DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102A1 as being anticipated by Byrne (US Pub. No. 2007/0063522).
Regarding claim 1, the Byrne reference discloses a clamp (3) for use in a lifting assembly (Fig. 1) comprising a coupling element (1) with at least one rope (2) with an eye (5), wherein said clamp comprising:
a first body member (9) and
a second body member (10),
which the first and second body members each comprises a respective receiving portion (11,12), wherein the first and second body members are attached to each other by an attachment arrangement (e.g. at 23,24) such that the receiving portions form a through passage (17),
wherein the first body member further comprises a hook element (14) being adapted to receive and hold the eye of the rope when the rope extends through the eye to form a loop, and through the through passage of the clamp (Fig. 2),
wherein said attachment arrangement comprises:
a first and a second hole (25,26) arranged in said respective receiving portion (Fig. 3), and
a coupling element (30) arranged to pass through said first and second holes thereby attaching the receiving portions to each other (Figs. 3,4), and arranged to be attached to the first body member when the receiving portions are separated from each other (e.g. at least when nut 32 is partially unthreaded).
Regarding claim 6, the Byrne reference discloses said first and second holes are displaced in relation to each other (e.g. the holes do not lay in the same plane).
Regarding claim 8, the Byrne reference discloses the hook element protrudes with respect to the body parts (Figs. 2-4), and wherein the hook element has a curved shape that is adapted for holding the eye (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the Byrne reference discloses the hook element has an open side (open side of 14) for applying the eye of the rope on the hook element (Figs. 2-4), and wherein the rope, when extending through the passage of the clamp, confines the eye of the rope received in the hook element (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, the Byrne reference discloses the closed side of the hook element is provided with a reinforcement part (e.g. portion of 14 connected to 15).
Regarding claim 11, the Byrne reference discloses the clamp of claim 1 being used in a lifting assembly (Figs. 1,2).
Regarding claim 12, the Byrne reference, discloses the clamp of claim 1 holding a rope (Figs. 1,2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne.
Regarding claim 2, the Byrne reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1.
However, the Byrne reference fails to explicitly disclose said coupling element has have a first part with a first diameter, and a second part with a second diameter, wherein said first diameter is larger than said second diameter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the diameters of different size, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and in order to ensure proper installation. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, the Byrne reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the diameter of said first part of the coupling element substantially corresponds to the diameter of the first hole (Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, the Byrne reference, as modified in claim 2, discloses the diameter of the first and second holes are equal to each other (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, the Byrne reference, as modified in claim 1, discloses one of said first and second holes is elongated (Fig. 3, e.g. there is a depth to the hole).
Regarding claim 7, the Byrne reference discloses said coupling element is a bolt provided with threads and a head (31).
However, the Byrne reference fails to explicitly disclose said first and second holes are provided with corresponding threads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide threads to the holes of the Byrne reference in order to ensure a tight engagement of the elements.
Conclusion
/GILBERT Y LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675