DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected system/device, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wood (US 2013/0109947).
Claim(s) 12-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (‘947) in view of Su et al (US 2013/0184544).
Regarding claim 12, Wood (‘947) discloses and teaches a method of automated blood pressure measurement including photoacoustic imaging an extremity of a patient (Claim 1, abs, 0065), contacting the imaging apparatus to a location on the extremity near a vessel of interest (0047), delivering photoacoustic energy to a target in the vessel, receiving an imaging signal from the vessel of interest (Fig 2-3, 0016, 0017), and determining blood pressure from the derived signal data (0017, 0065).
While Wood discloses what is listed above, the specific mention of photoacoustic flow measurements is not mentioned (though CW photoacoustic measurements certainly measure flow properties in the interrogated region). Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Su et al which expressly discloses and teaches the measurement of blood flow and pulsatile flow measurements with photoacoustic interrogation (0016, 0020, 0031, 0034, 0048, Claim 19, 0075-0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Su for measurement of blood flow, with the system of Wood for complete measurement of blood vessel dynamics (0016, claim 19, Su et al).
Regarding claims 13-14, Wood (‘947) discloses and teaches the interrogation site being brachial or radial arteries on the arm, the measurement of blood pressure therefrom (0057, 0059, 0065).
Regarding claims 16-19, Wood (‘947) discloses and teaches pulsatile flow measurements, the reception of a pulse wave velocity signal (0015, 0019, 0039), a continuous wave signal (0015, 0026, 039, 0044) and the transmittal of data to an external device (0031, 0033).
Claim(s) 15 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (‘947) in view of Su as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Pearson et al (US 2015/0366474). While Wood in view of Su discloses what is listed above, they fail to disclose the measurement of non-pulsatile flow with a sphygmometer cuff. Pearson et al expressly discloses and teaches the incorporation of a sphygmomanometer cuff and the ultrasonic transmission to measure blood flow in a region (0009, claim 1, 2, 8, 12), including measurements not based on pulsatile flow (0009, 0016, 0034, 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the teachings of Pearson et al with those of Wood in view of Su et al for the purpose of facilitating blood pressure, flow, and other parameter measurements in an arm of the patient restricted with a sphygmometer cuff (abs, Pearson et al).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes cited Murakoshi ‘061 which discloses a similar photoacoustic measurement and imaging apparatus for facilitating measurement of properties of the blood vessels.
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798