DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (KR-102283808-B1) (see translation).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang discloses silane compound of 1-(dimethyl(vinyl)silyl)-1H-imidazole (SiC7H14N2) (see e.g., Hwang; [0099]-[0101], regarding example 1), and 3-(dimethyl(vinyl)silyl)thiazolidine-2-thione (SiC7H13NS2) (see e.g., Hwang; [0102]-[0104], regarding example 2) (see also Hwang; claim 1), which are silane compounds that correspond with the claimed silane compound represented by following general formula (1): Si(R1)1(R2)m(R3--)4-1-m wherein R¹ represents a heteroaryl group having 4 to 20 carbon atoms; R² represents an alkenyl group or an alkynyl group having 2 to 20 carbon atoms; R³ represents an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms; and "1" and "m" each independently represents an integer of 1 to 3, provided that 2 ≤ 1+m ≤4 is satisfied.
Regarding claim 9, Hwang discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 8. At least example 2 of Hwang as disclosed above, which provides 3-(dimethyl(vinyl)silyl)thiazolidine-2-thione, has a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital energy level of -0.40 eV or less.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 8. At least examples 1 and 2 of Hwang as disclosed above, which provides 1-(dimethyl(vinyl)silyl)-1H-imidazole and 3-(dimethyl(vinyl)silyl)thiazolidine-2-thione, have a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of -8.8 eV or more.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 9.
At least example 2 of Hwang as disclosed above, which provides 3-(dimethyl(vinyl)silyl)thiazolidine-2-thione, has a highest occupied molecular orbital energy level of -8.8 eV or more.
Regarding claims 16-19, Hwang discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claims 8-11, and the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode (see e.g., Hwang; [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR-102283808-B1) (see translation).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 8.
Hwang discloses wherein the electrolyte additive corresponding to the silane compound is included in the electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% (see e.g., Hwang; [0088]), which overlaps with the claimed content of the silane compound in the non-aqueous electrolyte of 0.1% by mass to 5.0% by mass. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the silane compound in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% as disclosed by Hwang to overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 to 5.0% by mass as claimed in order to improve the performance of the lithium secondary battery by providing excellent charge/discharge characteristics, output characteristics, capacity characteristics, and voltage characteristics (see e.g., Hwang; [0011]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 13, Hwang teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 9. Hwang discloses wherein the electrolyte additive corresponding to the silane compound is included in the electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% (see e.g., Hwang; [0088]), which overlaps with the claimed content of the silane compound in the non-aqueous electrolyte of 0.1% by mass to 5.0% by mass. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the silane compound in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% as disclosed by Hwang to overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 to 5.0% by mass as claimed in order to improve the performance of the lithium secondary battery by providing excellent charge/discharge characteristics, output characteristics, capacity characteristics, and voltage characteristics (see e.g., Hwang; [0011]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 10. Hwang discloses wherein the electrolyte additive corresponding to the silane compound is included in the electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% (see e.g., Hwang; [0088]), which overlaps with the claimed content of the silane compound in the non-aqueous electrolyte of 0.1% by mass to 5.0% by mass. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the silane compound in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% as disclosed by Hwang to overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 to 5.0% by mass as claimed in order to improve the performance of the lithium secondary battery by providing excellent charge/discharge characteristics, output characteristics, capacity characteristics, and voltage characteristics (see e.g., Hwang; [0011]-[0013]).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claim 11.
Hwang discloses wherein the electrolyte additive corresponding to the silane compound is included in the electrolyte in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% (see e.g., Hwang; [0088]), which overlaps with the claimed content of the silane compound in the non-aqueous electrolyte of 0.1% by mass to 5.0% by mass. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the silane compound in an amount of 0.1 to 10 weight% as disclosed by Hwang to overlap with the claimed range of 0.1 to 5.0% by mass as claimed in order to improve the performance of the lithium secondary battery by providing excellent charge/discharge characteristics, output characteristics, capacity characteristics, and voltage characteristics (see e.g., Hwang; [0011]-[0013]).
Regarding claims 20-23, Hwang the non-aqueous electrolyte according to claims 12-15, and the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode (see e.g., Hwang; [0038]).
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (KR-102283808-B1) (see translation), and in further view of Pang (US-20200058924-A1).
Regarding claim 24, Hwang discloses the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 16. Hwang discloses that the negative electrode material may be carbon-based or silicon-based (see e.g., Hwang; [0096]). Hwang does not explicitly disclose wherein a negative electrode active material particle in the negative electrode is a silicon oxide particle coated with a carbon layer. However, Pang discloses negative electrode active material particle in the negative electrode is a silicon oxide particle coated with a carbon layer (see e.g., Pang; [0023]-[0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the negative electrode active material to be carbon coated silicon oxide particle as disclosed by Pang in order to exhibit high delithiation capacity, high initial coulombic efficiency and good cycling performance (see e.g., Pang; [0008]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Hwang teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 24. Hwang does not explicitly disclose wherein the silicon oxide particle contains Li2SiO3 which is crystalline. However, Pang discloses wherein the negative electrode material may include Li2SiO3 (see e.g., Pang; [0023]) and wherein the material is at least partially crystalline (see e.g., Pang; [0025]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the negative electrode material of Hwang to comprise of Li2SiO3 which may be crystalline as disclosed by Pang in order to exhibit high delithiation capacity, high initial coulombic efficiency and good cycling performance (see e.g., Pang; [0008]).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728