Claims 1-5,12-16,24-26, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson Telefon ( WO 2020/225642) in view of CATT (Discussion on CSI enhancements for Rel-17).
For claims 1-5,12-16,24-26, and 31-34, Ericsson Telefon ( WO 2020/225642 discloses
a method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless
device, WD, the method comprising:
(cf. [0032]) relates to overhead reduction in channel state information,
CSI, reporting between a wireless device and a network node operating
according to the 3GPP New Radio standard. It is noted that this scope is
identical to the scope of the present application,
receiving from the WD an indication of a channel state information, CSI,
reporting capability for a codebook based CSI comprising information of at
least one frequency domain, FD, basis vector;
(cf. [0032-0033]) discloses CSI reporting based on codebooks with
frequency domain basis vectors according to 3GPP Release 16. The fact
that a wireless device signals its capability to operate with codebook types
of a specific 3GPP Release is implicit since this is the case in any
3GPP Release;
and configuring the WD to report the codebook based CSI in multiple CSI
reporting groups with different priorities, the FD basis vector information
being associated with CSI in a CSI reporting Group having a highest
priority among the multiple CSI reporting groups;
(cf. [0038], [0092-003]) discloses that the FD basis vector information
is part of the CSI group with the highest priority.
For independent claim 1, Ericsson Telefon ( WO 2020/225642) discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of the FD basis vector information being associated with CSI in a CSI reporting group of the multiple CSI reporting groups, a first CSI reporting group including first CSI grouped according to a priority criterion when a number of reported sub-band coefficients scales with bandwidth or according to a sub-band criterion when the number of reported sub-band coefficients does not scale with bandwidth in a communications network. CATT (Discussion on CSI enhancements for Rel-17) from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches a provision of the FD basis vector information being associated with CSI in a CSI reporting group of the multiple CSI reporting groups, a first CSI reporting group including first CSI grouped according to a priority criterion when a number of reported sub-band coefficients scales with bandwidth or according to a sub-band criterion when the number of reported sub-band coefficients does not scale with bandwidth in a communications network . Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the FD basis vector information being associated with CSI in a CSI reporting group of the multiple CSI reporting groups, a first CSI reporting group including first CSI grouped according to a priority criterion when a number of reported sub-band coefficients scales with bandwidth or according to a sub-band criterion when the number of reported sub-band coefficients does not scale with bandwidth in a communications network as taught by CATT (Discussion on CSI enhancements for Rel-17) in the communications network of Ericsson Telefon ( WO 2020/225642) for the purpose of reporting group including first CSI grouped according to a priority criterion when a number of reported sub-band coefficients scales with bandwidth or according to a sub-band criterion when the number of reported sub-band coefficients does not scale with bandwidth.
For independent claims 12,23, and 31 are rejected for the same reason as in claim 1.
For depending claims 2-5,13,14,15,16,2524,25,26,33,and 34, Ericsson Telefon ( WO 2020/225642) also discloses
wherein a codebook of the codebook based CSI is a port selection codebook and the CSI further comprises indices of multiple selected CSI reference signal, CSI-RS, ports(cf. [0038], [0092-003]);
wherein the port selection codebook is an enhanced type II port selection codebook defined in 3GPP New Radio Technical Release 17 and the WD is configured to report the FD basis vector information in CSI reporting Group 0(cf. [0038], [0092-003]);
wherein the FD basis vector information includes an index indicating a set of selected FD basis vectors(cf. [0038], [0092-003]); and
wherein the CSI further includes information of a plurality of layers and the FD basis vector information includes FD basis vector information for each layer of the plurality of layers. (cf. [0038], [0092-003]).
Claims 6-11, 17-22,27-30, and 35-38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (2024/0380442) and Petersson et al. (11,012,129) are all cited to show systems which are considered pertinent of the claimed invention.
/DANG T TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /D.T.T/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476