DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment to claim 8 overcome the claim objection to claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20190230556 A1) in view of 3GPP (Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; 5G System; Network Function Repository Services; Stage 3 (Release 17), TS 29.510 V17.2.0), provided by IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method performed by a Network Function, NF, comprising:
sending, to another network function, information that indicates for a particular NF service instance associated with the NF. ([0006]-[0008]: receiving, by a network function repository function (NRF) (e.g., the other network function), a registration request from a management system in response to deploying of a new NF instance; adding, by the NRF, an NF profile of the new NF instance in response to the registration request. The NF profile may include at least one of an NF instance ID, an NF type, a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) or an Internet protocol (IP) address of an NF, a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID, a network slice related identifier, NF capacity information, NF specific service authorization information, identification of stored information, names of supported services, and endpoint information of instance of each supported service. [0512]-[0513]: The NF profile may be registered/updated/deregistered to the NRF by two different types of 3GPP entities: The NF instance itself and NF instance lifecycle management entity.)
Lee does not explicitly disclose the information indicates whether a particular type of authorization is required for each of a plurality of Public Land Mobile Networks, PLMNs, such that the authorization requirement for the particular NF service instance is dependent on the PLMN.
However, 3GPP teaches the information indicates whether a particular type of authorization is required for each of a plurality of Public Land Mobile Networks, PLMNs, such that the authorization requirement for the particular NF service instance is dependent on the PLMN. (Pages 67-73: NF profile includes nfInstanceID, plmnList, allowedPlmns, nfServices, nfServiceList, etc. A NF may register multiple PLMN IDs in its profile within a PLMN comprising multiple PLMN IDs (e.g., plmnList). allowedPlmns is a list of PLMNs allowed to access the NF instance. nfServices is a list of NF service instances includes the services produced by the NF that can be discovered by other NFs. nfServiceList is a map of NF service instances using “serviceInstanceID” attribute of the NFService object. Pages 74-77: NF service object is a part of the NF profile which is nested inside the main NF profile. NF service object includes serviceInstanceID, serviceName, allowedPlmns, oauth2Required, etc. The NF service object is mapped by the NF profile and defines what PLMNs are allowed to access the service instance and whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Lee. One would have been motivated to do so because 3GPP defines the global standards for 5G networks, ensuring compatibility and interoperability between different devices and operators worldwide. The 3GPP technical specifications are used worldwide.
Regarding claim 2, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 1.
Lee teaches wherein the other network function is a Network Repository Function, NRF. ([0006]-[0008]: receiving, by a network function repository function (NRF) (e.g., the other network function), a registration request from a management system in response to deploying of a new NF instance.)
Regarding claim 3, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 1.
Lee teaches wherein the information is comprised in a NF profile of the NF. ([0006]-[0008]: receiving, by a network function repository function (NRF) (e.g., the other network function), a registration request from a management system in response to deploying of a new NF instance; adding, by the NRF, an NF profile of the new NF instance in response to the registration request.)
Regarding claim 4, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 1.
3GPP teaches wherein the information is comprised in a NF Service object that is comprised in a NF profile of the NF. (Page 70: nfServiceList : map(NFService) - Map of NF Service Instances, where the “serviceInstancedId” attribute of the NF Service object shall be used as the key of the map.)
Regarding claim 5, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 4.
Lee teaches wherein sending the information comprises sending a NF profile of the NF to the other network node. ([0006]-[0008])
3GPP teaches wherein the NF profile comprises a list of NF Service objects for respective NF service instances associated with the NF and the information is comprised in the NF Service object for the particular NF service instance. (Page 70: nfServiceList : map(NFService) - Map of NF Service Instances, where the “serviceInstancedId” attribute of the NF Service object shall be used as the key of the map.)
Regarding claim 6, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 4.
3GPP teaches wherein the information is comprised in a new attribute of the NF Service object, where the new attribute indicates whether the particular NF service instance requires specific authorization per consumer PLMN ID and/or producer PLMN ID. (Pages 74-77: NF service object is a part of the NF profile which is nested inside the main NF profile. NF service object includes serviceInstanceID, serviceName, allowedPlmns, oauth2Required, etc. The NF service object is mapped by the NF profile and defines what PLMNs are allowed to access the service instance and whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
wherein the specific authorization is Oauth2-based authorization. (Page 76: oauth2Required – It indicates whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
Regarding claim 7, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 1.
3GPP teaches wherein the particular type of authorization is Oauth2-based authorization. (Page 76: oauth2Required – It indicates whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
Regarding claim 8, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 1.
Lee teaches receiving, from a NF service consumer, a service request for the particular NF service instance. ([0473]-[0475]: an NF service consumer may intend to discover services available in a network based on a service name and a target NF type. The NF service consumer may invoke Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request (e.g., expected NF service name, NF type of the expected NF instance, NF type of the NF consumer) from an appropriate configured NRF in the same PLMN.)
Lee does not explicitly disclose determining which of two or more authorization mechanisms to use for the NF service consumer based on the information that indicates whether the particular type of authorization is required per PLMN for the particular NF service instance and one or more relevant PLMN IDs.
However, 3GPP teaches determining which of two or more authorization mechanisms to use for the NF service consumer based on the information that indicates whether the particular type of authorization is required per PLMN for the particular NF service instance and one or more relevant PLMN IDs. (Section 6.1.8 Security: If Oauth2 authorization is used, an NF Service Consumer, prior to consuming services offered by the Nnrf_NFManagement API, shall obtain a "token" from the authorization server, by invoking the Access Token Request service, as described in clause 5.4.2.2. Pages 74-77: NF service object is a part of the NF profile. NF service object includes serviceInstanceID, serviceName, allowedPlmns, oauth2Required, etc. The NF service object is mapped by the NF profile and defines what PLMNs are allowed to access the service instance and whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
Regarding claim 9, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 8.
3GPP teaches wherein the one or more relevant PLMN IDs comprise a PLMN ID of a PLMN of the NF service consumer and/or a PLMN ID of a PLMN of the particular NF service instance. (Pages 67-73: NF profile includes nfInstanceID, plmnList, allowedPlmns, nfServices, nfServiceList, etc. A NF may register multiple PLMN IDs in its profile within a PLMN comprising multiple PLMN IDs (e.g., plmnList). allowedPlmns is a list of PLMNs allowed to access the NF instance. nfServices is a list of NF service instances includes the services produced by the NF that can be discovered by other NFs. nfServiceList is a map of NF service instances using “serviceInstanceID” attribute of the NFService object.
Regarding claim 10, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 8.
3GPP teaches proceeding with processing the service request based on the determined authorization mechanism. (Section 6.1.8 Security: If Oauth2 authorization is used, an NF Service Consumer, prior to consuming services offered by the Nnrf_NFManagement API, shall obtain a "token" from the authorization server, by invoking the Access Token Request service, as described in clause 5.4.2.2.)
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a method performed by a Network Function, NF, comprising:
receiving, from another network function, information that indicates for a particular NF service instance associated with the NF. ([0006]-[0008]: receiving, by a network function repository function (NRF) (e.g., the other network function), a registration request from a management system in response to deploying of a new NF instance; adding, by the NRF, an NF profile of the new NF instance in response to the registration request. The NF profile may include at least one of an NF instance ID, an NF type, a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) or an Internet protocol (IP) address of an NF, a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID, a network slice related identifier, NF capacity information, NF specific service authorization information, identification of stored information, names of supported services, and endpoint information of instance of each supported service. [0512]-[0513]: The NF profile may be registered/updated/deregistered to the NRF by two different types of 3GPP entities: The NF instance itself and NF instance lifecycle management entity.)
Lee does not explicitly disclose the information indicates whether a particular type of authorization is required for each of a plurality of Public Land Mobile Networks, PLMNs, such that the authorization requirement for the particular NF service instance is dependent on the PLMN.
However, 3GPP teaches the information indicates whether a particular type of authorization is required for each of a plurality of Public Land Mobile Networks, PLMNs, such that the authorization requirement for the particular NF service instance is dependent on the PLMN. (Pages 67-73: NF profile includes nfInstanceID, plmnList, allowedPlmns, nfServices, nfServiceList, etc. A NF may register multiple PLMN IDs in its profile within a PLMN comprising multiple PLMN IDs (e.g., plmnList). allowedPlmns is a list of PLMNs allowed to access the NF instance. nfServices is a list of NF service instances includes the services produced by the NF that can be discovered by other NFs. nfServiceList is a map of NF service instances using “serviceInstanceID” attribute of the NFService object. Pages 74-77: NF service object is a part of the NF profile which is nested inside the main NF profile. NF service object includes serviceInstanceID, serviceName, allowedPlmns, oauth2Required, etc. The NF service object is mapped by the NF profile and defines what PLMNs are allowed to access the service instance and whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include above limitation into Lee. One would have been motivated to do so because 3GPP defines the global standards for 5G networks, ensuring compatibility and interoperability between different devices and operators worldwide. The 3GPP technical specifications are used worldwide.
Same rationales apply to claim 12 (method) because it is substantially similar to claim 2 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 13 (method) because it is substantially similar to claim 3 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 14 (method) because it is substantially similar to claim 4 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 15 (method) because it is substantially similar to claim 5 (method).
Regarding claim 16, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 15.
Lee teaches storing the NF profile. ([0006]: adding, by the NRF, an NF profile of the new NF instance in response to the registration request.)
Same rationales apply to claim 17 (method) because it is substantially similar to claim 6 (method).
Same rationales apply to claim 18 (method) because it is substantially similar to claim 7 (method).
Regarding claim 19, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 11.
Lee teaches storing the information. ([0006]-[0008]: adding, by the NRF, an NF profile of the new NF instance in response to the registration request. The NF profile may include at least one of an NF instance ID, an NF type, a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) or an Internet protocol (IP) address of an NF, a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID, a network slice related identifier, NF capacity information, NF specific service authorization information, identification of stored information, names of supported services, and endpoint information of instance of each supported service.)
Regarding claim 20, Lee and 3GPP teach the method of claim 11.
Lee teaches receiving a discovery request from a NF service consumer; ([0473]: an NF service consumer may intend to discover services available in a network based on a service name and a target NF type. The NF service consumer may invoke Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request (e.g., expected NF service name, NF type of the expected NF instance, NF type of the NF consumer) from an appropriate configured NRF in the same PLMN.)
determining that the particular NF service instance satisfies the discovery request; ([0475]: the NRF may determine whether the NF service consumer is allowed to discover the expected NF instance(s).)
sending a discovery response to the NF service consumer; wherein the discovery response comprises information that indicates the particular authorization requirement for the NF service consumer. ([0476]: if allowed, the NRF may determine the discovered NF instance(s) or NF service instance(s) and may provide information of a set of discovered NF instance(s) or NF service instance(s) to the NF service consumer via an Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request Response message.)
3GPP teaches determining a particular authorization requirement for the NF service consumer based on the information that indicates whether the particular type of authorization is required per PLMN for the particular NF service instance and one or more relevant PLMN IDs. (Pages 67-73: NF profile includes nfInstanceID, plmnList, allowedPlmns, nfServices, nfServiceList, etc. A NF may register multiple PLMN IDs in its profile within a PLMN comprising multiple PLMN IDs (e.g., plmnList). allowedPlmns is a list of PLMNs allowed to access the NF instance. nfServices is a list of NF service instances includes the services produced by the NF that can be discovered by other NFs. nfServiceList is a map of NF service instances using “serviceInstanceID” attribute of the NFService object. Pages 74-77: NF service object is a part of the NF profile. NF service object includes serviceInstanceID, serviceName, allowedPlmns, oauth2Required, etc. The NF service object is mapped by the NF profile and defines what PLMNs are allowed to access the service instance and whether the NF Service Instance requires Oauth2-based authorization.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZI YE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455