lines 22-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu, as taught by Casati. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of improving sealing.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 23 of Yu discloses the SoW comprises an array of integrated circuit dies (102), and the interposer assembly provides an input/output connector for the SoW assembly.
Regarding Claim 8
The claim “the array of integrated circuit dies are configured to perform neural network training” containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. This recitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because the apparatus of Yu teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114 R-1.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu and Casati, in view of Hodge (U.S. Patent No. 3,930,114).
Regarding Claim 2
Yu as modified by Casati discloses Claim 1.
Yu as modified by Casati is silent with respect to “the frame structure comprising an inner frame portion, an outer frame portion, and an opening between the inner frame portion and the outer frame portion”.
FIG. 1 of Hodge discloses a similar assembly, wherein the frame structure comprising an inner frame portion (14/15), an outer frame portion (11/12), and an opening between the inner frame portion and the outer frame portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu, as taught by Hodge. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of improving removal of heat from IC package (Col. 1, Lines 36-54 of Hodge).
Claims 3, 4 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Casati and Hodge, in view of Leas (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0003432)
Regarding Claim 3
Yu as modified by Casati and Hodge discloses Claim 2, wherein the interposer assembly comprises a carrier.
Yu as modified by Casati and Hodge is silent with respect to “the interposer assembly comprises a carrier and a connector coupled to the carrier, the connector being accessible through the opening”.
FIG. 6 of Leas discloses a similar assembly, wherein the interposer assembly comprises a carrier (90) and a connector (54) coupled to the carrier, the connector being accessible through the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu, as taught by Leas. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of providing connection to external circuits ([0050] of Leas).
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 3 of Leas discloses voltage regulating modules (40) disposed in an inner opening defined by the inner frame portion.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 23 of Yu discloses a system on a wafer assembly comprising: a frame structure (30); a cooling component (36) coupled to the frame structure; an interposer assembly (220) on a SoW with an array of integrated circuit dies, the interposer assembly including a carrier and a connector (26) coupled to the carrier, the connector accessible through the first opening of the frame structure, a portion of the carrier positioned between the frame structure and the cooling component.
Yu is silent with respect to “having a first opening at an edge region of the frame structure” “a frame structure coupled to the cooling component by way of at least one fastener” and “a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly and the frame structure”.
FIG. 1 of Casati discloses a similar SoW assembly, comprising a frame structure (2) coupled to the cooling component (1) by way of at least one fastener; and a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly and the frame structure (Col. 6, Lines 22-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu, as taught by Casati. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of improving sealing.
Yu as modified by Casati and Hodge is silent with respect to “the interposer assembly comprises a carrier and a connector coupled to the carrier, the connector being accessible through the opening”.
FIG. 6 of Leas discloses a similar assembly, wherein the interposer assembly comprises a carrier (90) and a connector (54) coupled to the carrier, the connector being accessible through the opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu, as taught by Leas. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of providing connection to external circuits ([0050] of Leas).
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Casati, Hodge and Oka, in view of Makoto (JP 2016181832, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 5
Yu as modified by Casati and Hodge discloses Claim 2.
Yu as modified by Casati and Hodge is silent with respect to “the gasket comprises an elongate structure positioned between the inner frame portion and the portion of the interposer assembly”.
FIG. 2 of Makoto discloses a similar assembly, wherein the gasket (18) comprises an elongate structure positioned between the inner frame portion and the portion of the interposer assembly (Appendix 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu, as taught by Makoto. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of suppressing EM leakage and shielding leakage signals (text of Makoto).
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Casati, Hodge and Makoto, in view of Liu (CN 105845633, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 6
Yu as modified by Casati, Hodge and Makoto discloses Claim 5, wherein the inner frame portion comprises a plurality of spaced fingers, and the gasket comprises an elongate structure positioned between the inner frame portion and the portion of the interposer assembly.
Yu as modified by Casati, Hodge and Makoto is silent with respect to inner frame portion comprises a plurality of spaced islands.
FIG. 2 of Liu discloses a similar assembly, wherein inner frame portion comprises a plurality of spaced islands (31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu to comprise a second gasket having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket, as taught by Liu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Yu in the above manner for purpose of mounting various chips (text of Liu).
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 14-16 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0395257), in view of Taguchi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0286643).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 15 of Chun discloses a system on a wafer assembly comprising: a cooling component (200); a frame structure (300) coupled to the cooling component by way of at least one fastener (202); an interposer assembly (108) disposed on a SoW, at least a portion of the interposer assembly disposed between the cooling component and the frame structure.
Chun is silent with respect to “a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly and the frame structure”.
FIG. 2 of Taguchi discloses a similar SoW assembly, comprising a frame structure (14) coupled to the cooling component (12) by way of at least one fastener; and a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly (22) and the frame structure [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chun, as taught by Taguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun in the above manner for purpose of improving heat radiation ([0066] of Taguchi).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 14 of Chun discloses the frame structure comprising an inner frame portion, an outer frame portion, and an opening between the inner frame portion and the outer frame portion.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 19 of Chun discloses the interposer assembly comprises a carrier (108) and a connector (143) coupled to the carrier, the connector being accessible through the opening.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses voltage regulating modules (400) disposed in an inner opening defined by the inner frame portion.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 2 of Taguchi discloses the gasket (18) comprises an elongate structure positioned between the inner frame portion and the portion of the interposer assembly.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses the SoW comprises an array of integrated circuit dies, and the interposer assembly provides an input/output connector for the SoW assembly [0001].
Regarding Claim 8
Chun discloses the array of integrated circuit dies are configured to perform neural network training [0022].
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses a plurality of additional interposer assemblies (50B) positioned around a periphery of the SoW, the interposer assembly and the plurality of additional interposer assemblies each comprising an input/output connector for the SoW assembly [0024].
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 15 of Chun discloses a system on a wafer (SoW) assembly comprising: a frame structure (300) having a first opening at an edge region of the frame structure; a cooling component (200) coupled to the frame structure by way of at least one fastener (202); an interposer assembly (108) on a SoW with an array of integrated circuit dies, the interposer assembly including a carrier and a connector (143) coupled to the carrier, the connector accessible through the first opening of the frame structure, a portion of the carrier positioned between the frame structure and the cooling component.
Chun is silent with respect to “a gasket disposed between the portion of the carrier and the frame structure”.
FIG. 2 of Taguchi discloses a similar SoW assembly, comprising a frame structure (14) coupled to the cooling component (12) by way of at least one fastener; and a gasket disposed between the portion of the interposer assembly (22) and the frame structure [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chun, as taught by Taguchi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun in the above manner for purpose of improving heat radiation ([0066] of Taguchi).
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 14 of Chun discloses the frame structure further has a second opening at a center region of the frame structure
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses voltage regulating modules (400) disposed in the second opening of the frame structure.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 16 of Chun discloses the interposer assembly provides an input/output connector for the SoW assembly [0024].
Claim 6, 10-13 and 17-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun and Taguchi, in view of Kinnune (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0146425).
Regarding Claim 6
Chun as modified by Taguchi discloses Claim 5.
Chun as modified by Taguchi is silent with respect to “a second gasket having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket”.
FIG. 1 of Kinnune discloses a similar assembly, comprising a second gasket (30) having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chun to comprise a second gasket having a plurality of spaced islands, each island of the islands of the second gasket being shorter than the elongate structure of the gasket, as taught by Kinnune. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chun in the above manner for purpose of improving sealing ([0006] of Kinnune).
Regarding Claim 10
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a compressible material for gasket for purpose of improving sealing. In particular, Kinnune discloses the gasket comprises a compressible material.
Regarding Claim 11
Taguchi discloses the gasket further comprises a conductive layer at least partially around the compressible material [0028].
Regarding Claim 12
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a pressure sensitive adhesive on the conductive layer for purpose of improving sealing.
Regarding Claim 13
Taguchi discloses the gasket promotes the enforcement of the blocking against the leak signal by suppressing the electromagnetic wave leakage [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a ground path for the gasket between the frame structure and the interposer assembly for purpose of EM shielding.
Regarding Claim 17
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a compressible material for gasket for purpose of improving sealing. In particular, Kinnune discloses the gasket comprises a compressible material.
Regarding Claim 18
Taguchi discloses the gasket further comprises a conductive layer at least partially around the compressible material [0028].
Regarding Claim 19
One of ordinary skill in the art would use a pressure sensitive adhesive on the conductive layer for purpose of improving sealing.
Pertinent Art
Pertinent art includes Oka (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0133667), Yu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0365488), Ku (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0385929).
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897