DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/685384 filed on 02/21/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-15, 17-19, 21-24, 26-28, 30-33, 35-36 are pending. Claims 2, 7, 11, 16, 20, 25, 29 and 34 were cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 22 are objected to because of the following informality:
Regarding claims 21 and 22, the limitation “claim 20” should be replaced with “claim 19”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 12-15, 19, 21-24, 28, 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0135823 A1).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses “A method performed by a wireless device comprising :” [(par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302.] “obtaining a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration for ;” [(par. 0094), the UE obtaining an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via five or more antenna ports in one slot. The UE may, for example, obtain the indication from a transmission (e.g., a DCI) from a BS, from a configuration that the UE may obtain from a network entity (e.g., a BS). (par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302 and 4 cyclic shifts.] “and transmitting SRS according to the SRS resource configuration,” [(par. 0094), the UE obtaining an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via five or more antenna ports in one slot. The UE may, for example, obtain the indication from a transmission (e.g., a DCI) from a BS, from a configuration that the UE may obtain from a network entity (e.g., a BS), or by reference to a communications standard. (par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302 and 4 cyclic shifts.] “wherein the SRS resource configuration comprises an SRS resource for ” [(par. 0094), the UE obtaining an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via five or more antenna ports in one slot. The UE may, for example, obtain the indication from a transmission (e.g., a DCI) from a BS, from a configuration that the UE may obtain from a network entity (e.g., a BS). (par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302 and 4 cyclic shifts.] “wherein the SRS resource is divided into at least two subsets” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7.] “wherein each subset is associated with a different comb offset” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7, may be multiplexed using the same first set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1320) or a different second set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1340), for a total of up to 8 ports used for transmitting SRS during one symbol period 1310.]
As per claim 3, Zhang discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the ” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7, may be multiplexed using the same first set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1320) or a different second set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1340), for a total of up to 8 ports used for transmitting SRS during one symbol period 1310.]
As per claim 4, Zhang discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein cyclic shifts are spaced equidistantly in each of the at least two subsets” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7, may be multiplexed using the same first set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1320) or a different second set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1340), for a total of up to 8 ports used for transmitting SRS during one symbol period 1310.]
As per claim 5, Zhang discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the SRS resource configuration comprises a 6 SRS port configuration using comb 2, the 6 SRS ports are divided equally among the at least two subsets, and cyclic shifts are not spaced equidistantly in each of the at least two subsets” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
As per claim 6, Zhang discloses “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.] “wherein the SRS resource configuration comprises a 6 SRS port configuration using comb 4 and the 6 SRS ports are not divided equally among the at least two subsets” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
As per claim 19, Zhang discloses “A method performed by a network node, the method comprising:” [(par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302.] “determining a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource configuration for 6 or 8 SRS ports;” [(par. 0094), the UE obtaining an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via five or more antenna ports in one slot. The UE may, for example, obtain the indication from a transmission (e.g., a DCI) from a BS, from a configuration that the UE may obtain from a network entity (e.g., a BS). (par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302 and 4 cyclic shifts.] “and transmitting the SRS resource configuration to a wireless device,” [(par. 0094), the UE obtaining an indication of a technique to use in transmitting sounding reference signals (SRS) via five or more antenna ports in one slot. The UE may, for example, obtain the indication from a transmission (e.g., a DCI) from a BS, from a configuration that the UE may obtain from a network entity (e.g., a BS). (par. 0100), a UE (e.g., UE 120 shown in FIG. 1) to transmit SRS using up to eight antenna ports. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE may be configured to transmit 8 SRS ports using 2 out of 4 transmission combs 1302 and 4 cyclic shifts.] “wherein the SRS resource configuration comprises an SRS resource for 6 or 8 SRS ports” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7, may be multiplexed using the same first set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1320) or a different second set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1340), for a total of up to 8 ports used for transmitting SRS during one symbol period 1310.] “wherein the SRS resource is divided into at least two subsets,” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7,] “wherein each subset is associated with a different comb offset.” [(par. 0101), According to aspects of the present disclosure and as shown in the table at 1320, the SRSs transmitted on differing combs may use the same sets of cyclic shifts within each comb. In the exemplary technique 1300, the UE is configured to use combs 1302a and 1302c (combs #0 and #2) to transmit SRS. On comb 1302a (comb #0), up to 4 ports, 0-3, may be multiplexed using a first set of cyclic shifts, and on comb 1302c (comb #2), up to 4 ports, 4-7, may be multiplexed using the same first set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1320) or a different second set of cyclic shifts (e.g., as shown in table 1340), for a total of up to 8 ports used for transmitting SRS during one symbol period 1310.]
As per claims 10, 12-15, as [see rejections of claims 1, 3-6.]
As per claims 21-24, as [see rejections of claims 3-6.]
As per claims 28, 30-33, as [see rejections of claims 19, 21-24.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 17, 18, 26, 27, 35, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0135823 A1) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0271889 A1).
As per claim 8, Zhang “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
Zhang does not exilically disclose “wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts associated with comb 2 is 16”.
However, Matsumura discloses “wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts associated with comb 2 is 16” as [(par. 0062), In the case of using Comb 2 and the CS, the UEs the maximum number of which is 2×8=16 can be multiplexed.]
Zhang et al. (US 2021/0135823 A1) and Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0271889 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Matsumura’s teaching into Zhang’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow adjustability on cyclic shifting based on a communication environment.
As per claim 9, Zhang “The method of claim 1,” as [see rejection of claim 1.]
Zhang does not exilically disclose “wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts associated with combs 4 and 8 is 24”
However, Matsumura discloses “wherein a maximum number of cyclic shifts associated with combs 4 and 8 is 24” as [(par. 0062), In the case of using Comb 2 and the CS, the UEs the maximum number of which is 2×8=16 can be multiplexed. In the case of using Comb 4 and the CS, the UEs the maximum number of which is 4×12=48 can be multiplexed. A plurality of CSs may be configured for the different UEs, or may be associated with the different SRS ports.]
Zhang et al. (US 2021/0135823 A1) and Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0271889 A1) are analogous art because they are the same field of endeavor of network communication. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Matsumura’s teaching into Zhang’s teaching. The motivation for making the above modification would be to allow adjustability on cyclic shifting based on a communication environment.
As per claims 17-18, 26-27, 35-36, as [see rejections of claims 8-9.]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publications:
Duan et al. (US Patent Publication # 2021/0112498 A1).
/MANG HANG YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417