DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20-25, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0278880 A1; “Matsumura”) in view of Hasegawa et al. (US 2020/0252254 A1; “Hasegawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura teaches a method performed by a wireless device, the method comprising:
being indicated that a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is based on frequency domain coding using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) of length greater than two [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a control section that assumes that a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a sequence length of a number larger than two is applied to a demodulation reference signal mapped to a pair of resource elements the number of which is greater than two and that are being different in frequency; see also ¶¶ 0117-0118: FD-OCC according to the first embodiment may be applied to M (M>2) RE pairs that are adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group, wherein the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like]; and
transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS of the channel based on the frequency domain coding [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a transmitting/receiving section that performs transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC; see also ¶ 0293: transmitting/receiving section 220 may perform transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC].
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose obtaining an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hasegawa teaches obtaining an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS [Hasegawa ¶ 0072: when 2 OFDM symbols and 4-bit OCC are used the terminals are notified of the number of DMRS symbols in the RRC (step ST1), and then the terminals are notified of a row number based on a 1 DMRS symbol or 2 DMRS symbols in the DCI (step ST2) (here, the DCI of step 2 is analogous to a received indication including a DCI format to schedule DMRS)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing FD-OCC of length greater than 2 to transmit DMRS as taught by Matsumura, with the method of indicating a DCI format for scheduling DMRS with an associated OCC as taught by Hasegawa. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce control overhead for reference signaling in a wireless communication system [Hasegawa ¶ 0008].
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the FD-OCC is of length 4, 6, or 8 the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code [Matsumura ¶ 0131, Figs. 5B & 6B: orthogonal code of FIG. 5B is expressed in another manner, e.g., natural exponential function exp(z) (i.e. real-value code)].
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 1,wherein a DMRS sequence length is an integer multiple of the length of the FD-OCC [Matsumura ¶ 0110: the TD-OCC/FD-OCC of the DMRS according to Rel. 15 NR will be described. The DMRS mapped to the resource element (RE) may correspond to a sequence obtained by multiplying the TD-OCC on a DMRS sequence by a parameter (here, as DMRS must be mapped to discrete resources, the parameter would implicitly be an interfere value)].
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a different cyclic shift [Matsumura ¶ 0092: a case of DMRS configuration type 1 and the double symbol DMRS, the Comb, the CS, and the TD-OCC may be used for orthogonalization. For example, up to eight APs may be supported by using two types of Combs, two types of CSs, and TD-OCCs ({1, 1} and {1, −1}) (here, different DMRS associated with different AP are subject to different comb/FD-OCC, i.e., cyclic shift)].
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a FD-OCC and a length of each of the FD-OCC may vary among DMRS [Matsumura ¶ 0122, Fig. 5A: different OCC is applied to Rel-15 DMRS and later than Rel 15 DMRS, wherein Fig. 5A shows different length OCC, e.g., DMRS type 1 for Rel-15 contrasted with DMRS type 1 for later Rel].
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura teaches a wireless device comprising processing circuitry operable to:
wherein a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is based on frequency domain coding using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) of length greater than two or a number of cyclic shifts greater than two [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a control section that assumes that a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a sequence length of a number larger than two is applied to a demodulation reference signal mapped to a pair of resource elements the number of which is greater than two and that are being different in frequency; see also ¶¶ 0117-0118: FD-OCC according to the first embodiment may be applied to M (M>2) RE pairs that are adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group, wherein the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like]; and
transmit or receive a number of DMRS of the channel based on the frequency domain coding [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a transmitting/receiving section that performs transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC; see also ¶ 0293: transmitting/receiving section 220 may perform transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC].
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose obtaining an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hasegawa teaches obtaining an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS [Hasegawa ¶ 0072: when 2 OFDM symbols and 4-bit OCC are used the terminals are notified of the number of DMRS symbols in the RRC (step ST1), and then the terminals are notified of a row number based on a 1 DMRS symbol or 2 DMRS symbols in the DCI (step ST2) (here, the DCI of step 2 is analogous to a received indication including a DCI format to schedule DMRS)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing FD-OCC of length greater than 2 to transmit DMRS as taught by Matsumura, with the method of indicating a DCI format for scheduling DMRS with an associated OCC as taught by Hasegawa. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce control overhead for reference signaling in a wireless communication system [Hasegawa ¶ 0008].
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the FD-OCC is of length 4, 6, or 8 [Matsumura ¶ 0118: the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code or a complex-valued code [Matsumura ¶ 0131, Figs. 5B & 6B: orthogonal code of FIG. 5B is expressed in another manner, e.g., natural exponential function exp(z) (i.e. real-value code); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein a DMRS sequence length is an integer multiple of the length of the FD-OCC [Matsumura ¶ 0110: the TD-OCC/FD-OCC of the DMRS according to Rel. 15 NR will be described. The DMRS mapped to the resource element (RE) may correspond to a sequence obtained by multiplying the TD-OCC on a DMRS sequence by a parameter (here, as DMRS must be mapped to discrete resources, the parameter would implicitly be an integer value)].
Regarding claim 13, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a different cyclic shift [Matsumura ¶ 0092: a case of DMRS configuration type 1 and the double symbol DMRS, the Comb, the CS, and the TD-OCC may be used for orthogonalization. For example, up to eight APs may be supported by using two types of Combs, two types of CSs, and TD-OCCs ({1, 1} and {1, −1}) (here, different DMRS associated with different AP are subject to different comb/FD-OCC, i.e., cyclic shift)].
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the wireless device of claim 8, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a FD-OCC and a length of each of the FD-OCC may vary among DMRS [Matsumura ¶ 0122, Fig. 5A: different OCC is applied to Rel-15 DMRS and later than Rel 15 DMRS, wherein Fig. 5A shows different length OCC, e.g., DMRS type 1 for Rel-15 contrasted with DMRS type 1 for later Rel].
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura teaches a method performed by a target network node, the method comprising:
a wireless device using a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is based on frequency domain coding using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) of length greater than two [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a control section that assumes that a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a sequence length of a number larger than two is applied to a demodulation reference signal mapped to a pair of resource elements the number of which is greater than two and that are being different in frequency; see also ¶¶ 0117-0118: FD-OCC according to the first embodiment may be applied to M (M>2) RE pairs that are adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group, wherein the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like]; and
transmitting or receiving a number of DMRS of the channel based on the frequency domain coding [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a transmitting/receiving section that performs transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC; see also ¶ 0293: transmitting/receiving section 220 may perform transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC].
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hasegawa teaches transmitting an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS [Hasegawa ¶ 0072: when 2 OFDM symbols and 4-bit OCC are used the terminals are notified of the number of DMRS symbols in the RRC (step ST1), and then the terminals are notified of a row number based on a 1 DMRS symbol or 2 DMRS symbols in the DCI (step ST2) (here, the DCI of step 2 is analogous to a transmitted indication including a DCI format to schedule DMRS)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing FD-OCC of length greater than 2 to transmit DMRS as taught by Matsumura, with the method of indicating a DCI format for scheduling DMRS with an associated OCC as taught by Hasegawa. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce control overhead for reference signaling in a wireless communication system [Hasegawa ¶ 0008].
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the FD-OCC is of length 4, 6, or 8 [Matsumura ¶ 0118: the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 17, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code or a complex-valued code [Matsumura ¶ 0131, Figs. 5B & 6B: orthogonal code of FIG. 5B is expressed in another manner, e.g., natural exponential function exp(z) (i.e. real-value code); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 18, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 15, wherein a DMRS sequence length is an integer multiple of the length of the FD-OCC [Matsumura ¶ 0110: the TD-OCC/FD-OCC of the DMRS according to Rel. 15 NR will be described. The DMRS mapped to the resource element (RE) may correspond to a sequence obtained by multiplying the TD-OCC on a DMRS sequence by a parameter (here, as DMRS must be mapped to discrete resources, the parameter would implicitly be an integer value)].
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a different cyclic shift [Matsumura ¶ 0092: a case of DMRS configuration type 1 and the double symbol DMRS, the Comb, the CS, and the TD-OCC may be used for orthogonalization. For example, up to eight APs may be supported by using two types of Combs, two types of CSs, and TD-OCCs ({1, 1} and {1, −1}) (here, different DMRS associated with different AP are subject to different comb/FD-OCC, i.e., cyclic shift)].
Regarding claim 21, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a FD-OCC and a length of each of the FD-OCC may vary among DMRS [Matsumura ¶ 0122, Fig. 5A: different OCC is applied to Rel-15 DMRS and later than Rel 15 DMRS, wherein Fig. 5A shows different length OCC, e.g., DMRS type 1 for Rel-15 contrasted with DMRS type 1 for later Rel].
Regarding claim 22, Matsumura teaches a network node comprising processing circuitry operable to:
a wireless device determining a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is based on frequency domain coding using a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) of length greater than two or a number of cyclic shifts greater than two [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a control section that assumes that a frequency domain orthogonal cover code (FD-OCC) having a sequence length of a number larger than two is applied to a demodulation reference signal mapped to a pair of resource elements the number of which is greater than two and that are being different in frequency; see also ¶¶ 0117-0118: FD-OCC according to the first embodiment may be applied to M (M>2) RE pairs that are adjacent in the frequency direction in a given CDM group, wherein the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like]; and
transmit or receive a number of DMRS of the channel based on the frequency domain coding [Matsumura ¶ 0012: a transmitting/receiving section that performs transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC; see also ¶ 0293: transmitting/receiving section 220 may perform transmission processing or reception processing of the demodulation reference signal, based on the FD-OCC].
However, Matsumura does not explicitly disclose transmitting an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Hasegawa teaches transmitting an indication, wherein the indication includes a format of a DCI used to schedule a channel having the DMRS [Hasegawa ¶ 0072: when 2 OFDM symbols and 4-bit OCC are used the terminals are notified of the number of DMRS symbols in the RRC (step ST1), and then the terminals are notified of a row number based on a 1 DMRS symbol or 2 DMRS symbols in the DCI (step ST2) (here, the DCI of step 2 is analogous to a transmitted indication including a DCI format to schedule DMRS)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of utilizing FD-OCC of length greater than 2 to transmit DMRS as taught by Matsumura, with the method of indicating a DCI format for scheduling DMRS with an associated OCC as taught by Hasegawa. The motivation to combine these references would be to reduce control overhead for reference signaling in a wireless communication system [Hasegawa ¶ 0008].
Regarding claim 23, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the network node of claim 22, wherein the FD-OCC is of length 4, 6, or 8 [Matsumura ¶ 0118: the FD-OCC having a sequence length of M may be used, wherein the number of DMRS ports can be increased to M/2 times as large as that of Rel-15 NR, e.g., M may be 4, 8, 16, 32, or the like; Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 24, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the network node of claim 22, wherein the FD-OCC comprises a real-valued code or a complex-valued code [Matsumura ¶ 0131, Figs. 5B & 6B: orthogonal code of FIG. 5B is expressed in another manner, e.g., natural exponential function exp(z) (i.e. real-value code); Examiner’s Note: the limitations are written in the alternative (e.g., use of the word “or”), therefore, it is only necessary that one of the alternative limitations be taught by the applied references].
Regarding claim 25, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the network node of claim 22, wherein a DMRS sequence length is an integer multiple of the length of the FD-OCC [Matsumura ¶ 0110: the TD-OCC/FD-OCC of the DMRS according to Rel. 15 NR will be described. The DMRS mapped to the resource element (RE) may correspond to a sequence obtained by multiplying the TD-OCC on a DMRS sequence by a parameter (here, as DMRS must be mapped to discrete resources, the parameter would implicitly be an integer value)].
Regarding claim 27, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the network node of claim 22, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a different cyclic shift [Matsumura ¶ 0092: a case of DMRS configuration type 1 and the double symbol DMRS, the Comb, the CS, and the TD-OCC may be used for orthogonalization. For example, up to eight APs may be supported by using two types of Combs, two types of CSs, and TD-OCCs ({1, 1} and {1, −1}) (here, different DMRS associated with different AP are subject to different comb/FD-OCC, i.e., cyclic shift)].
Regarding claim 28, Matsumura in view of Hasegawa teaches the network node of claim 22, wherein the DMRS is one DMRS of a plurality of DMRS and each DMRS of the plurality of DMRS is associated with a FD-OCC and a length of each of the FD-OCC may vary among DMRS [Matsumura ¶ 0122, Fig. 5A: different OCC is applied to Rel-15 DMRS and later than Rel 15 DMRS, wherein Fig. 5A shows different length OCC, e.g., DMRS type 1 for Rel-15 contrasted with DMRS type 1 for later Rel].
Conclusion
/BRIAN P COX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474