DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Pursuant to the election without traverse on August 26, 2026, non-elected claims 27-41 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzmann, DE 102017122325 A1, and its corresponding US publication, US 2020/0227602 A1, in view of Iguchi, US 2021/0005583 A1. As both the German and US versions of Enzmann have the same content, the rejection is over either, but the references will be to the US publication.
Claim 24: Enzmann discloses
a semiconductor layer stack (2) comprising a first semiconductor layer (22) of a first conductivity type, an active zone (20), and a second semiconductor layer (21) of a second conductivity type (“semiconductor body 2 comprises a first semiconductor region 21 and a second semiconductor region 22, wherein the first semiconductor region and the second semiconductor region are different from one another with respect of the charge type” [0057]),
wherein the optoelectronic semiconductor device is configured to emit generated electromagnetic radiation via a first main surface (top) of the first semiconductor layer,
and wherein a lateral width z of the active zone is smaller than a smallest lateral width c of the first and the second semiconductor layers (FIG. 2);
separating elements arranged adjacent to the semiconductor layer stack, the separating elements vertically extending along the semiconductor layer stack:
Note that although Enzmann only discloses a single separating element, it is obvious to have duplication of parts. MPEP 2144.04(VI). It would have been obvious to have additional light emitting elements with additional separating elements between them.
Claim 24 also recites portions of a metal layer arranged on a side of the first semiconductor layer facing away from the active zone and arranged at positions of the separating elements. This is not disclosed by Enzmann, explicitly by Enzmann; however, see Iguchi, which discloses a metal layer 34 arranged on a side of the first semiconductor layer (top) facing away from the active zone and arranged at positions of the separating elements (FIG. 1).
Enzmann discloses that “The segments 20A, 20B can each be externally electrically contacted independently of one another via assigned contacts 5.” Enzmann [0062]. Iguchi discloses that “A partition wall 34 is disposed around the micro lens 40 in a direction parallel to the light emitting surface 101. The partition wall 34 has a reflection surface 34S that is inclined at an inclination angle θw so as to open in the light emission direction. In the present embodiment, the partition wall 34 is made of a material having high reflectivity (such as a metal material) and forms the reflection surface 34S around the micro lens 40. That is, the micro lenses 40 are independently provided for the pixels, and adjacent micro lenses 40 are separated by the partition wall 34.” [0048]. In the case of separate control of the light emitting elements, it would have been obvious to have used such metal layers to control the direction of each beam.
Claim 25: Enzmann does not disclose the width of the active zone, although o.3 of the smallest lateral width of the first semiconductor layer is consistent with the illustrations. However, changes in dimension are not a source of patentable distinction absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04. It would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine the desired width, based on desired intensity, narrowness of the beam, etc.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enzmann in view of Iguchi and Camras, US 2005/0032257 A1. Enzmann discloses a lens (42) arranged above the first main surface of the first semiconductor layer. Enzmann does not disclose the focal point of the lens. Camras discloses that “[a]ctive layer 12 of LED die 4 is positioned to reduce the amount of light that experiences total internal reflection at surface 24. For example, active layer 12 may be distributed about the focal point of optical element 2.” [0052]. It would have been obvious to have had the focal point of the lens of Enzmann arranged at a position of the active zone in order to reduce total internal reflection.
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897