Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 102206919).
Regarding claims 1-3, 8-9, Zhang et al. teaches an in organic fiber having an inorganic fiber sizing agent for inorganic fibers (carbon fibers) attached thereto wherein the fiber sizing agent comprises vinyl ester compound (A), surfactant (B) (also referred to as emulsifier), and fatty acid ester (C) (lubricant butyl stearate) where the content of the vinyl ester (A) in the inorganic fiber sizing is in the claimed amount [Embodiment 4]. The fatty acid ester (C) is an ester compound of a monohydric alcohol with not less than 3 and not more than 10 carbon
atoms and a monobasic fatty acid with not less than 8 and not more than 24 carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 5, the sizing agent further comprises an epoxy compound (D) [Embodiment 10].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 102206919).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. are silent regarding the epoxy (D) being a monoepoxy. However, given the limited types of epoxies(number of options) and the level of ordinary skill in the art knowing that monoepoxies provide improved processability, and mechanical properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use monoepoxy and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11, Zhang et al. teaches “emulsifier is 2 to 14% of organic resin. lubricant quality is 0.5 to 2% of organic resin” in 0005. Zhang et al. also teaches inclusion of vinyl ester resin and epoxy resin in varying ratios in the examples in order to affect the compatibility with matrices, strength, and adhesion. In example 10, it can be seen the claimed amount surfactant is taught and given the ranges of surfactant and fatty acid ester (lubricant) taught and the ratios of resins taught, the claimed sum of the contents of the vinyl ester compound (A), the surfactant (B), the fatty acid ester (C), and the epoxy compound (D) in the inorganic fiber sizing agent is taken as 100 parts by mass, the inorganic fiber sizing agent contains the vinyl ester compound (A) at a ratio of not less than 40 parts by mass and not more than 80 parts by mass, the surfactant (B) at a ratio of not less than 5 parts by mass and not more than 50 parts by mass, the fatty acid ester (C) at a ratio of not less than 2 parts by mass and not more than 30 parts by mass, and the epoxy compound (D) at a ratio of not less than 3 parts by mass and not more than [[70]]40 parts by mass he claimed parts of each component are taught and further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amounts of each component through routine experimentation in order to affect the compatibility with matrices, strength, and adhesion.
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (JP 2016/151069).
Regarding claim 1, 7-9 and 11, Yoshida et al. teaches an inorganic fiber (carbon or glass fibers) having an inorganic fiber sizing agent attached to the inorganic fibers wherein the inorganic fiber sizing comprises a vinyl ester compound (A) (vinyl ester resin), surfactant (B) (surfactant is taught) and a fatty acid ester (C) (fatty acid esters are taught as included) [Abstract, 0002, 0012, 0044, 0052-0053, 0058-0065 and 0074]. Yoshida et al. teach the inorganic fiber sizing comprising vinyl ester is 5-50%, surfactant is 5-30% and epoxy is 5-95%. Yoshida et al. teaches the inorganic fiber sizing includes fatty acid ester as a smoothing agent and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use smaller amounts of fatty acid agent. If the sum of the contents of the vinyl ester compound, surfactant, fatty acid ester and the epoxy compound in the inorganic fiber sizing agent is taken as 100 parts by mass of inorganic fiber sizing agent, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed parts by mass of each of the components given the teachings of the amounts of vinyl ester compound, surfactant and epoxy and the claimed amount of fatty acid ester would have been understood to one of ordinary skill in the art to have been taught by Yoshida in smaller amounts, including the claimed amount. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed amount of fatty acid ester in order to affect the sizing properties on the fiber including lubricity, wettability, plasticity, processability and composite performance and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the fatty acid ester (c) taught by Yoshida et al. is an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons is taught in all the fatty acids in 0054 of Yoshida et al.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida et al. fatty acid ester that include an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the fatty acid esters that include an ester compound of monohydric alcohol with the claimed amount of carbon atoms and monobasic fatty acid with the claimed carbons because they offer lighter weights since they short esters and quick wetting.
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida et al. teach the inorganic fiber sizing agent further comprising epoxy compound (D) [0017-0018 and formula 11].
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida et al. teach the inorganic fiber sizing agent further comprising epoxy compound (D) including a monoepoxy compound [0017-0018 and formula 11].
Prior Art Not Used but Relevant
PG Pub. 2014/0228481 teach a sizing composition with a vinyl ester resin, surfactant and fatty acid ester.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Sakaguchi et al. have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Sakaguchi et al. for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Yoshida does not recognize the importance of the vinyl ester resin, but admits Yoshida teaches it in the claimed amount. Yoshida need not recognize the importance of the vinyl ester resin if Yoshida teaches the vinyl ester resin in the claimed amount. Applicant attempts to point to a narrow embodiment of the vinyl ester resin amount taught and the examples in Yoshida. Yoshida is not limited to particular embodiments and is relied upon for all that is taught by Yoshida. Yoshida plain teaches resin (X) in 5-50% which is taught as vinyl ester resin.
Applicant point to Table 2 for data of unexpected results. The data provided in Table 2 is not commensurate in scope with the present claims as claim 1 broadly recites any fatty acid ester, any surfactant and any vinyl ester resin while the data provided does not encompass all this and therefore is not commensurate in scope and the data provided is not found to be convincing.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789