Claim Status
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 is amended with support from original claims 3 and 5, as well as p. 0038 and 0044 of the specification as filed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 5-10, filed 08/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kofuji and Miyamoto under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitations of claims 2, 3, and 5 appear in claim 1 and therefore fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Kofuji et al (herein ‘Kofuji’; JP 2013249401 A/ JP 6136121 B2; all citations are drawn to the English machine translation).
Kofuji is directed toward the preparation of a water-based printer ink comprising a polyurethane binder [p. 0008]. In synthesis example 1 [p. 0049], Kofuji discloses the preparation of a urethane resin comprising polyethylene glycol and polytetramethylene glycol (a1), isophorone diisocyanate (b), 2-hydroxyethylethylenediamine, isophorone diamine (c2-2), monoethanolamine (c2-1), wherein polyethers (a1) comprises 60 mass % of the composition. Kofuji teaches the isophorone diamine (c2-2) may be replaced with or used in combination with other diamine species including ethylenediamine, propylenediamine, and hexamethylenediamine [p. 0024]. Furthermore, Kofuji teanches the monoamine can be used alone or in combination of two or more [p. 0025].
The chain capping of the exemplary prepolymer proceeds in an aqueous solution of ammonia. However, Kofuji discloses inorganic alkalis, such as sodium hyrdroxide or potassium hydroxide, as suitable alternatives for the neutralization of the aqueous polyurethane solution [p. 0034]. Kofuji discloses the aqueous printing ink composition can be printed on a plastic film by a known gravure printing, method, a flexographic printing method, an ink jet printing method or the like [p. 0045].
In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare the printer ink of Kofuji wherein the polyurethane binder comprises greater than 25 mass % polyether polyols (a1), an alicyclic diisocyanate (b1), a linear diamine (c1-1), a monoamine (c2-1), and an alicyclic diamine (c2-2).
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Miyamoto (US 5656701 A).
Miyamoto is directed toward the preparation of polyurethane-based binders for water-based printer inks. Miyamoto discloses the preparation of a polyurethane resin (I) comprising polybutylene glycol (a1), isophorone diisocyanate (b1), ethylenediamine (c1-1) and hydrazine hydrate (c1-2), and triethylamine (emulsifier) [example 10]. The polyether polyol (a1) comprises about 76 mass % of the composition. Miyamoto discloses suitable chain terminators include monoethanolamine (c2-1) [c. 6, ll. 5-10]. Miyamoto discloses alkali metal hydroxides (II) are in the aqueous solution for dispersion in aqueous media [c. 2, ll. 35-40; c. 7, ll. 50-55]. Miyamoto discloses a method of lamination using the aqueous ink composition [c.9, ll. 40-45].
In light of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare the aqueous printer ink of Miyamoto wherein the polyurethane binder comprises greater than 25 mass % polyether polyols (a1), an alicyclic diisocyanate (b1), a linear diamine (c1-1) and/or a hydrazine compound (c1-2), and a monoamine (c2-1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOLLEY GRACE HESTER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1766
/RANDY P GULAKOWSKI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1766