DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the claimed “the pressing surface” lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will consider this to be “the pushing surface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wahls (US-2009/0140565).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Wahls (US-2009/0140565) discloses a rotary mechanism, comprising
a first part (78),
a second part (70), and
a rotary locking assembly (cam 42, elements 58),
a mounting portion (portion of first part 78) being provided on the first part (78) (Figs. 1 and 2),
the second part (70) having a rotary portion (70) adapted to the mounting portion (92),
wherein the rotary portion (70) and the mounting portion (78) are rotatably sleeving-fitted (Fig. 2), the rotary locking assembly (cam 42, elements 58) comprises a sliding block (58) and a rotary drive element (cam 42), the sliding block (58) is mounted on the rotary portion (70), and
the rotary drive element (cam 42) rotates to bring the sliding block (elements 58) to move radially along the rotary portion (70) so that the sliding block (elements 58) is locked on the mounting portion (78) (“Internal teeth 86 are provided on the pivot plate 78 that extend radially inwardly and are engaged by the externally toothed edge 62 of the locking elements 58”) [Wahls; paragraph 0027] or is unlocked from the mounting portion (78) (“Disengagement ribs 88 are provided on the pivot plate 78 to hold the pins 68 of the locking elements 58 to hold the locking elements 58 in an unlocked position during certain portions of the pivotal movement of the pivot plate 78 relative to the guide plate 38.”) [Wahls; paragraph 0027].
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 1, wherein an inner gear ring (internal teeth 86) is provided on the mounting portion (pivot plate 78) (“Internal teeth 86 are provided on the pivot plate 78 that extend radially inwardly and are engaged by the externally toothed edge 62 of the locking elements 58.”) [Wahls; paragraph 0027], and outer teeth (teeth of the toothed edge 62 of locking elements 58) meshed with the inner gear ring (86) are provided on the sliding block (locking elements 58).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim wherein a pushing surface (outer surface of cam 42) is provided on the rotary drive element (cam 42), and a force-receiving surface (cam following edge 60) fitted with the pushing surface is provided on the sliding block (locking elements 58), so that when the rotary drive element (cam 42) rotates, the pushing surface (outer surface of cam 42) applies a pushing force against the force-receiving surface (cam following edge 60) along a radial direction of the rotary portion (“The locking elements 58 include a cam following edge 60 that cooperates with the cam lobes 44 to permit the locking elements 58 to move in a radial direction between a locking position and an unlocking position as will be more fully described below.”) [Wahls; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the pushing surface (outer surface of cam 42) has a gradually widened configuration (lobes 44) on the rotary drive element (cam 42) along a rotate-to- unlock direction (radial direction), so that when the rotary drive element (cam 42) rotates, the force-receiving surface is sliding-fitted or rolling-fitted with the gradually widened configuration (“The locking elements 58 include a cam following edge 60 that cooperates with the cam lobes 44 to permit the locking elements 58 to move in a radial direction between a locking position and an unlocking position as will be more fully described below.”) [Wahls; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 4, wherein a stopper (pins 68) configured to limit a rotational travel of the pressing surface (toothed edge 62) is provided along a rotate-to- lock direction on the force-receiving surface (Figs. 4 and 5) (“The control plate 70 has a plurality of slots 72 that each receive one of the pins 68 that is provided on the outer side 66 of the locking elements 58.”) [Wahls; paragraph 0026].
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the rotary drive element (cam 42) comprises a rotary cam (cam 42), a convex (i.e. curved or rounded outward like the exterior of a sphere or circle) rib (lobe(s) 44) being provided on the rotary cam (cam 42) (Fig. 3), a side surface of the convex rib (lobe 44) being formed as a pushing surface for pushing the sliding block (“The locking elements 58 include a cam following edge 60 that cooperates with the cam lobes 44 to permit the locking elements 58 to move in a radial direction between a locking position and an unlocking position as will be more fully described below.”) [Wahls; paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 6, wherein at least three convex ribs (cam lobes 44) (Fig. 3) are provided on the rotary cam (cam 44) (Fig. 3), the at least three convex ribs (cam lobes 44) being end-to-end connected to form a closed loop (i.e. circle) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 7, wherein the rotary drive element (cam 42) further comprises a rotary flip lock lever (hub 32, plate 38) (lever is considered “a rigid piece that transmits and modifies force or motion when forces are applied at two points and it turns about a third,” per “lever” in Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, which also includes another definition of “a projecting piece by which a mechanism is operated,” both met by the plate and hub of Wahls) sleeved over the rotary cam (cam 42) (Figs. 6 and 7), the rotary flip lock lever (hub 32, plate 38) driving the rotary cam (cam 42) to rotate (Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Wahls discloses the rotary mechanism according to claim 8, wherein the rotary flip lock lever (hub 32, plate 38) comprises a driver portion (hub 32) and a rotation-transmitting portion (plate 38) sleeved over the convex rib (of cam 42) (Figs. 6 and 7), and a transmission block (outer flange 92) is provided on the rotation-transmitting portion (plate 38), an inner side surface of the transmission block (outer flange 92) being agreeable (being of the same shape) with an outer side surface of the convex rib (outer circumference of cam 42) (Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Wahls discloses a handheld tool, comprising the rotary mechanism according to claim 1 (a tool is a device or implement, and handheld is intended to be held in the hand) (The device of Figures 1-3) is considered a tool that can be held in the hand and is, therefore, a handheld tool that comprises the rotary mechanism).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-2003/0098599, US-2009/0302658, US-6,092,874, US-7,168,764, US-2006/0096770, US-2017/0282329, US-6316890, US-6817424, and US-7,055,622 are pertinent to claim 1.
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723