DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18, 19 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hao et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0061722).
Regarding claim 18, Hao teaches a method performed by a network node, the method comprising: sending, to a user equipment, UE, information for a Channel State Information, CSI, report configuration that configures the UE with: (a) a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources for channel measurement, wherein each of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a respective Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state or unified TCI state from among a plurality of different TCI states or unified TCI states [Para 116-119 and Fig. 17, CSI-RS which is CSI-IM resource group in Hao is associated with a TCI state]; (b) a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel, wherein the single NZP CSI-RS resource comprising a plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports wherein each set of CSI-RS ports within the single NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a respective TCI state or unified TCI state from among a plurality of different TCI states or unified TCI states [Para 116-119, multiple CSI-RS ports are associated with NZP CSI-RS resource where CSI-RS is associated with TCI state]; or (c) both (a) and (b); and (d) a parameter combination indicating at least a total number of spatial beams or CSI-RS ports to be determined and reported across the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources or the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports [Para 110-114, total number of receive beams for measurement and reporting are determined across NZP CSI-RS resources].
Regarding claim 19, Hao teaches receiving CSI from the UE, the CSI comprising: A. for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources or each of the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports, a set of determined spatial beams [Para 110-114, beams information is received for measurement]; B. for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources or the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports, a set of determined CSI-RS ports [Para 116-117, ports for CSI-RS are determined], or C. both A and B.
Regarding claim 34, Hao teaches a network node comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to: send, to a user equipment, UE, information for a Channel State Information, CSI, report configuration that configures the UE with: (a) a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources for channel measurement, wherein each of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a respective Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state or unified TCI state from among a plurality of different TCI states or unified TCI states [Para 116-119 and Fig. 17, CSI-RS which is CSI-IM resource group in Hao is associated with a TCI state]; (b) a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel, wherein the single NZP CSI-RS resource comprising a plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports wherein each set of CSI-RS ports within the single NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a respective TCI state or unified TCI state from among a plurality of different TCI states or unified TCI states [Para 116-119, multiple CSI-RS ports are associated with NZP CSI-RS resource where CSI-RS is associated with TCI state]; or (c) both (a) and (b); and (d) a parameter combination indicating at least a total number of spatial beams or CSI-RS ports to be determined and reported across the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources or the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports [Para 110-114, total number of receive beams for measurement and reporting are determined across NZP CSI-RS resources].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Khoshnevisan et al. (USPN 12,563,434) teaches a method performed by a user equipment, UE, the method comprising: receiving information for a Channel State Information, CSI, report configuration that configures:(a) a plurality of Non-Zero Power, NZP, Channel State Information Reference Signal, CSI-RS, resources for channel measurement, wherein each of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources is associated with a different Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state or unified TCI state [Col. 13, lines 23-48]; (b) a single NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement, wherein the single NZP CSI-RS resource comprising a plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports [Col. 13, lines 23-48].
Hao et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0061722) teaches computing Channel State Information, CSI, based on the channel measurements, including determining the total number of spatial beams or ports based on the channel measurements, the computed CSI comprising: A. for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources or each of the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports, a set of determined spatial beams; B. for each of the plurality of CSI-RS resources or the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports, a set of determined CSI-RS ports; and reporting the computed CSI to a network node [Para 110-119].
However, Khoshnevisan and Hao do not teach each set of CSI-RS ports within the single NZP CSI-RS resource is associated with a different TCI state or unified TCI state; (d) a parameter combination indicating at least a total number of spatial beams or CSI-RS ports to be determined and reported across the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources or the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports; performing, in accordance with the configuration information, channel measurements on:(i) at least a subset of the plurality of NZP CSI-RS resources according to the associated TCI states or unified TCI states; (ii) the single NZP CSI-RS resource wherein the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports in the single NZP CSI-RS resource are measured according to the associated TCI states or unified TCI states; (iii)the single NZP CSI-RS resource wherein a subset of the plurality of sets of CSI-RS ports in the single NZP CSI-RS resource are measured according to the associated TCI states or unified TCI states.
Above taken with other limitations from the claims and dependent claims is considered novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Onggosanusi et al. (USPN 10,020,860) teaches configuring a user equipment with receiving two channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resources. A first of the CSI reports associated with the first CSI-RS resource and a second of the CSI reports associated with the second CSI-RS resource. A controller is configured to precode the second CSI-RS resource in response to the first CSI report.
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464