DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inventorship
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the inclusion of the legal phraseology “means” in line 8 of the “Clean copy” of the abstract. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an effective acting position" in line 5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “effective acting position,” due to “an effective acting position” already being established in claim 1 and claim 2 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a flexible electrode substrate" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “flexible electrode substrate,” due to “a flexible electrode substrate” already being established in claim 1 and claim 3 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a working table" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “working table,” due to “a working table” already being established in claim 1 and claim 3 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "an ultrafast laser processing device" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “ultrafast laser processing device,” due to “an ultrafast laser processing device” already being established in claim 1 and claim 3 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the upper and lower surfaces" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “the upper and lower surfaces” was established in claim 2, however, claim 3 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "an effective acting position" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “effective acting position,” due to “an effective acting position” already being established in claim 1 and claim 4 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the upper and lower surfaces" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “the upper and lower surfaces” was established in claim 2, however, claim 4 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "an ultrafast laser unit" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “ultrafast laser unit,” due to “an ultrafast laser unit” already being established in claim 1 and claim 5 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "an ultrafast laser" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “ultrafast laser,” due to “an ultrafast laser” already being established in claim 1 and claim 5 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "required output parameters" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “required output parameters,” due to “required output parameters” already being established in claim 1 and claim 5 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "required output parameters" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “required output parameters,” due to “required output parameters” already being established in claim 1 and claim 5 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the focusing objective lens" in lines 4-5 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation of “the focusing objective lens” was established in claim 6, however, claim 8 depends from claim 3. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "an effective acting position" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “effective acting position,” due to “an effective acting position” already being established in claim 1 and claim 9 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "through hole" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to the “through hole” established in claim 4, another “through hole,” or multiple “through holes.” Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "an electrode contact portion" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “electrode contact portion,” due to “an electrode contact portion” already being established in claim 9 and claim 10 depends from claim 9. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a flexible electrode substrate" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “flexible electrode substrate,” due to “a flexible electrode substrate” already being established in claim 1 and claim 10 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a working table" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “working table,” due to “a working table” already being established in claim 1 and claim 10 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "an ultrafast laser processing device" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “ultrafast laser processing device,” due to “an ultrafast laser processing device” already being established in claim 1 and claim 10 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "an effective acting position" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “effective acting position,” due to “an effective acting position” already being established in claim 1 and claim 12 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "an ultrafast laser unit" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “ultrafast laser unit,” due to “an ultrafast laser unit” already being established in claim 1 and claim 13 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "an ultrafast laser " in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “ultrafast laser,” due to “an ultrafast laser” already being established in claim 1 and claim 13 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "required output parameters" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “required output parameters,” due to “required output parameters” already being established in claim 1 and claim 13 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "required output parameters" in line 9 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is a lack of clarity as to whether applicant is referring to another “required output parameters,” due to “required output parameters” already being established in claim 1 and claim 13 depends from claim 1. Thus, due to this limitation, the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claims 8-15 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshi (US 20060169677 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (CN 109920659 A), hereinafter Jiang.
Figure 1 (Deshi)
Figure 2 (Deshi)
Figure 9 (Deshi)
Figure 20c (Deshi)
Figure 20d (Deshi)
Figure 20e (Deshi)
Figure 20f (Deshi)
Figure 2 (Jiang)
Figure 3 (Jiang)
Regarding claim 1, Deshi discloses an ultrafast laser processing method (“A method and apparatus for selective material removal and via drilling for semiconductor applications using an ultrafast laser pulse” [Abstract]) for double-sided electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]; “The insulating layer can be dielectric, glass or any other insulating material” [0035]), comprising:
fixing an electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) to a working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) of an ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]);
switching on (“The laser oscillator 1 generates a laser pulse” [0083]; “a laser shutter to turn on and off the laser output” [0092]) an ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) of the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) to output an ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “The ultrafast laser oscillator 1 generates laser pulse”; “laser beam 20” [0079]) with processing required output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]); and
adjusting the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to an effective acting position (“The work piece is preferably positioned at approximately the back focal length (back working distance) of the focusing lens” [0023]) of the electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), so as to carry out synchronized double-sided processing (“via holes can be formed between more than 2 conductive layers as shown in FIG. 20C. Here via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) on the electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]).
Deshi does not explicitly disclose a flexible electrode substrate.
However, Jiang discloses a flexible electrode substrate (Jiang’s Figs. 2 and 3, “sample to be processed 10” [0040]; “In this embodiment, the sample material is a molybdenum disulfide stacked film, which is metallic gray and has flexibility, stretchability and good conductivity. In order to match the thickness requirements of the parallel plate capacitor and the processing depth of the objective lens, the film thickness is selected as 1 μm” [0042])
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi to incorporate the teachings of Jiang to have a flexible electrode substrate. Doing so allows for mechanical durability of the electrode as it can withstand bending and twisting, implementation into compact devices, due to it being a thin film, and versatility of applications it can be used in due to its ability to conform to curved or irregular surfaces, as recognized by Jiang (“This method improves the precision and performance of molybdenum disulfide micro supercapacitors based on electronic dynamic control, giving them advantages such as flexibility, simple operation, diverse patterning, and controllable position.” [0008]; “This method has the advantages of controllable supercapacitor shape, flexibility and simplicity” [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Deshi further discloses wherein an absolute value of a difference between a thickness (“the thickness of the substrate/wafer 13” [0081]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) and twice a Rayleigh length (Examiner note: Rayleigh length in an intrinsic parameter of laser optics) of the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) on a focusing region (“the location of the focus of the beam 27” [0081]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) is less than a first threshold (Examiner note: this is any value greater than the absolute value of the difference between the inherent thickness of the “substrate 13” and twice the intrinsic Rayleigh length of the “laser beam 27”); and the adjusting the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to an effective acting position (“The work piece is preferably positioned at approximately the back focal length (back working distance) of the focusing lens” [0023]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) comprises: adjusting a focal position (“focused laser spot” [0082]) of the ultrafast laser to a center position (“Here via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) between upper (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 1” [0137]) and lower surfaces (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 2” [0137]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]).
Regarding claim 4, Deshi further discloses wherein after the adjusting the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to an effective acting position (“The work piece is preferably positioned at approximately the back focal length (back working distance) of the focusing lens” [0023]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), so as to carry out synchronized double- sided processing (“via holes can be formed between more than 2 conductive layers as shown in FIG. 20C. Here via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) on the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), the ultrafast laser processing method (“A method and apparatus for selective material removal and via drilling for semiconductor applications using an ultrafast laser pulse” [Abstract]) for flexible double-sided electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) further comprises: processing a through hole (Deshi’s Fig. 20c, “via holes” [0137]) in an electrode contact portion (“via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) by means of the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) (“The method and apparatus disclosed in this application can be used to produce both round and slotted blind vias of single and multiple depths” [0137]); and coating the through hole (Deshi’s Fig. 20c, “via holes” [0137]) with a conductive material (Deshi’s Figs. 20e and 20f, “conductive material” [0137]) to connect electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 20e and 20f, “Via interconnects are then formed by filling via holes formed between conductive layers/plane with conductive material” [0137]) on the upper (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 1” [0137]) and lower (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 2” [0137]) surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]).
Regarding claim 5, Deshi further discloses wherein the switching on (“The laser oscillator 1 generates a laser pulse” [0083]; “a laser shutter to turn on and off the laser output” [0092]) an ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) of the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) to output an ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) with processing required output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]) comprises: switching on the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) to output the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) at a first preset power (“higher pulse energy” [0031]); focusing the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to the surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]); switching off the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]), and setting output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]) of the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) as the processing required output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]); and switching back on the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) (“a time gap between groups of laser pulses can be provided to minimize the cumulative heating effect and to improve the machining quality as shown in FIG. 8. Further 8 the acousto optic modulator serves as a shutter to turn on and off the ultrafast laser pulse when required” [0104]). Examiner note: the time gap between groups of laser pulses indicates that the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) is switched on, then off, then back on again.
Regarding claim 7, Deshi discloses wherein the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) further comprises a focusing and observing mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “mirror 8,” “camera 9,” “galvanometer scanner 10,” and “two scanning mirrors” [0080]), the focusing and observing mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “mirror 8,” “camera 9,” “galvanometer scanner 10,” and “two scanning mirrors” [0080]) comprises an observing mirror group (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “a mirror or polarizer 8” and “two scanning mirrors in the galvanometer scanner 10” [0080]) (“is passed through a diaphragm 7 to cut the edge of the Gaussian beam and to improve the quality of the pulsed laser beam. The laser beam 25 is scanned in X and Y axes by a two axis galvanometer scanner 10 after passing through a mirror or polarizer 8. Camera 9 images the work piece through polarizer 8, to align the work piece to the laser beam and to monitor the machining process” [0080]).
Deshi does not explicitly disclose wherein the focusing and observing mechanism comprises a white light source, the white light source is used for emitting a white light that is coaxially incident onto the surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate with the ultrafast laser, and the observing mirror group is used for receiving part of the white light reflected by the flexible electrode substrate.
However, Jiang discloses wherein the focusing and observing mechanism (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “white light illumination source 7,” “CCD dynamic imaging unit 8,” “ultrafast reflector 5,” and “dichroic mirror 6” ) comprises a white light source (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “white light illumination source 7” [0034]), the white light source (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “white light illumination source 7” [0034]) is used for emitting a white light (“illumination light emitted by the white light source” [0040]) that is coaxially incident onto the surfaces (“The illumination light emitted by the white light source 7 at the top is reflected by the dichroic mirror 6, the ultrafast reflector 5, and the focusing objective lens 9 onto the sample 10 to be processed” [0040]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “sampled to be processed 10” [0040]) with the ultrafast laser (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “femtosecond laser 1” [0040]), and the observing mirror group (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “ultrafast reflector 5” and “dichroic mirror 6” [0034]) is used for receiving (“The illumination light emitted by the white light source 7 at the top is reflected by the dichroic mirror 6, the ultrafast reflector 5, and the focusing objective lens 9 onto the sample 10 to be processed. The reflected illumination light then returns through the focusing objective lens 9 and the ultrafast reflector 5, and is reflected again by the dichroic mirror 6 to reach the CCD dynamic imaging unit 8.” [0040]) part of the white light (“illumination light emitted by the white light source” [0040]) reflected by the flexible electrode substrate (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “sampled to be processed 10” [0040]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi to incorporate the teachings of Jiang to have the focusing and observing mechanism comprise a white light source, the white light source used for emitting a white light that is coaxially incident onto the surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate with the ultrafast laser, and the observing mirror group used for receiving part of the white light reflected by the flexible electrode substrate. Doing so allows for capturing the extremely fast optical events of the ultrafast laser which is beneficial to the user because it allows for information about the workpiece to be used to adjust the workpiece position or other parameters of the laser apparatus, as recognized by Jiang (“The illumination light emitted by the white light source 7 at the top is reflected by the dichroic mirror 6, the ultrafast reflector 5, and the focusing objective lens 9 onto the sample 10 to be processed. The reflected illumination light then returns through the focusing objective lens 9 and the ultrafast reflector 5, and is reflected again by the dichroic mirror 6 to reach the CCD dynamic imaging unit 8… The movement meets the preset usage requirements in terms of speed and position, and is connected to the CCD dynamic imaging unit 8 to monitor the surface of the processed sample” [0040]).
Regarding claim 12, Deshi further discloses wherein after the adjusting the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to an effective acting position (“The work piece is preferably positioned at approximately the back focal length (back working distance) of the focusing lens” [0023]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), so as to carry out synchronized double-sided processing (“via holes can be formed between more than 2 conductive layers as shown in FIG. 20C. Here via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) on the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), the ultrafast laser processing method (“A method and apparatus for selective material removal and via drilling for semiconductor applications using an ultrafast laser pulse” [Abstract]) for flexible double-sided electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) further comprises: processing a through hole (Deshi’s Fig. 20c, “via holes” [0137]) in an electrode contact portion (“via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) by means of the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) (“The method and apparatus disclosed in this application can be used to produce both round and slotted blind vias of single and multiple depths” [0137]); and coating the through hole (Deshi’s Fig. 20c, “via holes” [0137]) with a conductive material (Deshi’s Figs. 20e and 20f, “conductive material” [0137]) to connect electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 20e and 20f, “Via interconnects are then formed by filling via holes formed between conductive layers/plane with conductive material” [0137]) on the upper (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 1” [0137]) and lower (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 2” [0137]) surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]).
Regarding claim 13, Deshi further discloses wherein the switching on (“The laser oscillator 1 generates a laser pulse” [0083]; “a laser shutter to turn on and off the laser output” [0092]) an ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) of the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) to output an ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) with processing required output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]) comprises: switching on the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) to output the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) at a first preset power (“higher pulse energy” [0031]); focusing the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to the surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]); switching off the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]), and setting output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]) of the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) as the processing required output parameters (“The pulse energy required to ablate a feature depends on the depth of ablation, repeatability of feature size required and the feature quality” [0023]); and switching back on the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) (“a time gap between groups of laser pulses can be provided to minimize the cumulative heating effect and to improve the machining quality as shown in FIG. 8. Further the acousto optic modulator serves as a shutter to turn on and off the ultrafast laser pulse when required” [0104]). Examiner note: the time gap between groups of laser pulses indicates that the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) is switched on, then off, then back on again.
Regarding claim 15, Deshi discloses wherein the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) further comprises a focusing and observing mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “mirror 8,” “camera 9,” “galvanometer scanner 10,” and “two scanning mirrors” [0080]), the focusing and observing mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “mirror 8,” “camera 9,” “galvanometer scanner 10,” and “two scanning mirrors” [0080]) comprises an observing mirror group (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “a mirror or polarizer 8” and “two scanning mirrors in the galvanometer scanner 10” [0080]) (“is passed through a diaphragm 7 to cut the edge of the Gaussian beam and to improve the quality of the pulsed laser beam. The laser beam 25 is scanned in X and Y axes by a two axis galvanometer scanner 10 after passing through a mirror or polarizer 8. Camera 9 images the work piece through polarizer 8, to align the work piece to the laser beam and to monitor the machining process” [0080]).
Deshi does not explicitly disclose wherein the focusing and observing mechanism comprises a white light source, the white light source is used for emitting a white light that is coaxially incident onto the surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate with the ultrafast laser, and the observing mirror group is used for receiving part of the white light reflected by the flexible electrode substrate.
However, Jiang discloses wherein the focusing and observing mechanism (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “white light illumination source 7,” “CCD dynamic imaging unit 8,” “ultrafast reflector 5,” and “dichroic mirror 6” ) comprises a white light source (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “white light illumination source 7” [0034]), the white light source (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “white light illumination source 7” [0034]) is used for emitting a white light (“illumination light emitted by the white light source” [0040]) that is coaxially incident onto the surfaces (“The illumination light emitted by the white light source 7 at the top is reflected by the dichroic mirror 6, the ultrafast reflector 5, and the focusing objective lens 9 onto the sample 10 to be processed” [0040]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “sampled to be processed 10” [0040]) with the ultrafast laser (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “femtosecond laser 1” [0040]), and the observing mirror group (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “ultrafast reflector 5” and “dichroic mirror 6” [0034]) is used for receiving (“The illumination light emitted by the white light source 7 at the top is reflected by the dichroic mirror 6, the ultrafast reflector 5, and the focusing objective lens 9 onto the sample 10 to be processed. The reflected illumination light then returns through the focusing objective lens 9 and the ultrafast reflector 5, and is reflected again by the dichroic mirror 6 to reach the CCD dynamic imaging unit 8.” [0040]) part of the white light (“illumination light emitted by the white light source” [0040]) reflected by the flexible electrode substrate (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “sampled to be processed 10” [0040]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi to incorporate the teachings of Jiang to have the focusing and observing mechanism comprise a white light source, the white light source used for emitting a white light that is coaxially incident onto the surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate with the ultrafast laser, and the observing mirror group used for receiving part of the white light reflected by the flexible electrode substrate. Doing so allows for capturing the extremely fast optical events of the ultrafast laser which is beneficial to the user because it allows for information about the workpiece to be used to adjust the workpiece position or other parameters of the laser apparatus, as recognized by Jiang (“The illumination light emitted by the white light source 7 at the top is reflected by the dichroic mirror 6, the ultrafast reflector 5, and the focusing objective lens 9 onto the sample 10 to be processed. The reflected illumination light then returns through the focusing objective lens 9 and the ultrafast reflector 5, and is reflected again by the dichroic mirror 6 to reach the CCD dynamic imaging unit 8… The movement meets the preset usage requirements in terms of speed and position, and is connected to the CCD dynamic imaging unit 8 to monitor the surface of the processed sample” [0040]).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshi (US 20060169677 A1) in view of Jiang (CN 109920659 A), further in view of Ma et al. (WO 03107359 A1), hereinafter Ma.
Figure 4 (Ma)
Regarding claim 3, Deshi further discloses wherein the fixing a flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) to a working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) of an ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) comprises: an electrode material (“the conductive layer are made of metals” [Claim 15]) on the upper (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 1” [0137]) and lower (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 2” [0137]) surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]); and fixing the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) with the electrode material (“the conductive layer are made of metals” [Claim 15]) on the working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) in a flat and suspended manner (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “the work piece/substrate 13 is placed on a three axis mechanical translational stage 14” [0080]).
Deshi in view of Jiang does not explicitly disclose spraying an electrode material on the upper and lower surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate.
However, Ma discloses spraying (“the electroconductive ink may be sprayed” [Pg. 10, line 18]) an electrode material (Ma’s Fig. 4, “electroconductive ink” [Pg. 10, line 18]) on the surface of the flexible electrode substrate (Ma’s Fig. 4, “flexible or rigid substrate” [Pg. 10, line 19]) (“the electroconductive ink may be sprayed, dipped, brushed, stenciled, transfer printed, slot-coated, spin-coated, or screen-printed onto a flexible or rigid substrate. Once applied to a substrate, the electroconductive ink can be used to make resistors, capacitors, electrodes, field emission cathodes, fuel cell catalysts, conductive coatings, conductive paper, conductive fabrics and conductive membranes” [Pg. 10, lines 18-22])
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Ma to have the electrode material on the upper and lower surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate be sprayed on. Doing so allows for extremely thin layers of electrode material to be applied to the substrate, which allows for the electrode substrate to be used in applications that necessitate a compact structure, as recognized by Ma (“For other methods, such as spray painting, an electroconductive coating having a thickness of one micron or less may be achieved” [Pg. 12, lines 16-18]).
Regarding claim 11, Deshi further discloses wherein the fixing a flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) to a working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) of an ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) comprises: an electrode material (“the conductive layer are made of metals” [Claim 15]) on the upper (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 1” [0137]) and lower (Fig. 20c, “conductive layer 2” [0137]) surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]); and fixing the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) with the electrode material (“the conductive layer are made of metals” [Claim 15]) on the working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) in a flat and suspended manner (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “the work piece/substrate 13 is placed on a three axis mechanical translational stage 14” [0080]).
Deshi in view of Jiang does not explicitly disclose spraying an electrode material on the upper and lower surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate.
However, Ma discloses spraying (“the electroconductive ink may be sprayed” [Pg. 10, line 18]) an electrode material (Ma’s Fig. 4, “electroconductive ink” [Pg. 10, line 18]) on the surface of the flexible electrode substrate (Ma’s Fig. 4, “flexible or rigid substrate” [Pg. 10, line 19]) (“the electroconductive ink may be sprayed, dipped, brushed, stenciled, transfer printed, slot-coated, spin-coated, or screen-printed onto a flexible or rigid substrate. Once applied to a substrate, the electroconductive ink can be used to make resistors, capacitors, electrodes, field emission cathodes, fuel cell catalysts, conductive coatings, conductive paper, conductive fabrics and conductive membranes” [Pg. 10, lines 18-22])
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Ma to have the electrode material on the upper and lower surfaces of the flexible electrode substrate be sprayed on. Doing so allows for extremely thin layers of electrode material to be applied to the substrate, which allows for the electrode substrate to be used in applications that necessitate a compact structure, as recognized by Ma (“For other methods, such as spray painting, an electroconductive coating having a thickness of one micron or less may be achieved” [Pg. 12, lines 16-18]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshi (US 20060169677 A1) in view of Jiang (CN 109920659 A), further in view of Wang et al. (CN 106483774 B), hereinafter Wang.
Figure 1 (Wang)
Regarding claim 6, Deshi further discloses wherein the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) further comprises a laser transmission shaping mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3,” “optical lens 5 and 6,” “wave plate 2,” “mirror 3A,” “mirror 4,” and “optical lens 11” [0079]-[0080] and [0094]), the laser transmission shaping mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3,” “optical lens 5 and 6,” “wave plate 2,” “mirror 3A,” “mirror 4,” and “optical lens 11” [0079]-[0080] and [0094]) comprising an optical shutter (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3” [0079]; “the modulator controls the pulse energy and function as a shutter to on and off the laser pulse when required” [0024]), a beam expander (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “The laser beam 23 is expanded or reduced in beam diameter by the optical lens 5 and 6” [0079]), a half-wave plate (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “a wave plate 2, which is preferably a half wave or a quarter wave plate” [0079]), a reflector group (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “mirror 4” and “a partial coated mirror 3A” [0079]-[0080] and [0094]), and a focusing objective lens (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “focused by an optical lens 11” [0080]); and the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) outputted by the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) acts on the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) after passing through the optical shutter (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3” [0079]; “the modulator controls the pulse energy and function as a shutter to on and off the laser pulse when required” [0024]), the beam expander (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “The laser beam 23 is expanded or reduced in beam diameter by the optical lens 5 and 6” [0079]), and the focusing objective lens (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “focused by an optical lens 11” [0080]), in sequence.
Deshi in view of Jiang does not explicitly disclose the optical shutter, the beam expander, the half-wave plate, the reflector group, and the focusing objective lens in sequence.
However, Wang discloses the optical shutter (Wang’s Fig. 1, “photoelectric shutter 2” [0040]), the beam expander (Wang’s Fig. 1, “the long focal length lens 4 form a beam expander ” [0046]), the half-wave plate (Wang’s Fig. 1, “half-wave plate 5” [0040]), the reflector group (Wang’s Fig. 1, “plane mirror A 7” and “plane mirror B 8” [0040]), in sequence.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Wang to have the optical shutter, the beam expander, the half-wave plate, the reflector group, and the focusing objective lens in sequence. The courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Regarding claim 14, Deshi further discloses wherein the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) further comprises a laser transmission shaping mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3,” “optical lens 5 and 6,” “wave plate 2,” “mirror 3A,” “mirror 4,” and “optical lens 11” [0079]-[0080] and [0094]), the laser transmission shaping mechanism (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3,” “optical lens 5 and 6,” “wave plate 2,” “mirror 3A,” “mirror 4,” and “optical lens 11” [0079]-[0080] and [0094]) comprising an optical shutter (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3” [0079]; “the modulator controls the pulse energy and function as a shutter to on and off the laser pulse when required” [0024]), a beam expander (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “The laser beam 23 is expanded or reduced in beam diameter by the optical lens 5 and 6” [0079]), a half-wave plate (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “a wave plate 2, which is preferably a half wave or a quarter wave plate” [0079]), a reflector group (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “mirror 4” and “a partial coated mirror 3A” [0079]-[0080] and [0094]), and a focusing objective lens (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “focused by an optical lens 11” [0080]); and the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) outputted by the ultrafast laser unit (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “ultrafast laser oscillator 1” [0079]) acts on the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) after passing through the optical shutter (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “beam modulating means 3” [0079]; “the modulator controls the pulse energy and function as a shutter to on and off the laser pulse when required” [0024]), the beam expander (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “The laser beam 23 is expanded or reduced in beam diameter by the optical lens 5 and 6” [0079]), and the focusing objective lens (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “focused by an optical lens 11” [0080]), in sequence.
Deshi in view of Jiang does not explicitly disclose the optical shutter, the beam expander, the half-wave plate, the reflector group, and the focusing objective lens in sequence.
However, Wang discloses the optical shutter (Wang’s Fig. 1, “photoelectric shutter 2” [0040]), the beam expander (Wang’s Fig. 1, “the long focal length lens 4 form a beam expander ” [0046]), the half-wave plate (Wang’s Fig. 1, “half-wave plate 5” [0040]), the reflector group (Wang’s Fig. 1, “plane mirror A 7” and “plane mirror B 8” [0040]), in sequence.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Wang to have the optical shutter, the beam expander, the half-wave plate, the reflector group, and the focusing objective lens in sequence. The courts have held that rearrangement of parts requires only ordinary skill in the art and hence is considered a routine expedient. “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950): Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-C.
Claims 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshi (US 20060169677 A1) in view of Jiang (CN 109920659 A), further in view of Kosmowski et al. (DE 112008000431 T5), hereinafter Kosmowski.
Figure 2 (Kosmowski)
Regarding claim 8, Deshi further discloses wherein the working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) comprises a processing table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) and adapted to fixing the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), and at least one of the processing table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) is adapted to moving relative (“Preferably the work piece/substrate 13 is placed on a three axis mechanical translational stage 14. The translational stage 14 translates with respect to the laser beam 27 during and after laser dicing of an area defined by a field of view of the scanning lens” [0080]) to the focusing objective lens (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “focused by an optical lens 11” [0080]).
Deshi in view of Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein the working table comprises a fixing fixture disposed on the processing table and adapted to fixing the flexible electrode substrate, and at least one of the fixing fixture is adapted to moving relative to the focusing objective lens.
However, Kosmowski discloses disclose wherein the working table (Kosmowski’s Fig. 2, “object table 26” and “object clamping device 32” [0025]) comprises a fixing fixture (Kosmowski’s Fig. 2, “object clamping device 32” [0025]) disposed on the processing table (Kosmowski’s Fig. 2, “object table 26” [0025]) and adapted to fixing (“an object (not shown) that is held by the clamping device 32” [0025]) the flexible electrode substrate (“object” [0025]), and at least one of the fixing fixture (Kosmowski’s Fig. 2, “object clamping device 32” [0025]) is adapted to moving relative to (“The guided movements of the tables 22 and 26 move the scan lens 30 relative to the laser beam positioning points on a surface of an object (not shown) that is held by the clamping device 32” [0025]) the focusing objective lens (Kosmowski’s Fig. 2, “the scan lens 30” [0025]; “a laser beam focus area generated by the scan lens 30” [0034]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Kosmowski to have a fixing fixture disposed on the processing table and adapted to fixing the flexible electrode substrate, and that moves relative to the focusing objective lens. Doing so allows for the user to ensure the flexible electrode substrate is held in place so that the substrate does not move during processing, thus guaranteeing accurate processing of the substrate, as recognized by Kosmowski (“The guided movements of the tables 22 and 26 move the scan lens 30 relative to the laser beam positioning points on a surface of an object (not shown) that is held by the clamping device 32” [0025]).
Regarding claim 9, Deshi further discloses wherein the ultrafast laser processing device (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser apparatus” [0036]) further comprises an air supply mechanism (“compressed gas from a gas tank is fed into the nozzle through a gas inlet where a pressure gauge is set. The gas pressure can be adjusted through a regulator installed upstream of the gas inlet” [0109]; “Some examples of the gas used to minimize the cumulative heating effect, improving the ablated feature quality and improve the machining efficiency are air” [0109]), the air supply mechanism (“compressed gas from a gas tank is fed into the nozzle through a gas inlet where a pressure gauge is set. The gas pressure can be adjusted through a regulator installed upstream of the gas inlet” [0109]) having a nozzle (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “nozzle 12” [0109]) disposed towards the processing table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]); and after the adjusting the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]) to an effective acting position (“The work piece is preferably positioned at approximately the back focal length (back working distance) of the focusing lens” [0023]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), so as to carry out synchronized double-sided processing (“via holes can be formed between more than 2 conductive layers as shown in FIG. 20C. Here via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) on the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]), and prior to processing through hole (Deshi’s Fig. 20c, “via holes” [0137]) in an electrode contact portion (“via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) by means of the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]), the ultrafast laser processing method (“A method and apparatus for selective material removal and via drilling for semiconductor applications using an ultrafast laser pulse” [Abstract]) for flexible double-sided electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) further comprises: switching on (Examiner note: switching on the air supply mechanism disclosed in Deshi is an intrinsic property of the mechanism otherwise it would not be able to deliver assist gas through the nozzle to the substrate) the air supply mechanism (“compressed gas from a gas tank is fed into the nozzle through a gas inlet where a pressure gauge is set. The gas pressure can be adjusted through a regulator installed upstream of the gas inlet” [0109]).
Deshi in view of Jiang does not explicitly teach a nozzle disposed towards the fixing fixture.
Kosmowski discloses disposed towards the fixing fixture (Kosmowski’s Fig. 2, “object clamping device 32” [0025]) (Examiner note: the fixing fixture is taught as being disposed on the processing table thus the nozzle is disposed towards the fixing fixture, due to Deshi teaching the nozzle being disposed towards the processing table).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi in view of Jiang to incorporate the teachings of Kosmowski to have a fixing fixture disposed on the processing table and adapted to fixing the flexible electrode substrate, and that moves relative to the focusing objective lens. Doing so allows for the user to ensure the flexible electrode substrate is held in place so that the substrate does not move during processing, thus guaranteeing accurate processing of the substrate, as recognized by Kosmowski (“The guided movements of the tables 22 and 26 move the scan lens 30 relative to the laser beam positioning points on a surface of an object (not shown) that is held by the clamping device 32” [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Deshi further discloses wherein after the switching on (Examiner note: switching on the air supply mechanism disclosed in Deshi is an intrinsic property of the mechanism otherwise it would not be able to deliver assist gas through the nozzle to the substrate) the air supply mechanism (“compressed gas from a gas tank is fed into the nozzle through a gas inlet where a pressure gauge is set. The gas pressure can be adjusted through a regulator installed upstream of the gas inlet” [0109]), and prior to processing through holes (Deshi’s Fig. 20c, “via holes” [0137]) in an electrode contact portion (“via holes are drilled between conductive layer 1 and conductive layer 3” [0137]) of the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) by means of the ultrafast laser (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “laser beam 27” [0081]), the ultrafast laser processing method (“A method and apparatus for selective material removal and via drilling for semiconductor applications using an ultrafast laser pulse” [Abstract]) for flexible double-sided electrodes (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) further comprises: controlling the working table (Deshi’s Fig. 1, “translational stage 14” [0080]) to move the flexible electrode substrate (Deshi’s Figs. 1 and 20c, “substrate 13” [0081]; “conductive layer 1,” “insulation layer 2,” and “conductive layer 2” [0137]) according to a given instruction (“A central processor controller controls the photo detector, driver of Acousto optic modulator, imaging system, XYZ stages and the galvanometer scanner as shown in FIG. 9” [0104]; “The translational stage 14 translates with respect to the laser beam 27 during and after laser dicing of an area defined by a field of view of the scanning lens” [0080]).
Deshi does not explicitly disclose, prior to processing through holes, controlling the working table to move the flexible electrode substrate.
However, Jiang discloses prior to processing (“It also controls the opening and closing of the mechanical switch 2 and controls the precision electronically controlled translation stage 11 to move in the XYZ directions. The movement meets the preset usage requirements in terms of speed and position” [0040]) through holes, controlling the working table (Jiang’s , Fig. 3, “translation stage 11” [0040]) to move the flexible electrode substrate (Jiang’s Fig. 3, “sample to be processed 10” [0040]).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Deshi to incorporate the teachings of Jiang to have the working table to move the flexible electrode substrate, prior to processing. Doing so allows for the workpiece or substrate to be in the ideal position required before processing occurs and to ensure the working table meets its required speed, as recognized by Jiang (“It also controls the opening and closing of the mechanical switch 2 and controls the precision electronically controlled translation stage 11 to move in the XYZ directions. The movement meets the preset usage requirements in terms of speed and position” [0040]).
Conclusion
/E.E.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/03/2026
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761