DETAILED ACTION
This application is a continuation of PCT/SE2022/050749 filed August 12, 2022 and claim priority to US Provisional Application 63/233,525 filed August 16, 2021.
Claims 1-19 and 25 are now pending.
Claims 20-24 and 26-38 have been previously cancelled by preliminary amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Li does not teach “determining a satellite coverage time based at least in part on the ephemeris data”.
However, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in light of the specification, “coverage time based at least in part on the ephemeris data” requires determining according to applicant’s specification, page 17, lines 19-21 “a time period or duration over which a WD can maintain connection, or camp on, or maintain communication with a satellite or a gNB is referred to as "coverage time" or "serving time" or "network availability" or "sojourn time" or "dwell time,”. As recited in applicant’s specification. Applicant argues that Li, which clearly teaches satellite coverage based on ephemeris data, does not teach “coverage time” at least in part. However, Li’s ephemeris data teaching coverage based on ephemeris data by extension teaches “network availability” because it is related to positioning. According to the applicant’s specification, “network availability” is equivalent to “coverage time”. Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, “satellite coverage time” and it’s equivalent, “network availability” per applicant’s specification, is taught at least in part by Li’s ephemeris data and is at least correlated to Li’s ephemeris coverage under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims in light of the applicant’s specification. For at least these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 11, 13, 16, 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. 20240056919 to Haitao Li et al. (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches A method in a wireless device (WD), the WD configured to perform measurements on satellite signals received from a satellite, (Li Fig. 1, para. [0072]-[0073] UE 110 communicates with satellite 120) and receive ephemeris data from at least one of the satellite and a network node, (Li para. [0223]-[0232] teaches receives ephemeris information via SIB as location information) the method comprising:
determining a satellite coverage time based at least in part on the ephemeris data; (Li para. [0113]-[0121] teaches determining satellite coverage based on ephemeris data, which is correlated to satellite coverage time and “network availability” according applicant’s specification page 17, lines 19-21 and therefore based at least in part on the ephemeris data.)
performing a first measurement procedure to measure satellite signals during a first measurement time when the satellite coverage time is less than a first threshold; (Li para. [0246]-[0294] teaches “Introducing information related to the time” wherein the UE determines whether to perform RRM measurement relaxation according to time criterion according to different time thresholds. For example, para. [0258] and Fig. 11 teaches a time threshold of within [T4, T5] a UE is considered within a service range and would normally start measurements in the neighbor cell. )
and
performing a second measurement procedure to measure satellite signals during a second measurement time when the satellite coverage time is greater than a second threshold. (Li para. [0294] to [0301] teach a second threshold in accordance with Fig. 11, wherein after a relaxation, the UE measures when coverage time is greater than a second threshold, within T2, which is greater than T1, shown as RRM measurement relaxation type measurements:
Regarding claim 4, The method of Claim 1, wherein the satellite coverage time is determined based at least in part on an angle of arrival of a satellite signal. (Li teaches in paras. [0122]-[0124] that a UE determines coverage reference point based on elevation angle from the UE to the satellite to determine RTT (round trip time) from the UE).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time is based at least in part on an estimate of error in the ephemeris data. (Li teaches in para. [0245] that determining whether a UE is “in the not-cell-edge” criterion includes that an error in the “not-cell-edge” determination caused by RSRP accuracy in the NTN can be calibrated. The enhanced “not-cell-edge” determination is taught in para. [0232] as including ephemeris information.)
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein the first measurement time is smaller than the second time. (Li teaches in Fig. 11 two measurement times, with the second relaxed measurement time being longer than the first measurement time.
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches A wireless device, (WD) configured to perform measurements on satellite signals received from a satellite, (Li, Fig. 1 illustrates a wireless device UE 110 communicating with satellite 120 and paras. [0072]-[0078] teach that UE 110 performs measurements) the WD being further configured to receive ephemeris data from at least one of the satellite and a network node, (Li para. [0223]-[0232] teaches receives ephemeris information via SIB as location information) the wireless device comprising processing circuitry configured to:
determine a satellite coverage time based at least in part on the ephemeris data; (Li para. [0113]-[0121] teaches determining satellite coverage based on ephemeris data, which is correlated to satellite coverage time and “network availability” according applicant’s specification page 17, lines 19-21 and therefore based at least in part on the ephemeris data.)
perform a first measurement procedure to measure satellite signals during a first measurement time when the satellite coverage time is less than a first threshold; ; (Li para. [0246]-[0294] teaches “Introducing information related to the time” wherein the UE determines whether to perform RRM measurement relaxation according to time criterion according to different time thresholds. For example, para. [0258] and Fig. 11 teaches a time threshold of within [T4, T5] a UE is considered within a service range and would normally start measurements in the neighbor cell. )
and
perform a second measurement procedure to measure satellite signals during a second measurement time when the satellite coverage time is greater than a second threshold. (Li para. [0294] to [0301] teach a second threshold in accordance with Fig. 11, wherein after a relaxation, the UE measures when coverage time is greater than a second threshold, within T2, which is greater than T1, shown as RRM measurement relaxation type measurements:
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches “The WD of Claim 13, wherein the satellite coverage time is determined based at least in part on an angle of arrival of a satellite signal.” (Li teaches in paras. [0122]-[0124] that a UE determines coverage reference point based on elevation angle from the UE to the satellite to determine RTT (round trip time) from the UE).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches “The WD of Claim 13, wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time is based at least in part on an estimate of error in the ephemeris data.”
wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time is based at least in part on an estimate of error in the ephemeris data. (Li teaches in para. [0245] that determining whether a UE is “in the not-cell-edge” criterion includes that an error in the “not-cell-edge” determination caused by RSRP accuracy in the NTN can be calibrated. The enhanced “not-cell-edge” determination is taught in para. [0232] as including ephemeris information.)
Regarding claim 25, Li teaches A method in a network node configured to communicate with a satellite and a wireless device, (WD), (Li, Fig. 1 and paras. [0072]-[0073] teach network node 140 configured to communicate with satellite 120, and UE 110) the method comprising:
determining a satellite coverage time based at least in part on ephemeris data from the satellite; (Li para. [0223]-[0232] teaches receives ephemeris information via SIB as location information. Li para. [0113]-[0121] teaches determining satellite coverage based on ephemeris data, which is correlated to satellite coverage time and “network availability” according applicant’s specification page 17, lines 19-21 and therefore based at least in part on the ephemeris data.) and
configuring the WD to perform a first measurement procedure to measure satellite signals during a first measurement time when the satellite coverage time is less than a first threshold and to perform a second measurement procedure to measure satellite signals during a second measurement time when the satellite coverage time is greater than a second threshold. (Li Fig. 4 illustrates a network device 410 communicating with UE 420. As illustrated in Fig. 6, UE receives a threshold from the network device in step S601. Li further teaches in para. [0246]-[0294] that the network device may send second and third thresholds and further teaches in Section “Introducing information related to the time” that the UE determines whether to perform RRM measurement relaxation according to time criterion according to different time thresholds. For example, para. [0258] and Fig. 11 teaches a time threshold of within [T4, T5] a UE is considered within a service range and would normally start measurements in the neighbor cell. (Li para. [0294] to [0301] teach a second threshold in accordance with Fig. 11, wherein after a relaxation, the UE measures when coverage time is greater than a second threshold, within T2, which is greater than T1, shown as RRM measurement relaxation type measurements:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of US Pat. Pub. 20240187901 to Jie Cui et al. (hereinafter Cui).
Regarding claim 2, Li, the primary reference, does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, wherein the first measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling a base time interval by a first scaling factor and the second measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling the base time interval by a second scaling factor, the first scaling factor being less than the second scaling factor.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui teaches “wherein the first measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling a base time interval by a first scaling factor and the second measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling the base time interval by a second scaling factor, the first scaling factor being less than the second scaling factor.” (Cui teaches RRM relaxation in para. [0071]-[0081] wherein a first measurement time without relaxation is scaled as a 1, and with relaxation may have be scaled by scaling factor M. For example, when cDRX is configured or different relaxation schemes are enabled such as relaxation scheme 1 or relaxation scheme 2 etc.. Therefore, when no relaxation occurs, the scaling factor is lower, e.g. 1, and when relaxation occurs, the scaling factor can be, e.g., 3 mapped to a second scaling factor see para. [0081].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Regarding claim 3, Li does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, wherein measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a first repetition pattern during the first measurement time and measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a second repetition pattern during the second measurement time.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui teaches “wherein measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a first repetition pattern during the first measurement time and measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a second repetition pattern during the second measurement time.” (Cui teaches measurements in para. [0094] for RRM relaxation scheme 1, the measurement gap repetition periodicity (MGRP) may be extended by a scaling factor for the relaxation measurement time. Thus, when the MGRP is extended, there is a second repetition pattern during the relaxation period.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Regarding claim 9, Li does NOT teach “The method of claim 1 wherein the first measurement procedure includes measurement on a first number of reference signals and the second measurement procedure includes measurement on a second number of reference signals.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui teaches “wherein the first measurement procedure includes measurement on a first number of reference signals and the second measurement procedure includes measurement on a second number of reference signals.” Cui para. [0011] teaches ( “To provide one example, when RRM relaxation is enabled, the UE may be configured to perform measurements and/or monitor for reference signals less frequently compared to other RRM measurement configurations.” Therefore, when relaxation is performed, fewer reference signals are measured than when normal RRM measurements take place.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Regarding claim 10, Li does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, further comprising sending measurement reports to the network node in a first repetition pattern during the first measurement time and sending measurement reports to the network node in a second repetition pattern during the second measurement time.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui teaches “sending measurement reports to the network node in a first repetition pattern during the first measurement time” Cui para. [0011] teaches ( “To provide one example, when RRM relaxation is enabled, the UE may be configured to perform measurements and/or monitor for reference signals less frequently compared to other RRM measurement configurations.” Therefore, before relaxation is performed, more reference signals are measured when normal RRM measurements take place, mapped to a “first repetition pattern” this is taught in Cui in para. [0015] as “a measurement gap pattern of Y seconds and a repetition period of X seconds”) and “sending measurement reports to the network node in a second repetition pattern during the second measurement time.” (Cui teaches in para. [0094] teaches a second repetition pattern during RRM relaxation, “for RRM relaxation scheme 1, the measurement gap repetition periodicity (MGRP) may be extended by scaling factor (G). The scaling factor may apply for all detection and measurement time period as long as MGRP is used and/or applies to the detection or measurement time lower boundary.” Therefore, the repetition pattern for prior to RRM relaxation and during RRM relaxation have different repetition patterns for the measurement times.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Regarding claim 12, Li does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time includes at least one of a cell detection time, a measurement period of a measurement, synchronization signal block, SSB, index acquisition time, measurement reporting delay, radio link monitoring, RLM, out of sync evaluation period, RLM in sync evaluation period, beam detection evaluation period, candidate beam detection evaluation period and measurement period of L1-measurement.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui teaches wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time includes at least one of a cell detection time, a measurement period of a measurement, synchronization signal block, SSB, index acquisition time, measurement reporting delay, radio link monitoring, RLM, out of sync evaluation period, RLM in sync evaluation period, beam detection evaluation period, candidate beam detection evaluation period and measurement period of L1-measurement. (Cui teaches in para. [0076] that the RRM measurements include a measurement window and “that a measurement interval refers to the time interval between two successive physical layer measurement sampling points for the SSB with the same index of the target cell.” Therefore the SSB is included in the measurement time.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Regarding claim 14, Li does NOT teach “The WD of claim 13, wherein the first measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling a base time interval by a first scaling factor and the second measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling the base time interval by a second scaling factor, the first scaling factor being less than the second scaling factor.” (Li teaches relaxation which is well known to include a scaling factor, but does not explicitly identify the relaxation period as a scaled measurement).
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui teaches “wherein the first measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling a base time interval by a first scaling factor and the second measurement time is determined based at least in part on scaling the base time interval by a second scaling factor, the first scaling factor being less than the second scaling factor.” (Cui teaches RRM relaxation in para. [0071]-[0081] wherein a first measurement time without relaxation is scaled as a 1, and with relaxation may have be scaled by scaling factor M. For example, when cDRX is configured or different relaxation schemes are enabled such as relaxation scheme 1 or relaxation scheme 2 etc.. Therefore, when no relaxation occurs, the scaling factor is lower, e.g. 1, and when relaxation occurs, the scaling factor can be, e.g., 3 mapped to a second scaling factor see para. [0081].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Regarding claim 15, Li does NOT teach “The WD of Claim 13, wherein measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a first repetition pattern during the first measurement time and measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a second repetition pattern during the second measurement time.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Cui combined with Li teaches “wherein measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a first repetition pattern during the first measurement time and measurements of the satellite signals are performed in a second repetition pattern during the second measurement time.” (Cui teaches measurements in para. [0094] for RRM relaxation scheme 1, the measurement gap repetition periodicity (MGRP) may be extended by a scaling factor for the relaxation measurement time. Thus, when the MGRP is extended, there is a second repetition pattern during the relaxation period.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Cui with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Cui are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Cui in order to implement RRM relaxation schemes to provide additional power saving benefits via RRM relaxation including “future implementations of RRM relaxation techniques” as taught in Cui paras. [0022]-[0024].
Claims 5, 6, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected over Li in view of US Pat. Pub. 20240114372 to Min Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu)
Regarding claim 5, Li does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time excludes at least one guard window during a time of remaining satellite coverage.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP Xu teaches “wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time excludes at least one guard window during a time of remaining satellite coverage.” (Xu teaches in paras. [0090]-[0109] that measurements exclude a duration where cell quality of network coverage is below a threshold. The coverage information according to para. [0090] may be based on satellite ephemeris data. Para. [0093] teaches “The UE may start a first timer when it enters the coverage area with the cell quality being below the first threshold” Examiner interprets that timer and threshold as a guard window during a remaining satellite coverage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Xu with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Xu are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Xu in order to support discontinuous coverage or variable coverage of networks, such as LEO satellites as taught in Xu paras. [0064]-[0065].
Regarding claim 6, Li does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, wherein the satellite coverage time is based at least in part on information from the network node including at least one of WD position, WD direction, and WD speed.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Xu teaches “wherein the satellite coverage time is based at least in part on information from the network node including at least one of WD position, WD direction, and WD speed.” (Xu teaches in paras. [0107]-[0108] that a UE may start a timer based on “The UE may start the timer which indicates that there is no service, such as: timer T.sub.noService, based on UE location, speed or mobility state, or upon the network configuration, or at the start time estimated by UE or configured by network.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Xu with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Xu are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Xu in order to support discontinuous coverage or variable coverage of networks, such as LEO satellites as taught in Xu paras. [0064]-[0065].
Regarding claim 8, Li does NOT teach “The method of Claim 1, wherein the first measurement procedure includes measuring satellite signals on a first number of beams and the second measurement procedure includes measuring satellite signals on a second number of beams.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Xu teaches “wherein the first measurement procedure includes measuring satellite signals on a first number of beams and the second measurement procedure includes measuring satellite signals on a second number of beams.” (Xu para. [0097] teaches that the number of beams measured may be lower during a relaxed measurement period. “ If the UE is configured with DRX and DRX cycle in use is longer than N ms (or alternatively equal or larger), and the UE mobility state is determined as low or stationary, then the UE may apply extended relaxation for RRM measurements when measurements are performed in non-active time (when DRX is used). If UE is using RX beamforming, the scaling is applied per antenna panel/beam (all panels, only one panel, or subset of panels or beams) used for RRM measurements.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Xu with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Xu are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Xu in order to support discontinuous coverage or variable coverage of networks, such as LEO satellites as taught in Xu paras. [0064]-[0065].
Regarding claim 17, Li does NOT teach “The WD of Claim 13, wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time excludes at least one guard window during a time of remaining satellite coverage.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Xu teaches “wherein at least one of the first measurement time and the second measurement time excludes at least one guard window during a time of remaining satellite coverage.” (Xu teaches in paras. [0090]-[0109] that measurements exclude a duration where cell quality of network coverage is below a threshold. The coverage information according to para. [0090] may be based on satellite ephemeris data. Para. [0093] teaches “ The UE may start a first timer when it enters the coverage area with the cell quality being below the first threshold” Examiner interprets that timer and threshold as a guard window during a remaining satellite coverage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Xu with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Xu are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Xu in order to support discontinuous coverage or variable coverage of networks, such as LEO satellites as taught in Xu paras. [0064]-[0065].
Regarding claim 18, Li does NOT teach “The WD of Claim 13, wherein the satellite coverage time is based at least in part on information from the network node including at least one of WD position, WD direction, and WD speed.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Xu teaches “wherein the satellite coverage time is based at least in part on information from the network node including at least one of WD position, WD direction, and WD speed.” (Xu teaches in paras. [0107]-[0108] that a UE may start a timer based on “The UE may start the timer which indicates that there is no service, such as: timer T.sub.noService, based on UE location, speed or mobility state, or upon the network configuration, or at the start time estimated by UE or configured by network.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Xu with Li to teach measurements of reference signals. Each of Li and Xu are related to wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Li with Xu in order to support discontinuous coverage or variable coverage of networks, such as LEO satellites as taught in Xu paras. [0064]-[0065].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412