DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, 10, and 15 as well as their respective dependent claims due to their dependency recite particular values of the attenuation coefficient. However, they fail to provide specific units. The claimed value is therefore indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10-13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2004207536 (Honjiyou).
For claim 1, Honjiyou teaches a semiconductor structure for optoelectronic applications (fig. 1-2) comprising:
a first layer made of a crystalline semiconductor (fig. 1, 9; [0109]), the first layer being placed disposed on an intermediate layer (fig. 1, 3-10) including or adjacent to a direct-bonding interface (fig. 1, 10 may be considered a direct bonding interface), the intermediate layer being disposed on
- a second layer made of a crystalline semiconductor (fig. 1, 1 and 2),
wherein the intermediate layer is composed of a material different from those of the first and second layers (Si, [0089]-[0091]), and
the intermediate layer has an attenuation coefficient lower than 100 (the attenuation coefficient is an inherent property of the layer which includes Si [0089] which is the same material claimed later in claim 1 and will therefore have a corresponding attenuation coefficient), and a refractive index that differs by less than 0.3 from the refractive index:
- of at least one sub-layer of the first layer adjacent to the intermediate layer, and
- of at least one sub-layer of the second layer adjacent to the intermediate layer (Honjiyou uses that same materials including GaAs [0089] and [0109] in the sub-layers of the first and second layer and will therefore have similar refractive index differences), and
wherein the crystalline semiconductor of the first layer comprises gallium arsenide ([0109]), the crystalline semiconductor of the second layer comprises gallium arsenide ([0089]), and the material of the intermediate layer comprises silicon ([0089], [0081]).
For claim 10, Honjiyou teaches a semiconductor structure for optoelectronic applications (fig. 1) comprising:
a first layer comprising crystalline gallium arsenide (fig. 1, 9; [090] and [0109]);
a second layer comprising crystalline gallium arsenide (fig. 1, 1-2; [0089] and [0106]); and
an intermediate layer comprising silicon disposed directly between and in direct physical contact with each of the first layer and the second layer (fig. 1, 3-10), the intermediate layer having an attenuation coefficient lower than 100 (the attenuation coefficient is an inherent property of the layer which includes Si [0089] which is the same material claimed later in claim 1 and will therefore have a corresponding attenuation coefficient; further, the attenuation coefficient units may be arbitrarily chosen such that the attenuation coefficient is lower than 100), the intermediate layer having a refractive index that differs by less than 0.3 from a refractive index:
of at least a portion of the first layer directly adjacent to and in direct physical contact with the intermediate layer, and
of at least a portion of the second layer directly adjacent to and in direct physical contact with the intermediate layer (Honjiyou uses that same materials including GaAs [0089] and [0109] in the sub-layers of the first and second layer and will therefore have similar refractive index differences); and
wherein a direct bonding interface is disposed within the intermediate layer, at an interface between the intermediate layer and the first layer, or at an interface between the intermediate layer and the second layer (fig. 1 and 2, a direct bonding interface is at least within the intermediate layer between 6 and 3; [0111]-[0115]).
For claim 2 and 11, Honjiyou teaches the material of the intermediate layer is amorphous ([0089]).
For claim 3, 7, 12, and 16, Honjiyou teaches the crystalline material of the first layer comprises a single crystal of sufficiently high crystal quality to form a seed for epitaxy ([0109]).
For claim 4, 8, 13, and 17, Honjiyou teaches the first layer forms all or some of a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (fig. 1, DBR 9 of VCSEL 1; title and description of fig. 1).
For claim 6 and 15, Honjiyou does not explicitly state the attenuation coefficient of the intermediate layer is lower than 1. However, the attenuation coefficient is an inherent property of the layer which includes Si [0089] which is the same material claimed in claim 1 and will therefore inherently have a corresponding attenuation coefficient. Further, the attenuation coefficient units may be arbitrarily chosen such that the attenuation coefficient is lower than 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious JP-2004207536 (Honjiyou).
For claims 5, 9, 14, and 18, Honjiyou teaches the second layer is a carrier substrate ([0088]). Honjiyou does not teach the second layer having an optical transparency higher than 30%. However, the examiner takes official notice that optical transparency was well-known results effective variable in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to determine suitable optical transparency of the second layer including higher than 30% in order to allow a beam to be output through the substrate, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/Michael Carter/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828