DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because rather than a stand-alone abstract, the submission contains the first page of the WIPO publication. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1 through 6 are greyscale rather than black and figures 3, 4, and 5 are illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 24, as currently written, is a dependent claim to Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method claim, claim 24 is written as an apparatus claim. It is unclear whether applicant regards the invention as a method or an apparatus.
Claims 1-6, 8-17, 19-21, and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: clarification as to what exactly a radio unit or digital unit are. Limitations of the specification can not be imported into the claim, and as currently written claim language leads to the understanding that the RU and DU are separate entities analogous with a wireless device and a base station of sorts. Given that these terms are not standard in the field of wireless communications, it should be clarified whether they are separate entities in the claim language as read under the broadest reasonable interpretation or whether they are analogous to a processor and a transceiver within a single unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17, 19-21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 20200100179 A1) Hereafter Zhou.
Regarding Claim 1:
Zhou discloses:
A method performed by a Digital Unit, DU, for reducing the power consumption of a Radio Unit, RU, wherein the RU and the DU cooperate to provide radio services, the method comprising: obtaining a power saving solution which is based on at least internal information of the RU and internal information of the DU; sending the power saving solution to the RU in order for the RU to execute one or more corresponding Energy Efficiency, EE, functionalities based on the power saving solution;([¶0299] A base station may transmit a command (e.g., DCI or a MAC CE) indicating a power saving operation configuration of a plurality of power saving operation configurations that will be activated. The command may indicate a cell, of a plurality of cells, where the power saving operation configuration is activated. A wireless device may apply parameters of the power saving operation configuration on the cell indicated by the command, for example, based on receiving the command. ) and performing related power saving processing, in response to an acknowledgement for the power saving solution from the RU. ([¶0299] The wireless device, based on the parameters, may reduce/increase PDCCH monitoring duration, stop/perform uplink transmission, therefore improve power consumption, or data transmission latency.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the power saving solution includes the following items: a trigger condition, a starting time, a duration, and EE function(s) to be performed. ([¶0304] The base station 2802 may trigger the wireless device 2804 (e.g., using one or more messages, such as DCI messages and/or MAC CE messages) to switch to a power saving mode (or a power efficient mode) from the normal access mode. [¶0313] The power saving timer value may indicate a duration for which the power saving operation may apply.[¶0343] The configuration parameters of the first power saving configuration comprise at least one of a periodicity of the power saving channel, a duration of the power saving channel, a number of resource blocks in a frequency domain, a bandwidth part indicator indicating a bandwidth of the cell, a search space set, or a control resource set. )
Regarding Claim 3:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the power saving solution includes the following items: a trigger condition, a starting time, a duration, one or more domains in a plurality of domains to which EE functionalities belong, and one or more domain indicators respectively corresponding to the one or more domains. ([¶0304] The base station 2802 may trigger the wireless device 2804 (e.g., using one or more messages, such as DCI messages and/or MAC CE messages) to switch to a power saving mode (or a power efficient mode) from the normal access mode. [¶0313] The power saving timer value may indicate a duration for which the power saving operation may apply.[¶0343] The configuration parameters of the first power saving configuration comprise at least one of a periodicity of the power saving channel, a duration of the power saving channel, a number of resource blocks in a frequency domain, a bandwidth part indicator indicating a bandwidth of the cell, a search space set, or a control resource set. )
Regarding Claim 4:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of domains include a time domain, a frequency domain, a space domain, and an amplitude domain. ([¶0343] The configuration parameters of the first power saving configuration comprise at least one of a periodicity of the power saving channel, a duration of the power saving channel, a number of resource blocks in a frequency domain, a bandwidth part indicator indicating a bandwidth of the cell, a search space set, or a control resource set.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the power saving solution is obtained: receiving one or more power saving strategies from the RU; and generating the power saving solution based on the one or more power saving strategies, the internal information of the DU, and higher layer information; or receiving the internal information of the RU from the RU and generating the power saving solution based on the internal information of the RU, the internal information of the DU, and higher layer information. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the power saving solution is obtained by the following steps: sending the internal information of the DU to the RU; receiving one or more power saving strategies from the RU; approving one power saving strategy from the one or more power saving strategies as the power saving solution. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.[¶0320] The wireless device may ignore the activation/deactivation command by not applying the power saving operation configuration)
Regarding Claim 8:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the acknowledgement includes a power saving solution with a conflict being resolved from the RU. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.[¶0320] The wireless device may ignore the activation/deactivation command by not applying the power saving operation configuration)
Regarding Claim 9:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the internal information of the RU includes one or more of: temperature, humidity, RU fault, aging, VSWR, power consumption, HW configuration, SW configuration, carrier configuration, connection configuration, and traffic mode. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the internal information of the DU includes one or more of: network KPI, and QoS. ([¶0305] The one or more indicators may comprise at least one of: an indicator of a power saving operation configuration of a plurality of power saving operation configurations that is triggered (or activated/enabled), and one or more parameters (e.g., QoS, and/or traffic type) of a service of the wireless device 2804.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the higher layer information includes one or more of: cell load, network performance and restrictions of scheduling strategy. ([¶0484] The disclosed mechanisms herein may be performed if certain criteria are met, for example, in a wireless device, a base station, a radio environment, a network, a combination of the above, and/or the like. Example criteria may be based on, for example, wireless device and/or network node configurations, traffic load, initial system set up, packet sizes, traffic characteristics, a combination of the above, and/or the like. If the one or more criteria are met, various examples may be used. It may be possible to implement examples that selectively implement disclosed protocols.)
Regarding Claim 12:
Zhou discloses:
A method performed by a RU for reducing power consumption of the RU, wherein the RU and a DU cooperate to provide radio services, the method comprising: receiving, from the DU, a power saving solution which is based on at least internal information of the RU and internal information of the DU; ([¶0299] A base station may transmit a command (e.g., DCI or a MAC CE) indicating a power saving operation configuration of a plurality of power saving operation configurations that will be activated. The command may indicate a cell, of a plurality of cells, where the power saving operation configuration is activated. A wireless device may apply parameters of the power saving operation configuration on the cell indicated by the command, for example, based on receiving the command. ) sending an acknowledgement for the power saving solution to the DU; ([¶0320] The wireless device may perform the one or more uplink transmissions, for example, after or in response to receiving a power saving signal.) and executing one or more corresponding EE functionalities based on the power saving solution. ([¶0299] The wireless device, based on the parameters, may reduce/increase PDCCH monitoring duration, stop/perform uplink transmission, therefore improve power consumption, or data transmission latency.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the power saving solution includes the following items: a trigger condition, a start time, a duration, and EE function(s) to be performed. ([¶0304] The base station 2802 may trigger the wireless device 2804 (e.g., using one or more messages, such as DCI messages and/or MAC CE messages) to switch to a power saving mode (or a power efficient mode) from the normal access mode. [¶0313] The power saving timer value may indicate a duration for which the power saving operation may apply.[¶0343] The configuration parameters of the first power saving configuration comprise at least one of a periodicity of the power saving channel, a duration of the power saving channel, a number of resource blocks in a frequency domain, a bandwidth part indicator indicating a bandwidth of the cell, a search space set, or a control resource set. )
Regarding Claim 14:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the power saving solution includes the following items: a trigger condition, a starting time, a duration, one or more domains in a plurality of domains to which EE functionalities belong, and one or more domain indicators respectively corresponding to the one or more domains. ([¶0304] The base station 2802 may trigger the wireless device 2804 (e.g., using one or more messages, such as DCI messages and/or MAC CE messages) to switch to a power saving mode (or a power efficient mode) from the normal access mode. [¶0313] The power saving timer value may indicate a duration for which the power saving operation may apply.[¶0343] The configuration parameters of the first power saving configuration comprise at least one of a periodicity of the power saving channel, a duration of the power saving channel, a number of resource blocks in a frequency domain, a bandwidth part indicator indicating a bandwidth of the cell, a search space set, or a control resource set. )
Regarding Claim 15:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the plurality of domains include a time domain, a frequency domain, a space domain, and an amplitude domain. ([¶0343] The configuration parameters of the first power saving configuration comprise at least one of a periodicity of the power saving channel, a duration of the power saving channel, a number of resource blocks in a frequency domain, a bandwidth part indicator indicating a bandwidth of the cell, a search space set, or a control resource set.)
Regarding Claim 16:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the method, before receiving the power saving solution, further comprises the following steps: generating one or more power saving strategies based on the internal information of the RU; and sending the one or more power saving strategies to the DU, or sending the internal information of the RU to the DU. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the method, before receiving the power saving solution, further comprises: receiving the internal information of the DU from the DU; generating one or more power saving strategies based on the internal information of the DU and the internal information of the RU; and sending the one or more power saving strategies to the DU for approval by the DU. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.[¶0320] The wireless device may ignore the activation/deactivation command by not applying the power saving operation configuration)
Regarding Claim 19:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein if the RU detects a conflict between the power saving solution and power saving solution(s) from one or more other DUs, the acknowledgement includes a power saving solution in which the RU resolves the conflict. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.[¶0320] The wireless device may ignore the activation/deactivation command by not applying the power saving operation configuration)
Regarding Claim 20:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the internal information of the RU includes one or more of: temperature, humidity, RU fault, aging, VSWR, power consumption, HW configuration, SW configuration, carrier configuration, connection configuration, and traffic mode. ([¶0342] The wireless device may receive one or more first messages comprising information (e.g., configuration parameters) associated with a plurality of power saving configurations of a cell of a plurality of cells. The wireless device may receive a second message comprising: a first field that indicates a first power saving configuration of the plurality of power saving configurations, and a second field that indicates the cell. The wireless device may monitor, based on the first power saving configuration, a power saving channel. The wireless device may receive, via the power saving channel, a wake-up indication. The wireless device may monitor, based on the receiving the wake-up indication, a downlink control channel of the cell.)
Regarding Claim 21:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
wherein the internal information of the DU includes one or more of: network KPI, and QoS. ([¶0305] The one or more indicators may comprise at least one of: an indicator of a power saving operation configuration of a plurality of power saving operation configurations that is triggered (or activated/enabled), and one or more parameters (e.g., QoS, and/or traffic type) of a service of the wireless device 2804.)
Regarding Claim 24:
Zhou discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Zhou discloses:
A RU for reducing power consumption of the RU, wherein the RU and a DU cooperate to provide radio services, the RU including: processing circuitry; and a memory, having stored instructions that, when executed by the processor processing circuitry, cause the RU to perform the method according to claim 12. ([¶0344] Systems, devices and media may be configured with the method. A computing device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the computing device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements. A system may comprise a first computing device configured to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements; and a second computing device configured to send the one or more first messages. A computer-readable medium may store instructions that, when executed, cause performance of the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements.)
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463