DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2026 have been fully considered by examiner and made of record.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 29-52 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 07/08/2026, have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection, as necessitated by amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 33-45, and 47, and 49-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei ("QoE measurement handling at RAN overload", 3GPP TSG RAN Meeting #114-e, R2-2105581, Online, May 19–27, 2021, pp. 1-10.), in view of 3GPP ("3GPP TS 38.331 V16.2.0", 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 16), September 2020, pp. 1-921.).
Regarding Claim 29, Huawei teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) configured for application-layer measurements in a radio access network (RAN) (pg. 1, Title, QoE measurement handling at RAN overload), the method comprising:
receiving one or more configurations of application-layer measurements to be performed by the UE while the UE is connected to the RAN (pg. 1, Sec. 1, Introduction, Specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE, pg. 2, Sec. 2.2, UE is configured with multiple QoE configurations, The UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, it is not released when the UE goes inactive);
in response to an interruption in the UE's connection to the RAN while the UE is configured to perform the application-layer measurements (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Proposal 2: in order to temporarily pause QoE reporting from a UE, e.g. during RAN overload, RAN can send the QoE reporting pause command to the UE in the DL RRC message which indicates QoE configurations for which reporting should be paused, pg. 6, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE and it is not released when the UE goes to Inactive),
receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN (pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, Proposal 4: The target node can indicate whether the UE should restore or release its QoE configuration during RRC resume procedure. Pg. 8, Observation 5, for the management based QoE measurement, during UE handover it is up to the target node to decide whether to keep the UE’s current QoE configuration or configure a new one based on target node’s local configuration); and
in response to the command, releasing the received configurations and discarding any stored application-layer measurement reports (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Huawei fails to teach, in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE (Sec. 5.3.13.1, Fig. 5.3.13.1-2, see also Sec. 5.3.3.4, RRC connection resume fallback to RRC connection establishment, wherein the UE transmits an RRC ResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 and the network responds with an RRC Setup rather than an RRC Resume, after which the UE transmits an RRCSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huawei to employ the RRC connection establishment fallback procedure taught by 3GPP, such that, when resumption or reestablishment of the UE’s existing connection is not performed, the RAN instead sets up a new RRC connection, so as to maintain RRC connectivity when the requested resume or reestablishment procedure is not performed.
Regarding Claim 33, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 29, Huawei further teaches wherein receiving the command implicitly indicates that the UE should release the received configurations and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports (pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE).
Regarding Claim 34, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 29, Huawei further teaches wherein one of the following applies: the one or more configurations are received from a first RAN node, and the request is sent to and the command is received from a second RAN node; or the one or more configurations are received from, the request is sent to, and the command is received from a single RAN node (pgs. 6-7, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, i.e. it is not released when UE goes to Inactive, When the connection is resumed in another gNB, the gNB will find out whether the UE is configured with QoE measurements based on the context it fetches from the anchor node. However, the new gNB may want to release the QoE measurement configuration, e.g. due to RAN overload or because some configurations may be invalid in the new gNB. It should then be possible for the new gNB to decide whether to restore or release the QoE measurement configuration during RRC resume procedure using flag in RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurements should be kept or released).
Regarding Claim 35, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 29, Huawei further teaches wherein the application-layer measurements are quality-of-experience (QoE) measurements (pg. 5, line 3-4, preferred that QoE reports are handled by the application layer).
Regarding Claim 36, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 29, Huawei further teaches wherein: the interruption in the UE's connection to the RAN is based on the UE's connection being suspended to an inactive state; and the request is a request to resume the UE's suspended connection (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Proposal 2: in order to temporarily pause QoE reporting from a UE, e.g. during RAN overload, RAN can send the QoE reporting pause command to the UE in the DL RRC message which indicates QoE configurations for which reporting should be paused, pg. 6, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE and it is not released when the UE goes to Inactive).
Regarding Claim 37, Huawei teaches a method for a radio access network (RAN) node configured to manage application-layer measurements by user equipment (UEs) (pg. 1, Title, QoE measurement handling at RAN overload), the method comprising:
a UE that was previously provided with one or more configurations of application-layer measurements to be performed by the UE while connected to the RAN (pg. 1, Sec. 1, Introduction, Specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE, pg. 2, Sec. 2.2, UE is configured with multiple QoE configurations, pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Proposal 2: in order to temporarily pause QoE reporting from a UE, e.g. during RAN overload, RAN can send the QoE reporting pause command to the UE in the DL RRC message which indicates QoE configurations for which reporting should be paused):
sending the UE a command to setup a new connection to the RAN (pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, Proposal 4: The target node can indicate whether the UE should restore or release its QoE configuration during RRC resume procedure. Pg. 8, Observation 5, for the management based QoE measurement, during UE handover it is up to the target node to decide whether to keep the UE’s current QoE configuration or configure a new one based on target node’s local configuration),
wherein the command implicitly indicates that the UE should release the one or more configurations previously provided to the UE and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Huawei fails to teach, in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE (Sec. 5.3.13.1, Fig. 5.3.13.1-2, see also Sec. 5.3.3.4, RRC connection resume fallback to RRC connection establishment, wherein the UE transmits an RRC ResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 and the network responds with an RRC Setup rather than an RRC Resume, after which the UE transmits an RRCSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huawei to employ the RRC connection establishment fallback procedure taught by 3GPP, such that, when resumption or reestablishment of the UE’s existing connection is not performed, the RAN instead sets up a new RRC connection, so as to maintain RRC connectivity when the requested resume or reestablishment procedure is not performed.
Regarding Claim 38, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 37, Huawei further comprising determining one of the following in response to the request from the UE: a failure occurred during attempted retrieval of a UE context stored in the RAN; or at least a portion of the one or more configurations is undesirable for the RAN node, wherein the command to setup the new connection is sent to the UE in response to the determination (pgs. 6-7, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, i.e. it is not released when UE goes to Inactive, When the connection is resumed in another gNB, the gNB will find out whether the UE is configured with QoE measurements based on the context it fetches from the anchor node. However, the new gNB may want to release the QoE measurement configuration, e.g. due to RAN overload or because some configurations may be invalid in the new gNB. It should then be possible for the new gNB to decide whether to restore or release the QoE measurement configuration during RRC resume procedure using flag in RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurements should be kept or released).
Regarding Claim 39, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 38, Huawei further teaches wherein the failure during attempted retrieval of the UE context is one of the following: the UE context is unavailable to be retrieved; or the RAN node is unable to interpret or understand some portion of the retrieved UE context (pgs. 6-7, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, i.e. it is not released when UE goes to Inactive, When the connection is resumed in another gNB, the gNB will find out whether the UE is configured with QoE measurements based on the context it fetches from the anchor node. However, the new gNB may want to release the QoE measurement configuration, e.g. due to RAN overload or because some configurations may be invalid in the new gNB).
Regarding Claim 40, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 38, Huawei further teaches wherein determining that at least a portion of the one or more configurations is undesirable for the RAN node comprises successfully retrieving the UE context stored in the RAN, wherein the retrieved UE context includes the at least a portion of the one or more configurations (pgs. 6-7, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, i.e. it is not released when UE goes to Inactive, When the connection is resumed in another gNB, the gNB will find out whether the UE is configured with QoE measurements based on the context it fetches from the anchor node. However, the new gNB may want to release the QoE measurement configuration, e.g. due to RAN overload or because some configurations may be invalid in the new gNB. It should then be possible for the new gNB to decide whether to restore or release the QoE measurement configuration during RRC resume procedure using flag in RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurements should be kept or released).
Regarding Claim 41, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 40, Huawei further teaches wherein determining that at least a portion of the one or more configurations is undesirable for the RAN node further comprises determining one or more of the following based on the retrieved UE context: the RAN node does not support one or more features associated with the at least a portion; the RAN node does not have resources available to support the at least a portion; and an area served by the RAN node is not within a measurement area associated with the at least a portion (pgs. 6-7, the new gNB may want to release the QoE measurement configuration, e.g. due to RAN overload or because some configurations may be invalid in the new gNB, pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, RAN may need to release an existing QoE configuration from the UE to address situation where the load in the network is very high or the UE has moved out of the area of QoE measurement).
Regarding Claim 42, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 37, Huawei further teaches wherein: the one or more configurations were provided to the UE by the RAN node (pg. 1, Sec. 1, Introduction, Specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE, pg. 2, Sec. 2.2, UE is configured with multiple QoE configurations, The UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, it is not released when the UE goes inactive, pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, Proposal 4: The target node can indicate whether the UE should restore or release its QoE configuration during RRC resume procedure); and the method further comprises deleting a UE context stored by the RAN node before receiving the request, wherein the stored UE context includes the one or more configurations (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Regarding Claim 43, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 37, Huawei further teaches wherein the one or more configurations were provided to the UE by a further RAN node (UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Regarding Claim 44, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 37, Huawei further teaches wherein the application-layer measurements are quality-of-experience (QoE) measurements (pg. 5, line 3-4, preferred that QoE reports are handled by the application layer).
Regarding Claim 45, Huawei teaches a user equipment (UE) configured for application-layer measurements in a radio access network (RAN) (pg. 1, Title, QoE measurement handling at RAN overload, Sec. 1, specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE), the UE comprising:
communication interface circuitry configured to communicate with one or more RAN nodes; and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the communication interface circuitry (pgs. 6-7, Table 1, considerations of reporting and storing of information between devices implicitly discloses the interfaces and processing circuitry well-known to be part of the disclosed devices), whereby the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to:
receive one or more configurations of application-layer measurements to be performed by the UE while the UE is connected to the RAN (pg. 1, Sec. 1, Introduction, Specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE, pg. 2, Sec. 2.2, UE is configured with multiple QoE configurations, The UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, it is not released when the UE goes inactive);
in response to an interruption in the UE's connection to the RAN while the UE is configured to perform the application-layer measurements (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Proposal 2: in order to temporarily pause QoE reporting from a UE, e.g. during RAN overload, RAN can send the QoE reporting pause command to the UE in the DL RRC message which indicates QoE configurations for which reporting should be paused, pg. 6, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE and it is not released when the UE goes to Inactive),
receive from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN (pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, Proposal 4: The target node can indicate whether the UE should restore or release its QoE configuration during RRC resume procedure. Pg. 8, Observation 5, for the management based QoE measurement, during UE handover it is up to the target node to decide whether to keep the UE’s current QoE configuration or configure a new one based on target node’s local configuration); and
in response to the command, release the received configurations and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Huawei fails to teach, in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE (Sec. 5.3.13.1, Fig. 5.3.13.1-2, see also Sec. 5.3.3.4, RRC connection resume fallback to RRC connection establishment, wherein the UE transmits an RRC ResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 and the network responds with an RRC Setup rather than an RRC Resume, after which the UE transmits an RRCSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huawei to employ the RRC connection establishment fallback procedure taught by 3GPP, such that, when resumption or reestablishment of the UE’s existing connection is not performed, the RAN instead sets up a new RRC connection, so as to maintain RRC connectivity when the requested resume or reestablishment procedure is not performed.
Regarding Claim 47, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 45, Huawei further teaches wherein reception of the command by the processing circuitry and the communication interface implicitly indicates that the UE should release the received configurations and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports (pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE).
Regarding Claim 49, Huawei teaches a radio access network (RAN) node configured to manage application-layer measurements by user equipment (UEs) (pg. 1, Title, QoE measurement handling at RAN overload), the RAN node comprising: communication interface circuitry configured to communicate with UEs and with one or more further RAN nodes; and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the communication interface circuitry (pgs. 6-7, Table 1, considerations of reporting and storing of information between devices implicitly discloses the interfaces and processing circuitry well-known to be part of the disclosed devices), whereby the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to:
a UE that was previously provided with one or more configurations of application-layer measurements to be performed by the UE while connected to the RAN (pg. 1, Sec. 1, Introduction, Specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE, pg. 2, Sec. 2.2, UE is configured with multiple QoE configurations, The UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, it is not released when the UE goes inactive):
send the UE a command to setup a new connection to the RAN (pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, Proposal 4: The target node can indicate whether the UE should restore or release its QoE configuration during RRC resume procedure. Pg. 8, Observation 5, for the management based QoE measurement, during UE handover it is up to the target node to decide whether to keep the UE’s current QoE configuration or configure a new one based on target node’s local configuration),
wherein the command implicitly indicates that the UE should release the one or more configurations previously provided to the UE and discard any stored application-layer measurement reports (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Huawei fails to teach, in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches in response to the request sent to the RAN, receiving from the RAN a command to setup a new connection to the RAN instead of resuming or reestablishing the UE’s connection as requested by the UE (Sec. 5.3.13.1, Fig. 5.3.13.1-2, see also Sec. 5.3.3.4, RRC connection resume fallback to RRC connection establishment, wherein the UE transmits an RRC ResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequest1 and the network responds with an RRC Setup rather than an RRC Resume, after which the UE transmits an RRCSetupComplete).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huawei to employ the RRC connection establishment fallback procedure taught by 3GPP, such that, when resumption or reestablishment of the UE’s existing connection is not performed, the RAN instead sets up a new RRC connection, so as to maintain RRC connectivity when the requested resume or reestablishment procedure is not performed.
Regarding Claim 50, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 49, Huawei further teaches wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured to: determine one of the following in response to the request from the UE: a failure occurred during attempted retrieval of a UE context stored in the RAN; or at least a portion of the one or more configurations is undesirable for the RAN node; and send the command to setup the new connection to the UE in response to the determination (pgs. 6-7, Sec. 3, RAN2 agreed that the UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, i.e. it is not released when UE goes to Inactive, When the connection is resumed in another gNB, the gNB will find out whether the UE is configured with QoE measurements based on the context it fetches from the anchor node. However, the new gNB may want to release the QoE measurement configuration, e.g. due to RAN overload or because some configurations may be invalid in the new gNB. It should then be possible for the new gNB to decide whether to restore or release the QoE measurement configuration during RRC resume procedure using flag in RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurements should be kept or released).
Regarding Claim 51, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 49, Huawei further teaches wherein the one or more configurations were provided to the UE by the RAN node (pg. 1, Sec. 1, Introduction, Specify configuration and reporting for multiple simultaneous QoE measurements at a UE, pg. 2, Sec. 2.2, UE is configured with multiple QoE configurations, The UE Inactive AS context includes the UE AS configuration for the QoE, it is not released when the UE goes inactive, pg. 7, Sec. 3, the gNB could include the flag in the RRC Resume message telling the UE whether the QoE measurement should be kept or released, Proposal 4: The target node can indicate whether the UE should restore or release its QoE configuration during RRC resume procedure), and the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured to delete a UE context stored by the RAN node before receiving the request, wherein the stored UE context includes the one or more configurations (pg. 2, Sec. 2.1, Upon release of a certain QoE configuration, all reporting activity related to this configuration should be stopped by the UE and any unsent reports should be therefore discarded by the UE pg. 8, the target eNB can compare whether the QoE measurement configuration information in the UE is the same as the QoE configuration received from the OAM, if they are different the target eNB can release the QoE measurement of the source eNB and configure a new one).
Claims 30-31 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei ("QoE measurement handling at RAN overload", 3GPP TSG RAN Meeting #114-e, R2-2105581, Online, May 19–27, 2021, pp. 1-10.), 3GPP ("3GPP TS 38.331 V16.2.0", 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 16), September 2020, pp. 1-921.), and further in view of Liu et al (US 2024/0064550).
Regarding Claim 30, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 29, except for each of the received configurations, initiating a timer associated with the configuration in response to one of the following: receiving the configuration, receiving the command, or sending to the RAN an application-layer measurement report associated with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches for each of the received configurations, initiating a timer associated with the configuration in response to one of the following: receiving the configuration, receiving the command, or sending to the RAN an application-layer measurement report associated with the configuration ([0055], According to various aspects described herein, the UE 320 may use a timer for obtaining QoE measurements. The timer may start when a QoE configuration is received or when a start measurement indication is received. In some aspects, the timer may start when a pause indication or a transmission failure indication is received. The timer may also start when a resume measurement indication is received. The timer may also start when a transmission at the AS layer 322 fails or when the UE 320 enters an idle or an inactive state. The timer may be configured with a time duration, and the time duration may be configured per service type, per QoE configuration, and/or per network slice).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the timer controlled actions as taught in Liu, in the system of Huawei and 3GPP, in order to conserve resources by preventing build-up and overflow of measurement results until reporting can occur.
Regarding Claim 31, Huawei, modified by 3GPP and Liu, teaches the method of claim 30, Liu further comprising after initiating a timer associated with a configuration: maintaining any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, until the earlier of the following: expiration of the timer, and connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration; and releasing the configuration and discarding any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, after expiration of the timer without connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration ([0056], When the timer expires, the UE 320 may stop obtaining the QoE measurements. The UE 320 may transmit the QoE measurements or hold the QoE measurements for subsequent reporting (e.g., reported with an indication of an age of the QoE measurements). If the timer runs in the AS layer 322, the AS layer 322 may provide an indication to the application layer 324, when the timer expires, to stop obtaining QoE measurements. As a result, the UE 320 does not overflow the QoE storage 350 and conserves processing resources that would otherwise be wasted on QoE measurements that were not stored. The timer may leave storage space for newer QoE measurements in the QoE storage 350 when QoE measurements resume).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the timer controlled actions as taught in Liu, in the system of Huawei and 3GPP, in order to conserve resources by preventing build-up and overflow of measurement results until reporting can occur.
Regarding Claim 46, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 29, except wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured to, for each of the received configurations: initiating a timer associated with the configuration in response to one of the following: receiving the configuration, receiving the command, or sending to the RAN an application-layer measurement report associated with the configuration, maintaining any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, until the earlier of the following: expiration of the associated timer, and connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration; and releasing the configuration and discarding any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, after expiration of the associated timer without connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are further configured to, for each of the received configurations: initiating a timer associated with the configuration in response to one of the following: receiving the configuration, receiving the command, or sending to the RAN an application-layer measurement report associated with the configuration ([0055], According to various aspects described herein, the UE 320 may use a timer for obtaining QoE measurements. The timer may start when a QoE configuration is received or when a start measurement indication is received. In some aspects, the timer may start when a pause indication or a transmission failure indication is received. The timer may also start when a resume measurement indication is received. The timer may also start when a transmission at the AS layer 322 fails or when the UE 320 enters an idle or an inactive state. The timer may be configured with a time duration, and the time duration may be configured per service type, per QoE configuration, and/or per network slice), maintaining any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, until the earlier of the following: expiration of the associated timer, and connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration; and releasing the configuration and discarding any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, after expiration of the associated timer without connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration ([0056], When the timer expires, the UE 320 may stop obtaining the QoE measurements. The UE 320 may transmit the QoE measurements or hold the QoE measurements for subsequent reporting (e.g., reported with an indication of an age of the QoE measurements). If the timer runs in the AS layer 322, the AS layer 322 may provide an indication to the application layer 324, when the timer expires, to stop obtaining QoE measurements. As a result, the UE 320 does not overflow the QoE storage 350 and conserves processing resources that would otherwise be wasted on QoE measurements that were not stored. The timer may leave storage space for newer QoE measurements in the QoE storage 350 when QoE measurements resume).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the timer controlled actions as taught in Liu, in the system of Huawei and 3GPP, in order to conserve resources by preventing build-up and overflow of measurement results until reporting can occur.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei ("QoE measurement handling at RAN overload", 3GPP TSG RAN Meeting #114-e, R2-2105581, Online, May 19–27, 2021, pp. 1-10.), 3GPP (3GPP TS 38.331 V15.4.0 (2018-12), “NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification,” Release 15, hereinafter “3GPP”), in view of Liu et al (US 2024/0064550), and further in view of Choi et al (US 2024/0137294).
Regarding Claim 32, Huawei, as modified by 3GPP and Liu, teaches all aspects of the invention according to claim 31 above, except upon connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration, sending the following to the RAN node: any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, and an identifier of an intended recipient measurement collection entity (MCE).
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches upon connecting to the RAN via a RAN node that supports the configuration, sending the following to the RAN node: any stored application-layer measurement reports associated with the configuration, and an identifier of an intended recipient measurement collection entity (MCE) ([0114], Fig. 5, here it is assumed that the QoE measurement collection for the configuration #1 is the first to complete, so that UE AL 505 sends the collected QoE measurement results to the UE AS 503, e.g., using AT command (see messaging 525). The collected QoE measurement results for the configuration #1 are referred to as QoE Measurement Report #1. Note that upon completion of the QoE measurement collection for the configuration #0, the UE AL 505 will send the collected QoE measurement results to the UE AS 503 in a subsequent QoE Measurement Report #0, [0115] At Step 7, the UE AS 503 sends the QoE Measurement Report #1 in the MeasReportAppLayer message (e.g., a UL RRC message) to the RAN node 207 (see messaging 527), [0117] At Step 8, the RAN node 207 forwards the received QoE measurement report to a TCE/MCE 507 (see messaging 529)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indication of the recipient entity in the measurement reports, as taught in Choi, in the system of Huawei modified by 3GPP and Liu, in order to yield the predictable results of ensuring the measurements reach the appropriate and intended recipient.
Claims 48 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huawei ("QoE measurement handling at RAN overload", 3GPP TSG RAN Meeting #114-e, R2-2105581, Online, May 19–27, 2021, pp. 1-10.), in view of 3GPP ("3GPP TS 38.331 V16.2.0", 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol specification (Release 16), September 2020, pp. 1-921.), and further in view of Rayavarapu et al (US 2017/0245318)
Regarding Claim 48, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 29, Rayavarapu further teaches non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry cause the method of claim 29 to be performed by the UE configured for application-layer measurements in the RAN ([0220]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the request by the mobile device for resuming or reestablishing connection, as taught in Rayavarapu, in the system of Huawei modified by 3GPP, in order to more efficiently provide load balancing between nodes by providing connectivity by request to devices suspended by other nodes.
Regarding Claim 52, Huawei, modified by 3GPP, teaches the method of claim 37, Rayavarapu further teaches non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the method of claim 37 to be performed by the RAN node configured to manage application-layer measurements by UEs ([0220]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the request by the mobile device for resuming or reestablishing connection, as taught in Rayavarapu, in the system of Huawei, modified by 3GPP, in order to more efficiently provide load balancing between nodes by providing connectivity by request to devices suspended by other nodes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641