DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2024, 10/31/2025, and 08/06/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 and claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "an intermediate layer" in line 4. There is already a prior recitation of “an intermediate layer” in claim 1 on which claim 13 depends, rendering it unclear whether “an intermediate layer” of claim 13 refers to the same or a different “intermediate layer”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “an intermediate layer” in claim 13 as --- the intermediate layer ---
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a reflective electrode layer" in line 4. There is already a prior recitation of “a reflective electrode layer” in claim 1 on which claim 13 depends, rendering it unclear whether “a reflective electrode layer” of claim 13 refers to the same or a different “reflective electrode layer”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “a reflective electrode layer” in claim 13 as --- the reflective electrode layer ---
Claim 14 recites the limitation "an intermediate layer" in line 4. There is already a prior recitation of “an intermediate layer” in claim 1 on which claim 14 depends, rendering it unclear whether “an intermediate layer” of claim 14 refers to the same or a different “intermediate layer”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “an intermediate layer” in claim 14 as --- the intermediate layer ---
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a reflective electrode layer" in line 4. There is already a prior recitation of “a reflective electrode layer” in claim 1 on which claim 14 depends, rendering it unclear whether “a reflective electrode layer” of claim 14 refers to the same or a different “reflective electrode layer”. Therefore, for the purposes of Examination, Examiner has interpreted “a reflective electrode layer” in claim 14 as --- the reflective electrode layer ---
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seong (U.S. PG Pub No US2008/0303055A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seong teaches a stacked body (comprising 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078], comprising;
a reflective electrode layer (80) fig. 5 [0074] (may be formed of reflective metal [0026] such as gold [0074, 0026]), an intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70 multilayer) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] (intermediate between 80 and 100) having a MgZnO composition [0067], and a semiconductor layer (100) fig. 5 [0081] having an AlGaN (when c, x, y, z = 0 ) [0081] composition in this order (from top to bottom),
wherein a thickness of the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) is 1-80 nm (1-1000 nm [0071], which encompasses the claimed range).
With respect to whether Seong teaches “a thickness of the intermediate layer is 1-80 nm”, Seong does not specifically disclose recited range of 1-80 nm for the thickness of the intermediate layer. However, Seong discloses that a thickness of the intermediate layer 70 may be 1-1000nm [0072], which encompasses the claimed range of 1-80nm. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality for the narrower range recited in the claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the recited range sufficiently within the scope of the teachings of Seong. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Regarding claim 3, Seong teaches the stacked body [see fig. 5, 0077-0078] of claim 1. Seong also teaches wherein the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] comprises an oxide of magnesium and an oxide of zinc (could comprise combination of MgO and ZnO oxide [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Seong teaches the stacked body [see fig. 5, 0077-0078] of claim 1. Seong also teaches wherein the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] has a MgZnO composition of MgXZnyO (x is 0.2 to 0.8, y is 0.8 to 0.2) (could comprise ‘combination’ of MgO and ZnO oxide and/or MgZnO [0067], i.e, could be Mg0.5Zn0.5O).
Regarding claim 6, Seong teaches a method [0075] of producing the stacked body (comprising 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078] of claim 1, comprising depositing [0072-0075], the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] on (supported by) the semiconductor layer (100) fig. 5 [0081].
Regarding claim 7, Seong teaches the method [0075] of producing of claim 6. Seong also teaches wherein the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] is formed by sputtering [0075].
Regarding claim 8, Seong teaches the method [0075] of producing of claim 6. Seong also teaches
wherein a surface temperature [0072-0073] of the semiconductor layer (100) fig. 5 [0081] (at equilibrium with deposition conditions [0072]) at a time of forming the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] is 20*C or higher (20-1500C) [0073].
For the purposes of Examination, it is assumed that the “?” mark character employed in [0072-0073] of Seong corresponds to a “Celsius” temperature C). As evidence that this is a reasonable assumption, see [0005, 0032, 0043] of Robin (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0301479A1), which discusses typical temperature treatment ranges for deposition and annealing in LED package on the order of a few hundred to ~ 1000 degrees Celsius.
Regarding claim 9, Seong teaches the method [0075] of producing of claim 6. Seong also teaches
wherein a surface temperature [0072-0073] of the semiconductor layer (100) fig. 5 [0081] at a time of forming the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] is 180*C or higher (20-1500C, overlaps the claimed range) [0073].
With respect to whether Seong teaches “a surface temperature of the semiconductor layer at a time of forming the intermediate layer is 180*C or higher”, Seong does not specifically disclose recited range of 180*C or more for the temperature. However, Seong discloses that the temperature of the reactor may be 20-1500C [0073], which overlaps with the claimed range of >180*C [0073]. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality for the specific temperature range recited in the claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the recited range sufficiently within the scope of the teachings of Seong. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Regarding claim 10, Seong teaches the method [0075] of producing of claim 6. Seong also teaches comprising heat-treating the formed intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] at a temperature of 600*C or higher (100-800C, which overlaps with the >600C).
With respect to whether Seong teaches “heat-treating the formed intermediate layer at a temperature of 600*C or higher”, Seong does not specifically disclose recited range of 600*C or more for the temperature. However, Seong discloses that the temperature of the reactor may be 100-800*C [0072-0073], which overlaps with the claimed range of >600*C [0073]. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality for the specific temperature range recited in the claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the recited range sufficiently within the scope of the teachings of Seong. (See MPEP 2144.05, I).
Regarding claim 11, Seong teaches an emitting (light-emitting) device [see fig. 5, 0077] comprising the stacked body (comprising 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078] according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Seong teaches the emitting device [see fig. 5, 0077] of claim 11. Seong also teaches comprising a stacked structure [see fig. 5, 0077] having a substrate (10) fig. 5 [0076], an n-type contact layer (contact layer provided between 40 and 90) fig. 5 [0061, 0076] (not explicitly shown), an emitting layer (50) fig. 5 [0059-0060] (active layer form light emission [0059, 0075-0076]), and the stacked body (comprising 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078] in this order, and an electrode layer (90) fig. 5 [0061, 0076] formed on (so as to overlap) a part of the n-type contact layer (90) on which the emitting layer (50) is not formed (50 not formed on/ to overlap 90).
Regarding claim 13, Seong teaches the emitting device [see fig. 5, 0077] of claim 11. Seong also teaches comprising a stacked structure [see fig. 5, 0077] having a substrate (10) fig. 5 [0076], an n-type contact layer (contact layer provided between 40 and 90) fig. 5 [0061, 0076] (not explicitly shown), an emitting layer (50) fig. 5 [0059-0060] (active layer for light emission [0059, 0075-0076]), a p- type semiconductor layer (60) fig. 5 [0055, 0060] (p-type GaN [0060]), and
an electrode layer (lower, metal-comprising contact layer 70) fig. 5 [0062, 0064, 0067] in this order (from bottom to top), and the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70 multilayer) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] having a MgZnO composition [0067], and the reflective electrode layer (80) fig. 5 [0074] on a part of the n-type contact layer (90) on which the emitting layer (50) is not formed (50 not formed on/ to overlap 90) in this order,
wherein the part of the n-type contact layer (contact layer provided between 40 and 90), the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70 multilayer) having a MgZnO composition [0067] (TCO layer of 70 multilayer), and the reflective electrode layer (80) fig. 5 [0074] form (compose portions of) the stacked body (comprising contact layer between 40 and 90, 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078].
Regarding claim 14, Seong teaches an (light) emitting device [see fig. 5, 0077] of claim 11. Seong also teaches comprising a stacked structure [see fig. 5, 0077] having a substrate (10) fig. 5 [0076], an n-type contact layer (contact layer provided between 40 and 90) fig. 5 [0061, 0076] (not explicitly shown), an emitting layer (50) fig. 5 [0059-0060] (active layer for light emission [0059, 0075-0076]), and the stacked body (comprising 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078] in this order (from bottom to top), and
the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70 multilayer) fig. 5 [0064, 0067] having a MgZnO composition [0067] and the reflective electrode layer (80) on a part of the n-type contact layer (contact layer provided between 40 and 90) on which the emitting layer (50) is not formed in this order,
wherein the part of the n-type contact layer (contact layer provided between 40 and 90), the intermediate layer (TCO layer of 70 multilayer) having a MgZnO composition [0067], and the reflective electrode layer (80) form (compose portions of) the stacked body (comprising contact layer between 40 and 90, 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078].
Regarding claim 15, Seong teaches the (light) emitting device [see fig. 5, 0077] of claim 12. Seong also teaches comprising a p-type semiconductor layer (60) fig. 5 [0055, 0060] (p-type GaN [0060]) between the emitting layer (50) fig. 5 [0059-0060] and the stacked body (comprising 90, 100, 70, 80) fig. 5 [0077-0078].,
wherein the p-type semiconductor layer (60) and the semiconductor layer (100) fig. 5 [0082-0083] of the stacked body form a tunnel junction structure [0080-0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong (U.S. PG Pub No US2008/0303055A1), as applied in claim 1 above, in view of Chu (U.S. PG Pub No US2013/0292718A1).
Regarding claim 2, Seong teaches the (light) emitting device [see fig. 5, 0077] of claim 1. However, Seong does not explicitly disclose wherein the reflective electrode layer (80) fig. 5 [0074] (may be formed of reflective metal [0026] like gold [0074, 0026]) comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of Al, Rh, Mo, W, and Cr (other choices mentioned [0026]).
Chu teaches an emitting device [see fig. 2, 0074] wherein the reflective electrode layer (236) fig. 2 [0075] (formed of reflective metal) comprises at least one metal selected from the group consisting of Al, Rh, Mo, W, and Cr (comprises a sublayer composed only of Cr [0074] in addition to a sublayer of pure Au).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Seong such that the gold reflective electrode layer is modified to have an additional sublayer composed only of chromium [0074] in order to selectively enhance the conductivity properties of the electrode [0074] by varying material composition of stack [0074], as taught by Chu.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure they all feature LED structures with mesas and reflective electrodes.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 08/30/2026