DETAILED ACTION
This paper is responsive to the application filed February 15, 2024 which claims priority to provisional application 63/234,141 filed August 17, 2021, and the response to nonfinal office action filed April 28, 2026.
By amendments filed on April 28, 2026:
Claims 1-18, 26 and 28 are currently pending.
Claims 1-14, 16-18, 26 and 28 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Applicants amendments to claims 1-14, 16-18, 26 and 28 find support in the original specification and are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 14-17, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. US 20240057026 to Jing Dai et al. (hereinafter Dai) in view of US Pat. Pub. 20220124786 to Amitav Mukherjee (hereinafter Mukherjee).
Regarding claim 1, Dai teaches A method performed by a User Equipment, UE, (Dai Fig. 1 UE 104) for bidirectional timing measurement, the method comprising:
adapting a procedure for performing the bidirectional timing measurement, the procedure adapted according to whether a bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply, wherein the bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply depends on one or more conditions or relations or criteria, the one or more conditions, relations or criteria (Dai para. [0088] and Fig. 3B teaches that signaling exchange between gNB 312 and UE 314 errors are mitigated when “a predetermined threshold” are exceeded)
comprising:
whether uplink timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE [[autonomous]] timing adjustment; (Dai teaches in para. [0094] that UE 406 can adjust transmission of resources based on a time-gap indicated by SRS configuration 412. Para. [0096] teaches that a threshold can be used to set a drift correction reference duration between SRS resource transmissions by the UE 406 to minimize RTT measurement error.)
and
whether a cell for the bidirectional timing measurement is a downlink reference cell for an uplink reference signal transmission for the UE; (Dai para. [0103] teaches that “the threshold may be determined or referenced by a location server” which is a reference cell receiving uplink transmissions from the UE.)
and
using the adapted procedure for performing the bidirectional timing measurement; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that the adapted procedure in use in Fig. 3B wherein drift error are mitigated by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar or exceed a threshold duration:
)
Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing”. which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Dai doesn’t specifically identify an “autonomous timing adjustment”.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee teaches an “autonomous timing adjustment”. (Mukherjee para. [0059] teaches that a UE calculates and applies “an autonomous TA adjustment” based on TA information corresponding to the active SCELL, derived instantaneous time offset between active and dormant SCells, and a new nominal inter-TAG relative time offset parameter, as shown in Fig. 8, in module 854:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Dai and Mukherjee to teach a UE performing an “autonomous timing adjustment”. Each of Dai and Mukherjee are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dai and Mukherjee in order to address increased phase noise associated with new OFDM numerologies introduced in NR operations as taught in Mukherjee para. [0003].
Regarding claim 2, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising, prior to performing the bidirectional timing measurement, receiving a configuration for performing the bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells, (Dai teaches in para. [0094] that the UE receives an SRS configuration 412 that indicates a time-gap for the timing measurements) wherein the bidirectional timing measurement configured based on the configuration comprises one or more of:
a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference; a round trip time for propagation delay compensation; and a timing advance. (Dai teaches in para. [0095] that the configured bidirectional timing measurement is a timing advance.)
Regarding claim 3, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the uplink reference signal comprises a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS. (Dai para. [0095] teaches that an SRS as shown in Fig. 4 element 412 and 414:
.)
Regarding claim 4, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a measurement period requirement indicating a measurement time over which the bidirectional timing measurement is performed. (Dai para. [0037] teaches that the time-gap may be associated with signaling window information that specifies a time duration during which resource set transmission can occur, including an “asynchronous reference signal exchange between a UE an associated gNB. Fig. 6 illustrates a time gap and SRS exchange:
.)
Regarding claim 7, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 the bidirectional timing measurement based in part on timing of a downlink reference signal, wherein the downlink reference signal comprises at least one of: a Positioning Reference Signal, PRS; Channel State Information- Reference Signal, CSI-RS; and Synchronization signal and PBCH block, SSB. (Dai teaches in para. [0057] teaches a DL RS including a positioning reference signal and CSI-RS).
Regarding claim 8, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 wherein, the bidirectional timing measurement comprises a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference measurement; (Dai Figs. 3A and 3B illustrate RX-TX time differences between UE and gNB:
)
and
the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a requirement for a UE Rx- Tx time difference measurement period. (Dai para. [0088] teaches that the “time drift errors can be mitigated or minimized by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar (e.g., periodic” which indicates, in combination with Fig. 3B a time difference measurement period as shown in Equation 5 shown in para. [0089]:
As shown, equation 5 includes a difference calculation).
Regarding claim 9, Dai in view of Mukherjee teaches The method of claim 1 as stated.
Dai does NOT teach further comprising, discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting the bidirectional timing measurement being performed or configured to be performed, the discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement not being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission and based on the uplink transmission timing changing during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee teaches discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting the bidirectional timing measurement being performed or configured to be performed, the discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement not being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission and based on the uplink transmission timing changing during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Mukherjee teaches in para. [0091] “allowing” or “stopping” a UE from applying an autonomous timing advance adjustment on a dormant BWP. The UE has up-to-date information on which cells are downlink reference cells identified as STAG. Fig. 9 illustrates the decision tree for determining the timing adjustment when a dormant cell is in an allocation. As shown, the decision includes performing a UL timing advance for a dormant cell:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Dai and Mukherjee to teach a UE performing an “autonomous timing adjustment”. Each of Dai and Mukherjee are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dai and Mukherjee in order to address increased phase noise associated with new OFDM numerologies introduced in NR operations as taught in Mukherjee para. [0003].
Regarding claim 11, Dai in view of Mukherjee teach The method of claim 1 as stated. Dai teaches wherein the uplink reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal, SRS. (Dai para. [0095] teaches that an SRS as shown in Fig. 4 element 412 and 414, supra.)
the bidirectional timing measurement comprises a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference measurement; (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. ) the bidirectional timing measurement period comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period; and the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement; (Dai para. {0037] teaches that the time-gap may be associated with signaling window information that specifies a time duration during which resource set transmission can occur, including an “asynchronous reference signal exchange between a UE an associated gNB. Fig. 6 illustrates a time gap and SRS exchange:
)
Dai does NOT teach wherein for the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement performed in a cell that is not the downlink reference cell for the SRS transmission, based on the uplink transmission timing changing during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement shall not apply.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee teaches wherein for the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement performed in a cell that is not the downlink reference cell for the SRS transmission, based on the uplink transmission timing changing during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement shall not apply.. (Mukherjee teaches in para. [0091] “not allowing” a UE to apply an autonomous timing advance adjustment on a dormant BWP in block 910 when the allocation does NOT include a UL transmission on a dormant BWP. The UE has up-to-date information on which cells are downlink reference cells identified as STAG. Fig. 9 illustrates the decision tree for determining the timing adjustment when a dormant cell is in an allocation. As shown, the decision can prevent performing a UL timing advance for a dormant cell:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Dai and Mukherjee to teach a UE performing an “autonomous timing adjustment”. Each of Dai and Mukherjee are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dai and Mukherjee in order to address increased phase noise associated with new OFDM numerologies introduced in NR operations as taught in Mukherjee para. [0003].
Regarding claim 14, Dai in view of Mukherjee teaches A method performed by a network node (Dai BS 102, Fig. 1) for bidirectional timing measurement, the method comprising:
configuring a User Equipment, UE, for performing a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
and
receiving one or more bidirectional timing measurements; where a bidirectional timing measurement procedure was adapted according to whether a bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply, wherein whether the bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply depends on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0006] teaches facilitating RTT positioning to improve position estimation accuracy for a UE device. Examiner treats facilitating as adapting a procedure. Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT)
where the conditions or relations or criteria comprise:
whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE [[autonomous]] timing adjustment. (Dai teaches in para. [0094] that UE 406 can adjust transmission of resources based on a time-gap indicated by SRS configuration 412. Para. [0096] teaches that a threshold can be used to set a drift correction reference duration between SRS resource transmissions by the UE 406 to minimize RTT measurement error. )
and
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a downlink reference cell for an uplink reference signal transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing” which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Dai doesn’t specifically identify an “autonomous timing adjustment”.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee teaches an “autonomous timing adjustment”. (Mukherjee para. [0059] teaches that a UE calculates and applies “an autonomous TA adjustment” based on TA information corresponding to the active SCELL, derived instantaneous time offset between active and dormant SCells, and a new nominal inter-TAG relative time offset parameter, as shown in Fig. 8, in module 854:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Dai and Mukherjee to teach a UE performing an “autonomous timing adjustment”. Each of Dai and Mukherjee are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dai and Mukherjee in order to address increased phase noise associated with new OFDM numerologies introduced in NR operations as taught in Mukherjee para. [0003].
Regarding claim 15, Dai teaches The method of claim 14 wherein the bidirectional timing measurement comprises one or more of: a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference; a round trip time for propagation delay compensation; and a timing advance. (Dai teaches in para. [0095] the configured bidirectional timing measurement is a timing advance.)
Regarding claim 16, Dai teaches The method of claim 14 wherein the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a measurement period requirement indicating a measurement time over which the bidirectional timing measurement is performed. (Dai para. [0037] teaches that the time-gap may be associated with signaling window information that specifies a time duration during which resource set transmission can occur, including an “asynchronous reference signal exchange between a UE an associated gNB. Fig. 6 illustrates a time gap and SRS exchange:
.)
Regarding claim 17, Dai teaches The method of claim 14 wherein the uplink reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal, SRS; (Dai para. [0095] teaches that an SRS as shown in Fig. 4 element 412 and 414:, supra. ) the bidirectional timing measurement comprises a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference measurement; the bidirectional timing measurement period comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period; and the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement; (Dai Figs. 3A and 3B illustrate RX-TX time differences between UE and gNB:
)
Dai para. [0088] teaches that the “time drift errors can be mitigated or minimized by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar (e.g., periodic” which indicates, in combination with Fig. 3B a time difference measurement period as shown in Equation 5 shown in para. [0089]:
As shown, equation 5 includes a difference calculation).
and the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement; (Dai para. [0364] teaches the UE may partially change a TA and a transmission timing within a range satisfying a requirement while transmitting a UL RS resource and/or a UL RS resource set from a specific transmission timing/period and transmit/report information about an actually used TA/transmission timing (effective/actual TA or a TA used for UL RS transmission) to the BS/location server/LMF.”)
Regarding claim 26, Dai teaches A User Equipment, UE, (Dai Fig. 4 UE 406) for bidirectional timing measurement, the UE comprising:
processing circuitry; (Dai para. [0101] processor within UE 406)
and
memory (Dai para. [0098] teaches memory within UE 406) storing instructions executable by the processing circuitry, whereby the UE is operable to:
adapt a procedure for performing the bidirectional timing measurement, the procedure adapted according to whether a bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply, wherein whether the bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply depends on one or more conditions or relations or criteria, (Dai para. [0006] teaches facilitating RTT positioning to improve position estimation accuracy for a UE device. Dai para. [0088] and Fig. 3B teaches that signaling exchange between gNB 312 and UE 314 errors are mitigated when “a predetermined threshold” are exceeded) the one or more conditions, relations, or criteria comprising:
whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE [[autonomous timing]] adjustment”. (Dai teaches in para. [0094] that UE 406 can adjust transmission of resources based on a time-gap indicated by SRS configuration 412. Para. [0096] teaches that a threshold can be used to set a drift correction reference duration between SRS resource transmissions by the UE 406 to minimize RTT measurement error. )
and
whether a cell for the bidirectional timing measurement is a downlink reference cell for an uplink reference signal transmission for the UE; and use the adapted procedure for performing the bidirectional timing measurement. (Dai para. [0103] teaches that “the threshold may be determined or referenced by a location server” which is a reference cell receiving uplink transmissions from the UE.)
receive a configuration for performing a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
adapt a bidirectional timing measurement procedure based on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT)
and
use the adapted procedure for performing the configured bidirectional timing measurement; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that the adapted procedure in use in Fig. 3B wherein drift error are mitigated by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar or exceed a threshold duration:
)
where the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise:
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing”. which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Dai doesn’t specifically identify an “autonomous timing adjustment”.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee teaches an “autonomous timing adjustment”. (Mukherjee para. [0059] teaches that a UE calculates and applies “an autonomous TA adjustment” based on TA information corresponding to the active SCELL, derived instantaneous time offset between active and dormant SCells, and a new nominal inter-TAG relative time offset parameter, as shown in Fig. 8, in module 854:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Dai and Mukherjee to teach a UE performing an “autonomous timing adjustment”. Each of Dai and Mukherjee are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dai and Mukherjee in order to address increased phase noise associated with new OFDM numerologies introduced in NR operations as taught in Mukherjee para. [0003].
Regarding claim 28, Dai teaches A network node (Dai teaches gNB 404 shown in Fig. 4) for bidirectional timing measurement, the network node comprising:
processing circuitry; (Dai para. [0098] teaches gNB 404 includes a processor)
and
memory (Dai para. [0098] teaches gNB 404 includes a memory) comprising instructions to cause the network node to perform the steps of:
configure a User Equipment, UE, (Fig. 4 UE 406) for configuring a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
receive one or more bidirectional timing measurements; (Dai para. [0100] teaches transmitting SRS resources based on the configuration information.)
where a bidirectional timing measurement procedure was adapted according to whether a bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply, wherein whether the bidirectional timing measurement requirement shall apply depends on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0006] teaches facilitating RTT positioning to improve position estimation accuracy for a UE device. Examiner treats facilitating as adapting a procedure. Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT)
where the conditions or relations or criteria comprise:
whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE [[autonomous]] timing adjustment. (Dai teaches in para. [0094] that UE 406 can adjust transmission of resources based on a time-gap indicated by SRS configuration 412. Para. [0096] teaches that a threshold can be used to set a drift correction reference duration between SRS resource transmissions by the UE 406 to minimize RTT measurement error. )
and
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0095] that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing” which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Dai doesn’t specifically identify an “autonomous timing adjustment”.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee teaches an “autonomous timing adjustment”. (Mukherjee para. [0059] teaches that a UE calculates and applies “an autonomous TA adjustment” based on TA information corresponding to the active SCELL, derived instantaneous time offset between active and dormant SCells, and a new nominal inter-TAG relative time offset parameter, as shown in Fig. 8, in module 854:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Dai and Mukherjee to teach a UE performing an “autonomous timing adjustment”. Each of Dai and Mukherjee are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Dai and Mukherjee in order to address increased phase noise associated with new OFDM numerologies introduced in NR operations as taught in Mukherjee para. [0003].
Claims 5-6, 10, 12, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of Mukherjee further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20230113784 to Hyunsu Cha et al. (hereinafter Cha).
Regarding claim 5, Dai does NOT specifically teach The method of claim 1 wherein, based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement according to the bidirectional timing measurement requirement regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission, performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement according to the bidirectional timing measurement requirement regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha para. [0319] teaches “deterioration of timing measurement accuracy at the BS may occur according to change in a positioning SRS resource transmission timing due to autonomous TA change of the UE” and the BS is the downlink reference cell. Further, para [0319] teaches that timing advancement with SRS timing measurements are autonomously changed which causes deterioration of timing measurement accuracy. Cha paras. [0359]-[0361] teach that when a DL reception timing of a UE is changed the UE may autonomously change a UL transmission timing, therefore according to embodiments it is necessary to transmit a TA value that the UE actually used for each UL RS and/or transmission timing information to improve timing measurement accuracy. Therefore, the bidirectional timing continues.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 6, Dai in view of Mukherjee teach The method of claim 1 as stated.
Dai does NOT teach wherein, based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement not being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission, whether performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement is according to the bidirectional timing measurement requirement depends on whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement not being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission, whether performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement is according to the bidirectional timing measurement requirement depends on whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha teaches in para. [0360] “when a specific TRP #1 (and/or cell #1/BS #1) receives SRS resource #0 to calculate/acquire a TOA, and a specific TRP #2 (and/or cell #2/BS #2) receives SRS resource #1 to calculate/acquire a TOA, an error may occur in a resultant RTOA value obtained through the two TOAs” due to UE autonomous timing adjustment, requiring reporting of “actually used” TA values. Therefore, the bidirectional timing “requirement” changes due to the downlink reference cell being BS #1 or BS #2 causing errors because the reference cell is different.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 10, Dai in view of Mukherjee teach The method of claim 1 as stated. Dai does NOT teach further comprising performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement in the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement in which the uplink reference signal is configured regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches comprising performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement in a cell in which in which the uplink reference signal is configured regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha para. [0316] teaches that continuing timing measurements “regardless of the uplink transmission timing changes” due to autonomous timing adjustments: “although the UE has received a TA command from the cell/BS/TRP before transmission time #1 of SRS resource #0, the UE may transmit an SRS using a TA updated/changed at transmission time #2 of SRS resource #0. Additionally/alternatively, for example, the UE may transmit SRS resource #0 by autonomously adjusting/changing the TA minutely to a predetermined level or less before transmission time #3”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 12, Dai in view of Mukherjee teach The method of claim 1 as stated. Dai teaches wherein the uplink reference signal comprises a sounding reference signal, SRS; (Dai para. [0095] teaches that an SRS as shown in Fig. 4 element 412 and 414:, supra. ) the bidirectional timing measurement comprises a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference measurement; the bidirectional timing measurement period comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period; and the bidirectional timing measurement requirement comprises a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement; (Dai Figs. 3A and 3B illustrate RX-TX time differences between UE and gNB:
)
Dai para. [0088] teaches that the “time drift errors can be mitigated or minimized by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar (e.g., periodic” which indicates, in combination with Fig. 3B a time difference measurement period as shown in Equation 5 shown in para. [0089]:
As shown, equation 5 includes a difference calculation)
Dai does NOT teach wherein for the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement performed in the cell that is the downlink reference cell for the SRS transmission, the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement shall apply regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches wherein for the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement performed in the cell that is the downlink reference cell for the SRS transmission, the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period requirement shall apply regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha para. [0319] teaches that “deterioration of timing measurement accuracy at the BS may occur according to change in a positioning SRS resource transmission timing due to autonomous TA change of the UE.” Cha para. [0371] teaches in Option #2 that “the UE may report the fact that the UE has used a configured/indicated TA value without change to the B S/location server/LMF. For example, a 1-bit signal indicating this may be introduced. For example, the 1-bit signal being a first value (0 or 1) may be mapped to the case in which the configured/indicated TA value has been used without change (and/or has been used with change), and the 1-bit signal being a second value (1 or 0) may be mapped to the case in which the configured/indicated TA value has been used with change (and/or has been used without change)”. The indication that it “has been used with change” teaches “regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes”. Cha further teaches Rx-Tx timing differences are used for timing advance in para. [0244] “TADV Type 2=ng-eNB RX-TX time difference.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 13, Dai in view of Mukherjee teach The method of claim 1 as stated.
Dai does NOT teach wherein based on the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, the measurement is restarted.
In the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches wherein if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, the measurement is restarted. (Cha teaches in paras. [0359]-[0361] teaches that the UE may report/transmit a TA value that “the UE has actually used” if the UE autonomously changed the UL transmission timing. Examiner interprets the additional reporting as a “restart” of the measurement since it is a second “update” of a TA.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 18, Dai in view of Mukherjee teach The method of claim 14 as stated.
Dai teaches wherein, the bidirectional timing measurement procedure was adapted such that based on the cell for the bidirectional timing measurement being the downlink reference cell for the uplink reference signal transmission, (Dai para. [0006] teaches facilitating RTT positioning to improve position estimation accuracy for a UE device. Examiner treats facilitating as adapting a procedure. Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT. Dai para. [0088] and Fig. 3B teaches that signaling exchange between gNB 312 and UE 314 errors are mitigated when “a predetermined threshold” are exceeded)
Dai does NOT teach the UE performed or continued performing the bidirectional timing measurement according to the bidirectional timing measurement requirement regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changed during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor, Cha teaches the UE performed or continued performing the bidirectional timing measurement according to the bidirectional timing measurement requirement regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changed during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha teaches in para. [0319] teaches timing advancement with SRS timing measurements that are autonomously changed which causes deterioration of timing measurement accuracy. Cha paras. [0359]-[0361] teach that when a DL reception timing of a UE is changed the UE may autonomously change a UL transmission timing, therefore according to embodiments it is necessary to transmit a TA value that the UE actually used for each UL RS and/or transmission timing information to improve timing measurement accuracy regardless of the UE autonomous timing changes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #100-e , R4-214459 Electronic Meeting, 16-27 August, 2021, which was uploaded to the 3GPP server on August 6, 2021, teaches on page 1, 2nd paragraph, “Since the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement is the difference between UE Rx-Tx timing, therefore there is so reason to prevent the UE from abandoning the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement due to the autonomous timing adjustment during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412