Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is rejected for the recitation of the for components A-D being at 100 parts by mass and claim 1 from which claim 1 depends recites 40-80 parts by mass of component A and yet claim 7 recites 5-60 parts by mass of component B, 3-30 parts by mass of component C and 3-70 parts by mass of component D. It is unclear how 40-80 parts by mass of component A could exist and yet have the upper end amounts of components B-D. For example, even at 40 parts by mass of component A, it is mathematically impossible to have 60 parts of component B and still have component C and D which are required by claim 1. Applicant is advised to amend the claim range of the components to be aligned with the amended amounts of component A in claim 1 along with required components B-D.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakaguchi (JP2021055244).
Regarding claim 1, 8-9, Sakaguchi teaches an inorganic fiber (carbon or glass fibers) having an inorganic fiber sizing agent attached to the inorganic fibers wherein the inorganic fiber sizing comprises a vinyl ester compound (C2), surfactant (A) (surfactant is taught) and a fatty acid ester (E) (additive smoothing agent) [0060-0062]. The inorganic fiber sizing agent contains the vinyl ester compound at a ratio in the claimed range (10-95% is taught) [0062].
Regarding claim 2, the fatty acid ester (c) taught by Sakaguchi is an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons (esters taught in 0061).
Regarding claim 3, Sakaguchi teaches fatty acid ester that include an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons (including butyl stearate).
Regarding claims 5-6, the inorganic fiber sizing agent comprises an epoxy compound (C1) including a monoepoxy compound [0044 and 0062].
Regarding claim 7, Sakaguchi teaches the inorganic fiber sizing agent where the sum of the contents of the vinyl ester compound, surfactant, fatty acid ester and epoxy compound taken as 100 parts by mass, the inorganic fiber sizing agent has the claimed ratio of surfactant, fatty acid ester and epoxy compound [0062].
Regarding claim 10, Sakaguchi et al. teaches the inorganic fiber sizing agent contains vinyl ester compound in the claimed ratio [10-95 is taught in 0062].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (JP 2016/151069).
Regarding claim 1 and 7-9, Yoshida et al. teaches an inorganic fiber (carbon or glass fibers) having an inorganic fiber sizing agent attached to the inorganic fibers wherein the inorganic fiber sizing comprises a vinyl ester compound (A) (vinyl ester resin), surfactant (B) (surfactant is taught) and a fatty acid ester (C) (fatty acid esters are taught as included) [Abstract, 0002, 0012, 0044, 0052-0053, 0058-0065 and 0074]. Yoshida et al. teach the inorganic fiber sizing comprising vinyl ester is 5-50%, surfactant is 5-30% and epoxy is 5-95%. Yoshida et al. teaches the inorganic fiber sizing includes fatty acid ester as a smoothing agent and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use smaller amounts of fatty acid agent. If the sum of the contents of the vinyl ester compound, surfactant, fatty acid ester and the epoxy compound in the inorganic fiber sizing agent is taken as 100 parts by mass of inorganic fiber sizing agent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed parts by mass of each of the components given the teachings of the amounts of vinyl ester compound, surfactant and epoxy and the claimed amount of fatty acid ester would have been understood to one of ordinary skill in the art to have been taught by Yoshida in smaller amounts, including the claimed amount. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amount of fatty acid ester in order to affect the sizing properties on the fiber including lubricity, wettability, plasticity, processability and composite performance and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the fatty acid ester (c) taught by Yoshida et al. is an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons is taught in all the fatty acids in 0054 of Yoshida et al.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida et al. fatty acid ester that include an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fatty acid esters that include an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons because they offer lighter weights since they short esters and quick wetting.
e.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida et al. teach the inorganic fiber sizing agent further comprising epoxy compound (D) [0017-0018 and formula 11].
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida et al. teach the inorganic fiber sizing agent further comprising epoxy compound (D) including a monoepoxy compound [0017-0018 and formula 11].
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
PG Pub. 2014/0228481 teach a sizing composition with a vinyl ester resin, surfactant and fatty acid ester.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789