DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 64, 67-68, 70-71, 74-78, 80-82 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Ghimire et al. (US 2023/0358843 A1, hereinafter “Ghimire”) in view of KOFHEART (WO 01/93434 A2, hereinafter “KOFHEART”)
Regarding Claim 64, Ghimire discloses: an apparatus, comprising at least one processor, [0352], “The computer system 600 includes one or more processors 602, like a special purpose or a general-purpose digital signal processor”
and at least one memory including computer program code, Ghimire discloses, [0352], “The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive”, and further Ghimire discloses, [0352], “The secondary memory 608 may allow computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into the computer system 600”
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, Ghimire discloses, [0353], “In particular, the computer program, when executed, enables processor 602 to implement the processes of the present invention, such as any of the methods described herein”
determine that a user equipment is configured to perform positioning using a transparent non-terrestrial network node, Ghimire discloses, [0002], “Embodiments concern the determination of a position of a user device, UE, within such a wireless communication network and transmitting or receiving via the NTN components.”, and , [0056], “…the wireless communication network including …non-terrestrial network, NTN, components…operating on a bent pipe principle for a transmission between the UE and the RAN”, Ghimire further discloses, [0177], “…the position reference signals are transmitted within a NTN wireless communication network as transparent payload via the respective NTN components …”
transmit signal assistance data comprising the transparent processing delay, [0090], “ the entity, when receiving the assistance data, may use the assistance data to adjust the measurement of the one or more first values”, further Ghimire discloses, [0228], “For example, the apparatus 200 may provide calibration parameters as assistance data to the UE or the NG-RAN node, dependent on whether the positioning is determined using downlink or uplink positioning reference signals”, [0233], “When the apparatus is provided at the core network, it may signal the calibration parameters or assistance information either to the NG-RAN node or to the UE, or to both…”
However, Ghimire does not disclose: calculating a transparent processing delay using a look-up table.
In the same field endeavor, KOFHEART discloses, calculating a transparent processing delay using a look-up table, [p. 20], “With the remote device type known, the local device 301 then refers to a look up table (LUT) stored in memory 207 or ROM 209 to determine a predefined processing delay for the radio type.” KOFHEART further discloses, [p. 20], “According to one embodiment, the processing delay d is determined by retrieving the delay from the memory of the local device 201. In this embodiment, the local device 201”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire to calculate the transparent processing delay using a look-up table as taught by KOFHEART in order to provide predictable, repeatable, and computationally efficient delay determination based on stored predefined values.
Regarding Claim 67, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 67 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the signal assistance data is transmitted using long-term evolution positioning protocol (LPP), [0163], “… to report a A-GNSS position with a message ProvideLocationInformation within a LPP signaling …”, and, [0227], “The information may be provided as TLE or as fields within an IE in an RRC and/or LPP and/or NRPPa message.”
Regarding Claim 68, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 68 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the signal assistance data is transmitted using radio resource control (RRC), [0227], “The information may be provided as TLE or as fields within an IE in an RRC and/or LPP and/or NRPPa message or in any other system message.”
Regarding Claim 70, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 70 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. In addition, Ghimire discloses, comprising: performing, by the location management entity, an online re-calibration procedure, [0228], “… provide calibration parameters as assistance data … “, and further discloses, [0233], “… in receiving the assistance data may use the data to adjust the measurement …”
Regarding Claim 71, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 71 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 70. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the online re-calibration comprises at least one of:
a first gateway configured to transmit a reference signal, and a second gateway configured to receive the reference signal via a service link frequency and via the non- terrestrial network;
a terrestrial network base station configured to transmit a reference signal on a service link, and
a gateway configured to receive the reference signal on a feeder link via a non- terrestrial node;
a user equipment with a fixed known location configured to transmit a reference signal on a service link, and a gateway configured to receive the reference signal on a feeder link; or
a user equipment configured to use a global navigation satellite system to compare a position obtained according to cellular-based positioning, [0163], “determine the current location of the UE using A-GNSS …”, and [0177], “…the position reference signals are transmitted within an NTN wireless communication network as transparent payload via the respective NTN components …” Ghimire further discloses, [0090], “ the entity, when receiving the assistance data, may use the assistance data to adjust the measurement of the one or more first values”
Regarding Claim 74, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 74 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: start a user equipment-based positioning session, [0178], “3a. The LMF instigates location procedures … to transfer location assistance data to the UE.”, and [0192], “the inventive approach may operate in accordance with the positioning procedure according to TS 38.305 …”
Regarding Claim 75, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 75 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: transmit one or more of a positioning reference signal or other reference signal, [0177], “ position reference signals are transmitted within a NTN wireless communication network as transparent payload …” and further discloses, [0190], “When the receiver, for example the UE in the downlink case, or the NR-RAN in the uplink case, correlates a received positioning reference signal …”
to the user equipment for timing estimation as part of a positioning procedure, [0190],” correlates a received positioning reference signal with a copy of the positioning reference signal …”, and further, [0192], “the inventive approach may operate in accordance with the positioning procedure according to TS 38.305 …”
Regarding Claim 76, Ghimire discloses: an apparatus, comprising at least one processor, [0352], “The computer system 600 includes one or more processors 602, like a special purpose or a general-purpose digital signal processor”
and at least one memory including computer program code, Ghimire discloses, [0352], “The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive”, and further Ghimire discloses, [0352], “The secondary memory 608 may allow computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into the computer system 600”
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, Ghimire discloses, [0353], “In particular, the computer program, when executed, enables processor 602 to implement the processes of the present invention, such as any of the methods described herein”
receive signal assistance data from a location management entity as part of assistance data, [0178], “The LMF instigates location procedures … to transfer location assistance data to the UE.”
receive one or more of a positioning reference signal or other reference signal for timing estimation as part of a positioning procedure, [0190], “ When the receiver … correlates a received positioning reference signal … a delay may be measured … total delay”, and further, [0192], “the inventive approach may operate in accordance with the positioning procedure according to TS 38.305 …”
based upon the signal assistance data and said one or more of the positioning reference signal, [0228], “ the apparatus 200 may provide calibration parameters as assistance data … is determined using downlink or uplink positioning reference signals”
correct a timing estimation according to a transparent processing delay, [0090], “…the processing delay, the feeder link delay, the service link delay and the connection delay.”, and further [0190], “ Thus, the total delay t1=t1,a+t1,b+Δ1 … t2=t2,a+t2,b+Δ2”
However, Ghimire does not teach calculate a position estimate based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table.
In the same field endeavor, KOFHEART discloses, calculate a position estimate based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table, [p. 20], “With the remote device type known, the local device 301 then refers to a look up table (LUT) stored in memory 207 or ROM 209 to determine a predefined processing delay for the radio type.” KOFHEART further discloses, [p. 20], “According to one embodiment, the processing delay d is determined by retrieving the delay from the memory of the local device 201. In this embodiment, the local device 201”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire by providing calculate a position estimate based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table, as taught by KOFHEART, in order to determine processing delay for use in positioning calculation.
Regarding Claim 77, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 77 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 76. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the signal assistance data is transmitted using long-term evolution positioning protocol (LPP), [0163], “… to report a A-GNSS position with a message ProvideLocationInformation within a LPP signaling …”, and, [0227], “The information may be provided as TLE or as fields within an IE in an RRC and/or LPP and/or NRPPa message.”
Regarding Claim 78, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 78 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 76. In addition, Ghimire discloses, wherein the signal assistance data is received using radio resource control (RRC), [0024], “… the wireless communication network comprising … a plurality of non-terrestrial network, NTN, components … [and] …via at least two different NTN components”, and [0178], “3a. The LMF instigates location procedures … to transfer location assistance data to the UE.”, further Ghimire discloses, [0227], “The information may be provided as TLE or as fields within an IE in an RRC and/or LPP and/or NRPPa message or in any other system message.”
Regarding Claim 80, Ghimire discloses, receiving, by a user equipment, signal assistance data from a location management entity as part of assistance data, [0178], “The LMF instigates location procedures … to transfer location assistance data to the UE.”
receiving, by the user equipment, one or more of a positioning reference signal or other reference signal for timing estimation as part of a positioning procedure, [0190],” correlates a received positioning reference signal with a copy of the positioning reference signal …” and [0192], “the inventive approach may operate in accordance with the positioning procedure according to TS 38.305 …”.
based upon the signal assistance data and said one or more of the positioning reference signal or other reference signal, [0228], “the apparatus 200 may provide calibration parameters as assistance data … is determined using downlink or uplink positioning reference signals”
correcting, by the user equipment, a timing estimation according to a transparent processing delay, [0090], “…the processing delay, the feeder link delay, the service link delay and the connection delay.”, and further [0190], “ Thus, the total delay t1=t1,a+t1,b+Δ1 … t2=t2,a+t2,b+Δ2”
calculating, by the user equipment, a position estimate based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table, Ghimire discloses, [0163], “determine the current location of the UE using A-GNSS …”
However, Ghimire does not disclose, estimating based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table.
In the same field of endeavor, KOFHEART discloses, estimating based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table, [p. 20], “With the remote device type known, the local device 301 then refers to a look up table (LUT) … to determine a predefined processing delay ...”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire by providing estimate based on the transparent processing delay according to a look-up table, as taught by KOFHEART, in order to provide a predefined processing delay value for us in timing calculations.
Regarding Claim 81, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 81 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 80. In addition, Ghimire discloses, the signal assistance data is receiving using long-term evolution positioning protocol (LPP), [0227], “The information may be provided as TLE or as fields within an IE in an RRC and/or LPP and/or NRPPa message or in any other system message.”
Regarding Claim 82, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 82 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 80. In addition, Ghimire discloses, the signal assistance data is received using radio resource control (RRC), [0227], “The information may be provided as TLE or as fields within an IE in an RRC and/or LPP and/or NRPPa message or in any other system message.”
Claims 65 is reject under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Ghimire et al. (US 2023/0358843 A1, hereinafter “Ghimire”) in view of KOFHEART (WO 01/93434 A2, hereinafter “KOFHEART”) and further in view of Manolakos et al. (US 2021/0075573 A1, hereinafter “Manolakos”)
Regarding Claim 65, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 65 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. Ghimire teaches calculating a position based on measured delay values, [0190], “Likewise, the total delay observed on the signal received via the satellite 156 2 is t2=t2,a+t2,b+Δ2 … “ Ghimire further teaches determining a position based on measured distance/delay values, [0193], “ the apparatus 200 … determines 222 the position of the UE using the obtained positions of the at least two NTN components and the first values or one or more Doppler values”
However, Ghimire and KOFHEART do not disclose wherein the calculating is based upon at least one of bandwidth or frequency or temperature.
In the same field endeavor, Manolakos discloses, the calculating is based upon frequency or temperature, [0006], “the first lookup table represents per-frequency group delay information for the downlink receive beam and/or the uplink transmit beam” Manolakos further teaches delay varies as a function of frequency, [0022], “FIG. 7 illustrates a graph comparing group delay to frequency”. Manolakos also teaches temperature-based calibration, [0112], “Another source of variation is temperature-specific. This can be addressed with a calibration table for temperature”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing the calculating is based upon frequency, as taught by Manolakos, in order to improve positioning accuracy by compensating for predictable delay variations in communication systems.
Claims 66, 69, 79, 83 are reject under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Ghimire et al. (US 2023/0358843 A1, hereinafter “Ghimire”) in view of KOFHEART (WO 01/93434 A2, hereinafter “KOFHEART”) and further in view of Kim (US 2020/0351957 A1, hereinafter “Kim”)
Regarding Claim 66, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 66 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. Ghimire teaches an apparatus operating in a non-terrestrial network, [0024], “… the wireless communication network comprising … a plurality of non-terrestrial network, NTN, components … [and] …via at least two different NTN components” and signaling assistance information, [0233], “When the apparatus is provided at the core network, it may signal the calibration parameters or assistance information either to the NG-RAN node or to the UE, or to both…”
However, Ghimire does not disclose a look-up table
In the same field endeavor, KOFHEART teaches, look-up table, [p. 20], “With the remote device type known, the local device 301 then refers to a look up table (LUT) stored in memory 207 or ROM 209 to determine a predefined processing delay ...”
However, the combination of Ghimire and KOFHEART does not disclose, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive the look-up table from a non-terrestrial network.
In the same field endeavor, Kim teaches, receiving the look-table from a non-terrestrial network, [0006], “The non-terrestrial network has a relatively long round trip time delay ...” Kim further teaches delay values configured in table form, [0084], “ a plurality of common TA values may configured in form of a table (or list) …” Kim also teaches receiving such table-type information, [0014], “receiving table-type information including at least one value of the common delay from the base station …”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing receive the look-up table from a non-terrestrial network, as taught by Kim, in order to manage delay parameter in an NTN environment.
Regarding Claim 69, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 69 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64; However, Ghimire and KOFHEART do not explicitly disclose, wherein the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE).
In the same field endeavor, Kim discloses, the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE), [0119], “configured through a higher layer parameter (e.g., RRC or MAC-CE) ... The base station may signal a specific value … through a higher layer parameter (RRC or MAC CE), DCI, or the RAR”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE), as taught by Kim, in order to provide flexible higher-layer signaling.
Regarding Claim 79, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 79 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 76. However, Ghimire and KOFHEART do not explicitly disclose, wherein the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE).
In the same field endeavor, Kim discloses, the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE), [0119], “configured through a higher layer parameter (e.g., RRC or MAC-CE) ... The base station may signal a specific value … through a higher layer parameter (RRC or MAC CE), DCI, or the RAR”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE), as taught by Kim, in order to provide flexible higher-layer signaling.
Regarding Claim 83, Ghimire and KOFHART disclose the limitations of Claim 83 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 80. However, Ghimire and KOFHEART do not explicitly disclose, wherein the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE).
In the same field endeavor, Kim discloses, the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE), [0119], “configured through a higher layer parameter (e.g., RRC or MAC-CE) ... The base station may signal a specific value … through a higher layer parameter (RRC or MAC CE), DCI, or the RAR”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing the signal assistance data is transmitted using one or more medium access control elements (MAC-CE), as taught by Kim, in order to provide flexible higher-layer signaling.
Claims 72-73 are reject under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Ghimire et al. (US 2023/0358843 A1, hereinafter “Ghimire”) in view of KOFHEART (WO 01/93434 A2, hereinafter “KOFHEART”) and further in view of Määttänen et al. (US 2023/0262590 A1, hereinafter “Määttänen”).
Regarding Claim 72, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 72 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 64. Ghimire teaches NTN architecture, [0024], “the wireless communication network comprising a radio access network, RAN, a core network, CN, and a plurality of non-terrestrial network, NTN, components”
However, Ghimire and KOFHEART do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive non-terrestrial network feeder link information from the non-terrestrial network.
In the same field endeavor, Määttänen discloses, receive non-terrestrial network feeder link information from the non-terrestrial network, [0004], “(c) a feeder link that refers to the link between a gateway and a satellite”, and [0123], “ … the one or more parameters comprise … information about a feeder link …”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing receive non-terrestrial network feeder link information from the non-terrestrial network, as taught by Määttänen as feeder link parameters directly impact timing and positioning performance in NTN systems.
Regarding Claim 73, Ghimire and KOFHEART disclose the limitations of Claim 73 as recited above in the rejection of Claim 72. Ghimire teaches NTN architecture, [0024], “the wireless communication network comprising a radio access network, RAN, a core network, CN, and a plurality of non-terrestrial network, NTN, components”
However, Ghimire and KOFHEART do not expressly disclose wherein the feeder link information comprises at least one of frequency, bandwidth, or temperature.
In the same field endeavor, Määttänen discloses, the feeder link information comprises at least one of frequency, [0004], “(c) a feeder link that refers to the link between a gateway and a satellite”, and [0123], “ … the one or more parameters comprise … information about a feeder link …”, and , Määttänen further discloses , [0024],” The one or more parameters may comprise a carrier frequency of the NTN … ”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Ghimire and KOFHEART by providing the feeder link information comprises at least one of frequency, as taught by Määttänen, in order to configure feeder link operational parameters in an NTN system.
Conclusion
Prior Art of Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Qaise et al. (US 2023/0216580 A1, hereinafter “Qaise”). Qaise is directed generally to positioning and /or assistance data procedures in wireless communication networks, including aspects of signal assistance data and positioning protocols. Qaise has been reviewed and is considered to show general state of the art regarding positioning assistance signaling; however, it does not teach or suggest the specific combination of limitations recited in the presently rejected claims. Accordingly, it is not relied upon in the above rejection.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SANG PHUOC. LE
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/S.P.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641