DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ooki et al (EP 2 879 181 A1) .
With respect to Claim 1, Ooki et al discloses a color and infrared image sensor (Figure 7) comprising: a first level having infrared photodetectors formed therein (Figure 7, 124; paragraph 65, 142 is infrared light) ; a second level, located above the first level, having visible photodetectors formed therein (Figure 7, 115; paragraph 57, 141 is visible light); and a layer of microlenses (Figure 7, 111) comprising , for each infrared photodetector (Figure 7, 124), a specific microlens arranged to focus the incident rays on the infrared photodetector, wherein the visible photodetectors (Figure 7, 115) are laterally offset with respect to the infrared photodetectors. See Figure 7 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 57-65 and 94-103.
With respect to Claim 2, Ooki et al discloses further comprising, between the second level and the layers of microlenses (Figure 7, 111), a layer of color filters (Figure 7, 112) comprising a specific color filter in front of each visible photodetector (Figure 7, 115).
With respect to Claim 7, Ooki et al further disclose comprising an inorganic semiconductor substrate inside and on top of which are formed circuits for reading from the visible and infrared photodetectors. See Figure 7 and paragraphs 54 and 359.
With respect to Claim 8, Ooki et al discloses wherein the infrared photodetectors are inorganic photodetectors formed in said semiconductor substrate and the visible photodetectors are organic photodetectors. See paragraph 306.
With respect to Claim 9, Ooki et al disclose wherein the infrared photodetectors are organic photodetectors formed above the semiconductor substrate and the visible photodetectors are organic photodetectors. See paragraph 368 and Claim 11 of Ooki et al.
With respect to Claim 10, Ooki et al disclose wherein each visible photodetector (Figure 7, 115) has an active region separated from active areas of the other photodetectors by an opaque wall. See Figure 7 and corresponding text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooki et al (EP 2 879 181 A1).
Ooki et al is relied upon as discussed above.
With respect to Claims 4-6, Ooki et al do not explicitly disclose the relative placement of the parts as required by the Claims at hand.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations as rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 4, and the limitation, wherein the microlenses (Figure 7, 111)are laterally offset with respect to the color filters (Figure 7, 112), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations as rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 5, and the limitation, wherein the visible photodetectors (Figure 7, 115) are arranged in a first array, and the infrared photodetectors (Figure 7, 124) are arranged in a second array of same resolution and of same pitch as the first array, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations as rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 6, and the limitation, wherein, in top view, the center to center distance between any two neighboring visible and infrared photodetectors is substantially equal to haff the pitch of the first and second arrays, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations as rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 11, and the limitation, wherein the inorganic substrate is made of single-crystal silicon, the Examiner takes Official Notice that single crystal silicon is a well- known semiconductor substrate in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations as the use of a known material for its known benefit is prima facie obvious.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooki et al (EP 2 879 181 A1) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4-11 above, and further in view of Hiok-Nam et al (DE 102010030903A1).
Ooki et al is relied on as discussed above.
However, Ooki et al do not disclose “wherein the color filters are laterally separated from one another by opaque walls”, as required by Claim 3.
Hiok-Nam et al also pertains to image sensors and disclose the color filters are laterally separated from one another by opaque walls, and its known benefit of reducing cross-talk. See page 7, lines 1-20.
With respect to Claim 3, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use opaque walls to separate the color filters in the device of Ooki et al, for its known benefit in the art of reducing cross-talk as disclosed by Hiok-Nam et al.
Conclusion
AGG
June 10, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812