DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 39-55 in the reply filed on March 8, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 56-57 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
39-57
Withdrawn claims:
56-57
Previously canceled claims:
1-38
Newly canceled claims:
None
Amended claims:
None
New claims:
None
Claims currently under consideration:
39-55
Currently rejected claims:
39-55
Allowed claims:
None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: p. 17, [0085], Schemes 1 and 2 are illegible.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 48 recites chickpeas, lentils, and legumes twice each. Delete the second instance of each recitation.
Claim 48 recites both canola and rapeseed, which are known in the art to be alternative names for the same seed. Delete one instance of the recitation.
Claim 48, line 9, deleted the period in “(bananas). and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 41 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 41 recites the limitation “when in powder form”. However, claim 39, upon which claim 41 depends, does not recite that the composition may be in a powder form. It is unclear if “when in powder form” is referring to the composition of claim 39 or the plant protein source. For the purposes of examination, it is presumed that the composition of claim 39 may be in powder form.
Claim 41 recites the limitation “at least 90% plant protein source” but does not recite the units for the percentage. For the purposes of examination, it is presumed that the claim recites “at least 90% by weight”.
Regarding claim 48, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 39, 40, 42, 44, 45, 48-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vrljic (US 2018/0027851 A1) as evidenced by Kullmann (Kullmann, Willi. “Protease-mediated Peptide Bond Formation”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, Vol. 256, No. 3, p. 1301-1304, published 1981 [accessed online May 1, 2026]).
Regarding claims 39 and 50, Vrljic teaches of a meat substitute (i.e., a food product; Abstract) comprising plant proteins (i.e., plant derived polypeptides; [0018]) that are crosslinked ([0022]) and that the proteins can be assembled into a matrix ([0142]). Vrljic also teaches that the composition can comprise amylase (i.e., a polysaccharide degrading enzyme) and protease (known in the art to be a peptide bond forming enzyme)([0125]). Vrljic also teaches that the components of the consumable can be suspended in a hydrogel ([0247]). Vrljic further teaches that the consumable product may be made of entirely plant-based proteins and/or fats ([0015]). Thus, the product would be essentially devoid of animal derived proteins and/or fats.
Evidence to support that protease is a peptide bond forming enzyme is provided by Kullmann. Kullmann teaches of protease-controlled peptide synthesis (i.e., peptide bond formation; p. 1301, Abstract).
Regarding claim 40, Vrljic teaches that in some embodiments the consumable contains no methylcellulose ([0250]).
Regarding claim 42, Vrljic teaches that the proteins can be tagged using glutathione-S-transferase ([0139]).
Regarding claim 44, Vrljic teaches that the crosslinking enzyme may be a tyrosinase or a peroxidase ([0161]), which are known oxidoreductases that that are a multicopper enzyme capable of oxidating phenol residues. Evidence to support that tyrosinase and peroxidases are multicopper enzyme capable of oxidating phenol residues is provided by the instant specification. The instant specification states that the oxidoreductase may be a multicopper enzyme capable of oxidating phenolic residues. Optionally, the oxidoreductase may be a tyrosinase or a peroxidase ([0022]).
Regarding claim 45, Vrljic also teaches that the composition can comprise amylase ([0125]).
Regarding claim 48, Vrljic also teaches that the plant protein can be from pea, chickpea, lentil, or legumes ([0018]).
Regarding claim 49, although Vrljic does not teach that the hydrogel is thermostable, MPEP §2112.01(II) states that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Additionally, MPEP §2112.01 states where the claimed and prior art are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, the hydrogel of Vrljic that has the same composition would be thermostable.
Regarding claim 51, Vrljic teaches of a meat substitute (i.e., meat alternative; Abstract)
Regarding claims 52-55, although Vrljic does not explicitly state the properties of the consumable with and without methylcellulose, MPEP §2112.01(II) states that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Additionally, MPEP §2112.01 states where the claimed and prior art are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). Thus, claims 52-55 are anticipated by Vrljic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrljic (US 2018/0027851 A1) as evidenced by Kullmann (Kullmann, Willi. “Protease-mediated Peptide Bond Formation”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, Vol. 256, No. 3, p. 1301-1304, published 1981 [accessed online May 1, 2026]) in view of Janvary (US 2020/0390125 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Vrljic does not teach the composition comprising at least 90% by weight of the plant protein.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Janvary teaches of an oilseed (i.e., plant) food product (Abstract) having a plant protein content of preferably 90 to 99 weight% based on dry matter ([0034]), which falls within the claimed range of “at least 90% plant protein source”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Vrljic with the use of plant protein in an amount taught by Janvary. The claim would have been obvious because all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP §2143(A).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrljic (US 2018/0027851 A1) as evidenced by Kullmann (Kullmann, Willi. “Protease-mediated Peptide Bond Formation”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, Vol. 256, No. 3, p. 1301-1304, published 1981 [accessed online May 1, 2026]) in view of Pang (Pang, Yan Ling Joy, et al. “tRNA synthetase: tRNA Aminoacylation and beyond”, Wiley Interdisciplinary Rev RNA, published July 1, 2015 [accessed online May 1, 2026]).
Regarding claim 43, Vrljic does not teach wherein the transferase is a amino-acyltransferase.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pang teaches of aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases (i.e., amino-acyltransferase; Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the glutathione-S-transferase of Vrljic with the use of aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase as taught by Pang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Pang teaches that aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase offers promising pathways for development and treatment of diverse human diseases. Additionally, The claim would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make this simple substitution of one known element for another and yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP §2143(B).
Claim 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrljic (US 2018/0027851 A1) as evidenced by Kullmann (Kullmann, Willi. “Protease-mediated Peptide Bond Formation”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, Vol. 256, No. 3, p. 1301-1304, published 1981 [accessed online May 1, 2026]) in view of Christ (US 2021/0252192 A1).
Regarding claim 46, Vrljic teaches that the protein may have the water removed by techniques such as freeze-drying or spray drying to concentrate the protein, and that the proteins can then be constituted with liquid (i.e., a dried composition capable of forming a hydrogel; [0261]).
Vrljic does not teach wherein the composition is in the form of a powder.
However, in the same field of endeavor of hydrogel compositions, Christ teaches that hydrogels can be prepared as a powder ([0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dried protein composition of Vrljic with the addition of grinding to form a powder as taught by Christ. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because Christ teaches that powder is easily stored and transported ([0096]).
Claim 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrljic (US 2018/0027851 A1) as evidenced by Kullmann (Kullmann, Willi. “Protease-mediated Peptide Bond Formation”, The Journal of Biological Chemistry, Vol. 256, No. 3, p. 1301-1304, published 1981 [accessed online May 1, 2026]) in view of Creative (“Effect of Temperature on Enzymatic Reaction”, Creative Enzymes, version from November 2, 2020 [accessed online May 4, 2026] https://web.archive.org/web/20201102152803/https://www.creative-enzymes.com/resource/effect-of-temperature-on-enzymatic-reaction_50.html).
Regarding claim 47, Vrljic does not teach wherein the at least one polysaccharide degrading enzyme and/or the at least one peptide bond forming enzyme is reversibly inactivated by drying and/or freezing and wherein the reversibly inactive enzyme is reactivated upon hydration and/or thawing.
However, in the same field of endeavor as enzymes, Creative teaches that enzyme will eventually become inactive at freezing temperatures but will restore most of the enzyme activity when temperatures increase again (p. 2, ¶ 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Vrljic with the use of an enzyme that is inactive at freezing temperatures but reactivates when temperatures increase as taught by Creative. The claim would have been obvious because all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP §2143(A).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
Claims 39, 40, 42, 44, 45, 48, and 50 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20, 23-26, 28, and 37 of copending Application No. 19/304,167 (reference application, hereinafter ‘167). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 39, claim 20 of ‘167 recites a composition comprising plant-derived polypeptides treated with glycosidase (i.e., a polysaccharide degrading enzyme) and a crosslinking enzyme (i.e., a peptide bond forming enzyme and/or oxidoreductase, which would result in a matrix comprising crosslinked plant derived polypeptides), wherein the composition is devoid of animal derived proteins and/or fats, wherein the composition is capable of forming a hydrogel. Although instant claim 39 is silent regarding the composition being essentially devoid of artificial and synthetic stabilizers and thickeners as recited in ‘617 claim 20, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to exclude such compositions from the instant claimed invention.
Regarding claim 40, claim 28 of ‘167 recites that the composition is essentially devoid of methyl cellulose.
Regarding claim 42, claim 23 of ‘167 recites that the crosslinking enzyme may be a transferase.
Regarding claim 44, claim 24 of ‘167 recites that the oxidoreductase is a multicopper enzyme capable of oxidating phenolic residues.
Regarding claim 45, claim 25 of ‘167 recites that the glycosidase (i.e., polysaccharide bond degrading enzyme) is pectinase, pectinmethylesterase, amylase, invertase, cellulase, or any combination thereof.
Regarding claim 48, claim 26 of ‘167 recites the same polypeptides as instant claim 48.
Regarding claim 50, claim 37 ‘167 recites a food product comprising the composition of claim 20. For the reasons described above, the food product of instant claim 50 is obvious in view of ‘167 claim 37.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793