DETAILED ACTION
This paper is responsive to the application filed February 15, 2024 which claims priority to provisional application 63/234,141 filed August 17, 2021.
Claims 1-18, 26 and 28 are pending.
Claims 1-14, 16-18, 26 and 28 have been amended by preliminary amendment.
Claims 19-25, 27, and 29 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2024 was submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 14-16, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. US 20240057026 to Jing Dai et al. (hereinafter Dai).
Regarding claim 1, Dai teaches A method performed by a User Equipment, UE, (Dai Fig. 1 UE 104) for bidirectional timing measurement, the method comprising:
receiving a configuration for performing a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
adapting a bidirectional timing measurement procedure based on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT)
and
using the adapted procedure for performing the configured bidirectional timing measurement; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that the adapted procedure in use in Fig. 3B wherein drift error are mitigated by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar or exceed a threshold duration:
)
where the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise: whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing”. which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Regarding claim 2, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the configured bidirectional timing measurement comprises one or more of:
a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference; a round trip time for propagation delay compensation; and a timing advance. (Dai teaches in para. [0095] the configured bidirectional timing measurement is a timing advance.)
Regarding claim 3, Dai teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise:
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, transmission for the UE. (Dai para. [0095] teaches that an SRS as shown in Fig. 4 element 412 and 414:
.)
Regarding claim 7, Dai teaches The method of claim 4 wherein the UL RS comprises the SRS and the DL RS comprises at least one of: a Positioning Reference Signal, PRS; Channel State Information- Reference Signal, CSI-RS; and Synchronization signal and PBCH block, SSB. (Dai teaches in para. [0057] teaches a DL RS including a positioning reference signal and CSI-RS).
Regarding claim 14, Dai teaches A method performed by a network node (Dai BS 102, Fig. 1) for bidirectional timing measurement, the method comprising:
configuring a User Equipment, UE, for performing a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
receiving one or more bidirectional timing measurements;
where a bidirectional timing measurement procedure was adapted based on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT)
where the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise:
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing”. which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Regarding claim 15, Dai teaches The method of claim 14 wherein the bidirectional timing measurement comprises one or more of: a UE Receive-Transmit, Rx-Tx, time difference; a round trip time for propagation delay compensation; and a timing advance. (Dai teaches in para. [0095] the configured bidirectional timing measurement is a timing advance.)
Regarding claim 16, Dai teaches The method of claim 14 wherein the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise: whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for a Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, transmission for the UE. (Dai para. [0095] teaches that an SRS as shown in Fig. 4 element 412 and 414:
.)
Regarding claim 26, Dai teaches A User Equipment, UE, (Dai Fig. 4 UE 406) for bidirectional timing measurement, the UE comprising:
processing circuitry; (Dai para. [0101] processor within UE 406)
and
memory (Dai para. [0098] teaches memory within UE 406) storing instructions executable by the processing circuitry, whereby the UE is operable to:
receive a configuration for performing a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
adapt a bidirectional timing measurement procedure based on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that time drift errors, which is a condition, may be mitigated by adapting the timing measurement procedure, RTT)
and
use the adapted procedure for performing the configured bidirectional timing measurement; (Dai para. [0088] teaches that the adapted procedure in use in Fig. 3B wherein drift error are mitigated by ensuring that Rx-Tx time-gaps are either substantially similar or exceed a threshold duration:
)
where the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise:
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing”. which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Regarding claim 28, Dai teaches A network node (Dai teaches gNB 404 shown in Fig. 4) for bidirectional timing measurement, the network node comprising:
processing circuitry; (Dai para. [0098] teaches gNB 404 includes a processor)
and
memory (Dai para. [0098] teaches gNB 404 includes a memory) comprising instructions to cause the network node to perform the steps of:
configure a User Equipment, UE, (Fig. 4 UE 406) for configuring a bidirectional timing measurement on one or more cells; (Dai para. [0197] and [0010] teach a UE receiving resource configuration information for facilitating round trip (RTT) time positioning)
receive one or more bidirectional timing measurements; (Dai para. [0100] teaches transmitting SRS resources based on the configuration information.)
where a bidirectional timing measurement procedure was adapted based on one or more conditions or relations or criteria; (Dai para. [0100] teaches that the SRS resources transmitted are based “on the time gap indicated by the resource configuration information.”)
where the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise:
whether the one or more cells for the bidirectional timing measurement is a Downlink, DL, reference cell for an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, transmission for the UE. (Dai teaches in para. [0090] that the criteria for triggering measurement adaptation, clock-drift error, includes a bidirectional timing measurement, “when Rx-Tx time-gaps are unequal” for “SRS signaling sets”. Dai para. [0095] teaches that the bidirectional timing measurement may also include “at least one Timing Advance (TA) command wherein the UE uses the TA command to determine an NTA offset parameter “between downlink and uplink timing”. which Examiner maps to a DL reference cell for an Uplink, UL Reference Signal, RS for the UE.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 8-13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai in view of US Pat. Pub. 20230113784 to Hyunsu Cha et al. (hereinafter Cha).
Regarding claim 4, Dai in view of Cha teaches The method of claim 1 wherein the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise one or more of:
whether or not, both an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement operate in a UE's DL reference cell; (Dai teaches that both an UL RS and DL RS perform the TA and operate in the DL reference cell as illustrated in Fig. 3B above)
and
Dai does NOT teach whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE autonomous timing adjustment (Cha teaches in para. [0316] a timing advance that changes during measurement due to autonomous timing adjustments during the timing period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 5, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 wherein, if both the UL RS and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement operate in the UE's DL reference cell, then the UE performs or continues performing the bidirectional timing measurement regardless of whether the UE's uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches if both the UL RS and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement operate in the UE's DL reference cell, then the UE performs or continues performing the bidirectional timing measurement regardless of whether the UE's uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.(Cha para. [0319] teaches timing advancement with SRS timing measurements that are autonomously changed which causes deterioration of timing measurement accuracy. Cha paras. [0359]-[0361] teach that when a DL reception timing of a UE is changed the UE may autonomously change a UL transmission timing, therefore according to embodiments it is necessary to transmit a TA value that the UE actually used for each UL RS and/or transmission timing information to improve timing measurement accuracy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 6, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 wherein, if both the UL RS and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement do not operate in the UE's DL reference cell, then whether the UE performs or continues performing the bidirectional timing measurement depends on whether the UE's uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches if both the UL RS and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement do not operate in the UE's DL reference cell, then whether the UE performs or continues performing the bidirectional timing measurement depends on whether the UE's uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha teaches in para. [0360] “when a specific TRP #1 (and/or cell #1/BS #1) receives SRS resource #0 to calculate/acquire a TOA, and a specific TRP #2 (and/or cell #2/BS) #2) receives SRS resource #1 to calculate/acquire a TOA, an error may occur in a resultant RTOA value obtained through the two TOAs” due to UE autonomous timing adjustment, requiring reporting of “actually used” TA values.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 8, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 wherein, if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting the bidirectional timing measurement.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting the bidirectional timing measurement. (Cha teaches in para. [0319] teaches that there is a deterioration of timing measurement accuracy due to a change in positioning SRS resource transmission timing due to autonomous TA change in the UE. Cha para. [0320] teaches “changing” the autonomous periodic timing of the transmission by the UE or abandoning the autonomous timing adjustment and using a “used TA value” instead.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 9, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 further comprising, discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting the bidirectional timing measurement being performed or configured to be performed in a cell in which the SRS is not configured if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches discarding, stopping, abandoning, postponing, or restarting the bidirectional timing measurement being performed or configured to be performed in a cell in which the SRS is not configured if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha teaches in para. [0319] teaches that there is a deterioration of timing measurement accuracy due to a change in positioning SRS resource transmission timing due to autonomous TA change in the UE. Cha para. [0320] teaches “changing” the autonomous periodic timing of the transmission by the UE or abandoning the autonomous timing adjustment and using a “used TA value” instead by “the UE using a constant TA window when an SRS resource for UE positioning is transmitted”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 10, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 further comprising performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement in a cell in which the SRS is configured regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches comprising performing or continuing performing the bidirectional timing measurement in a cell in which the SRS is configured regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha para. [0316] teaches that continuing timing measurements “regardless of the uplink transmission timing changes” due to autonomous timing adjustments “although the UE has received a TA command from the cell/BS/TRP before transmission time #1 of SRS resource #0, the UE may transmit an SRS using a TA updated/changed at transmission time #2 of SRS resource #0. Additionally/alternatively, for example, the UE may transmit SRS resource #0 by autonomously adjusting/changing the TA minutely to a predetermined level or less before transmission time #3”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 11, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 wherein a bidirectional timing measurement requirement for the bidirectional timing measurement performed in a cell in which the SRS is not configured shall not apply if the uplink transmission timing changes during a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches wherein a bidirectional timing measurement requirement for the bidirectional timing measurement performed in a cell in which the SRS is not configured shall not apply if the uplink transmission timing changes during a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha para. [0319] teaches that “deterioration of timing measurement accuracy at the BS may occur according to change in a positioning SRS resource transmission timing due to autonomous TA change of the UE.” Cha para. [0371] teaches in Option #1 that “the UE may report nothing to the BS related to a TA or transmission timing”. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 12, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 wherein the bidirectional timing measurement requirement for the bidirectional timing measurement performed in a cell in which the SRS is configured shall apply regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches wherein the bidirectional timing measurement requirement for the bidirectional timing measurement performed in a cell in which the SRS is configured shall apply regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes during the UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha para. [0319] teaches that “deterioration of timing measurement accuracy at the BS may occur according to change in a positioning SRS resource transmission timing due to autonomous TA change of the UE.” Cha para. [0371] teaches in Option #2 that “the UE may report the fact that the UE has used a configured/indicated TA value without change to the B S/location server/LMF. For example, a 1-bit signal indicating this may be introduced. For example, the 1-bit signal being a first value (0 or 1) may be mapped to the case in which the configured/indicated TA value has been used without change (and/or has been used with change), and the 1-bit signal being a second value (1 or 0) may be mapped to the case in which the configured/indicated TA value has been used with change (and/or has been used without change)”. The indication that it “has been used with change” teaches “regardless of whether the uplink transmission timing changes”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 13, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 1 wherein if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, the measurement is restarted.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches wherein if the uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment, the measurement is restarted. (Cha teaches in paras. [0359]-[0361] teaches that the UE may report/transmit a TA value that “the UE has actually used” if the UE autonomously changed the UL transmission timing. Examiner interprets the additional reporting as a “restart” of the measurement since it is a second “update” of a TA.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 17, Dai in view of Cha teaches The method of claim 14 wherein the conditions or relations or criteria triggering the measurement adaption comprise one or more of:
whether or not both an Uplink, UL, Reference Signal, RS, and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement operate in a UE's DL reference cell; (Dai teaches that both an UL RS and DL RS perform the TA and operate in the DL reference cell as illustrated in Fig. 3B above)
and
Dai does NOT teach whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches whether uplink transmission timing changes during a bidirectional timing measurement period due to a UE autonomous timing adjustment (Cha teaches in para. [0316] a timing advance that changes during measurement due to autonomous timing adjustments during the timing period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Regarding claim 18, Dai does NOT teach The method of claim 14 wherein, if both the UL RS and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement operate in the UE's DL reference cell, then the UE performs or continues performing the bidirectional timing measurement regardless of whether the UE's uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment.
In the analogous art of 3GPP NR wireless communications, Cha teaches wherein, if both the UL RS and the DL RS configured for performing the bidirectional timing measurement operate in the UE's DL reference cell, then the UE performs or continues performing the bidirectional timing measurement regardless of whether the UE's uplink transmission timing changes during the bidirectional timing measurement period due to the UE autonomous timing adjustment. (Cha teaches in para. [0319] teaches timing advancement with SRS timing measurements that are autonomously changed which causes deterioration of timing measurement accuracy. Cha paras. [0359]-[0361] teach that when a DL reception timing of a UE is changed the UE may autonomously change a UL transmission timing, therefore according to embodiments it is necessary to transmit a TA value that the UE actually used for each UL RS and/or transmission timing information to improve timing measurement accuracy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Dai and Cha prior to the effective date of the invention. Each of Dai and Cha are in the field of timing advance and SRS measurements between UE and base station nodes. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Cha with Dai in order to improve positioning accuracy and timing measurement accuracy as well as miscommunications during transmission timing as taught in Cha paras. [0049]-[0052].
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412