DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/112133 filed on 8/12/2022.
PCT/CN2022/112133 has a provisional application 63/236,275 filed on 8/24/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 2/22/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8, 9, 11, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rastegardoost et al. (US 2024/0072975 A1, hereinafter Rastegardoost) claiming benefit to and fully-supported by US provisional applications 63/185,132 filed on May 6, 2021.
Regarding claim 1:
Rastegardoost teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a radio resource control (RRC) configuration from a network node, wherein the RRC configuration comprises first information indicating that an operation of multiple enhanced type-3 hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebooks is enabled (see, Rastegardoost: Fig. 25 and para. [0352], “the UE may receive an RRC message configurating multiple (M) applicable HARQ-ACK codebooks (e.g., enhanced Type 3 codebooks).”, supports are found in Fig. 25 and para. [0334] of 63/185,132.);
receiving, by the processor, a downlink control information (DCI) format from the network node, wherein the DCI format indicates one of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0250], “The base station may transmit a DCI requesting/triggering HARQ feedback of a HARQ-ACK codebook (e.g., Type-3 codebook or enhanced Type-3 codebook) containing all or a subset of DL HARQ processes (e.g., one-shot feedback request).”; Fig. 25 and para. [0353], “the UE may receive DCI-2 indicating two PUCCH resources for HARQ feedback transmission.”, supports are found in para. [0232], Fig. 25, and para. [0335] of 63/185,132.); and
reporting, by the processor, HARQ feedback information to the network node based on the one of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0251], “The wireless device may transmit HARQ feedback of one or more PDSCHs in response to receiving a one-shot feedback request.”; Fig. 25 and para. [0035], “the UE may transmit the pending HARQ feedback information via the second PUCCH in response to determining that the pending HARQ feedback information and the second PUCCH are associated with a same/overlapped applicable codebook configured by RRC.”, supports are found in para. [0233], Fig. 25 and para. [0335] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Rastegardoost further teaches wherein the DCI format is a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0252], “The wireless device may be configured to monitor feedback request for one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook feedback. The feedback may be requested in a DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_1).”, support is found in para. [0234] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Rastegardoost further teaches wherein each of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks has a respective size that is equal to or smaller than that of a Rel-16 type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0299], “The configuration parameters may indicate whether a one-shot HARQ-ACK (Type 3) is configured/enabled or not (e.g., pdsch-HARQ-ACK-OneShotFeedback-r16). For example, when configured, a DCI (e.g., DCI_format 1_1) may request the UE to report HARQ-ACK for all HARQ processes and all component carriers (CCs) configured in the PUCCH group. For example, the configuration parameters may indicate that a one-shot (Type 3) or an enhanced one-shot (eType 3) codebook is configured. For example, when enhanced one-shot codebook is configured, the DCI may request the UE to report HARQ-ACK for a subset of HARQ processes and/or a subset of CCs.”; para. [0341], “the UE may receive an RRC message comprising parameters indicating that a first HARQ codebook (e.g., enhanced Type 2 CB and/or enhanced Type 3 CB) is configured. For example, multiple applicable HARQ-ACK (sub-)codebooks may be configured if a first codebook is configured. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of HARQ processes. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of cells/serving cells. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of PHY priorities and/or PDSCH groups. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of SPS PDSCH configurations. A DCI scheduling a PDSCH and/or triggering a HARQ feedback transmission may indicate the applicable/associated HARQ (sub-)codebook from the multiple configured HARQ (sub-)codebooks.” Accordingly, multiple configured HARQ-ACK (sub-)codebooks has a respective size that is equal or smaller than a type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. Supports are found in para. [0281] [0323] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 9:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Rastegardoost further teaches wherein sizes of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks are determined based on at least one of the following: a set of cells configured by the network node; and a set of HARQ processes configured by the network node (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0341], “multiple applicable HARQ-ACK (sub-)codebooks may be configured if a first codebook is configured. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of HARQ processes. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of cells/serving cells. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of PHY priorities and/or PDSCH groups. In an example, each HARQ codebook may be associated with a subset of SPS PDSCH configurations.”, Support is found in para. [0323] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards an apparatus (see, Rastegardoost: Fig. 15, Wireless Device 1502, support is found in Fig. 15 of 63/185,132.), comprising: a transceiver (see, Rastegardoost: Fig. 15, TX Processing System 1520 & RX Processing System 1522, support is found in Fig. 15 of 63/185,132.); and a processor (see, Rastegardoost: Fig. 15, Processing System 1518 and para. [0207], supports are found in Fig. 15 and para. [0189] of 63/185,132.) communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 18:
Claim 18 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 9. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 10, 12, 13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost in view of Liu (US 2024/0388408 A1, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Rastegardoost does not explicitly teach wherein transmitting, by the processor, a UE capability information to the network node, wherein the UE capability information indicates a maximum number of enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks supported by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein transmitting, by the processor, a UE capability information to the network node, wherein the UE capability information indicates a maximum number of enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks supported by the UE (see, Liu: Fig. 6; para. [0095], “the terminal sends a UE capability message to the access network device, and the UE capability message is used to indicate the UE caching capability of the terminal, that is, the upper limit on the number of HARQ-ACKs cached by the terminal.”; para. [0096], “the UE reports the maximum HARQ-ACK cache value of the terminal, e.g., one feedback is required for up to M decoding results, then the access network device triggers the feedback of the enhanced Type 3 HARQ-ACK codebook specifically for SPS PDSCH with a 1-bit indication of the DCI before the cache value is exceeded.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Rastegardoost in combination of the teachings of Liu in order to indicate UE caching capability of the terminal to the network device (see, Liu: Fig. 6 and para. [0095-0096] [0153]).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost in view of Liu teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Liu further teaches wherein the RRC configuration comprises second information configuring a number of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks, and the number of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks is less than or equal to the maximum number of enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks supported by the UE (see, Liu: para. [0123], “The access network device triggers the enhanced Type-3 codebook with a 1-bit indication of the DCI before the caching capability value M is exceeded”).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost in view of Liu teaches all limitations in claim 3.
Rastegardoost further teaches wherein the DCI format comprises a bit-field (e.g., one-shot HARQ-ACK request field in a DCI) indicating the one of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0240], “if enhanced dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook is configured, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) may indicate a number of requested groups by one bit.”, support is found in para. [0222] of 63/185,132.), and a size of the bit-field is RRC configured or determined based on the number of the configured multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0250], The base station may transmit a DCI requesting/triggering HARQ feedback of a HARQ-ACK codebook (e.g., Type-3 codebook or enhanced Type-3 codebook) containing all or a subset of DL HARQ processes (e.g., one-shot feedback request). The one-shot feedback request may be for all or a subset of component carriers configured for the UE. One-shot feedback may be configured separately from a HARQ-ACK codebook configuration.”, support is found in para. [0232] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost in view of Liu teaches all limitations in claim 5.
Rastegardoost further teaches wherein the bit-field is a new bit-field (e.g., one-shot HARQ-ACK request field in a DCI) dedicated for indicating the one of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0240], “if enhanced dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook is configured, a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) may indicate a number of requested groups by one bit.”, support is found in para. [0222] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost in view of Liu teaches all limitations in claim 5.
Rastegardoost further teaches wherein the bit-field is a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) bit-field or another existing bit-field reused to indicate the one of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks, in a case that the DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH (see, Rastegardoost: para. [0252], “The DCI format may or may not schedule DL transmission (e.g., PDSCH). The DCI format may comprise a first field (e.g., a frequency domain resource allocation field) indicating a first value. The UE may determine that the DCI format does not schedule a PDSCH in response to the first field indicating the first value. The UE may ignore/discard one or more second fields of the DCI format (e.g., a HARQ process number and/or NDI field) in response to the determining. The UE may be scheduled to report one-shot feedback and one or more other HARQ-ACK feedbacks in a same slot/subframe/resource, and the UE may report only the one-shot feedback.”, support is found in para. [0222] of 63/185,132.).
Regarding claim 10:
As discussed above, Rastegardoost teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Rastegardoost does not explicitly teach wherein sizes of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks are explicitly configured to the UE by the network node.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein sizes of the multiple enhanced type-3 HARQ-ACK codebooks are explicitly configured to the UE by the network node (see, Liu: para. [0033], “The size of the enhanced Type 3 HARQ-ACK codebook is not flexible and can be activated by the RRC configuration. Also, M RRC-applicable enhanced Type 3 HARQ-ACK codebooks can be configured by the Radio Resource Control (RRC) based on dynamic DCI indication, with M being a positive integer, e.g., enhanced Type 3 HARQ-ACK codebooks for different subset of cells, for different HARQ processes, and specifically for SPS PDSCH, and one of the codebooks are selected by the dynamic DCI.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Rastegardoost in combination of the teachings of Liu in order to use RRC signaling to configure M RRC-applicable enhanced Type 3 HARQ-ACK codebooks (see, Liu: para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 12 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 13 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 16:
Claim 16 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 15 that is further limited to similar features to claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 15 that is further limited to similar features to claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards the apparatus of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471