Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-6 and 8-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ide et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) WO 2020/196764 A1), hereinafter Ide.
5. Regarding Claims 1-6 and 8-13, Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0168], Table 1, Claims 1-15) a photosensitive resin composition, therein a negative photosensitive resin composition. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyimide resin. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) wherein, in a case where a cured film obtained by heating the photosensitive resin composition at 170°C for 2 hours is subjected to a dynamic viscoelasticity measurement under the following conditions, a storage elastic modulus E'220 at 220°C is 0.5 to 3.0 GPa, [conditions] frequency: 1 Hz, temperature: 30°C to 300°C, heating rate: 5 °C/min, measurement mode: tensile mode. Herein, MPEP § 2112.01(I) states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).” Furthermore, MPEP § 2112.01(II) states: “’Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.’ In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.” Thus, given that the photosensitive resin composition of Claim 1 of the chemical composition merely comprises a polyimide resin and/or polyamide resin and Ide teaches a photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyimide resin, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established with regards to wherein a cured film from the photosensitive resin composition and its subsequent dynamic viscoelasticity measurement. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) wherein, in a case where a glass transition temperature of the cured film is denoted as Tg [°C], a coefficient of thermal expansion of the cured film in a temperature region from Tg - 50 [°C] to Tg - 20 [°C] is denoted as CTE1, and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the cured film in a temperature region from Tg + 20 [°C] to Tg + 50 [°C] is denoted as CTE2, a value of CTE2/CTE1 is 1 to 10. See above with regards to the dynamic viscoelasticity measurement of a cured film formed from a photosensitive resin composition and said rationale extends to the measurement of glass transition temperature. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) wherein the photosensitive resin composition contains a polyimide resin having an imide ring structure, therein a maleimide structure or any of diamine compounds 1-3. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitive resin composition further comprising a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate compound, therein tris (2-acryloyloxyethyl) isocyanurate. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitive resin composition further comprising a photosensitizing agent, therein a photopolymerization initiator (C) and a photoradical polymerization initiator, such as ("Omnirad 184"). Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitizing agent includes a photoradical generator, therein a photopolymerization initiator (C) and a photoradical polymerization initiator, such as ("Omnirad 184"). Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitive resin composition further comprising an epoxy resin, therein 3',4'-epoxycyclohexylmethyl-3,4-epoxycyclohexylmethyl-3,4-epoxycyclohexanecarboxylate. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitive resin composition wherein the polyamide resin and/or the polyimide resin is dissolved in a solvent, therein propylene glycol-1-monomethyl ether-2-acetate (PGMEA), to be in a form of a varnish. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the photosensitive resin composition is used for forming an insulating layer in an electronic device, therein an insulating cured film in a semiconductor, a display, an electronic circuit board, or the like. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) a manufacturing method of an electronic device. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the manufacturing method of an electronic device comprising a film forming step of forming a photosensitive resin film over a substrate using the photosensitive resin composition. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the manufacturing method of an electronic device comprising an exposure step of exposing the photosensitive resin film. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the manufacturing method of an electronic device comprising a development step of developing the exposed photosensitive resin film. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the manufacturing method of an electronic device comprising a thermosetting step of heating and curing the exposed photosensitive resin film after the development step, therein post-baking. Ide teaches (Paragraphs [0123 and 0131-0171], Table 1, Claims 1-15) the manufacturing method of an electronic device comprising a cured film of the photosensitive resin composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ide et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) WO 2020/196764 A1), hereinafter Ide, in view of Kawabata et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) WO 2017/104672 A1), hereinafter Kawabata.
9. Regarding Claim 7, Ide teaches all limitations of Claim 1 above. However, Ide fails to explicitly teach the photosensitive resin composition further comprising a thermal radical initiator.
10. Ide teaches (Abstract, Claim 15) a photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyimide that coats a substrate, irradiated, and developed. Kawabata teaches (Paragraphs [0084 and 0264]) a photosensitive resin composition comprising a polyimide that coats a substrate, irradiated, and developed. Kawabata teaches (Paragraphs [0197-0198]) a thermal radical initiator, therein a thermal radical polymerization initiator. Kawabata teaches (Paragraph [0197]) the use of a thermal radical initiator results in an increased heat resistance.
11. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ide to incorporate the teachings of Kawabata wherein the photosensitive resin composition further comprises a thermal radical initiator. Doing so would result in improved heat resistance, as recognized by Kawabata.
Conclusion
/RICHARD DAVID CHAMPION/Examiner, Art Unit 1737